MSS_ss16 Hier klicken Jetzt informieren muttertagvatertag Cloud Drive Photos Kamera16 Learn More madamet designshop Hier klicken Fire Shop Kindle Sparpaket Autorip GC FS16

Kundenrezensionen

5,0 von 5 Sternen27
5,0 von 5 Sternen
5 Sterne
26
4 Sterne
1
3 Sterne
0
2 Sterne
0
1 Stern
0
Format: Taschenbuch|Ändern
Preis:12,95 €+ Kostenfreie Lieferung mit Amazon Prime

Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel

Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 8. April 2007
Stephen King hat sich selbst übertroffen mit "On Writing". Dieses Buch ist die Krone von Kings Werk; es vermittelt unübertroffene Einsichten in sein Schaffen und stellt zugleich die Klammer dar, die sein Werk umspannt.

King hat sich in vielen seiner Romane mit Autorschaft und Schreiben beschäftigt; nicht umsonst sagt er in "On Writing", dass in jedem seiner Charaktere etwas von ihm zu finden sei ;-) Am deutlichsten ist das in "Misery", das King in "On Writing" auch ausführlich kommentiert und das die radikalste und konsequenteste Darstellung der Beziehung zwischen Autor und Leser darstellt, die ich kenne.

"On Writing" ist weniger ein Handbuch für hoffnungsfrohe Schreibnovizen, sondern am ehesten eine Autobiographie von Stephen King, in der er über sich und das Wichtigste in seinem Leben spricht, nämlich Schreiben. Und darin wird King zu einem Menschen, den man nur bewundern kann - seine Ehrlichkeit, die Tiefe seiner Gefühle und die klugen Einsichten in den menschlichen Charakter verdienen Hochachtung. Da wird klar, weshalb sich so viele Leser von seinen Romanen angesprochen fühlen!

Als Hörbuch ist "On Writing" sensationell: Stephen King liest es selbst, und er erweist sich (wie schon bei "Bag of Bones") als begnadeter Erzähler - immerhin erzählt er ja sein eigenes Leben!

Fazit: Stephen King zeigt hier, dass er einer der großartigsten zeitgenössischen Erzähler ist, auch wenn der akademische Literaturbetrieb in Deutschland hochnäsigerweise noch weit von dieser Erkenntnis entfernt ist ;-)

6 Sterne.
0Kommentar|14 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
Every course I ever took about writing discouraged me from writing fiction. The process described seemed unnatural, uninteresting, and unbelievably complex. So I became a nonfiction writer. Mr. Stephen King's memoir and observations about his methods has totally turned that around. He proposes a method that works much like the way I write nonfiction. Following his advice, I feel like I can create and enjoy creating novels now. That is a wonderful gift, and I appreciate the insights very much. I also wondered how a novelist goes from aspiring to full-time writer. The detailed descriptions here gave me many "ah-ha" experiences. Mr. King's horrible accident made me curious about how his recovery was going. I was fascinated by the long postscript that describes how the "writing" part of the memoir was written during his painful rehabilitation and mending.

This book should be read by everyone who loves fiction writing, whether as a reader or a writer. If salty language bothers you, that will be a drawback. I deliberately listened to the unabridged audiocassette so that I could hear the nuances of meaning from his voice and timing. I'm glad I did.

Mr. King's great strength is that he tells it like it is, and does so as simply as possible.

His description of letting a novel tell itself through the characters, starting from a fascinating situation, struck me as an enormous insight. In nonfiction, the equivalent is to start with a painful problem that almost everyone has. Then tell stories that take the reader inside the solution. Be honest and genuine in how you do it. I suddenly realized that nonfiction writers have an advantage because we can test our stories with those who lived them. The fiction writers have to use their own mental ear and those of readers to do the same thing.

After you finish reading this book, you definitely should try out his suggestion to write a thousand words a day. I know it sounds like a lot, but your speed and facility will rapidly increase. And it really does feel like being more alive!

Tell the truth!
0Kommentar|4 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 20. November 2013
King betont am Anfang, dass er es kurz halten will und das schafft er. Klar, er schweift zwischendurch ein wenig ab, aber das ist legitim – ist das Buch selbst doch nicht genau definiert. Es ist für mich eine Mischung aus Autobiographie, Schreibhilfe und Kneipenabend mit Lebenshilfe.

Mir fiel es unglaublich leicht, King zu folgen und mehrfach euphorisch zu nicken. Immer wieder stelle ich fest, wie sympathisch mir der Kerl doch ist. Und er hat Recht, glaube ich zumindest. An vielen Stellen betont er, dass aus einem schlechten Schreiber niemals ein sehr guter werden wird. Er stellt außerdem klar, dass Schreibkurse und Workshops natürlich helfen, aber nicht die Offenbarung liefern werden. Es braucht Werkzeuge, gute Werkzeuge und die trägt man zumeist schon in sich bzw. kann sie beinahe kostenlos besorgen.

Zudem ist das Buch nicht auf so eine öde indoktrinierende Weise geschrieben, wie man es von verschiedenen Sachbüchern kennt, die alle die EINE Wahrheit kennen wollen. Schreiben ist kein Wunder, aber da ist definitiv Magie. Und die erweckt man nicht, indem man Unterhaltungsshows im Fernsehen schaut oder seine Zeit anderweitig vertrödelt. King rät dazu, jeden Tag zu schreiben. Regelmäßig. Sich eine Routine zu schaffen. Außerdem viel zu lesen. Viel lesen, viel schreiben. Er meint, durch das Lesen von Büchern, guter sowie schlechter, lernt man am meisten dazu. Jemand der sich keine Zeit fürs Lesen nimmt, kann nicht erwarten, was Gutes aufs Papier zu bringen – so seine Meinung. Ich glaube, am Häufigsten hat er eingestreut, dass er Adverbien hasst. Ich kanns verstehen – ich bin manchmal (gerade in englischen Büchern) selbst angenervt beim lesen und doch neigt man auch dazu, sie zu häufig zu benutzen.

Für mich ein tolles Buch, dass mich bestärkt. Denn jeder der einfachen Regeln beim schreiben folgt und fleißig ist, kann es schaffen, etwas zu erschaffen, das seinen Voraussetzungen entspricht. Keine Wunder erwarten und: don’t do it for the money!

Fazit: Nur ein Wort: reassuring.
0Kommentar|Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 19. September 2000
Though far from the definitive writer's guideline, this book shines a unique perspective on the craft. Stephen King lays down the law and then teaches it. He shares his techniques, his pet peeves, and his own personal horrific experiences - both as child and adult - and he does it all within the cerebral classroom of the printed page. He wraps a juicy filling of personal tragedy, growth and experience within a tight covering of his famous story telling style.
As a human, I was touched by his childhood anecdotes and often laughed with him about his insecurities. I am still in awe at what he has recently had to overcome physically. I mean, damn.
As a writer, I am grateful for a brief glimpse into his vocational world. I gained confidence from learning about things I have been doing right and have changed many bad habits (may the adverb rest in peace). I've read several tomes on the subject and believe his reigns as the most complete.
I've been a fan of King's since the seventh grade when I was given The Dead Zone and Cujo as an Easter present. A year later I had read every book he'd published (with the exception of the dreaded Limited Editions of which I could opine negatively for hours - suffice it to say that writing should be for everyone to read, not just the rich). I've read or listened to all his books since. I can honestly say, that this is my favorite.
Sometimes the coldest hands to wrap around your neck are the true ones.
The only bad thing I can say about this book is that it's too short, something one rarely has the opportunity to state regarding the beloved author.
A huge thank you to Mr. King for a brief indulgence into the life of a genius.
0Kommentar|5 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 2. April 2016
It was the first Stephen King book, which I read enthusiastically to my surprise. How to become a good writer.

First, he wrote about his youth with his single mother and exceptionally clever older brother. How often newspapers and publishers did not want to publish his short stories.

In this short time I learned a lot of Stephen King, specially not to use adverbs.

Stephen King and his family had late in 1958 the first tv and he said this was very helpful that he had the
chance to read a lot of before watching "stupid tv". It would be the best for a writer not to watch tv.

It was interesting how he had suddenly the idea of "Misery" during a flight to London with his
wife. He slept in, dreamed, woke up and had this "Misery idea" of that crazy nurse and
he was worried that he would forge the brilliant story and wrote two sentences on a napkin.

They were staying in The Brown Hotel. In the first night he could not sleep, he wanted to continue writing on the Misery story and asked the hotel concierge for a quiet and undisturbed place to write. The concierge was showing him a wonderful nostalgic desk
and told him he could write there. At this old cherrywood desk Rudyard Kipling was sitting and writing in the old days.
When Stephen King finished that night with his Mistery story he went back to the concierge and thanked him for this perfect place to write his story.

The concierge replied to him:
"I am very pleased that you liked this desk. Kipling died on this table. He had a stroke when he was writing."
~
"How many times", King thought, "be told us things that we really could do without."
0Kommentar|Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 16. November 2000
A friend of mine gave this book to me as a gift. I haven't been able to thank her enough for it. King is not only a master craftsman but a warm-hearted and generous teacher. This brief, but perceptive book, echoes long after you read the last page. From anecdotes about his childhood to the description of his struggle to overcome substance abuse and recover from a terrible accident, this book exudes warmth and humor and hard-won wisdom. Better yet, it gives inspiration and encouragement that's all the more valuable because after reading it, you know that this man has been there ...
0Kommentar|5 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 2. November 2014
Meine Bewertung bezieht sich auf den ersten, biographisch gehaltenen, Teil, da ich das Buch in erster Linie deßhalb gekauft habe.

On Writing is mein erstes King Buch, das ich gelesen habe und mich überzeugte sein ehrlicher gerader Stil. Er nennt die Dinge beim Namen und verzichtet auf unnötige Ausschmückungen.
Das macht dieses Buch sehr leicht zu lesen und sehr schwer wieder aus der Hand zu legen.
Auch kann man das ein oder andere dabei lernen, besonders zum Thema Durchhaltevermögen.

Ich habe mich daher sehr gefreut, dass ich es letzten Monat spontan noch mit bestellt habe.
0Kommentar|Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 10. April 2014
a massive thanks to mr stephen king for finally letting me conquer the fear and making me start to write
0Kommentar|2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 9. August 2015
This was money well spent. This book is more than the title implies. First it is a selected biography of Stephen King. I enjoyed the poison ivy episode. This is not a deviation but an explanation of why he writes the way he does and the background that he draws on. Secondly this is a "how to write like Stephen King" book it reflects his likes and dislikes. I agree with most of them. I suppose that that is why I like his novels.

However I can only guess that he must spend a lot of time around people that cuss. It is not like he is not aware of it. I feel that he is somewhat proud of the fact that he cusses a lot. Luckily he said it is not necessity to be excessive.

I share his dislike for flashbacks. And he also expresses several dislikes for other stilting crutches, including excessive description of Back-story.
An added bonus is his description of the van accident that a certain comedian commented about saying that Stephen lost his Tommyknockers. Stephen forgot to mention that he bought the van that hit him for destruction purposes. Talk about revenge.

Over all after reading this I was compelled to try my hand at writing.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 28. November 2002
This was money well spent. This book is more than the title implies. First it is a selected biography of Stephen King. I enjoyed the poison ivy episode. This is not a deviation but an explanation of why he writes the way he does and the background that he draws on. Secondly this is a "how to write like Stephen King" book it reflects his likes and dislikes. I agree with most of them. I suppose that that is why I like his novels.

However I can only guess that he must spend a lot of time around people that cuss. It is not like he is not aware of it. I feel that he is somewhat proud of the fact that he cusses a lot. Luckily he said it is not necessity to be excessive.

I share his dislike for flashbacks. And he also expresses several dislikes for other stilting crutches, including excessive description of Back-story.
An added bonus is his description of the van accident that a certain comedian commented about saying that Stephen lost his Tommyknockers. Stephen forgot to mention that he bought the van that hit him for destruction purposes. Talk about revenge.

Over all after reading this I was compelled to try my hand at writing.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden