Fashion Sale Hier klicken Kinderfahrzeuge calendarGirl Cloud Drive Photos Sony Learn More fissler Hier klicken Fire Shop Kindle PrimeMusic Autorip Summer Sale 16

Kundenrezensionen

4,2 von 5 Sternen58
4,2 von 5 Sternen
Format: MP3 CD|Ändern
Preis:15,76 €+ Kostenfreie Lieferung mit Amazon Prime
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 1. Juli 2014
Eine Geschichte mit vielen überraschenden Wendungen! Konnte das Buch kaum aus der Hand legen. (Auch wenn der Titel das impliziert: Hunde sind nur Nebenschauplatz, wer eine Hundegeschichte erwartet, wird hier nicht bedient)
0Kommentar|16 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 22. April 2016
Es wurde als Krimi bezeichnet, daher fand es den Weg auf mein Kindle, um mit mir Urlaub zu machen. Leider ist das Ende nicht die Auflösung eines Mordes, sondern ein Mord. Ein überflüssiger, nebensächlicher und dazu noch im unglaublich langweiligen Detail doppelt (Wort für Wort) beschriebener Mord.
Ich hab noch nie solche Langeweile empfunden, wie bei der stetig sich wiederholenden Beschreibung der durch und durch langweiligen Leben der Figuren. Außerdem wird im Verlauf des Buchs wirklich jede Figur, von den Hunden abgesehen, Stück für Stück mies gemacht. Wenn man Spaß daran hat, die schlechten Seiten des Lebens und der Menschheit zu sehen, ist dieses Buch vermutlich angenehm. Ich hab mich recht häufig in der unangenehmen Erfahrung des Fremdschämens üben müssen. Nach Querlesen ab dem ersten Drittel war ich derart enttäuscht, dass ich diese Rezension verfassen musste. Autor kommt auf meine blacklist. Nie wieder!
0Kommentar|2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 24. Januar 2016
Wenn ich nicht die Gewohnheit hätte, alle angefangenen Bücher auch zu Ende zu lesen, hätte ich dieses einfach weggelegt!
Das Verhalten der Charaktere ist ziemlich vorhersehbar und die Story recht flach.
Am schlimmsten fand ich aber die zahlreichen Fehler im Roman. Um nur 2 von zahlreichen Beispielen zu geben: die Olympischen Spiele in Deutschland fanden laut Buch 1939 statt (Wirklich? Ich dachte, es wäre 1936 gewesen. Wenn man schon ein Buch mit einem Bezug zu Deutschland schreibt, dann sollte man solche Daten wohl besser recherchieren) ODER das Buch besagt, dass es in Gordonston 5 Uhr morgens ist, wenn in Paris die Uhr 23 Uhr geschlagen hat (6 h Unterschied sind ok, nur halt in die andere Richtung). Es sind vielleicht Kleinigkeiten, jedoch welche, die das Buch schlampig erscheinen lassen.
0Kommentar|2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 30. Juli 2014
I read Duncan Whitehead's The Reluctant Jesus and found his writing style to be extraordinarily talented. He has a way of injecting humor into a story that is well timed, creating a pleasant impact upon the enjoyment of the story. This book is no exception. It is evident that a master storyteller is at work. I became engaged and absorbed with this story right from the very beginning. I did not put it down until I had completed reading it in one sitting, which is quite a feat.

Fortunately, I had a free weekend, because everything else I was supposed to do simply faded away because I was so engrossed with the book that I did not notice time slipping away as if it did not exist at all! What did I like most about this book? That's a difficult question because the prose, the characters, the setting... everything about this book was absolutely fascinating... If you are looking for an entertaining and enjoyable read, this book will deliver. It is "unputdownable! Highly recommended.

Reviewed by Thomas Jerome Baker
Author of How to Coach A Debate Team

I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for a fair and unbiased review.
0Kommentar|3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 5. März 2015
This number one best seller was recommended to me by a friend who knew I would like it. After giving this book a read, I can certainly see why Duncan Whitehead has a winner here. Masterfully written with style and charm, this is an enchanting read with a great plot and a storyline that while hard to put into words, is still well executed. The premise is different and I love the setting. An engaging read that held my attention and left me wondering how much of this is really fiction. I only state that because how believable aspects are in this tale. An excellent look into human nature and one that is intriguing as in what we perceived to be real or another way of putting it, the way we view "appearances" in not being what they really are. Overall, Well done and this is one that I now can recommend. Thanks,
0Kommentar|2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 2. März 2014
Ein sehr gut geschriebenen Komik-Krimi, mit vielen Wendungen, Bezug auf Realität und Psychologie. Es ist einfach zu lesen, ist aber kein Thriller.
0Kommentar|12 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 13. März 2015
I had high expectations after seeing all the positive reviews, and kept reading in vain until the story improved ( it didn't much). What irritated me most were the repetitive descriptions of the main characters, factual errors (the main languages in Switzerland are not Swiss, German and French), and completely unbelievable plots (Hitler writing children's stories!).
0Kommentar|5 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 29. Dezember 2014
A story filled with mystery, secrets and entertaining satire. Duncan introduces us to a small neighborhood where everyone has secrets which makes it a bit hard pinpoint who is the killers employer. "The Gordonston Ladies Dog Walking Club" has a wide variety of unique characters that are blended together quite well with Whitehead's masterful plotting skills. This is a really good enjoyable quick read.
0Kommentar|Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 27. August 2015
The reviews were so good, I decided to give this a shot. The basic idea definitely had potential, but ' in one word: ugh.

What struck me first was the repetitive, often redundant language which is something I hate on principle. Also, chapter 1 and 18 are literally identical, and sorry - that is just plain lazy. Next were the lifeless characters and their missing or just plain absurd motivations, the often clumsy, awkward descriptions and the irrelevant details which are perhaps supposed to make up for the lack of depth. You can very well just skim large parts of the text without missing anything important.

On top of all that, the story is rather predictable, and some ('historical') parts of it are simply preposterous, as are, for instance, the organization's understanding of PR, and that one Google search that starts it all - come on, really? Google might have been helpful, though, to find out the actual time difference between Georgia and France. I read that passage three times, and couldn't believe that not even the editors (if that's still a thing, and after this work - I'm sorry - I have my doubts that they do) noticed that. Along with other, overall just too many, mistakes.

So ' sadly, way too many little things that bugged me, too many questions that weren't answered, and details mentioned blatantly to add suspense that were just weirdly coincidental (but didn't have to be - like the cigarettes, for instance).
11 Kommentar|3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 10. Mai 2016
This is the first of three books about the people of the Gordonston neighbourhood. Well written, humorous and with surprising twists and turns. Good to read, even for those whose first language isn't English.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden