Kundenrezensionen


8 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (6)
4 Sterne:
 (2)
3 Sterne:    (0)
2 Sterne:    (0)
1 Sterne:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Best book ever!, 22. Juli 2011
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Ordinary Thunderstorms (Taschenbuch)
WOW! This is my favourite book of all times until now!
As you begin to read, the story takes hold of you, you just can`t put the book down. Crazy things start to happen and you realize that they could also happen in real life - to any of us anytime.
This is what shocked me most, in a positive way of course. I felt myself pulled inside the story and finished the book in less than 2days. It has everything a book lover could ask for: it is thrilling, shocking, realistic and witty.
I don`t want to go too much into details about the plot, as I don`t want to spoil your reading pleasure.
Just read it - you will definitely not regret it! Thank you William Boyd!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5 von 7 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Thunderclaps of Fate, 28. Juli 2010
Von 
Gerhard Mersmann "GM" (Mannheim) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(TOP 500 REZENSENT)    (VINE®-PRODUKTTESTER)    (REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Ordinary Thunderstorms (Taschenbuch)
Many a good man has been destroyed by the stroke of a moment. William Boyd is resuming this experience in a thrilling piece of criminal action, surrounded by economic and political motives.

Adam Kindred, born and grown up in England, well educated and in the first years of his professional development living in the USA, comes back to London for an interview to get a job as a climatologist. By random he meets another scientist in an Italian restaurant who looses some important papers there. Kindred brings them to his apartment and witnesses the last breath taking moments of this scientist, who has been stabbed. Unfortunately Kindred follows the last advice of the scientist and removes the knife of his body, so that he will be suspected of murder.

Kindred goes incognito and with him his old identity is fading out. He lives under a bridge in Chelsea, gets acquainted with the social fringe of society and is taking his meals in a welfare service of a church. Meanwhile an English plant of drug industry which was testing a new product with children to fight asthma comes into the spotlight because it faked scientific reports about the effects of the product and denies the sudden death of about 14 children who took part of the programme. We learn that the murdered scientist would have been an obstacle launching the market.

An ex soldiers of the special service is hunting Kindred by his own methods, trying to kill him before he can publish the documents he possesses from the scientist. For Kindred it is a race with the devil which he will, on the long run win.

Boyds Ordinary Thunderstorms is a well webbed plot about some clichés of economic criminality. The metaphoric title, referring to the professional field of the protagonist, seems to be the real gain of the story. Existentially we all should be aware that we can be driven into a miserable fate just by one stroke, not caused by our own intention.

The text is designed by a narrative force, not too strong, but strong enough to fire your own curiosity. On the other hand there is a more contemplative dimension to think about the incalculability of our own biography. Who starts reading will not stop before the end.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Endlich einmal ein anderer Krimi, 22. November 2013
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Ordinary Thunderstorms (Kindle Edition)
Nicht immer ganz, aber verglichen mit anderen Krimis extrem logisch aufgebaut. Mit vielen guten Cliff-Hangers versehen, und mit viel Freude und Phantasie entwickelt und erzählt. Ein besonderer Tipp für London-Liebhaber.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A gripping tale of a mans odyssee, 1. Februar 2011
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Ordinary Thunderstorms (Taschenbuch)
I enjoyed reading Ordinary Thunderstorms by William Boyd very much. It is a gripping tale, showing the reader what could happen to anyone in the split of a second while being in the wrong place at the wrong time. The author keeps the thrill up until the end, the book is an absolute pageturner. And it is a London book, the feeling of the city, the various fields of life, is transported very well,

The ending is, well, not of the all is well or all is bad, all dead or all jailed kind, it leaves room for the readers imagination I think. The book holds a lot of loose ends and keeps one coming back in thoughts to various characters. For days after finishing this book I was contemplating how the one or the other would progress in life, I always felt as if I still had not finished the book would go back to it and find all my questions answered. But that is not the case. But I did not find that disappointing at all, au contraire. Maybe this is not a read for someone who discovers Boyd for the first time on the other hand I would go for other novels by this author after reading Ordinary Thunderstorms, had I not read a few of him already.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Ordinary Thunderstorms, 1. Januar 2012
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Ordinary Thunderstorms (Taschenbuch)
Definately a great book with a wonderful use of language, really a pageturner! So many familiar places in London where the story takes place.. and a nice study of culture!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Outstanding!, 4. August 2010
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Ordinary Thunderstorms (Taschenbuch)
One of my all-time favourite books in the last decade!
As a lover of London and interesting, exciting novels with
unexpected twists you will love Boyd's masterpiece with its
bitter and at times sweet moments.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Subtil!!, 1. Juli 2010
Kinder-Rezension
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Ordinary Thunderstorms (Taschenbuch)
So zwingend geschrieben habe ich selten einen Thriller gelesen. Die Entwicklung Adams ist nachvollziehbar, auch wenn man sich diese Situation nicht vorstellen kann. Die einzelnen Mitspieler, von "Bösewicht" über Handlanger, Aufrechte, Unwissende, Törichte, Unbeteiligte und doch dann Beteiligte, Gutmeinende, Fehlgehende usw.usw. Und am Ende muß man Adam lieben. Excellent style, marvellous writing, great.........read it!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


0 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Great book, 16. September 2010
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Ordinary Thunderstorms (Taschenbuch)
It is my first Boyd and I really like it. the book features a good variety of different characters. First of all Adam whose "transformation" is believable and convincing but also the Pharmacy tycoon who is not such an invincible business leader at all, the Mhouse person, the bad guy. They all have their own little stories reflecting the ups and downs in life.
But ist not only about the charcters, it is definitely a page turner and there is also a lot of suspense.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Ordinary Thunderstorms
Ordinary Thunderstorms von William Boyd (Taschenbuch - 1. Juni 2010)
EUR 7,08
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen