Kundenrezensionen


75 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (36)
4 Sterne:
 (24)
3 Sterne:
 (5)
2 Sterne:
 (5)
1 Sterne:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


5.0 von 5 Sternen The Finest Java Reference Available
It is true that Sun's API documentation is more complete and finely detailed, but this book strikes a surprisingly good balance between detail and ease of use. I rarely have to resort to another source of information when using this book.
It is also true that this book is a reference and should not be the only resource for someone trying to learn Java, but I...
Veröffentlicht am 27. Juli 2000 von Peter A. Webb

versus
3.0 von 5 Sternen Not all that impressed
If you are looking to learn Java (code), this book will provide a reference but won't teach you much. If you are looking for Java (OO) concepts, this book will leave you looking for more as well. Everything in this book can be found by browsing the Sun website, primarily in the JavaDoc or in the Developer's Connection. If you want to be a Java guru, this book could...
Veröffentlicht am 11. Februar 2000 von ct


‹ Zurück | 1 28 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

5.0 von 5 Sternen The Finest Java Reference Available, 27. Juli 2000
Von 
It is true that Sun's API documentation is more complete and finely detailed, but this book strikes a surprisingly good balance between detail and ease of use. I rarely have to resort to another source of information when using this book.
It is also true that this book is a reference and should not be the only resource for someone trying to learn Java, but I disagree with the opinion of another reviewer that this book is useless for beginners. On the contrary, I think it is perfect for beginners, but only as a complement to a good course or beginner's guide.
Once you learn to use this book, you'll wonder how you ever got along without it.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Utterly invaluable reference though NOT for beginners, 19. Juli 2000
Imagine going to the awesome javasoft website and compressing it into 500-odd pages. This is Java in a Nutshell.
As a programmer who needs classes and methods at my fingertips, I don't want to be forever logged into the Sun site to get hold of code. For me using VJava, DB2, Lotus Notes etc, to keep Netscape open permanently slows me down. I want to see code in concise paper form for perusing and for adding post-it notes to useful pages.
This book is a good physical size, about the size of a good novel, and thus is refreshingly concise. You genuinely can put it on your desk without it becoming a 'conversation piece'. It doesn't come with code cheats. For that I use and recommend 'The Complete Reference' which is the size of a squashed brick.
Four stars because IMHO, this reference could do without a 'What is Java' introduction (even though it's a small part of the book) - it's better done in any textbook.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen A fine reference, 5. Juli 2000
Von Ein Kunde
This book is good for what it was intented: a reference.
It rapidly speeds through the essentials of the language, providing simple examples to demonstrate concepts. The remainder of the book provides a reference to the core Java classes.
I was initially sceptical of the number of pages dedicated to reprinting what was already available online. However, this section has proven invaluable as I have found it significantly faster and easier to use than the online equivalents. Once the appropriate class has been found the online documentation can be used to find any further details required.
The book is not overburdened with large examples or long winded explanations. This means finding things quickly, and also makes it easy to carry around (you never know when you might need it :-)
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen gutes Nachschlagewerk, 26. Juni 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Die Computer - Bücher der "In A Nutshell" - Serie aus dem O' Reilly - Verlag sind in erster Linie als Referenz gedacht, die man bei der täglichen Arbeit mit der behandelten Programmiersprache zum Nachschlagen von Kommandos bzw. deren Syntax verwendet. Dennoch enthalten diese Titel auch sehr gute Einführungskapitel. Reine Tutorials bieten sie nicht, dafür sind sie auch noch nützlich, wenn man die Einarbeitungsphase hinter sich gelassen hat. Somit gehören die "In A Nutshell" - Titel zu den wenigen Büchern, die sich zu Recht sowohl an Anfänger als auch an fortgeschrittene Anwender richten. JAVA In A Nutshell neben einer alphabetischen Auflistung der Klassen, geordnet nach Paketen, (Quick Reference) enthält das Buch einführende Kapitel unter anderem zu den Themen Applets, Events, Tools usw. Das Buch gibt es auch in einer deutschen Übersetzung. Es ist aber in der englischen Version sehr verständlich geschrieben und auf den Punkt gebracht. In didaktischer Hinsicht sind Bücher aus dem englisch - sprachigen Raum oft immer noch überlegen, was eventuelle Sprachschwierigkeiten meist mehr als kompensiert. (Dies ist eine Amazon.de an der Uni-Studentenrezension.)
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Comprehensive?, 9. Mai 2000
It's not a how-to. And it's not comprehensive (the lack of AWT has been noted in other user reviews.) Like the title says, this book is a quick reference, covering the essential topics with little razzle dazzle.

For professional Java developers such as myself, this is exactly what one needs to get the job done. I'm glad to see that O'Reilly has made efforts to keet Java in a Nutshell up to date, without bogging it down in needless exterania.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Excellent but no AWT, 4. Mai 2000
Von 
David Matuszek "Dr. Dave" (Malvern, PA USA) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
There have been three editions of this book, all of them excellent reference books but too condensed to be great tutorials.
The first edition had everything you needed to know about Java 1.0, including AWT (the GUI) descriptions and example programs; but a lot has changed since Java 1.0, which is basically only good for writing applets. Still, many browsers can only handle Java 1.0.
The second edition covered Java 1.1 and the AWT, but the examples were split off into a second book, "Java Examples in a Nutshell." IMHO the second edition is the best single-source reference book.
Much has been added in Java 1.2/1.3, but the Java 1.1 basics have not changed. This third edition further splits off the GUI information (including the new Swing classes) into "Java Foundation Classes in a Nutshell," and as such cannot stand on its own for GUI programming. Enterprise programming is also split off. For what it covers, each edition keeps getting better, but also narrows its coverage.
While the book is an excellent reference, a paper reference is no longer the best programming support. Once you have learned Java basics, the best way to program is with Sun's online documentation open on your desktop--IF you have a fast internet connection or can download the whole thing to your hard drive. You get faster lookup and detailed descriptions of every method, rather than just lists of methods.
Bottom line: a great book, but consider carefully whether its coverage meets your needs.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2.0 von 5 Sternen Buy Arnold and Gosling instead, 11. April 2000
Von Ein Kunde
I found this book to a poor introductory text, and a worse reference. This was surprising to me as usually nutshell books are quite good. I heartily recommend Arnold and Gosling's book as an introductory java text.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen For Java Developers, 6. April 2000
Von Ein Kunde
This book is an excellent reference for Java developers, not a "how do I program in Java" book as some other reviewers apparently expected and whined about. If you want to learn how to program in Java, get Ivor Horton's book or something else like that. If you want an excellent, lightweight reference that you can actually carry around and use, get this book.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Excellent Java resource!, 3. April 2000
The Java in a Nutshell series is quite an excellent recource for anyone learning or writing Java code. I bought the book for a Data Structures course (which was recommended for the class) and pretty much learned most all I know about Java from this book. That was then -- this is now. Although the copy I have does not have the new Java 2 class references in it, I still use Java in a Nutshell as my primary Java reference while I am coding. You just can't beat this book if you want to get into writing software with Java.
Also, I like the new Java stuff from O'reilly, like the Java Examples and the others. Very useful! I am sure I will be using this book for quite some time.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Thank Java for giving us a reason to read such a great book., 28. März 2000
I experienced this book at two different levels. As a beginner this guide took me through the syntax and concepts while I was studying the language. At a later stage this book was used as my reference material. Without any hesitation I have to say that this book is my Java Bible!
Like most reference guides, the beginning of this book will give you an introduction to the language. However it is definitely not a tutorial for those who are unfamiliar to the Java language, but rather a quick reference to remind programmers why certain concepts are in place within the Java language. If you forgot how or why to cast data, you can find it right here. This part of the book can also be used by C++ programmers to understand the differences between the two languages.
This book is loaded with information regarding the language. APIs, methods, tools and mechanisms are all covered with numerous short examples that demonstrate how to perform common tasks with the classes and interfaces that comprise the Java Platform.
Throughout my studies I had many questions regarding Java, but "Java in a Nutshell" never left me in the dark. I didn't need any other books, and I am sure I never will. Thank you Tim O'Reilly for giving us David Flanagan, and thank you David Flanagan for giving us, Java geeks, our own Bible.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 28 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst
ARRAY(0xa452ed20)

Dieses Produkt

JAVA in a nutshell.,
JAVA in a nutshell., von David Flanagan (Taschenbuch - 1997)
Gebraucht & neu ab: EUR 37,82
Auf meinen Wunschzettel Zahlungsmöglichkeiten ansehen
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen