Kundenrezensionen


17 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (8)
4 Sterne:
 (7)
3 Sterne:    (0)
2 Sterne:    (0)
1 Sterne:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Vampires under scientific research
Plot: An American physical doctor adopts a baby (which she calls Joshua) in Romania and discovers bit by bit a terrifying secret about him. Before she can gather enough facts to resolve the riddle, she gets attacked by arcane people from an ancient Romanian order who abduct Joshua. With the help of an American priest, she travels to Romania once more to get her baby...
Veröffentlicht am 6. Februar 2008 von Thrawn

versus
2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen So bad that I couldn't finish it
I made it about 2/3rds through this book and just couldn't takeit anymore. I didn't care about the characters, I felt I knew exactlywhat was going to happen, and I was just plain bored.
The book is a mix of hard medical science and vampire myths. There is no sensuality to these vampires so if your an Anne Rice fan don't even think about it. Also be warned that...
Am 12. Juni 2000 veröffentlicht


‹ Zurück | 1 2 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Vampires under scientific research, 6. Februar 2008
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Children of the Night (Taschenbuch)
Plot: An American physical doctor adopts a baby (which she calls Joshua) in Romania and discovers bit by bit a terrifying secret about him. Before she can gather enough facts to resolve the riddle, she gets attacked by arcane people from an ancient Romanian order who abduct Joshua. With the help of an American priest, she travels to Romania once more to get her baby back.
A very dark story rife with a lot of suspense and horror. The scientific approach to vampirism is very successful, delivering authentic and interesting explanations although they may be too detailed and elaborate for some readers.
The end was rather corny and Hollywood-fashion, but why not a happy-end in an otherwise very dark and dismal plot.

Style of writing: Simmons has a unique style, combining humour and irony as well as melancholy, sadness and happiness in a very poetic and eloquent language. Also because of this, the book is a joy to read and a natural page-turner. The author has the gift to deliver high-quality writing and create very profound and fascinating storylines at the same time.

Characters: Simmons creates very profound and plausible characters. They all have their history, their wishes and fears as well as individual dreams and hopes. Kate Neuman, the main character, develops during the story and discovers new character attributes within herself.
Other important characters like O¿Rourke and Lucian also have their believable background which gets revealed bit by bit to Neumann and the reader.

Summary: A very thrilling story with an interesting explanatory approach to the mystic subject of vampirism. The suspense is steadily increasing and the reader gets the feeling of being right in the middle of the action. Definitely another recommendable book by Dan Simmons with the familiar high quality. An absolute must if you like vampire-stories. (Since it's not possible to give half points, I've rated this story with 4.0 pts instead of 4.5 pts as intended)
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Vampires - different!, 30. April 2000
Von 
Peter Werner "peterwerner4" (Essingen, Germany) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Children of the Night (Taschenbuch)
There have been a lot of vampire novels and stories, and I have read a good number of them. But this one is entirely different. The author uses science to explain the phenomenon. This makes the strength and the weakness of the book. We see vampires that are of this world and the author creates horror - and a good one as well - without having to use the supernatural. But his scientific explanations are too lengthy and kill suspense at times. The ending is also a trifle too forced. But all people who love horror must read this novel.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen So bad that I couldn't finish it, 12. Juni 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Children of the Night (Taschenbuch)
I made it about 2/3rds through this book and just couldn't takeit anymore. I didn't care about the characters, I felt I knew exactlywhat was going to happen, and I was just plain bored.
The book is a mix of hard medical science and vampire myths. There is no sensuality to these vampires so if your an Anne Rice fan don't even think about it. Also be warned that some of the interludes/dreams of Vlad Teppish are EXTREMELY graphic and disturbing. I usually don't mind things like this too much but it just wasn't needed in this case.
The only people I can think of that would like this book would be hardcore medical thriller readers that are looking for a bit of the fantastical.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen A good book, but not Simmons' best, 24. April 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Children of the Night (Taschenbuch)
Let me begin by saying that I love Dan Simmons' books and I've read all of them I can get my hands on. I loved the Hyperion and Endymion Books and I've loved most of his stuff that's closer to horror. I even enjoyed Phases of Gravity, his foray into non-action, mainstream fiction. But I only LIKED this book.
It has all of the typical Simmons strengths: strong characters, lots of action and suspense, intelligence, complexity and lots of research. In fact, it offers one of the more convincing scientific answers for vampires I've ever seen.
The thing that hurt this book for me was its ending. It rested on too many implausible coincidences. After being great all of the way through, it suddenly reminded me of one of those bad movies where the bad guy who has had perfect aim throughout suddenly starts missing when he shoots at the hero.
Still, it's not a bad read and much better than most of the tripe that's available these days.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen So, so disappointing....., 29. April 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Children of the Night (Taschenbuch)
After reading 3/4 of the way through this book, I was impressed by the magnitude of research Dan Simmons had to do in the field of hematology, Romanian politics, and historical data on Vlad Tepes. However, towards the 3/4 mark, I felt that the characters were not behaving "in" character nor like real people. I found myself suffering to get through the final pages due to a decent plot that turned into an "Indiana Jones" movie. In a nutshell: I was very disappointed in this book.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Classic Horror Modernized, 9. Mai 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Children of the Night (Taschenbuch)
Dan Simmons has bridged Stoker to our modern conundrum of the AIDS virus brilliantly, yet stayed somewhat aloof to the current social implications. It is one of the most adaptive and inventive modernizations of Vampirism literature that I've ever read, and I've read quite a lot. I may be prejudiced, but I've read and purchased nearly everything Mr. Simmons has published and I consider him one of the top ten writers in the world.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen One of the best page-turning books I've ever read., 2. Juli 1998
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Children of the Night (Taschenbuch)
This was my first Dan Simmons experience. "Children Of The Night" was informative, horrific, mysterious, with an action-packed surprise ending! I am scared to read another book right away for fear that it cannot compare! Excellent read!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Makes one wonder about the reality of the undead, 10. Januar 1998
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Children of the Night (Taschenbuch)
Dan Simmons wrote a novel taken from Bram Stokers "Dracula", and using it as the title: "Children of the Night". This novel is an epic on Vlad Tsepes, the Impaler, Dracula (Son of Dracul-- or Order of the Dragon). One cannot put the story down easily as it continues to move through time itself from past to present without leaving any place to really put down the book for a break. If you are a fan of Dracula, or any real historical data on the life of Dracula, as seen through the eyes of many, then this book is indeed a primary source. And if you are not a fan of Dracula, or the idea of, and reality of, the idea of such a person, you will become a Vlad/Dracula fanatic and will spend hours researching the character yourself and find that Dan Simmons left very few leafs unturned. And those left unturned, I believe, were intentional. I could write about what occurs in the novel, but what's the point? Read it for yourself and make sure that your keep the light on while you do so.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Above-average horror-thriller., 28. Januar 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Children of the Night (Taschenbuch)
This action packed thriller clips right along, to its well-crafted ending, keeping you guessing page after page. Simmons is the exception among horror authors, standing head and shoulders above almost all the rest: he can actually write a plot, believable characters that you care about, AND creepy, teeth-jarring scenes. I enjoyed "Summer of Night" more than this book, but this was well worth the read (and has an interesting connection to "Summer of Night" which you'll get if you've read the earlier novel). Slam bang good! If you like tense, dark horror, and a character driven story, you'll get a kick out of this one.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen fascinating evil story bound to modern hematology, 2. März 1997
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Children of the Night (Taschenbuch)
Dan Simmons is a fantastic story teller. He describes "modern" Romania in such a black way, that one can believe that out of the depths of such modern evil could lurk the ancient evil of vampires. His use of modern hematology and immunology to describe the vampire legend is pure creative genius. Does he know something the rest of us don't. It's almost as if he's describing from first hand knowledge. There were elements in the action which required a suspension of belief. Even vampire legends should be consistent. All in all it's one of the best books of its genre and an excellent read
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 2 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

CHILDREN OF THE NIGHT
CHILDREN OF THE NIGHT von DAN SIMMONS (Gebundene Ausgabe - 1992)
Gebraucht & neu ab: EUR 35,89
Auf meinen Wunschzettel Zahlungsmöglichkeiten ansehen
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen