Kundenrezensionen


7 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (2)
4 Sterne:
 (3)
3 Sterne:
 (2)
2 Sterne:    (0)
1 Sterne:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A touching story, very well written
In my opinion, John Grisham's best book on sports. Bleachers and Playing for Pizza are not bad, but Calico Joe is much better by far. Being interested in baseball helps to understand the story. If not, it does not matter that much as a troubled father-sun relationship is in the focus of this book. Some unfinished business between two aging baseball pros lets the story...
Veröffentlicht am 19. April 2012 von J. Vitt

versus
3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Of Forgiveness and Reconciliation
"Judge not, and you shall not be judged. Condemn not, and you shall not be condemned. Forgive, and you will be forgiven." -- Luke 6:37 (NKJV)

Much baseball fiction is all wrapped up in the kind of juvenile fantasies that grown men continue to indulge. I admire John Grisham for going against the grain and looking at baseball through the lens of what can be wrong...
Veröffentlicht am 6. Mai 2012 von Donald Mitchell


Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Of Forgiveness and Reconciliation, 6. Mai 2012
Von 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(TOP 500 REZENSENT)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Calico Joe (Gebundene Ausgabe)
"Judge not, and you shall not be judged. Condemn not, and you shall not be condemned. Forgive, and you will be forgiven." -- Luke 6:37 (NKJV)

Much baseball fiction is all wrapped up in the kind of juvenile fantasies that grown men continue to indulge. I admire John Grisham for going against the grain and looking at baseball through the lens of what can be wrong about baseball: self-centered players, abuse, sexual infidelity, cruelty, envy, and lying. Rather than just portraying that dark side, Mr. Grisham also exposes the possibility of receiving forgiveness, being reconciled to those who have been harmed, and finding peace. It's a nice ethical journey carried out amid some pretty exciting baseball writing that is soundly based.

Despite my admiration for Mr. Grisham's conception, I didn't feel that he carried it off nearly as well as he needed to. The rise of Calico Joe in the book's beginning is so far beyond possibility that reading those sections makes you feel that Mr. Grisham was just entertaining himself rather than trying to build the best possible story. A less over-the-top biography for Calico Joe would have worked a lot better, in my opinion. The fable-like quality led me to feel outside the story, rather than inside it with the characters.

The dark side of the story also seemed overdrawn. It's as though only absolute perfect white and the blackest black would satisfy readers. That's not giving readers enough credit. What about writing about real human beings of the kind we've all met? That would bring the message home much more than having such an extreme contrast.

I also found that the book lacked suspense. I didn't feel the tension build very much because what came next was kept quite predictable. That's not a good recipe for a fully entertaining novel.

I think part of the reason that Mr. Grisham is such a fine writer about lawyers is that his writing builds on a sound foundation of our skepticism about them . . . but not lots of knowledge. When Mr. Grisham tells us what it's like from the inside (with an ironic sense of humor), it's a great trip.

Those qualities just don't work so well when it comes to writing about sports.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A touching story, very well written, 19. April 2012
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Calico Joe (Gebundene Ausgabe)
In my opinion, John Grisham's best book on sports. Bleachers and Playing for Pizza are not bad, but Calico Joe is much better by far. Being interested in baseball helps to understand the story. If not, it does not matter that much as a troubled father-sun relationship is in the focus of this book. Some unfinished business between two aging baseball pros lets the story move along very smoothly. I have enjoyed every page. A must have for every Grisham fan.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3.0 von 5 Sternen Man muss Baseball lieben..., 21. August 2013
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Calico Joe: A Novel (Kindle Edition)
Gute Geschichte über Baseball und Idole fürs Leben. Man muss jedoch schon ein wenig dieses amerikanische Spiel kennen, ansonsten es teilweise langweilige Passagen beinhaltet. Ende ist stark voraussehbar...
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen lovely!, 31. Juli 2013
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Calico Joe (English Edition) (Kindle Edition)
Not a very exciting book, but lovely written and it was extremely easy to feel like one of the characters
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Worth the read - if you like Baseball!, 22. April 2013
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Calico Joe: A Novel (Kindle Edition)
If you are into Baseball and like a good - if short - read focused around it then this might be for you. Characterization is a bit of a shortcoming - the game is in focus here.

About it being a typical Grisham I could not say - it was my first read from this author.

For non-English readers (as myself): If you are familiar with Baseball you will find it an easy read. If, however, you are a newbie to this sport I urge you to read it in your mother language.

I had a good time reading it.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Toller Roman - allerdings fast nur was für Fans des amerikanischen Sports, 18. März 2013
Von 
aumi1976 "aumi1976" (Erlangen) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(TOP 1000 REZENSENT)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Calico Joe: A Novel (Taschenbuch)
"Calico Joe" (dt.Titel "Home run") ist eine fiktive Geschichte über die kurze Karriere eines Baseball-Ausnahme-Talentes.
Hierbei springt die Geschichte immer zwischen 2 Zeitschienen hin und her (70er Jahre - Ich-Erzähler ist Kind und Anfang der 2000 - Ich-Erzähler als Familien-Vater).

Die Story ist durchweg gut geschrieben, in typischer Grisham-Manier, auch die Zeitsprünge finde ich gelungen und passen gut in die Geschichte.

Das Thema um das es in der Story geht, Baseball, ist für nicht Amerikaner bzw. Leute die nicht im Detail im Sport selbst stecken und deren Stellenwert in der amerikanischen Gesellschaft kennen vermutlich harter Tobak.
Ich selbst habe immer wieder mit einigen Fachbegriffen gekämpft, gerade als nicht native-speaker war's manchmal hart. Aber mit ein paar Mal nachschlagen gewöhnt man sich durchaus schnell dran.
Die Atmosphäre, die rezitierten Statistiken etc. sind aber bestimmt nicht jedermanns Sache. Hierzulande kennt man sich mit anderen Breitensporten halt besser aus.

Wenn einem das aber nichts ausmacht bzw. man ohnehin Fan vom amerikanischen Sport ist bekommt man mit Calico Joe eine meiner Meinung nach herrliche Geschichte, von der ich jede Seite genossen habe.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Eine gute Geschichte über Vergebung und zwei Baseball Spieler, 15. August 2014
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Calico Joe: A Novel (Kindle Edition)
Diese Buch gibt viel Einsicht in das Leben eines professionellen Ballspielers, ob es Fussball, Basketball, Baseball, usw, und beschreibt eine rührende Geschichte von Vergebung.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Calico Joe
Calico Joe von John Grisham (Gebundene Ausgabe - 10. April 2012)
EUR 8,01
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen