Fashion Sale Hier klicken Kinderfahrzeuge calendarGirl Cloud Drive Photos Sony Learn More madamet HI_PROJECT Hier klicken Fire Shop Kindle PrimeMusic Autorip Summer Sale 16

Kundenrezensionen

4,2 von 5 Sternen29
4,2 von 5 Sternen
Format: Gebundene Ausgabe|Ändern
Preis:14,95 €+ Kostenfreie Lieferung mit Amazon Prime
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 9. Dezember 2012
*A full executive summary of this book will be available at newbooksinbrief dot com, on or before Monday, December 17, 2012.

The concept of fragility is very familiar to us. It applies to things that break when you strike or stretch them with a relatively small amount of force. Porcelain cups and pieces of thread are fragile. Things that do not break so easily when you apply force to them we call strong or resilient, even robust. A cast-iron pan, for instance. However, there is a third category here that is often overlooked. It includes those things that actually get stronger or improve when they are met with a stressor (up to a point). Take weight-lifting. If you try to lift something too heavy, you’ll tear a muscle; but lifting more appropriate weights will strengthen your muscles over time. This property can be said to apply to living things generally, as in the famous aphorism ‘what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger’. Strangely, we don’t really have a word for this property, this opposite of fragility.

For author Nassim Nicholas Taleb, this is a real shame, for when we look closely, it turns out that a lot of things (indeed the most important things) have, or are subject to, this property. Indeed, for Taleb, pretty much anything living, and the complex things that these living things create (like societies, economic systems, businesses etc.) have, or must confront this property in some way. This is important to know, because understanding this can help us understand how to improve these things (or profit from them), and failing to understand it can cause us to unwittingly harm or even destroy them (and be harmed by them). So Taleb has taken it upon himself to name and explore this curious property and its implications; and in his new book ‘Antifragile: Things That Gain from Disorder’ Taleb reports on his findings.

As the title would suggest, what Taleb has found is that most complex systems not only gain from small stressors, but they are designed to gain more when these stressors are distributed irregularly, or randomly. This point is more difficult to accept because we tend to dislike disorder and randomness. Disorder can be frightening, because unpredictable, and is therefore not something that we readily welcome. So what we often do is attempt to remove the random and disorderly from our systems, and make them smooth. For example, we may try to take the boom and bust out of the economy, and instead aim for a gradual upward trend.

For Taleb, though, this is a big mistake, because while removing the small shocks in a complex system may create stability for a time, it actually upsets the system and makes it prone to major shocks in the long term. What’s more, unlike the small shocks (that refine and improve the system), the major shocks are usually damaging, and can even destroy the system. So removing the small shocks from a complex system doesn’t create stability; rather, it creates the illusion of stability. In the economy, for instance, you get a long period of stability followed by a major crash.

This phenomenon is not just confined to the economy. Indeed, Taleb maintains that it is the spirit of the age to believe that we can remove the disorder from any system, and render it orderly, smooth and predictable. We are almost always mistaken in this, and end up creating systems that are prone to major damage and even outright destruction (in Taleb’s language, we ‘fragilize’ these systems). We call the damaging and destructive episodes Black Swan events (Taleb himself coined the term). Better it would be by far, Taleb argues, to accept and even welcome a certain amount of disorder, randomness and jaggedness in our lives and systems, and put ourselves in a position to profit from the unpredictable, rather than eradicate it.

On this last point, Taleb maintains that it is indeed possible to profit from the unpredictable (without having to actually predict any specific thing—which is next to impossible in the realm of the complex anyway). We simply need to recognize what systems are fragile (and therefore prone to collapse), and what systems are antifragile (and therefore prone to grow stronger from stressors), and get out of the way of the former, and put our faith in the latter. This applies not only to large, overarching systems like corporations, economic systems and political societies, but our own bodies and minds.

Taleb presents a very intriguing position, and offers up some very interesting evidence in support of it (though at times we may wonder whether he is resorting to the same kind of cherry-picking of information that he accuses others of). Also, Taleb has a lot to say, and a bone to pick, so his style often comes across as arrogant—even bombastic. Some will like this, while others will be annoyed (I didn’t mind it, but did not think it truly added anything for the most part). Also, Taleb jumps around and repeats himself often. This was more annoying to me than his style, but ultimately I think the content rose well above this, and I truly enjoyed the book, and think it deserves a read. A full executive summary of the book will be available at newbooksinbrief dot com, on or before Monday, December 17; a podcast discussion of the book will be available shortly thereafter.
0Kommentar|17 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 22. Dezember 2012
In this book Nassim Taleb applies his observations and theories from "The Black Swan Event" and "Fooled By Randomness" onto different aspects of life. By that he more or less constructs a philosophy for life. As in the previous books his writing is very vivid and easy to read. At times he cannot help but directly attack his intellectual opponents (or rather enemies). In these instances his writing becomes kind of polemic. I agree with his arguments, and his anger may be justified but I suspect the book would feel more credible if he had left some of this out.

So should you read this?

If you want hear a compelling argument against modernism, interventionism, and the contemporary manifestations of fortune-telling from the point of view of a rational skeptic - then yes. If you just want to become familiar with the central idea of Nassim Taleb then you would be better off reading one of his other two books. If you already have read one of them and liked it then chances are you will like this one as well.
0Kommentar|10 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 24. Dezember 2012
Exposing the fallacies of over-hyped risk management and doing so in an amusing manner may help in avoiding the next crisis. On the downside I found too many repetitions, over-simplified and sometimes inexact mathematical explanations, and even negative name-dropping can become boring.
0Kommentar|11 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 25. August 2013
Taleb geht von einer so einfach wie überzeugenden Grundidee aus: Wenn immer möglich sollten wir unser Leben, unsere politischen Systeme, unsere wirtschaftlichen Systeme so einrichten, dass sie nicht abstürzen, wenn sie von einem eng umschriebenen Optimum abweichen (fragile Systeme), sondern dass sie sogar von seltenen Abweichungen profitieren können (antifragile Systeme). Unter anderem illustriert er den Unterschied anhand des aktuellen Bankensystems und des Flugverkehrs. Das Bankensystem ist fragil: Der Absturz einer Bank kann das ganze System zum Einsturz bringen. Der Flugverkehr ist antifragil: Der Absturz eines einzelnen Flugzeugs ist zwar für die Betroffenen tragisch, gefährdet aber das ganze System nicht; ja wenn man den Absturzhergang sauber auswertet kann das System sogar profitieren indem es sicherer wird. Für interessierte Leser hinterlegt Taleb das ganze auch mathematisch und folgert u.a., dass man nicht versuchen soll, fragile Systeme mit Hilfe von Prognosen und steuernden Eingriffen am Leben zu erhalten - da das schweirig bis unmöglich ist - sondern dass man besser in den Aufbau antifragiler Systeme investiert.
Das alles ist ohne weiteres fünf Sterne werte - oder oder sogar sechs! Aber dann verliert er sich beim Versuch, die Konsequenzen der Idee in alle mögliche Bereiche zu tragen bei der ausführlichen Darstellung, warum er sich am Mittwoch vegan ernährt und am Freitag Steaks ist. Und das wird einfach langweilig. Mindestens zwei Drittel des Buches sind einfach überflüssig. Man arbeitet sich durch in der Hoffnung, nochmals irgendwo auf eine brillante Idee zu stossen - und wird enttäuscht.
Kurz zusammengefasst: Das erste Drittel lesen. Es lohnt sich wirklich! Den Rest vergessen.
0Kommentar|7 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 4. Februar 2013
Wollte man das umfangreiche Buch in einem einzigen Satz zusammenfassen, müßte dieser lauten: Keiner ist so schlau wie Nassim!
Denn alle kriegen sie hier ihr Fett weg: Ökonomen, Statistiker, Philosophen, Naturwissenschaftler, Wissenschaftstheoretiker usw. usf. Daß der Autor in vielen Disziplinen offenkundig nicht einmal Oberflächenwissen besitzt - was verschlägt's? Das macht ihm das Kritisieren um so einfacher.

Taleb brüstet sich damit, eben nicht akademisch zu schreiben. So gerät das Buch zu einer äußerst willkürlichen Auswahl von Anekdoten, die, wo notwendig, auch noch gehörig zurechtgebogen werden, um die Ansichten des Autors zu stützen. Davor bleiben auch die von ihm so verehrten Werke der Antike nicht verschont, die er - stolz darauf, sie im Original zu lesen - oft auch noch so falsch zitiert, daß es jedem Latein-Abiturienten die Nackenhaare aufstellen würde. ("Magnus Opus" - brrrr...)

Argument ist alles, was dem Autor nützt.
Beispiele?
Seine These, naturwissenschaftliche Bildung sei nicht die Voraussetzung, sondern das Resultat des Reichtums einer Gesellschaft, "beweist" er am Beispiel Kuwait. Japan? Nie gehört.
Weiters: Die Naturwissenschaften würden in ihrer Theoriebildung immer den Werken von Ingenieuren und anderen findigen Bastlern hinterhereilen. Computerchips, Laser, GPS? Nie gehört.

Würde man das Buch von allen Ausritten gegen die von ihm verabscheuten Disziplinen der Wissenschaft befreien (das wären, kurz zusammengefaßt: alle); und würde man auch noch Eigenlob, falsch wiedergegebene Zitate und non sequiturs entfernen, blieben etwa 50 Seiten unterhaltsamer Lektüre, die vermutlich sogar die eine oder andere Einsicht bescheren könnten.

Das Thema des Buches jedoch: Was ist jetzt eigentlich diese Antifragilität, und was genau machen wir mit ihr? - bliebe vermutlich dennoch ungeklärt. Denn wenn Taleb eines beherrscht, dann die Kunst, sich nicht festzulegen.

Aber vielleicht bin ich ungerecht: Vielleicht wäre die große Erkenntnis ja noch gekommen. Ich habe das Buch nämlich, entnervt von so viel Selbstbeweihräucherung, nach gut der Hälfte weggelegt. Taleb, selbst ein erklärter Feind gelehriger Geschwätzigkeit, hätte mir dies gewiß verziehen.
0Kommentar|40 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 13. Mai 2016
Taleb presents some pretty original ideas that present a different way of seeing the world. Therefore it is a worthwhile read.

However, his book has two flaws: first of all, it is too long. Taleb enters topics in which he has no business. While I understand the point that he likes to go against subject matter experts with a new perspective, I am of the opinion that he vastly overstretches his thinking. Secondly, he gets very bullish about his own way of thinking, presenting it very aggressively as truth, and thereby passing the line from being thought provoking to being outright provocative. Because of this style I struggled to finish the book.

All in all, his ideas are interesting enough, and would have resonated with me more if written in a less aggressive style.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 20. Juni 2016
Antifragile ist eines der besten Bücher, dass ich je gelesen habe.
Das Konzept an sich ist relativ simpel und meiner Meinung nach sehr intuitiv (sieht nicht jeder so, wie man den Beispielen im Buch merkt),
die Auswirkungen in fast jedem Bereich des Lebens gehen jedoch weit über das hinaus, was man zunächst erwartet hätte.
Die Prinzipien sind erstaunlich anwendbar, nicht nur für große Organisationen oder Staaten geeignet, sonder in der Lage, das Leben eines jeden Einzelnen nachhaltig zu verbessern.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
"Though your beginning was small,
Yet your latter end would increase abundantly." -- Job 8:7 (NKJV)

Something that's antifragile isn't just the opposite of something that breaks easily, it's actually something that benefits from buffeting. The book's choice of its title demonstrates its biggest weakness: It takes a pretty simple concept and mostly defines it in negative terms. Antifragile would have been much more useful if it had focused on identifying many examples of such instances and discussed how to think about interacting most effectively as an individual and an organization in such environments.

Professor Taleb comes across as someone who greatly feels that he's been treated unfairly by critics and the uninformed. Much of the book expresses such experiences and his understandably annoyed reactions to them. In that sense, there's a sense of reading a memoir in places.

I found that the concept made sense to me and provides a useful way to express circumstances and relationships that offer great potential ... but for which I previously had no terminology to describe. Seldom have I found a book that adds to my thinking as usefully in terms of both the concept and the ways to apply it. I felt as if a major part of my brain's map of the world was sketched in for the first time.

I was almost as greatly indebted to the many explanations of why optimizations are bad, due to increasing fragility ... so that when variability inevitably occurs the negative consequences will be increased.

I also appreciated the careful way that resiliency and antifragility were distinguished from one another.

Very nice ... but please, Professor Taleb, make your next book less of a diatribe against those who don't understand you for those of us who like your ideas.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 9. Mai 2013
This book is full of both good ideas and Taleb's rather overbearing ego. He hates editors, and it shows. Only for those who find this topic interesting and are willing to put up with the rants.
0Kommentar|Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 19. Dezember 2012
Nach seinen Büchern "Narren des Zufalls" und "Der schwarze Schwan" bringt Taleb in diesem Buch seine Philosphie auf den Punkt der praktischen Anwendbarkeit. Man muss nicht in allem seiner Meinung sein, manche Beispiele hinken auch etwas, aber langweilig ist er nie. Die Denkanstöße die er gibt finde ich jedenfalls unbezahlbar.
Worum es geht? Wie der Titel schon sagt handelt Taleb die Frage ab, wie wir in einer Welt, die wir nicht wirklich verstehen, nicht nur überleben sondern auch prosperieren können. Er ordnet dazu Dinge und Situationen in drei Kategorien ein: Fragil, Robust und Antifragil. Dem liegt die Überlegung zu Grunde, dass das Gengenteil von "fragil" eben nicht "robust" ist. Fragil ist etwas, was unter Stress irgendeiner Art Schaden nimmt. Robust ist etwas, was Stress im besten Fall unbeschadet übersteht. Das Gengenteil von Fragil ist aber Tablebs Meinung nach etwas, das von Stress irgendwie profitiert, stärker wird. Dafür prägt er den Begriff "Antifragil", weil es eigentlich keinen etablierten Begriff für diese Eigenschaft gibt, obwohl wir es tagtäglich vor Augen haben und praktisch anwenden. (In diesem Zusammenhang merkt er an, dass die alten Griechen keinen Namen für die Farbe Blau hatten, was sie aber nicht hinderte, diese Farbe zu sehen und zu verwenden.)
Er illustriert Antifragilität u. A. anhand der Evolution, den die verläuft so nach dem Motto: "Was mich nicht umbringt, macht mich stärker." Immer dann, wenn ein Stressor in einem Organismus zur Überkompensation führt - etwa Belastung zu Muskelwachstum - dann profitiert der Organismus letztendlich davon. Das gleiche gilt für bestimmte Systeme und Verhaltensweisen, vorausgesetzt, sie sind antifragil.
In dem Buch führt er nun aus, wie man erkennen kann, ob eine Situation, Verhaltensweise oder System fragil, robust oder antifragil ist. Er beginnt damit - seiner Meinung nach - gängigen Fehleinschätzungen und Verzerrungen der Wahrnehmung in unserer Welt aufzuzeigen und wie diese dazu führen, dass viele unserer Systeme fragil sind. Dann spricht er über Verhaltensweisen, die er für antifragil hält. Er unterscheidet dabei verschiedene Betrachtungsebenen und Bereiche, zeigt moralische Dilemmata auf und die Problematik der Übertragung von Denkmustern zwischen verschiedenen Domänen.
Er ist ein eigenständiger und - wohl auch finanziell - unabhängiger Denker, der sich nicht scheut, etablierte Institutionen frontal anzugreifen.
Das Original ist übrigens schönstes highbrow english - not one dull sentence.
0Kommentar|2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden