Kundenrezensionen


17 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (10)
4 Sterne:
 (5)
3 Sterne:
 (1)
2 Sterne:
 (1)
1 Sterne:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


6 von 7 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Der Originalbericht zu "Der Geist und die Dunkelheit"
Durch die recht originalgetreue Verfilmung wurde dieses schreckliche Abenteuer auf ein Neues weltberühmt. Während des Baus der Eisenbahnstrecke 1898 von Mombasa nach Nairobi durch den heutigen Tsavo Nationalpark wurden von den etwa 2500 indischen Gastarbeitern fast 140 Mann durch zwei Löwen gerissen und oft vor den Augen ihrer entsetzten Kameraden...
Veröffentlicht am 4. November 2004 von Christian von Montfort

versus
3.0 von 5 Sternen The Man-Eaters of Tsavo (Taschenbuch)
Ich hatte mir die Romanvorlage des Films "Der Geist und die Dunkelheit" etwas besser vorgestellt.
Natürlich ist es schrecklich, dass so viele Menschen den beiden Löwen zum Opfer fielen, aber der Film ist in seiner ganzen Hollywood-Tragik doch ein Hit.
Das Buch erzählt nur anfangs die Geschichte der Menschenfresser und dem Bau der...
Vor 13 Monaten von Corinna Araj veröffentlicht


‹ Zurück | 1 2 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

6 von 7 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Der Originalbericht zu "Der Geist und die Dunkelheit", 4. November 2004
Von 
Christian von Montfort (Barcelona, Katalonien) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(HALL OF FAME REZENSENT)    (REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Man-Eaters of Tsavo (Taschenbuch)
Durch die recht originalgetreue Verfilmung wurde dieses schreckliche Abenteuer auf ein Neues weltberühmt. Während des Baus der Eisenbahnstrecke 1898 von Mombasa nach Nairobi durch den heutigen Tsavo Nationalpark wurden von den etwa 2500 indischen Gastarbeitern fast 140 Mann durch zwei Löwen gerissen und oft vor den Augen ihrer entsetzten Kameraden gefressen. Doch die vielfältigen Versuche, die Löwen zu töten, schlugen gerade zu magisch fehl. Die Arbeiter hielten die Tiere schließlich für Dämonen und gaben ihnen die Namen "Ghost" und "Darkness".
James H.Patterson leitete damals als Teilprojekt einen Brückenbau mit einigen hundert Mann. Da er sich nicht mit der Strecke weiter bewegte, sondern über Monate an einer Stelle lagerte, konzentrierten sich die Löwen auf seine Gruppe. Die Zustände und Beschreibungen werden geradezu grausig, sind aber, wie er betont, keineswegs übertrieben.
Allerdings nimmt diese Story nur etwa ein Drittel des Buches ein. Patterson schreibt dann auch noch sehr ausführlich über die Ureinwohner (Kiyutu, Masai, Wa Kamba) und weiterhin - und das wird Tierliebhabern weniger gefallen - über die Großwildjagd, die er als Sport betrieben hat. Immerhin kann man in seinem Fall die Motivation noch nachvollziehen, und es handelte sich um klassische Jagd, während bspw. Hemingway ("Die grünen Hügel Afrikas") Tiere teilweise gezielt nur anschoss, um sie über den Tag hetzen zu können. Insgesamt ist dieses Buch eine wertvolle Dokumentation der damaligen Zeit und Lebenseinstellung, die zumindest in meiner Ausgabe mit vielen alten Fotos von Mombasa 1898, dem Brückenbau und den Vorfällen selbst geschmückt ist.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A Great Adventure and Slice of History, 3. Mai 2000
Von 
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Man-Eaters of Tsavo (Gebundene Ausgabe)
You don't have to be a hunter to enjoy this book--I'm not, and I loved it. Contrary to the title's suggestion, this book is not merely about the Lions of Tsavo. In fact, both lions are dispatched fairly early in the book. Nevertheless, Patterson's account of their carnage, and efforts to kill them, are detailed and exciting, and probably unlike anything that will ever be written again.
This book is also gives a micro-social look at British imperialism in Africa around the turn of the century...an interesting slice of Africana, especially through our arguably hypersensitive, politically-correct modern eyes.
Generally, an easy read, filled with local color, hunting, and excitement.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen The mother of man-eater stories, 1. März 2009
Von 
Roman Nies (Helibrunna) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Man-Eaters of Tsavo (Gebundene Ausgabe)
What a thrilling story of bravery and dedication!
You may know of the ghastly Burma road building, the bridge over the River Kwai, and all the other twentieth century civil engineering works done under appalling conditions. This tale of "The Man-Eaters of Tsavo" is the daddy of them all, written in the Victorian era over one hundred years ago. But it is still unsurpassed as an example of supreme courage, fortitude and sheer doggedness - the building of the East African railway - from Nowhere to absolutely Nowhere or the Lunatic Line so-called in Britain. It was scheduled to run Mombasa-Victoria-Uganda, in a desperate effort to stamp out slavery by separating the two halfes of the country, and as a barrier against feared German imperialism.
The British Foreign Office sent out engineers, but the labour force was mainly Indians - 35 thousand arrived, out of which remained only one thousand workers hale and hearty to the end. The two Tsavo lions alone devoured some 100 men! The fever-ridden jungle or desert heat caused an unbearably tense situation, with the Indians trying to creep up on the Officers to kill them before they themselves were killed one way or another, and Colonel Patterson trying to kill the dangerous wild beasts. In spite of what must have been terrifying disasters, 580 miles of rails, including the Tsavo Bridge section, were completed. Such the Puplisher cited had no other choice.
What for me, who has seen the Tsavo Bridge and a lot of the descendants of the Tsavo-lions, was mostly astonishing when reading the dramatic account of Patterson, who succeeded in shooting the man-eaters, was the sober-mindedness and containment the author displays when relating this all. Some kind of Victorian aloofness. Very well-doing in comparison with the accounts of adventurers of these days and their craving for attention. The events relate the story alone. There is no need to exaggerate anything. No demand to stress. Instead constant under-estatement, no pause, no still-stand to take a sigh of relief or come to contemplation, no insight in the feelings of the haunted, although Paterson says: "It is with a feeling of the greatest diffidence that I place the following pages before the public..." he gives the clue that there were not so much imminent feelings at all even to publish the pages, because he continues: "...but those of my friends who happen to have heard of my rather unique experiences in the wilds have so often urged me to write an account of my adventures, that after much hesitation I at last determined to do so." Thanks to his friends we received this work! He admits:
"I have toned down the facts rather than otherwise, and have endeavoured to write a perfectly plain and straightforward account of things as they actually happened!" and this in deed he did!
If you want to read a hair-raising wildlife hunting account, read this.

By the way the Hollywood movie with Michael Douglas and Val Kilmer is really watchable, but just a weak shadow of what really happened.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen The Legend of the Lions, 22. März 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Man-Eaters of Tsavo (Gebundene Ausgabe)
I really enjoyed reading this book. After spending a year in Kenya myself this brought back some memories (no I didn't encounter any maneaters). This books has lots of great b&w photos and descriptions of some of the many tribes of Kenya. Yes, only the first 100 of 300 pages deals with lion hunting, but as the Kenyan Culture Host @ Bella Online I highly recommend this book.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Atrue account of one man's courage., 12. März 1999
Von Ein Kunde
In "The Man-Eaters of Tsavo' I found John Patterson to be a man of incrediable courage who thought of himself as just an ordinary man. True his accounts of his time in Africa lacks the sweeping splendor and suspense that most novelists attempt, but this is not a work of fiction. He does not make himself out to be a hero. When he writes about how while hunting the lions, he had to crawl through underbrush on game trails barely wide enough for him and could only see feet ahead , you can feel the fear. His further experiences while working for the railroad and during WW1 in Africa are equally amazing. This man was about 5'6'' and 160lbs. but the things he did would make him a giant of legends.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen My bedtime story when I was a youth., 6. Oktober 1999
Von 
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Man-Eaters of Tsavo (Gebundene Ausgabe)
Yep....my father loved this book and so read it to me every night, grisly chapter after grisly chapter, and got down on the floor to act out the lions howling, elephants thumpeting, and what I reckon was Pap's interpretive dance of the Masai. Yessir--I was just a kid, unable yet to read, and this sort of grotesque foolishness scared the daylights out of me. I soon got to where I would rather take a good flogging then be read another chapter of "Maneaters." Well, as an adult and Pap now long dead, I hold these memoiries dear and bought the book after the fictionalized movie was released. Get "Maneaters." It is the real thing with the bark left on. Ted Franklin Belue
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen A classic written by a man who had no experience of writing!, 19. März 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Man-Eaters of Tsavo (Gebundene Ausgabe)
Col J Patterson was a remarkable personality. He was a person who was asked to put a rail line through one of the most hostile places on earth. (Tsavo literally means : Slaughter House)
The account of the various lions terrorising the railway workers is horrifying and very true.
Having visited the area myself in this day and age it is remarkable that a person like Col Patterson managed to live thru that ordeal.
The other thing ofcourse is that his lietrary talents are remarkable considering the fact that he had no prior book writing experience.
A great, true, and mesmerising account of the horrors faced by the rail workers in East Africa.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3.0 von 5 Sternen The Man-Eaters of Tsavo (Taschenbuch), 6. April 2014
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Man-eaters of Tsavo (Taschenbuch)
Ich hatte mir die Romanvorlage des Films "Der Geist und die Dunkelheit" etwas besser vorgestellt.
Natürlich ist es schrecklich, dass so viele Menschen den beiden Löwen zum Opfer fielen, aber der Film ist in seiner ganzen Hollywood-Tragik doch ein Hit.
Das Buch erzählt nur anfangs die Geschichte der Menschenfresser und dem Bau der Brücke über den Tsavo-Fluss, dann verläuft es sich in einer Schilderung der Jagderfolge des John Henry Patterson.
Trotz interessanter Einblicke in die Lebensweise verschiedener Völker Afrikas, doch eher ein Jagdbericht über die damals noch üppige Großwild-Fauna Afrikas.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen The facts from Patterson, read it if you liked the film., 11. August 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Man Eaters is one of the few readily available books detailing life on one of the last frontiers. The book is good, but less than half of it has to do with hunting of any kind. It is more a journal of time spent at Tsavo 100 years ago. For white nuckle reading about more real man eating cats pick up anything by Jim Corbett. Equally good reading about hunting other dangerous game can be had from Peter Capstick. Good reading, and good hunting.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen A book of every season., 29. Juni 1999
Von Ein Kunde
I first read this book as a child in '78 but its still fresh in my mind. Col. Patterson's indomitable spirits in the face of desperation has been a source of inspiration for me all my life. Every child should read this book.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 2 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

The Man-Eaters of Tsavo
The Man-Eaters of Tsavo von John Henry Patterson (Taschenbuch - 13. April 2005)
EUR 9,56
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen