Kundenrezensionen


30 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (21)
4 Sterne:
 (5)
3 Sterne:
 (2)
2 Sterne:    (0)
1 Sterne:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


7 von 8 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Immer noch eines der besten
Obwohl die letzte Aktualisierung auch schon wieder ein Weilchen her ist (1994), so ist Friedmans Buch "From Beirut To Jerusalem" doch ein absolut empfehlenswertes Werk zum Konflikt im Mittleren Osten. Sehr informativ und tiefgreifend, dennoch flüssig lesbar, erzählt der zweifache Pulitzer-Preis Gewinner Friedman von seinen Jahren als Korrespondent der New York...
Veröffentlicht am 12. November 2003 von Morning Light

versus
3.0 von 5 Sternen Unfortunately the book fails to be objective
While Mr. Friedman is certainly a very prolific writer, his biased attitude towards the Israeli/Arab conflict clouds his critical thinking.
Mr. Friedman assigns Israel a majority of the blame for the Israeli/Palestinian delimna. After three hundred pages of this, (with the exception of a paragraph here or there), I was convinced I had been browbeaten.
Let us...
Am 17. September 1998 veröffentlicht


‹ Zurück | 1 2 3 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

7 von 8 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Immer noch eines der besten, 12. November 2003
Obwohl die letzte Aktualisierung auch schon wieder ein Weilchen her ist (1994), so ist Friedmans Buch "From Beirut To Jerusalem" doch ein absolut empfehlenswertes Werk zum Konflikt im Mittleren Osten. Sehr informativ und tiefgreifend, dennoch flüssig lesbar, erzählt der zweifache Pulitzer-Preis Gewinner Friedman von seinen Jahren als Korrespondent der New York Times in Beirut und Jerusalem von 1979-1989. Die Darstellung des israelisch-palästinenschischen Konflikts ist erfreulich ausgewogen, die israelische Invasion im Libanon wird mit all ihren Hintergründen kritisch beleuchtet.
Besser als Friedman habe ich das israelische Dilemma (Was für eine Art Staat will Israel sein?) noch nirgends beschrieben gefunden -- auch für die, die sich für bestens informiert halten, wird dieses Buch einige wertvolle Denkanstösse liefern.
Leider hat Friedman meiner Ansicht nach mit seiner Bush-freundlichen, unkritischen Position zum Irak-Krieg 2003 viel von seiner journalistischen Integrität verspielt. Das betrifft dieses Buch jeoch nicht wirklich.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Enjoyable and impartial, 29. Juni 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: From Beirut to Jerusalem (Taschenbuch)
It really was a pleasure reading this book. Friedman explains clearly the war in Lebanon: the causes and the events. And it not limited only to Lebanon and Israel. His analysis includes Syria, the Palestinians, and to a lesser extend the other countries of the region.
This book is filled with anecdotes, which allow a smooth reading of a subject otherwise very blur and complicated. Friedman tells you about his apartment building in Beirut being blown up, or about the warlord who is waking up the owner of a delicatessen in the middle of the night for some ... caviar.
If you are curious about what happened in the Middle East, but don't want to spent ages dwelling on many complicated political books, then I highly recommend this book. It should be enough.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3.0 von 5 Sternen Unfortunately the book fails to be objective, 17. September 1998
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: From Beirut to Jerusalem (Taschenbuch)
While Mr. Friedman is certainly a very prolific writer, his biased attitude towards the Israeli/Arab conflict clouds his critical thinking.
Mr. Friedman assigns Israel a majority of the blame for the Israeli/Palestinian delimna. After three hundred pages of this, (with the exception of a paragraph here or there), I was convinced I had been browbeaten.
Let us not forget that Israel is a small nation whose historical right to its homeland was recognized by international consensus. And now, she finds her legitimacy of that committment eroded and scorned by that same community which initially supported her. Why has the only democracy in the entire middle East been the focus of so much criticism? Friedman's book is very informative, and is historically accurate. But, so much of the writing leans to the left, to the anti-Israel, anti-zionism sentiment.
I recommend for balanced reading of Israel, the reader look at Benjamin Netanyahu's book A Place Among the Nations. While many persons might not agree with his politics, the book is an insightful piece of literature that explores history, political theory, and Palestinian Centrality.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Surprisingly Honest, 24. Mai 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: From Beirut to Jerusalem (Taschenbuch)
My first thought when i picked up this book was that it would be another Pro-Israel propaganda book (the fact that a Jewish reporter was the author didnt help matters much), but as i delved into the book, i began to realize something; Thomas Friedman was in search of the truth.
He isnt scared to damn the Israelis (and he sometimes is too critical of them, as if he feels betrayed), but then again he also finds many of the reasons why a Civil War occurred in Lebanon.
This book has really helped define my perception of the region and the way that those countries interact even though it was written some 12 years ago.
Basically, the first half of the book is comprised of this author's adventures in war-time Lebanon and how that background played against the political maneuverings of warring factions. The second half of the book is both an analysis of Israeli life and the soul-searching of a man who has felt betrayed (much like Martin Luther i imagine, but not as important). This book is riveting.
get it dagnamit!
peace
gum2me?
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Everyone gets their share, 5. Mai 2008
Von 
Rezension bezieht sich auf: From Beirut to Jerusalem (Taschenbuch)
This book offers something which is rarely found when looking for books on the modern history of the Middle East: Everyone gets their share. Mind you, it is not a neutral book and neither is it objective, it is Friedman's own view of the region. But the book's critical account of the author's time as a correspondent in the region is an eye opener, bluntly unmasking and explaining diplomatic phrasings, official memorandums, amateur opinions and the psyche of Middle Eastern characters (and American Jews) in general.

Friedman might not always be right or accurate to the point, but the majority of the messages contained in his 600 pages monograph is still of great value. It's amazing how many of his predictions and remarks actually fit the current situation (as of 2008!), an indication of how well he understands his subject.

Even if it might already seem like an old book, it is by no means outdated and highly recommended probably for years to come.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Read this to understand the Middle East better, 15. Juni 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: From Beirut to Jerusalem (Taschenbuch)
This is without doubt one of the best books ever written about the Middle, treating the events between 1979 to 1988.
I started to get interested in the Near East at the beginning of the 90ies and was looking for books that would help me to explain me the situation also back in the recent past. This is the best book I found.
Friedman shares with us his own experiences, delivers us all important facts about this time and especially gives us a deep insight in both sides of the conflict, giving preference to neither of them, offering to the reader the decision to choose their camp, if they feel like.
This book has helped me a great deal in understanding the different factions, their actions and motivations much clearly than any other book.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Subjectivity is in the Eye of the Beholder, 4. Februar 2000
Von 
Rezension bezieht sich auf: From Beirut to Jerusalem (Taschenbuch)
Mr. Friedman has taken on a difficult emotional topic and presented many viewpoints with the objectivity of a true journalist. Certainly, Mr. Friedman has his own opinions, and equally certainly, many of them appear in the book.
Nevertheless, From Beirut to Jerusalem contains important insights for the stateless as well as the statesmen. Aside, perhaps, from A Compassionate Peace, it is among the most even-handed essay-style treatments available of the difficult issues it addresses.
At the risk of precipitating Mr. Friedman's reassignment to Purgatory, I would submit that reading a sequel might help those on all sides to get on with it and then to get over it.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen The book to read on the Middle East, 2. Oktober 1998
Von 
Rezension bezieht sich auf: From Beirut to Jerusalem (Taschenbuch)
Thomas Friedman has written a book on one of the world's most difficult and complicated subjects, and he has suceeded admirably. Reading his book greatly enriched my 2 month journey to that region of the world this summer, and since doing more reading on the subject, I keep finding myself in more and more agreement with Mr. Friedman.
While no one is truly unbiased when it comes to Middle Eastern politics, I do not agree with the criticisms that he is anti-Israel. He may seem so to those brainwashed by the pro-Israel American press, but I believe he did his absolute best to "tell it like it is", rather than to advance any personal agenda.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen The best book I have ever seen on the Arab-Israeli conflict, 24. November 1998
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: From Beirut to Jerusalem (Taschenbuch)
I lived in Israel for 7 years, from 1971-78. Went to an Israeli high school, and served in the army. I studied Israeli history (through the eyes of the Israel public school system), and have lived among both secular and religious Israelis. I think I can safely say that I had a healthy amount of exposure to both liberal and conservative viewpoints on the Iaraeli-Palestinian conflict. I consider Thomas Friedmans' book an island of sanity in the sea of literature on this subject. I saw no evidence of pro-Arab or anti-Israel bias, he's simply telling it like it is.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Kudos to the author's objectivity!, 28. Oktober 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: From Beirut to Jerusalem (Taschenbuch)
So I waited ten years before I read this book. Things that I heard so much about in the 80s yet didn't care for much either came back with this book as a well-balanced, logical, and coherent eye-opener. The firsthand, eyewitness accounts and investigative journalism writing style are the book's big plus. Friedman, his Jewish ethnicity and background notwithstanding, is commended for providing ample opportunities for Palestinians and Lebanese Muslims to express their views, opinions, and experiences so that we can all hear from both sides.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 2 3 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

From Beirut to Jerusalem
From Beirut to Jerusalem von Thomas L. Friedman (Taschenbuch - 17. Januar 2012)
Gebraucht & neu ab: EUR 18,58
Auf meinen Wunschzettel Zahlungsmöglichkeiten ansehen
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen