Kundenrezensionen


288 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (105)
4 Sterne:
 (61)
3 Sterne:
 (43)
2 Sterne:
 (38)
1 Sterne:
 (41)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


5.0 von 5 Sternen I was surprised -- I liked it
I found this installment of the series to be superior to most, especially book 6 Assassins, much to my surprise.
It's not for everyone. The writing shifts quite a bit. Only 3 days of time pass and very little of the book of Revelation, the guideline for the series, unfolds. Think of this as "half time" in a football game before the bigger, badder you...
Veröffentlicht am 20. Juli 2000 von William H. Bagot

versus
3.0 von 5 Sternen Okay...definately not their best effort
I have recently picked up reading the Left Behind series and have completed all seven books in about two months. The Indwelling seemed to have more filler than substance. By stretching this "episode" which lasts about 3 days into a book that long is not the best way to approach this story. Also, the culminating story takes place in the end, a theme they...
Am 19. Juni 2000 veröffentlicht


‹ Zurück | 1 229 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

2.0 von 5 Sternen Authors continue the milking of their readers, 25. Juli 2000
This series started out with a terrific premise, and the first three books weren't bad. OK, Jenkins writes fiction about as well as an average 15 year old, and his characters are uni-dimensional and cartoon-like, but a good premise can drive a series like this and drive it well.
The big problem is that this series should have been done in three or four volumes. That would have been its natural length, and that the authors have chosen to stretch it into who knows how many volumes--at this point seven and counting--seems merely a reflection of their greed. Their audience is already addicted to the series, so they choose to milk the readers along, presumably to extract the maximum commercial return.
In terms of the works themselves, the later volumes, purely and simply, are boring. And badly written. Jenkins seems to think nothing of having his characters do things that on the basis of their personalities they would never do. The authors didn't bother with even the most basic research on the technical side. So they come up with absurd gagets that they use to drive the story--incredible cell phones that never run out of batteries, are totally secure and can be used even at 30,000 feet, etc. Perhaps worst of all, their Christianity is simple-minded--the reverse of thoughtful and wise.
All in all, the series has become an exercise in underwhelming readers while ripping them off. Aside from this being rather unbecoming of two writers who fancy themselves seriously spiritual, it makes for the most mediocre of writing. While the authors continue to claim that they have written the most popular fiction series in history, do yourself a favor and leave this thing in the stores.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen I was surprised -- I liked it, 20. Juli 2000
Von 
William H. Bagot (San Diego, CA USA) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
I found this installment of the series to be superior to most, especially book 6 Assassins, much to my surprise.
It's not for everyone. The writing shifts quite a bit. Only 3 days of time pass and very little of the book of Revelation, the guideline for the series, unfolds. Think of this as "half time" in a football game before the bigger, badder you ain't seen nothing yet anti-christ starts to run wild. There's a lot of action but not as much of the earth shaking variety that some readers have come to expect. Mostly the action is in getting everyone back together. That's pretty much the theme of this book. The characters get back together geographically and get themselves back together on a spiritual level and on an emotional level with each other. There's a lot of soul searching and repentence and a lot of questions, not all cut and dry. The level of spirituality is deeper.
I also appreciated that there was no big cliffhanger. Too many cliffhangers, especially since the books only come out once every 6 months, can be frustrating. The devoted readers of this series can relax until the next installment.
As with previous books there are character deaths, mostly as a consequence of a single action, and we get to see those consequences. I'm more intrigued with this series after seeing the authors on Larry King Live and learning that only 1 character will survive to the end. That was shocking. I expected it to be out of the old Star Trek mode where there are lots of deaths, usually the guest star for that episode, but never the big four. This book will take a different, more realistic tact based on the time of the writing -- the end times.
I look forward to seeing what will happen.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1.0 von 5 Sternen Good story, horrible writing, 30. Juni 2000
Von Ein Kunde
I am not interested in debating LaHaye's and Jenkins' theories on the tribulation, fundementalism, Christianity, etc. Suffice it to say that if you are not a Christian, and/or do not believe in a literal interpretation of Revelations than this series is not for you (although you likely already knew that).
The bigger problem is that, despite having an exciting storyline (and noone can argue that a literal interpretation of Revelations moves pretty quickly), this series is probably the worst-written adult series in history. And I am not given to superlatives.
Two repeating problems throughout the series include: 1) The authors have clearly done no research outside reading the Bible. Despite scenes taking place throughout the world, different countries are completely non-descript and interchangeable. The authors rely on advanced technology that they are clearly clueless about (compare to Tom Clancy for an example of how technology can be written. That amount of detail isn't necessary, but more than "He dialed on his cell phone, which could not be traced and had a long-lasting battery" would be beneficial). 2) The characters have no personalities and, therefore, no ability to relate to each other beyond "He loved her because she was his wife." This is particularly evident in the authors' inability to develop conflict between characters. This problem was most clearly seen in the second book, where a misunderstanding about who sent Chloe flowers led to a 75 page standoff. (For fun, do this exercise: go up to someone and say, "I'm angry about the flowers." That person, unless s/he is a total moron, will say, "What flowers?" You respond, "The flowers you sent me." They will respond, "I didn't send you flowers." End of conflict). People become angry with each other for no reason, don't talk to each other for no reason, etc.
Lastly, dialogue is ridiculous. In this book, David Hassid is supposed to be some intellectual giant, yet he has arguments with Guy that include such witty repartee as: (Guy) "Why aren't you here?" (David) "Let me guess. Because I'm here?" or: (Guy) "Stop calling me that." (David) "What, sir? I'm sorry, I thought you were male." This is amusing banter for elementary school kids, but after that it is stunningly immature and hardly "a battle of wits and sarcasm."
The fact is, the authors have no ability to build characters or have them relate, research their topic, pace a story (this book takes place over only three days), or utilize any simple literary techniques. Writing a story based on prophecies in Revelation is a great idea; too bad some real authors didn't think of it.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3.0 von 5 Sternen Okay...definately not their best effort, 19. Juni 2000
Von Ein Kunde
I have recently picked up reading the Left Behind series and have completed all seven books in about two months. The Indwelling seemed to have more filler than substance. By stretching this "episode" which lasts about 3 days into a book that long is not the best way to approach this story. Also, the culminating story takes place in the end, a theme they continue throughout the series.
I was disappointed by this one although I really enjoyed the others in the series. Besides the seeming "indestructible nature" of the main characters and their seemingly endless supply of resources to buy fuel, food and supplies the story is intriguing which continually left me thinking "yeah right" with some of the story lines. After all, how many times can one person survive a plane crash...let alone read about one? Each chase/encounter scene resembled the last and reminds me of the one in book 2...or was it 4...who really knows?
Being new to this series, I was also disappointed to find that it will go for 12 books. Twelve books? This dances over the mundane to the ridiculous. I am not quite sure I can stand 5 more books of chases, near misses and quite frankly the "same old same old."
I am concerned that this series will run the gauntlet like other series in a different genre. For example, with many TV shows, the writers tend to run out of ideas inevitably provoking the canceling of the show. Lahaye and Jenkins are running out of ideas at worst or stretching what they have for more books at best.
I am a devout Christian, a true born again believer. I do enjoy reading fiction that does not offend my beliefs and sensibilities. For this reason, I did not rate The Indwelling lower. The Indwelling left me feeling as if I were in a tunnel searching for the proverbial light at its end.
However, I must confess even if just to myself that I am helplessly hooked on the story. I will more than likely pick up the next book and the one after that...and the one after that...and the...well you get the picture.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen FAST PACED AND AWSOME, 14. Juni 2000
Von 
Judi Meadows (CA United States) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
I have a hard time understanding those who berate this or any of the books in the series. Except the fact that their blind to the truths revealed. You have to remember that this is Biblically based fiction. And the authors are trying to get a message out. Will you hear it?
I for one couldn't put the book down. Yes, it was somewhat predictable, but Jenkins keeps you turning the page. Each scene leaves you hanging on until he brings you back to that character or characters. These novels were inspired by God--to give a realistic look at the horrible ordeal that those who've been left behind will endure during the tribulation.
The point is... you don't have to be. Left behind that is. This series has given enough truth that those who haven't yet made a decision to follow Jesus Christ, have been given a chance to see what they'll endure if they refuse to acknowledge him as Lord. That's the whole point of these novels. I'm thankful that I won't have to endure it, but I am concerned for those who will.
This perticular novel shows the types of struggles the characters go through. From David and Annie being in the midst of the most chilling time in history, being in the very midst of satan, to Chloe's desire to kill Kenny and herself should the GC overtake them at the safe house. And Tsion's dreams, wanting to know how to interpret them, to finding the new safe house without being detected and Chaim's struggle over whether or not to make a decision to follow Christ, when he knows may be on the very brink of dying. And worst, when the Tribulation Force members suffer the loss of other believers, friends.
I had chills when I read parts of this novel. Not the fun kind! This book is a must read for anyone who wants to know what the future holds. Better yet... read the Bible.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2.0 von 5 Sternen More tribulation, please!, 11. Juni 2000
Von Ein Kunde
I've read comments on this book that complain about the padding - the spacing out of one dramatic event per book. (This time it's the indwelling of Carpathia by Satan, not that I expect his behavior to change much, since it's not as if the character was given any depth beforehand. In fact, now that I think of it, I wonder why the authors have never written from Carpathia's viewpoint. Or, for that matter, the viewpoint of any non-saved character. Wouldn't it be interesting to actually get inside, say, Chaim's interior turmoil rather than hearing him say "I am too stubborn to convert" a zillion times before finally converting in a moment of duress? But I digress.) I don't care about the pacing; I just want something interesting to happen between biblical events.
Or perhaps my idea of what would be interesting is way off the spirit of this series. For all I know, the authors intended Chloe's "struggle" with whether or not to kill Kenny to be a searingly dramatic look into Chloe's soul. Could it be that our favorite 22 year old mom and Stanford dropout is not perfect? GOLLY! (I am more certain that they did not intend a South Park reference.) I appreciate the effort, but as someone with secular tastes, I found it pretty undramatic. I mean, it's not as if "GC" forces were knocking down the door. She's sitting around chatting with Tsion when she declares she's ready to off Kenny rather than let him fall into GC hands. Of course, as I understand the theology, once you're saved, you're saved, so she'd be set for the Glorious Appearing anyway. But maybe I'm wrong.
And speaking of filler - I can't begin to recall the number of times drama has involved taking off in an airplane or having oneself saved by the fortunate appearance of God's wrath (locusts, spirit horsemen, etc.) How about the inherent drama of, oh, I don't know, living in a country where the infrastructure has got to be shot? At this point, since about a third of the world's population has been killed and the water routinely turns to blood (about a quarter of it, I think, which must make showers no fun), our characters should be having trouble finding food and medicine and fuel. Instead, they fly around the world and RENT CARS! I half expected Chloe to go shopping with Kenny in a doublewide stroller at the mall!
Still, I look forward to the Satanic bar codes of THE MARK.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Still can't put them down, 6. Juni 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Overall, I would give this series so far a 5, although some books are better than others. I started reading this series back in February, and I've now finished The Indwelling. This book moves really slowly at times and there seems to be an awful lot happening in the span of just a few days (over nearly 400 pages). Despite this, it isn't difficult to follow, but I was disappointed at the end. I wanted more, and I think my disappointment is greater knowing that #8 won't be out until November. The "dream sequence" also seems a bit far-fetched.
I am glad, however, that Rayford's whining seems to have stopped. And while I do have a problem with the turns in some of the characters' personalities (Chloe goes from being an independent college student to "the little woman", and the original members of the Trib Force ALWAYS seem to know the right thing to do), you do want to know what happens to them (even if you don't always care). It is compelling reading and very difficult to put down.
I've had an interesting experience spiritually with these books, too. I am a Christian and a Catholic. Yes, I know these books were conceived by an evangelical preacher, so I expect a certain amount of fundamentalism. Generally I agree with their premise, and I have become stronger in my faith in Jesus as a result.
But I am offended by the peppering of remarks that are clearly aimed at the deficiencies of certain religions. I can only point out the specific ones pertaining to Catholics ("...there are many ways to ensure eternal bliss...It is by being a good and kind human being and helping others" -- Leon Fortunato). This is obviously the reference to the inaccurate assumption that Catholics believe that faith in Jesus is not enough for eternal life. I think I am offended by these types of remarks because they seem to be thrown in as "jabs" with no real basis or follow-through.
Still, I really enjoy these books and, whether you are religious or not, you have to admit that they really make you think.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Still can't put them down, 6. Juni 2000
Von 
J. McGovern "jmcwriter" (Chicago-area, IL USA) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Overall, I would give this series so far a 5, although some books are better than others. I started reading this series back in February, and I've now finished The Indwelling. This book moves really slowly at times and there seems to be an awful lot happening in the span of just a few days (over nearly 400 pages). Despite this, it isn't difficult to follow, but I was disappointed at the end. I wanted more, and I think my disappointment is greater knowing that #8 won't be out until November. The "dream sequence" also seems a bit far-fetched.
I am glad, however, that Rayford's whining seems to have stopped. And while I do have a problem with the turns in some of the characters' personalities (Chloe goes from being an independent college student to "the little woman", and the original members of the Trib Force ALWAYS seem to know the right thing to do), you do want to know what happens to them (even if you don't always care). It is compelling reading and very difficult to put down.
I've had an interesting experience spiritually with these books, too. I am a Christian and a Catholic. Yes, I know these books were conceived by an evangelical preacher, so I expect a certain amount of fundamentalism. Generally I agree with their premise, and I have become stronger in my faith in Jesus as a result.
But I am offended by the peppering of remarks that are clearly aimed at the deficiencies of certain religions. I can only point out the specific ones pertaining to Catholics ("...there are many ways to ensure eternal bliss...It is by being a good and kind human being and helping others" -- Leon Fortunato). This is obviously the reference to the inaccurate assumption that Catholics believe that faith in Jesus is not enough for eternal life. I think I am offended by these types of remarks because they seem to be thrown in as "jabs" with no real basis or follow-through.
Still, I really enjoy these books and, whether you are religious or not, you have to admit that they really make you think.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen The Indwelling, 5. Juni 2000
Von 
As many of you have also done, I waited for months to read this next addition to the Left Behind series. While I found the "action" to be somewhat lacking, the book flowed very nicely. To make the prophetic facts seem more real to me, I enjoy keeping my Bible next to me and looking them up as they occur. One important thing to remember about this series is that it is FICTION based on FACT of what will happen when our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ comes again to claim his children. You can make fun of the characters as much as you want to, but what would any of us do who were put in the same situation? This is a battle of good vs. evil; if you lose, you die. While dying as a Christian means eternity in heaven, I can't think of anyone who actually looks forward to death. During the tribulation, the only two things that will matter will be witnessing for Christ and survival. I praise Tim LaHaye and Jerry Jenkins for their lifelike casting of the Trib Force. Here are perfect examples of sinners, just like me, who were saved by putting their faith and trust in Jesus Christ. The authors are not afraid to make the characters human, like Rayford and Chloe. Both had strong, sinful desires that show them for what they are -- sinners saved by grace. I can't wait until this fall to read the next book. Hopefully, Jesus will return before then and we, who are truly born again, can leave this old world behind. I also highly recommend Are We Living in the End Times. This is written by the same authors. If you are like me, this book will send chills up your spine when you see how close we truly may be to the rapture! Hopefully, it will spur you as it did me to be a better witness for Christ!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Readers must "Take Possession of the Details", 29. Mai 2000
If you read this book primarily to find out who killed Carpathia, chances are you will find yourself somewhat disappointed. The book does answer this question, however, you have to wait after the very detailed plot and character development before this mystery unravels.
The tribulation force is now scattered and facing several dangerous challenges. The battle between the tribulation force and the Global Community Forces take place in several different areas:
*Rayford must escape Isreal while giving himself a spiritual inventory.
*Tsion Ben-Judah gets a glimpse of battle in the spiritual realm through a series of dreams.
*David, Annie, Mac and Abdullah are on the front lines of the war as they battle for the tribulation force right under the enemies nose
*Buck Williams investigates the mysterious disappearance of Chaim Rosenweig
*Leah runs into another believer who has an inside track on Hattie's location
All of these subplots initially develop separately as communication between the body of believers is temporarily severed. They then come together and the plot climaxes as Fortunato seems to gain more political and supernatural power. Does Satan take possession of Carpathia's body and ressurect it? This question is answered near the explosive end of the book.
Tim LaHaye's and Jerry Jenkins' talent for excellent character development and incessantly intriguing story lines is manifested in this book. You must be patient and appreciate the details in order to fully enjoy it. The authors know how to tease you enough so that you keep reading. Although a lot of question are answered in this book of the series, it creates new questions that will make the reader hungry for the next book "The Mark!"
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 229 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

The Indwelling: The Beast Takes Possession (Left Behind)
The Indwelling: The Beast Takes Possession (Left Behind) von Jerry B. Jenkins (Taschenbuch - 28. April 2011)
EUR 13,89
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen