Kundenrezensionen


77 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (54)
4 Sterne:
 (11)
3 Sterne:
 (2)
2 Sterne:
 (4)
1 Sterne:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Very Surprising
I first came upon this novel thinking very little. I expected it to be nothing more than some typical fantasy trash. I just could not stand "The Hobbit" at all, yet I wanted to venture into fantasy, so a friend (who hasn't read this) referred me to the novel itself. He had mentioned that "Homeland" by Salvatore was better than decent. But still, I...
Veröffentlicht am 6. Juli 2000 von John

versus
1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen Twilight für Jungs.
Mein Hauptgrund, mal in diese Buchreihe reinzuschnuppern, war der anhaltende Hype um einen gewissen Charakter namens Drizzt. Nun, ich habe nichts gegen schnörkellose Sword & Sorcery Fantasy zum Entspannen. Ich habe immerhin die ersten beiden Dragonlancetrilogien regelrecht genossen! Aber ich war dennoch überrascht, wie sehr mir The Crystal Shard misfallen...
Veröffentlicht am 18. Februar 2013 von Rena


‹ Zurück | 1 28 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Very Surprising, 6. Juli 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Crystal Shard (Forgotten Realms) (Taschenbuch)
I first came upon this novel thinking very little. I expected it to be nothing more than some typical fantasy trash. I just could not stand "The Hobbit" at all, yet I wanted to venture into fantasy, so a friend (who hasn't read this) referred me to the novel itself. He had mentioned that "Homeland" by Salvatore was better than decent. But still, I was rather skeptical. All in all, this is a tremendously great read.
Adventure Value: 9/10- This book contains numerous battle scenes and heroic combat moments
Romance Rating: 3/10- Wulfgar the Barbarian does do a little hitting on the female protagonist, but nothing more.
Character Development: 7/10- Drizzt, Bruenor, Regis, and Wulfgar are well developed, but there is some slacking on the antagonist: Akar Kessell.
Climax: 8/10- The ending of the read draws to a beautiful close.
Plotline: 6/10- The plotline was thin at random points, though at times it was as thick as molasses...
Creature Feature: 8/10- there are barbarians, goblins, orcs, ogres, giants, and even an ice dragon...it's well done...
My overall commentation on this book is that it is very good, and I recommend anyone new to the genre read it soon!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen Twilight für Jungs., 18. Februar 2013
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Crystal Shard (TSR Fantasy) (Taschenbuch)
Mein Hauptgrund, mal in diese Buchreihe reinzuschnuppern, war der anhaltende Hype um einen gewissen Charakter namens Drizzt. Nun, ich habe nichts gegen schnörkellose Sword & Sorcery Fantasy zum Entspannen. Ich habe immerhin die ersten beiden Dragonlancetrilogien regelrecht genossen! Aber ich war dennoch überrascht, wie sehr mir The Crystal Shard misfallen hat.

Ein Haufen aneinandergereihter Actionszenen macht noch kein temporeiches Abenteuerbuch. In diesem Fall hat die Szenenfolge sogar dazu geführt, die Erzählung etwas psychotisch wirken zu lassen. Es hilft auch nicht gerade, dass die sogenannten Helden ihre Feinde reihenweise niedermähen und dann darüber lachen. Nun, ich bin ein Gamer und kenne die Forgotten Realms hauptsächlich durch Spiele wie Baldur's Gate und Neverwinter Nights. Und obwohl die Orks und Goblins in den Vergessenen Reichen tatsächlich alle chaotisch böse sind, liefert uns dieses Buch keine Antwort darauf, wieso wir das über die Orks in diesem Buch annehmen sollten.

Diese Orks sind keine magisch gezüchteten Tolkien-Orks. Es gibt weibliche Orks und sie haben Babies und Mütter und offenbar soziale Strukturen. Also, wenn man dann liest, wie einer der Protagonisten enttäuscht darüber ist, dass sein Kollege Informationen aus einem Ork mit einem magischen Amulett gewinnt, anstelle ihn brutal zu foltern, dann lässt das die Helden nicht cool wirken, sondern wie gigantische Arschlöcher.

Und dieser Roman ist voll von derartigen fragwürdigen Wertevorstellungen. Und da macht sich die Pop-Kultur über das Frauenbild in Twilight lustig, während diese Hirnis hier von Fanboys in aller Welt verehrt werden? Ernsthaft?

Hinterher zu erwähnen, wie viele Kämpfer umgekommen sind, macht übrigens auch eine belanglose Schlachtszene nicht rückwirkend plötzlich episch. Es lässt den Leser eher aufhorchen und sich wundern, wie tragisch es ist, dass es ihn diese Schlacht kein bisschen interessiert hat, weil wir nie etwas über die Personen erfahren haben, die darin gekämpft haben und gestorben sind.

Das alles ist ganz einfach furchtbar schlechte Schreibe.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen This book got me started reading Bob's works, 7. August 1999
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Crystal Shard (Forgotten Realms) (Taschenbuch)
I had never read any of the Realms books before reading Crystal Shard (I read it when it first came onto paperback years ago, but never had the chance to review it until now), althought I was an avid D&D adventurer. This book got me started reading Realms, and I have read many since. I love Bob's writing, and though this was not his first published work, I think it was his debut for a lot of R.A. Salvatore fans. The book is an excellant introduction to Drizzt,Wulfgar, Cati-brie, Bruenor and Regis, as well as the Realms themselves. Bob's writing takes you into the story itself, letting you get "up close and personal" with many of his characters. I found the story interesting and attention holding to the end. I was so happy when I found that not only did Bob write more in the Dark Elf series, but went on to others as well. Bob, if you read this, thank you!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen The Best Salvatore novel I have read so far!, 17. Mai 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Crystal Shard (Forgotten Realms) (Taschenbuch)
The Crystal Shard was by far the best Drizzt Do'Urden novel I have read so far. I have also just read "Streams of Silver" and am now reading "The Halfling's Gem". The Crystal Shard (though Salvatore's first novel) had the most action. And the fight with Icingdeath and Ertuu was the best! I have heard that Ertuu comes back in later stories and I just can't wait! Streams of Silver was a great book, but it had a little too much meaningless fighting (not that much) like in the trollmoors with the trolls. But that doen't matter! All of the rest of the book dispells the lack of anything less than good! So, if you haven't read this book, you have to buy it. Drizzt Do'urden is the coolest!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Drizzt the Dragonsbane, Demonslayer . . . a great character, 29. März 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Crystal Shard (Forgotten Realms) (Taschenbuch)
Salvatore knows how to create truely unique and interesting characters. Drizzt Do'Urden is my favorite by far, his fight agaisnt racial walls is intriguing and its interesting how Salvatore makes Drizzt react to it. The Crystal Shard continues directly after the book Sojourn, in the tundra of Icewind Dale. Drizzt, Wulfgar, Bruenor, and countless leaders and people of Ten-Towns fight in a famous battle that made me read for hours straight, wondering waht would happen next. The pure cunning and trickery in this book is both interesting and humerous, I reccomend this book to any D & D fan, and even those just interested in Fantasy books.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen +10!, 14. Juli 2000
Von 
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Crystal Shard (Forgotten Realms) (Taschenbuch)
Salvatore is one heck of a bard! This book, the first in the most readable of all the Forgotten Realms series, is out of sight. Not only does Salvatore layer on a great plot and colorful action and scene, he is a master of character development. It soon becomes clear that we can't help but feel for everyone of his characters. This series launched a worldwide interest in one of the greatest fantasy characters ever also! Drizz't Dourden, a dark elf who explores the meaning of good fully. This book is an emotionally charged, fast-paced read that is out of any other fantasy adventure title. Read it for sure!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2.0 von 5 Sternen Good for teens, 6. Juni 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Crystal Shard (Forgotten Realms) (Taschenbuch)
The first book written by R.A. Salvatore, The Crystal Shard is a novel of the Fantasy genre and is set in the Advanced Dungeons & Dragons Forgotten Realms series. It is the first book of the Icewind Dale Trilogy. During the dawn of time, seven liches (evil undead spirits of extremely powerful wizards) created Crenshinibon the crystal shard, the most powerful and vile artefact ever made. Now it has been found in the Forgotten Realms by Akar Kessel, in the remote desolate region of Icewind Dale. Drizzt the dark elf, Bruenor the dwarf, Regis the halfling and Wulfgar the barbarian must unite the forces of Ten-Towns, the only settlement in the dale, and the nomadic barbarians or all of Icewind Dale, and perhaps the Forgotten Realms, is lost. I only picked up this book after reading the preceding Dark Elf Trilogy. Although the blurb was rather uninspiring, with my background interest on Advanced Dungeons & Dragons, I was attracted by the awe-inspiring prelude. As the first of his books, R.A. Salvatore has left many loose ends for sequels (foes survive to fight another day, other adventures are hinted at), but these are plainly visible and therefore, unimpressive. R.A. Salvatore's main merit is the novel idea of his central character - Drizzt Do'Urden, a Drow (dark elf). The Drow are an evil race that live deep beneath the surface and are hated by all good races. However, Drizzt has forsaken the evil ways of his race and has come to live on the surface. In all the books in the line, including The Crystal Shard, one of the main themes is how Drizzt does lots to help others, despite receiving prejudice in return. However, this theme is quite blatant and is not written with the finesse of Jane Austen when she wrote Pride and Prejudice. R.A. Salvatore continues the saga for over 10 novels, allowing lots of room for character development as his writing skill develops. After reading The Crystal Shard as well as many other books, I find that this character development tends to be restricted along only one dimension. Salvatore describes Drizzt as 'stoic' so often that it started to become annoying and distracting. In fact, Salvatore does not seem to have a large vocabulary of adjectives at all. Salvatore. Shrewd readers may notice some slight contradictions as Salvatore 'plays around' with his character ideas. The plot is fast-paced but rather straightforward, especially when compared to eg. Charles Dickens. Although this book is packed with action, a reader with aesthetic appreciation will find that something is lacking. If you found David Copperfield or Great Expectations tedious and boring then this book will give you all the action you want. In fact, this book provides a good starting point into the Forgotten Realms series. However, those who tend to notice to finer points of literature should first read the Dark Elf Trilogy, also by Salvatore. Exclusive readers of high-quality literature will find that this book is composed of absolute garbage, even when compared to other novels in this genre. I sometimes feel that this book should be a computer game instead of a novel.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2.0 von 5 Sternen Good for teens, 6. Juni 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Crystal Shard (Forgotten Realms) (Taschenbuch)
The first book written by R.A. Salvatore, The Crystal Shard is a novel of the Fantasy genre and is set in the Advanced Dungeons & Dragons Forgotten Realms series. It is the first book of the Icewind Dale Trilogy. During the dawn of time, seven liches (evil undead spirits of extremely powerful wizards) created Crenshinibon the crystal shard, the most powerful and vile artefact ever made. Now it has been found in the Forgotten Realms by Akar Kessel, in the remote desolate region of Icewind Dale. Drizzt the dark elf, Bruenor the dwarf, Regis the halfling and Wulfgar the barbarian must unite the forces of Ten-Towns, the only settlement in the dale, and the nomadic barbarians or all of Icewind Dale, and perhaps the Forgotten Realms, is lost. I only picked up this book after reading the preceding Dark Elf Trilogy. Although the blurb was rather uninspiring, with my background interest on Advanced Dungeons & Dragons, I was attracted by the awe-inspiring prelude. As the first of his books, R.A. Salvatore has left many loose ends for sequels (foes survive to fight another day, other adventures are hinted at), but these are plainly visible and therefore, unimpressive. R.A. Salvatore's main merit is the novel idea of his central character - Drizzt Do'Urden, a Drow (dark elf). The Drow are an evil race that live deep beneath the surface and are hated by all good races. However, Drizzt has forsaken the evil ways of his race and has come to live on the surface. In all the books in the line, including The Crystal Shard, one of the main themes is how Drizzt does lots to help others, despite receiving prejudice in return. However, this theme is quite blatant and is not written with the finesse of Jane Austen when she wrote Pride and Prejudice. R.A. Salvatore continues the saga for over 10 novels, allowing lots of room for character development as his writing skill develops. After reading The Crystal Shard as well as many other books, I find that this character development tends to be restricted along only one dimension. Salvatore describes Drizzt as 'stoic' so often that it started to become annoying and distracting. In fact, Salvatore does not seem to have a large vocabulary of adjectives at all. Salvatore. Shrewd readers may notice some slight contradictions as Salvatore 'plays around' with his character ideas. The plot is fast-paced but rather straightforward, especially when compared to eg. Charles Dickens. Although this book is packed with action, a reader with aesthetic appreciation will find that something is lacking. If you found David Copperfield or Great Expectations tedious and boring then this book will give you all the action you want. In fact, this book provides a good starting point into the Forgotten Realms series. However, those who tend to notice to finer points of literature should first read the Dark Elf Trilogy, also by Salvatore. Exclusive readers of high-quality literature will find that this book is composed of absolute garbage, even when compared to other novels in this genre. I sometimes feel that this book should be a computer game instead of a novel.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Salvatore's First and yet the Best thus far!, 5. Februar 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Crystal Shard (Forgotten Realms) (Taschenbuch)
"Night befell the tundra as orcs crept near. One could have smelt their foul stench as far as a poronkusema* away. The threshold of the forecoming nocturnal slaughter was broken in a sudden fiery fury, however, as a belch and a battlecry manifested the sudden arrival of the Savior of the Ten-Towns, Bruenor Battlehammer. With the skill and prowess of a veteran of a thousand battles and more, he drove is blood-stained axe into the very guts of an orcish invader after another. As the snow-dust finally settled, the Field of Honor hosted a hundred slain orcs and more, the slaughter manifesting the grim deadliness of the warrior that had brought these vile monsters to their deaths; lying as once-alive-and-breathing monuments of the cruel might of Bruenor Battlehammer." (This is no quote from this book, but rather a personal praise from me for Bruenor Battlehammer.)
Bob Salvatore's first novel, taking place in the Icewind Dale, a paradise of frost hidden in the very northwest corner of the Forgotten Realms, is a captivating saga about friendship, adventure and heroism. The debute of such legendary champions as Drizzt Do'Urden, Artemis Entreri, Wolfgang and Bruenor Battlehammer, this story once reset the standards of fantasy literature for generations to come and created the concept for adventures that would reshape the Realms.
All the way from the epilogue to the epic climax of incidents, the reader is kept in a firm grasp by thrilling battle scenes, touching manifestations of loyalty and true valor, and crystal-clear descriptions of the enchanting sceneries of the everwinter in the Icewind Dale. Salvatore's indisputable skill of creating dazzling battle excitement and profoundly inspiring contemplation makes this book, as well as a long line of its successors, an unforgettable experience of reading pleasure. Salvatore's ability of ingeniously finding his characters a way out of the deepest pit of trouble and through the deadliest of monsters also fascinates me over and over again.
And finally, one individual indeed worth mentioning is Bruenor Battlehammer. Whenever he grasps his deadly axe and raises it to strike, whenever he proudly roams wearing his glittering mithril armor and the shield of Foaming Ale Mug symbol, whenever he opens his mouth for a brief grunt of experience and wisdom - then I know that is all I have ever wanted to be. To become him is the purpose of my life. Thus this Dwarven hero shall always dwell in my heart as the repsesentative of everything good and pure in the world.
* Poronkusema (Finnish): "An ancient Lappish measure of distance, equal to the length of journey a running reindeer can make between two urination sessions."
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Exceptional, 24. Januar 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Crystal Shard (Forgotten Realms) (Taschenbuch)
**this guy is what all fantasy should be based on, his world is so immersive, his characters so great, and his descriptions of the various races so wonderful and unique. Salv. uses the most races and types of characters of any fantasy author. Barghasts, hook horrors, illithids, drow, basilisks, many forms of goblinoids that are all actually unique *orc language diff. from goblin* are all in his stuff. His is the definitive work on fantasy**************************************** I really DON'T understand how someone can bash his writing style. Tedious battles? Boring? This man has one of the greatest abilities to write massive battles *and small skirmishes and one on one fighting* anywhere. Those other guys all say "Read Tolkien". Well, I've read Tolkien's stuff, and it is very impressive. But the fact is, I DID READ HIS STUFF as well and i don't see Salvatore "stealing characters". I don't see any Drizzts, Wulfgars, Bruenors, Catti-bries, Dinins, Baenraes, etc anywhere do you? If you mean to imply he stole work by using a ranger as his central character, like the King from the Rings Trilogy, then geeze man lighten up, you're not a lawyer are you? Salv. only uses basic concepts such as elves *oooo*, dragons, dwarves, etc. but what he does with his characters is phenomenal. Talk about depth. Much of the books have to do with Drizzt's inner conflict. And as far as writing mechanics goes, Salvatore is flawless. I read these when i was 10 or 12 too, and all these years later I'm here ordering every book about Drizzt or anything related to him that I don't have. If Salv. has one problem it is that he is so good he must make other people jealous.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 28 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

The Crystal Shard (Forgotten Realms)
The Crystal Shard (Forgotten Realms) von R.A. Salvatore (Taschenbuch - 1. Januar 1988)
Gebraucht & neu ab: EUR 0,61
Auf meinen Wunschzettel Zahlungsmöglichkeiten ansehen
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen