Kundenrezensionen


82 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (59)
4 Sterne:
 (12)
3 Sterne:
 (5)
2 Sterne:
 (3)
1 Sterne:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


5 von 5 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Danger in the Entrepreneurial Zone
This book deserves 7 stars for pointing out the fallacies of how most entrepreneurs operate. The book deserves 1 star for proposing a standard that most people cannot hope to meet. Pay attention to the former, and go light on the latter.

Gerber is correct that most entrepreneurs are limited by a comfort zone of wanting to remain in control as either strong...
Veröffentlicht am 15. März 2007 von Donald Mitchell

versus
4 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Veraltete Ratschläge für Kleinfirmengründer
Der Autor Michael E. Gerber hat einen sehr bunten Lebenslauf und ist schließlich Unternehmensberater geworden, mit dem Schwerpunkt Firmengründer. Dieses Buch wurde schon vor Jahrzehnten konzipiert und um die Jahrtausendwende herum gründlich überarbeitet (deshalb "revisited"). Mit E-Myth ist ein angeblicher "Entrepreneurial Myth" gemeint, da erfahrene...
Veröffentlicht am 9. Mai 2011 von Oliver Völckers


‹ Zurück | 1 29 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

5 von 5 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Danger in the Entrepreneurial Zone, 15. März 2007
Von 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(TOP 500 REZENSENT)   
This book deserves 7 stars for pointing out the fallacies of how most entrepreneurs operate. The book deserves 1 star for proposing a standard that most people cannot hope to meet. Pay attention to the former, and go light on the latter.

Gerber is correct that most entrepreneurs are limited by a comfort zone of wanting to remain in control as either strong technicians or managers, which limits the potential of the business. As soon as they exceed what they can handle, the business either fails in a break-out attempt or shrinks back to a simpler state. The new businesses that succeed the most are the ones that have a business model that is easy to replicate with ordinary people.

Where Gerber goes wrong is in suggesting that many people can develop such business models. I regularly study the top 100 CEOs in the country for stock-price growth, and few of them think they can develop a new business model. Why should someone starting up a new company be likely to do better than that? They won't. In fact, I have a friend who attempted to start a new business following Gerber's principles and almost failed before he adjusted to normal operating approaches. He spent so much time developing his business model that he never got around to operating it.

Gerber's three favorite examples are McDonald's, Disney, and FedEx. Notice that two of the three got most of their business model ideas from someone else (Ray Kroc from the McDonald brothers in San Bernardino, California and Fred Smith from an Indian air freight operation).

I think there is another fallacy here: You can get ordinary people to do simple things (deliver packages, cook and deliver cheap hamburgers, and smile at people on automated rides). But in many businesses the demands of the market are extraordinary such as in many technological product businesses and services. Microsoft has a business model, for example, but it is not one that Gerber would recognize.

Finally, he condemns people who want to operate their business as a job by being technically expert. What if Peter Drucker spent all of his time developing business models and systems to make pizzas and tacos rather than writing business books about management? What if great musicians developed business models for teaching children to play the violin and piano rather than performing? In other words, there is room and a need for extraordinarily able one-person companies run by technicians.

But don't let my quibbles keep you as an entrepreneur from failing to appreciate the excellent case Gerber makes for having a business model as soon as possible, and working systematically to improve it. If you can do that, you may well develop a true irresistible growth enterprise.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Veraltete Ratschläge für Kleinfirmengründer, 9. Mai 2011
Von 
Oliver Völckers (Berlin, Deutschland) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(TOP 500 REZENSENT)    (REAL NAME)   
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The E-Myth Revisited: Why Most Small Businesses Don't Work and What to Do About It (Taschenbuch)
Der Autor Michael E. Gerber hat einen sehr bunten Lebenslauf und ist schließlich Unternehmensberater geworden, mit dem Schwerpunkt Firmengründer. Dieses Buch wurde schon vor Jahrzehnten konzipiert und um die Jahrtausendwende herum gründlich überarbeitet (deshalb "revisited"). Mit E-Myth ist ein angeblicher "Entrepreneurial Myth" gemeint, da erfahrene Angestellte glaubten, sie könnten sich einfach selbständig machen.

Das Buch bringt die gesammelten Erfahrungen des Unternehmensberaters in Form eines regelmäßigen fiktiven Dialogs mit einer Sarah, die einen Apple Pie Laden betreibt. Weil sie Apple Pie liebt, hat sie damit angefangen, aber sie ist keine harte Geschäftsfrau und ist schlecht organisiert. Der Autor geht mit ihr alle Punkte durch, die er für wichtig hält und dafür ist sie dann dankbar. Zwischendurch trinkt der Autor immer Kaffee, zumindest schreibt er das, nur einmal ist es Tee.

Die Ratschläge von Michael Gerber sind leicht lesbar und halbwegs unterhaltsam. Ein wesentlicher Gedanke von ihm für das Small Business, das er berät, ist das Franchising, also die Lizenzierung des Geschäftskonzepts. In der Gastronomie oder im Hotelgewerbe mögen diese Anregungen hilfreich sein.

Da das Buch schon viele Jahre alt ist, kommt das Internet nicht darin vor. Die Verkäufer-Rhetorik wirkt etwas altmodisch. Auf Seite 266 endet das Buch pathetisch mit "It's time to act... It's time to turn it into an innovation. It's time to bring the dream back to American small business".

Dieses Werk hat zu einer anderen Zeit an einem anderen Ort sicher seine Berechtigung gehabt. Heute gibt es aktuellere Bücher wie etwa Der Weg zum erfolgreichen Unternehmer. Wie Sie und Ihr Unternehmen neue Dynamik gewinnen
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5 von 5 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Dilbert Material, 1. Dezember 1999
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The E-Myth Revisited: Why Most Small Businesses Don't Work and What to Do About It (Taschenbuch)
The primary point of this book - that most small business people spend too much time on the technical details of their business and not enough on developing a scaleable, repeatable business model - is well presented and a point that is certainly worth making. I really liked this first half of this book. However the second half revealed Gerber to be some sort of a paperwork/control freak who proposes systems so burdensome and detailed that they would stifle most real small businesses and insult most employees beyond recovery. This isn't terribly surprising coming from a consultant. A lot of the material in this book would fit nicely in a Dilbert cartoon.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
2.0 von 5 Sternen This is one of the most dangerous business books I've seen., 14. Dezember 1997
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The E-Myth Revisited: Why Most Small Businesses Don't Work and What to Do About It (Taschenbuch)
I can't believe so many other readers love this book. While I believe systems are important to running a business I also think they stifle creativity. Moreover, I believe the American public is sick and tired of the commoditization of products and services which is essentially what happens when systemization occurs. Overall, this book is not about running a business or entrepreneurship. It's a book about running away from business. Bankers, other lenders and other interested parties can smell that kind of lack of enthusiasm...
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen Full of fluff, informercials and fake interviews, 29. Juli 2013
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The E-Myth Revisited (Kindle Edition)
I cannot understand why so many other people here hail this book so much. It's boring, it's badly written and - worst - it is full of fluff, filler content like the fake interviews series with the apple pie queen Sarah. There is absolutely NO practical approach in this book, it shares - on a more esoteric level - some nice insights but it never shows you how to practically apply them. I personally stopped after reading close to 200 pages as it was a pure waste of time. Besides the fact that the author heavily promotes his hight ticket business consulting services, which is embarassing, I really didn't find any real insight in this book. I would even tend to say that the people loving this book "for it's good advice" simply have no clue how to run a successful business. No practical approach here and if I could, I would return this.

This is definitely a time waster and the concept Gerber shows here is so 1980. If you think to run a modern, maybe virtual, company: stay away because there is no advice at all that can be applied to your situation in this book. For example in chapter "the strategic objective" he talks about Revlon and that in their factories they produce cosmetics but in their stores they sell hope. Wow, what an amazing insight. Are there really people these days going into business without focussing on customers benefits? Absolutely nothing new here. And these empty phrases and quotation go on and on and on. They only mix up with interviews with the fake apple pie business owner Sarah. She is developed so badly (I seriously seriously doubt that this is a real person, so it's more like a lie by the author) that I had point within the book where I though she's close to marrying him (Gerber describes himself always as the shining hero, Sarah is always the sad - close to crying - biz owner).

Really, this book is ridiculous and not worth the paper it is printed on. It has no valuable insights or contents and is therefore not worth one single penny. I expected it to be something that shows me "how" to do things but that was nowhere to be found in this ultra-long informercial.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen GERBER failed with his own methods - but you need'nt..., 27. Juli 1997
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The E-Myth Revisited: Why Most Small Businesses Don't Work and What to Do About It (Taschenbuch)
Gerber's crystal clear insight into how and why businesses are born should be compulsory first reading. Informative, entertaining, practical and motivating... but then WHY did Gerber's own business 'fail' after he wrote the book?
Well, you can systemise all you like, but Desmond Morris ("The Naked Ape" and "The Human Animal") explains the human's need to improve every system. Gerber's own carefully systemised team did this to him - and my little 17-people team did it to me.
Now I have 3 photocopy shops with no staff - they open and close automatically, and customers do absolutely everything themselves. It has taken nearly two years to make the transition - but I now have the freedom AND the business. But Gerber hasn't.
I've met Gerber. He nearly, very nearly has the answer. In this book he implies that he has proved and experienced the answer - you won't know the truth until you experience the defeat.
IF his book were a more truthful account of his experiences, we would all have something we could blindly follow - but you must read his book with caution to determine where he speaks from experience, and where he speaks from 'wish'.
Finally, he misses the most important point of business - planning and achieving a profit. Read very carefully to find he misses this (he appears to have this subject well covered).
His book is for the naive and the disillusioned. After 22 years in business I'm embarrassed that I was in this category whilst still being hailed as an entrepreneur.
Gerber's book will open your eyes with his clear thinking - but to follow his lessons unquestioningly is to court disaster.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen Don't waste your time or money on this "Myth", 6. November 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The E-Myth Revisited: Why Most Small Businesses Don't Work and What to Do About It (Taschenbuch)
This book is simply a plug for Gerber's "E-Myth Academy", and is a poor excuse for a business development guide. After suffering through over 250 pages of puffery I could hardly extract one or two basic business concepts (concepts, that were covered in greater lengths in an introductory business class during freshman year as an undergrad). On a positive note, I will say that "Dr" Gerber has devised a clever franchising scheme for his "methods" and is an excellent saleman. But, I do feel that his skills are best applied on a used car lot.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


6 von 7 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Wirtschaften mit System, 11. Februar 2005
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The E-Myth Revisited: Why Most Small Businesses Don't Work and What to Do About It (Taschenbuch)
Als (Klein-)Unternehmer scheint einen die Arbeit oft aufzufressen. Beliebter Spruch: "Wenn man nicht alles selber macht ..." Genau dem versucht Michael Gerber entgegenzuwirken.
Er zeigt dem Unternehmer, wie er sich aus seinem Unternehmen rausziehen kann und "an" seinem Unternehmen statt "in" seinem Unternehmen arbeiten kann.
Gerbers Idealbild sind Franchise-Unternehmen, die deshalb so gut funktionieren, weil sie auf Basis eines soliden Regelwerks funktionieren.
Alles ist genau definiert und läuft systematisiert ab. Und das, so meint Gerber, solle das Ziel eines jeden Unternehmers sein: Dass er diesen Schritt machen kann und sein Unternehmen als System sehen kann mit genau definierten Regeln.
Den Wert dieses Buchs habe ich erst spät erkannt, aber immer noch früh genug. Gerbers Blickwinkel bringt einen wirklich weiter (auch wenn man nicht zum Franchisgeber werden will) und schafft einem Luft für die wichtigste Aufgabe des Unternehmers, nämlich sein Unternehmen voranzubringen.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Danger in the Entrepreneurial Zone, 15. März 2007
Von 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(TOP 500 REZENSENT)   
This book deserves 7 stars for pointing out the fallacies of how most entrepreneurs operate. The book deserves 1 star for proposing a standard that most people cannot hope to meet. Pay attention to the former, and go light on the latter.

Gerber is correct that most entrepreneurs are limited by a comfort zone of wanting to remain in control as either strong technicians or managers, which limits the potential of the business. As soon as they exceed what they can handle, the business either fails in a break-out attempt or shrinks back to a simpler state. The new businesses that succeed the most are the ones that have a business model that is easy to replicate with ordinary people.

Where Gerber goes wrong is in suggesting that many people can develop such business models. I regularly study the top 100 CEOs in the country for stock-price growth, and few of them think they can develop a new business model. Why should someone starting up a new company be likely to do better than that? They won't. In fact, I have a friend who attempted to start a new business following Gerber's principles and almost failed before he adjusted to normal operating approaches. He spent so much time developing his business model that he never got around to operating it.

Gerber's three favorite examples are McDonald's, Disney, and FedEx. Notice that two of the three got most of their business model ideas from someone else (Ray Kroc from the McDonald brothers in San Bernardino, California and Fred Smith from an Indian air freight operation).

I think there is another fallacy here: You can get ordinary people to do simple things (deliver packages, cook and deliver cheap hamburgers, and smile at people on automated rides). But in many businesses the demands of the market are extraordinary such as in many technological product businesses and services. Microsoft has a business model, for example, but it is not one that Gerber would recognize.

Finally, he condemns people who want to operate their business as a job by being technically expert. What if Peter Drucker spent all of his time developing business models and systems to make pizzas and tacos rather than writing business books about management? What if great musicians developed business models for teaching children to play the violin and piano rather than performing? In other words, there is room and a need for extraordinarily able one-person companies run by technicians.

But don't let my quibbles keep you as an entrepreneur from failing to appreciate the excellent case Gerber makes for having a business model as soon as possible, and working systematically to improve it. If you can do that, you may well develop a true irresistible growth enterprise.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5 von 6 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Well worth reading and pondering, 26. Mai 2000
Von 
Michael Mendenhall "september17th" (Monterey, CA United States) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The E-Myth Revisited: Why Most Small Businesses Don't Work and What to Do About It (Taschenbuch)
I would have to rate this is the most influential small business book I have ever read. I've been in some kind of business since I was 11 years old and probably further back than that, but I don't really remember all that. I've never held a full-time job in my life. I had one job, and it was part-time. I say that because I hope to present my review from the perspective of the "business battlefield."
I first read this book in 1994. I believe it was first published in 1986. The first time I picked it up, I stayed up all night and read it all the way through. I just couldn't put it down. With that said, I need to point out that if you don't own a business, never have owned a business or never will, this book probably won't appeal to you. It will appeal to you if you already own a small business or are planning on opening a business. It may just save your sanity. It's saved mine.
Basically, the point of the book is this: "Your business is not your life" (quote from the book). It took me about 4 readings of this book to figure that out. Business owners tend to think working 16 hours a day is some kind of heroic effort. It's suicide. Been there done that. There's nothing glamorous about working in your business until you fall over. How, then, does the author propose to solve this problem? How many small business owners don't work insane hours and are successful? The key according to the author is to make your business into a system like McDonald's that anyone can run. Too much of a business is dependent on the owner to be there. You're not there, the business doesn't make any money. If you're not there for an extended period of time, you won't have a business when you come back.
The key factor in turning a business into a system as the author states, is to have operating manuals which describe each function of the business. One criticism I have of the book, and I suppose he did this on purpose, is that he really doesn't go into a lot of detail as to how these manuals are done. I guess we have to figure that out. The example in the book about the owner of a pie shop, I felt, was a very good example. I know, because I wrote operating manuals for my business, and I started franchising my business back in 1995. I had 15 offices up and running at one point, and I decided not to pursue it any further, so I pared it all back down. This book works, but you better be prepared to take a really long hard look at how your business is run and particulary how it fits into your life.
The bottom line on this book is that you can make your business into a system. You can reduce your hours to a reasonable level. Yes, you can even make a good living in your own business. I've been doing it for years. The only problem is, you have to do it. You have to sit down, take a good hard look at your business, and get the thing built or rebuilt from the ground up. You need to have all your financial records in order. You need to know at any moment what your operating margins are, what's going on with everything. It's a big task, and I suspect many people who have read this book don't want to do all that. As for my business, I've implemented much of what he talks about with great success. I haven't implemented all of it because some of it is difficult and time consuming. The other problem is, there's no "step-by-step" method presented, at least not what one would want. There is a methodology to it, but as with most things in life, we have to adapt them to our situation and take the time to do it. The author won't take you by the hand and do it for you.
I'm giving this book 5 stars because I think it provides much thought provoking material. If you own a business or are planning on going into business, this book is a must. Even if you ignore most of what he says, it will at least change the way you think about your business. For example, take the total number of hours you work in your business per week, month, year or whatever and divide that by your net business income factoring in expenses that were just for tax purposes. After you do that, find out your hourly wage. I did that, and I was shocked. If you're working 12-16 hours a day, and you're making an average income in your business or if you're breaking even, you're wasting your time. Take a day off and read this book. It will change your focus dramatically. It's not an easy process, but if you're serious about making your business work without you having to work so hard, then this book is worth every penny. Good luck in all your ventures.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 29 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

The E-Myth Revisited: Why Most Small Businesses Don't Work and What to Do About It
The E-Myth Revisited: Why Most Small Businesses Don't Work and What to Do About It von Michael E. Gerber (Taschenbuch - 14. Oktober 2004)
EUR 18,03
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen