Kundenrezensionen


477 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (433)
4 Sterne:
 (24)
3 Sterne:
 (7)
2 Sterne:
 (4)
1 Sterne:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


23 von 25 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Sie werden dieses Buch lieben!!!!!!
Um nicht wahllos drauflos zu schreiben, habe ich versucht, meine Gedanken etwas zu sammeln und herauszufinden, WAS GENAU an "The Golden Compass" denn nun so faszinierend ist. Aber es läuft alles auf`s gleiche hinaus: dieses Buch ist eines der schönsten Leseerlebnisse meines ganzen Lebens und wenn der Buchhändler mir nicht bald den zweiten Teil zusendet,...
Veröffentlicht am 15. Juni 2004 von Phaeton, Prime of Rhadamanthus...

versus
1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen To read or not to Read
Not being a fan of fantasy books, I bought this book because it was on the reading list for a college course that I am taking. Even though the story was unbelievable,the author skillfully inserted enough scientific theory and religious historical background to make me want to continue reading to see just how he would write his way out of the situation.
I am still...
Am 26. Juli 2000 veröffentlicht


‹ Zurück | 1 248 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

23 von 25 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Sie werden dieses Buch lieben!!!!!!, 15. Juni 2004
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Um nicht wahllos drauflos zu schreiben, habe ich versucht, meine Gedanken etwas zu sammeln und herauszufinden, WAS GENAU an "The Golden Compass" denn nun so faszinierend ist. Aber es läuft alles auf`s gleiche hinaus: dieses Buch ist eines der schönsten Leseerlebnisse meines ganzen Lebens und wenn der Buchhändler mir nicht bald den zweiten Teil zusendet, dann drehe ich durch (ich lese seitdem immer wieder die letzten drei Kapitel des ersten Bandes). Aber gut, hier erst einmal mögliche Gründe für das Faszinierende an diesem ersten Band:
Figuren
Werden so lebhaft im Kopf verankert, dass man wirklich denkt, sie zu kennen. Wenn das Buch zur Seite gelegt ist, denkt man nächtelang über die sehr exakt und liebevoll gezeichneten Figuren nach. Die Protagonistin übertrifft natürlich alles: eine 11-jährige tapfere Heldin;-)
Plot
Spannenderes hat man selten gelesen! Ständige Verwendung von "Suspense"-Momenten, die auch erwachsene Leser echt mitreissen. Es gibt Stellen in diesem Buch, die eine Anspannung aufbauen, die man nichts anderes als erstaunlich nennen kann. Hinzu kommt, dass der Verlauf der Geschichte so gut miteinander verzahnt ist, dass man aus dem Staunen nicht mehr herauskommt. Hier hat sich Pullman wirklich einen Plan zurechtgelegt, und der Faden wird nie verloren, keine Figur, die nebenbei vorkommt, wird einfach nebenbei abgehandelt, alle erhalten ihre Wichtigkeit.
Sprache
Die Sprache ist wirklich sehr ausgefeilt, grade für ein Kinderbuch. Ich kenne das Buch nicht in der deutschen Übertragung, kann nur hoffen, dass sie dem Original gerecht wird. Sehr viele und sehr mitreissende Dialoge, die äußerst faszinierend sind!
Inhalt
Klar, man muss sich etwas Magisches und Kindliches bewahrt haben, um "The Golden Compass" mitreissend zu finden. Die kleine Lyra lebt in Oxford und turnt nachts auf den Dächern herum, bis ihr Onkel kommt und von seltsamen Vorkommnissen im hohen Norden berichtet. Lyras Abenteuer beginnt hier, denn sie wird sich zu dieser Reise aufmachen. Und sie wird die wundersamsten, schönsten, skurrilsten Menschen (und andere Wesen) treffen, die diesen Weg unterstützend begleiten - oder sich diesem versuchen in den Weg zu stellen. Dies nur der äußere Mantel der Handlung. Man findet hier eine Geschichte über Liebe, Freundschaft, Verrat, Sünde, Philosophie, das große Abenteuer, die Universität, das Verhältnis Mann-Frau...
Fazit
Eines der großartigsten Leseerlebnisse meines ganzen Lebens. Hier werden verschiedene Genres und die Adressaten Erwachsene/Kinder spielend in einen Topf geworfen! Ich war selten verzauberter, mitgerissener, beteiligter an einer Handlung und den Figuren in einem Buch. *Es kommt schließlich* der letzte Teil von "Golden Compass", der eine Geschwindigkeit entwickelt, dass man denkt, man führe Achterbahn bergab. Es kommt die Stelle, die einem die Tränen in die Augen schießen lässt. Dieses Buch ist wunderschön, herzerwärmend, herzzerreissend. Ein Riesenglück, dass es nur der erste Teil einer Trilogie ist.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Shades of Narnia, 20. Juli 2007
With the movie coming out in December and everyone raving on about the book, I figured it was time to see what all the fuss was about. After finishing it, I would conclude that it IS an excellent book but not a masterpiece as everyone else claims it to be. I can see now why Hollywood snapped this up as it has everything a movie producer dreams of - a brave child, talking animals, loyal comrades and a story with a moral behind it.

The story is set in an alternate Britain, where people have inseparable daemons attached to their bodies, which reflect the person's personality. The Church rules over all of the world in all matters and anyone that bucks the official line is declared a heretic and killed.

Lyra Belacqua is living at Jordan College in Oxford when one day her uncle Asriel unexpectedly visits. She overhears him telling his colleagues about something called Dust and how he needs money to go on an expedition to the north to find out more.

Meanwhile, children are disappearing from all over Britain by a smuggling gang called the Gobblers. It is rumoured that a mysterious church agency called the General Oblation Board is behind the smugglings but no-one knows where the children are taken or what happens to them afterwards.

One day a woman called Mrs Coulter arrives at Jordan College and takes a fancy to Lyra, ultimately recruiting the little girl as her personal assistant. The Master of Jordan is extremely disturbed and gives Lyra a golden compass called an alethiometer which can tell the right person the answers to any questions. Lyra soon needs it as she finds out a lot of disturbing things about Mrs Coulter and goes on the run.

Her fugitive escape soon takes her to the north, to a polar bear kingdom, Americans in hot air balloons and an all-out war with the Tartars. But every step Lyra takes brings her closer to what her uncle Asriel is doing, to the existence of other worlds beyond the stars - and to the secret of Dust....but Mrs Coulter is in hot pursuit determined to stop Lyra and Asriel and save her project.

If you like fantasy stories, Pullman has written a good one here, although sometimes some of the plot background is hard to grasp (for example, what does a daemon really look like?). The end of this book sets up the plot for book 2 - "The Subtle Knife" and then the final book in the trilogy - "The Amber Spyglass"
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Quite pleasant., 28. Juni 2004
This is the first book in the His Dark Materials trilogy (before The Subtle Knife, and The Amber Spyglass).
Set at the turn of the twentieth century in an alternate Europe where everyone is inseparable from their animal daemons, shape-changers that only settle at puberty, this is the story of Lyra Belacqua (and her daemon Pantalaimon), a teenage orphan girl living in Oxford College in charge of her powerful uncle, Lord Asriel.
Being a curious little girl, Lyra hears lots of gossip in the old halls. Some, about Dust, as well as pictures of a mysterious floating city in the aurora, make her dream of travelling North on one of her uncle's expeditions. But soon she also hears rumours of children, mainly from Gyptian families, who have started to mysteriously disappear, lured and captured by what people call the "Gobblers".
And when her playmate Roger the kitchen boy is kidnapped, she's desperate. But at the same time arrives Mrs. Coulter, an elegant and fascinatingly intelligent woman, who wants to take Lyra to her school in London. Believing that she'll learn more about Dust and maybe travel North with her, she soon becomes Mrs. Coulter's protégée. Until she realizes that the woman is none other than the head of the General Oblation Board of London, in other words the "Gobblers", and runs away.
The rest of the story tells how Lyra finally travels to Lapland, setting out in search of Roger and the other missing children with the help of the Gyptians, with whom she first takes refuge, of Panserborne (armoured bears) and witch-queens, and of the alethiometer, a strange compass-like device that reveals the truth to anyone who can read it, which the Master of Oxford College secretly gave her just before she left. Little by little, she'll become caught up in the adults' intricate powerplay.
I liked Northern Lights (US title: The Golden Compass), and found it quite pleasant to read, but I wasn't overly captivated by it. I was moved by Lyra's friendship with Iorek Byrnison, an exiled Panserborne, and deeply shocked, appalled, when I discovered what the "Gobblers" do to the snatched children, but that's about it. Lyra's a tad too temerarious and quick-witted, and in the end, I found her hardly believable. I'm very fond of Pantalaimon though.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Incredible - one of my favorites., 17. September 2000
This novel has been high on my favorites list for a few years (four, I beleive) and it never ceases to amaze me. When I first bought it, I was between 6th and 7th grades, and ate it up overnight. I loved it. I think I must of read it three or four times that summer. The plot was wonderful, and as I got older, I was able to see other aspects of this book that lie beneath the plot. It's a great book for middle schoolers - it stretches their minds, while keeping a fast paced plot that will keep them interested. I can also recommend this to *anybody,* and it is not because I'm blinded by the nostalgia factor (though it does play a role in this), but because it is an excellent book. It may be a little on the strange side for some, but it really is a good read. Both books in this series are, and I hope that the conclusion to the series will be well worth the two (?) years wait. The Golden Compass, for me, is a book that I can never grow tired of. Once every few months I once more discover the magic and mystery of this book's world, and am always entranced as I was when I first read it.
Highly recommended. I'd give it a 6/5 stars if that was possible. Please, read all of the books in this series - you won't regret it.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


11 von 13 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Fantasy der Spitzenklasse, 19. September 2004
Lyra wächst im Jordan College in Oxford auf, in einer Welt, in der jeder Mensch untrennbar mit seinem persönlichen "Dämon" verbunden ist, der ihn sein Leben lang begleitet und die Gestalt verschiedener Tiere annehmen kann.
Als versucht wird, Lyras Onkel, Lord Asriel, zu vergiften und als auch noch der beste Freund des Mädchens, der Küchenjunge Roger von den "Gobblers" entführt wird, die im ganzen Land Kinder verschleppen, beginnt für Lyra eine aufregende und gefährliche Reise, die sie von Oxford über London bis in den hohen Norden führt.
Der erste Band der "His Dark Materials" Serie ist ein wunderbares Stück Fantasy-Literatur. Pullman beschreibt die Charaktere und die Schauplätze seiner Geschichte so lebendig, daß man sie direkt vor sich sehen kann. Ein Buch, das man nicht mehr aus der Hand legen will und das man auch gerne noch ein zweites und drittes Mal liest (natürlich nach "The Subtle Knife" und "The Amber Spyglass").
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen It's original, it's captivating, it's my favorite book!, 18. Oktober 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Wow! This book was amazing! I took it everywhere with me until I finally finished it, and I was sad that it was finished because I enjoyed it so much. But fortunately (as the ending REALLY leaves you hanging) there is a sequel, and the third book in the trilogy should be coming soon. I just hope that it comes next month as one store told me instead of in April as Amazon.com says! I recommend The Golden Compass to everyone; I got both my little sister AND my mom (who doesn't normally like fantasy) interested in these books. This book really will appeal to all ages, males or females, people of any background. It's not typical fantasy/sci-fi; it's something really unique and creative and fun to read. You've got to love the characters, too...just see if you don't become really attached to Lyra and Pantalaimon. Everyone should give the His Dark Materials trilogy a try!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen AN INSTANT FAVORITE TO ANYONE WHO ENJOYS A GOOD FANTASY!!!!!, 6. Juli 1998
Von Ein Kunde
This book is fantastic! Once you have started reading it you are lost in a magical world of Daemons, Dust, Alethiometers, and in the exciting, captivating life of Lyra and her Daemon, Pantelaimon. Phillip Pullman describes each wonder that is encountered, with exquisite detail.... enough detail that when you finally put the book down, you will find yourself holding your breath, clenching the book, and worrying about Lyra and all of the other characters! I suggest this book for anyone who enjoys fantasies. I love them, and this is one of the best I have ever read! More advanced readers will probably enjoy it more because at times it is very confusing, and there are a whole lot of places, and characters that you have to keep straight. I just finished the book, and now I'm itching to run out and buy the sequal!!!!!!!! :) :) :) :) **********
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen AMAZINGLY ORIGINAL, 24. Juli 2000
Von Ein Kunde
I usually like to compare a book with others of the same type, but I can't think of a single one that's anything like The Golden Compass. This book has more original plot devices than a dozen average books put together.
Pullman has created a world that's sort of like ours, but with some incredible differences. I won't rehash the plot, but I will tell you that Pullman actually invents a new sin, one that isn't possible in our world, and makes you feel disgust for it.
Many reviews are describing this as a "young adult" book, which I think may unfairly discourage lots of folks from reading it. It's just as adult as any other book I have read; it merely happens to feature a young girl as the main character.
If you're looking for a fantasy that avoids all the cliches of the genre, you've got to read this one!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Fantastic peice of fiction., 27. Oktober 1999
I don't know how many people will read this review, there are over 300 reviews of this book on the list at the time I'm posteing this review, but hey, maybe one person will read and appreciate my words. My brother (who is 10) read this book and loved it, absolutly loved it. However I was slightly skeptical going into it, afraid that it was too "kiddyish" for my tastes. I'm happy to say that this book changed my mind, which is no easy task... I went into the book not liking it, and by the end I loved it... Not many books can do that for me. It is as fine a peice of fiction as any I've read, the story is thourghouly devoloped (however incomplete) and totaly realized.
I think what alot of people forget is that it's *fiction*, I read one review of The Subtle Knife (which, by the way, I liked *even better* than The Golden Compass) that condemned it as "devil worship", now I can only look at that review and laugh to myself. Yes, Pullman did make very deffinite statements about god and religion but it's a peice of *FICTION*, it's *NOT REAL*, and his statements can hardly be construed as devil worship. If you're offended by it, then don't read it... but don't then condemn other people for reading it and enjoying it... I think most people can accept this book as a work of fantasy and not reality.
I cannot make you read this book, but I can highly recommend it, like I said before, it changed my opinion of it, simply by being as good as it is. It is *strikeingly* original, I've never read anything quite like it. I hold this series in the same respect as Neil Gaiman's Neverwhere, and Hayao Miyazaki's Nausicaa of the Valley of Wind. All three are very original works of *art*, I can't recommend Pullman's series (nor the others for that matter) enough.P>S> I'm always up for a good book discussion.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen THIS BOOK WILL SUCK YOU IN AND NEVER SPIT YOU OUT!, 2. Juli 1999
Von Ein Kunde
While working for a book company I had a lot of time to browse the merchandise. I have always had trouble concentrating on stories due to A.D.D., so I am very hard to please. When I came across The Golden Compass I was very intrigued by the fact that the hero/main character in the story is an adolescent girl. So I read the first chapter. Usually after the first or second chapter I know if I will be able to continue reading. Well, I kept going. I couldn't put it down. I went home early from work to read it. I even declined invitations to parties to read this book. It was SO amazing that I ran out to buy the second in the series before I had finished this one, simply because I knew I was going to stay up all night until I'd read the very last word, & I had to have the sequel on hand, so that I wouldn't miss anything. It usually takes me months or even years to finish reading a book, it took me three & a half weeks to read The Golden Compass, and those were three of the greatest, most adventurous weeks of my life! I recommend this book to everyone, no matter what age. It is thrilling, exciting, sad, happy, funny and terrifying all in one! It's also great for the family to read together. Enjoy it!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 248 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Northern Lights: His Dark Materials 1. Titel der amerikanischen Ausgabe: The Golden Compass
EUR 8,10
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen