Kundenrezensionen


45 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (38)
4 Sterne:
 (5)
3 Sterne:
 (1)
2 Sterne:    (0)
1 Sterne:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Brutal, absorbing, hilarious.
The outsider's nonchalance of chief narrator Henry Hill and Nicholas Pileggi's highly restrained hand in helping him relate his story has resulted in a book which shuns any sense of melodrama and emotional attachment. Instead, we get a highly intelligent, insightful, and funny look at Mafia life, stuffed with fascinating details.
As befits his reporter...
Veröffentlicht am 17. März 2000 von D. Mok

versus
3.0 von 5 Sternen The best Mafia book written
The details on mob life in this book are second to none, but I did not find it as emotionally involving as The Westies by T.J. English. Donnie Brasco is also a terrific book. But I was blown away by the realism in Pilleggi's writing. The book is even better than the movie Goodfellas, and that's saying a lot.
Am 26. November 1999 veröffentlicht


‹ Zurück | 1 25 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Brutal, absorbing, hilarious., 17. März 2000
Von 
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Wiseguy (Taschenbuch)
The outsider's nonchalance of chief narrator Henry Hill and Nicholas Pileggi's highly restrained hand in helping him relate his story has resulted in a book which shuns any sense of melodrama and emotional attachment. Instead, we get a highly intelligent, insightful, and funny look at Mafia life, stuffed with fascinating details.
As befits his reporter background, Pileggi stays at a distance. Unlike its offspring movie GoodFellas, where director Martin Scorsese effortlessly blended the smart-aleck text of the book (incorporating it into the film as probably the best voice-over ever written and performed) with elements of suspense, poetry, sensuality, visual comedy, and energy. In Pileggi's book, it's all cerebral. Hill's magnetic personality and storytelling talents make this book an addictive read. Pileggi also flaunts a real editorial talent, skipping out of Hill's first-person account and delving into journalistic mode at the most suitable moments, giving background where necessary, and stepping back to let the reader make the moral judgments as s/he sees fit.
Different from, but the equal of, GoodFellas. I'd take the opposite stance from other people by saying that it's probably better to see the film first; the emotional investment Scorsese weaves into the story offers a rich contrast to the book's neutral tone. And reversing the process will also facilitate the viewer/reader in seeing through the outdated accusation of "This didn't really happen" when watching the film.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Spannend !, 20. November 2013
Von Amazon bestätigter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Wiseguy (Taschenbuch)
Unglaubliche Geschichte, lustig, spannend, bescheuert. Henry Hill hatte ein verrücktes Leben.
Das Buch ist schnell gekommen, wie neu. alles gut !
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen bestes Buch, 13. Januar 2013
Von Amazon bestätigter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Wiseguy (Taschenbuch)
Bei diesem Buch, handelt es sich um das beste Buch in der Englischen Sprache welches ich je gelesen habe. Wenn man sich dabei überlegt, dass es eine wahre Geschichte ist, läuft einem des öfteren ein kalter Schauer über den Rücken.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Faszinierende Einblicke, 13. Juni 2011
Von 
Von Amazon bestätigter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Wiseguy (Taschenbuch)
Wiseguy gewährt einen wahren und faszininierenden Einblick in die Welt des Mobs von New York von 1954 bis Mitte der 80er. Die Geschichte fußt auf den Berichten von Henry Hill, seiner Frau Karen und seinen Ermittlern und beschreibt detailliert ein ganzes Leben als Gangster. Es wird nichts ausgelassen, schonungslos berichtet und (v.a. in der englischen Fassung) authentisch erzählt.

Uneingeschränkt empfehlenswert.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen An incredible book, 9. Januar 2006
Von Ein Kunde
This is the best book I ever read. It was so fascinating that I almost sleep with the book and I couldn't put it away.
I think this book must be read at least one time.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Could Not Put It Down, 26. Juni 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Wiseguy (Taschenbuch)
One of the two times I actually am glad I saw the movie before reading the book (the first time being with Silence of the Lambs). Doing so allowed me to "hear" the real-life characters speak so realistically in relationship to the actors who portrayed them in "Goodfellas."
I opened the book on a Sunday afternoon at 4 p.m., and between working and reading, I didn't put it down utnil 5 a.m. Monday, having just read the last line.
Nicholas' selective dialogue is superb, and the interaction with Henry, Karen and others involved made this true crime story be one that was just so easy to really believe as truth.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen An incredible book, 19. Mai 2000
Von 
Eric Aros (Las Vegas, NV) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Wiseguy (Taschenbuch)
This book is worth just about any price that is being charged. This book was all about the real guys working in the trenches of a mafia family back in New York. Great details of what happened, why it happened and how it happened. The Lufthansa Heist was interesting to say the least.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen The banality of evil, 12. Mai 2000
Von 
Brian D. Rubendall (Oakton, VA) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Wiseguy (Taschenbuch)
As great as "Goodfellas" is as a movie, "Wiseguy" is as the book it is based on. At least by his own account, Henry Hill wasn't the baddest, most clever or most successful gangster ever, but he was certainly one of the most pathetic. Not because he was incompotent, but because when the gig was finally up he turned in his closest associates before they could do him in. Pileggi's account of Hill's activities is more detailed than the film and provides some important perspective. Pileggi is an excellent writer, and "Wiseguy" is one of the best true crime books ever written.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Incaptivating and relatively neutral, 27. März 2000
Von 
Jesper Engsted (Denmark (You know, the European country with Lego and Carlsberg!)) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Wiseguy (Taschenbuch)
From looking at my rating of the book, it is obvious that I to find the book enjoying. It is important, however, for me to emphasize that the book, apart from being very interessting, differs from many other good books about the mafia in its view towards organized crime. The Godfather helped creating a stereotyped view of what the mafia is all about, and one of the main qualities in this book is that it shows us that there is much more involved then your typical clichees.
I especially like the fact that Pileggi shows us what it is that atracts Henry Hill to the mafia. By showing us the money, the glamour, and the respect these mobsters receive, we get a hole new understanding of this world. It does not preach by saying that crime is wrong and that we should all live in peace and harmony. It portrayes the mafia world in an almost neutral way. In my opinion that is what incaptivates us during the reading of the book, and that is what made me rate the book as being worthy of five stars.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen A good book to read, 17. März 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Wiseguy (Taschenbuch)
Before I bought this book I did not realize that the movie Goodfellas coincided with this book. I am not a huge fan of reading books, but I do like to read one once in a while. I enjoyed this book a lot. Most of the chapters were great. I found difficult to put the book down most of the time. The life of Henry Hill is pretty interesting. Most people look at the mob in the eyes of the Godfather movies. This shows that life in the mob is not always that great for the members and their families. Give this book a read its worth it!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 25 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst
ARRAY(0xa4b64c48)

Dieses Produkt

Wiseguy
Wiseguy von Nicholas Pileggi (Taschenbuch - 25. Mai 2010)
EUR 7,80
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen