Kundenrezensionen


56 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (52)
4 Sterne:
 (2)
3 Sterne:
 (1)
2 Sterne:    (0)
1 Sterne:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


7 von 7 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Höchst liebens- und lesenswerte Autobiografie eines Yogi
"An Ihren Früchten werdet ihr sie erkennen". Mit diesen Worten Jesu messe ich Menschen, die glauben oder sagen der Menschheit etwas Gutes zu tun. So las ich auch die Autobiografie eines Yogi vor ca. 25 Jahren zum ersten Mal. Heute 25 Jahre später las ich sie erneut und stelle fest: sie gefällt mir mindestens genausogut wie damals.... und mehr...
Am 6. Mai 2001 veröffentlicht

versus
1 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Who needs a guru?
This book is rather slow going particularly in the beginning. Be patient and you will learn a remarkable story of a man from a place light years away. Yogananda's story centers on his relationship with his guru and strict adhearence to the discipline of yoga. There are several amusing stories of saints who could perform miracles along with anecdotes about Indian...
Am 17. Dezember 1999 veröffentlicht


‹ Zurück | 1 26 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

7 von 7 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Höchst liebens- und lesenswerte Autobiografie eines Yogi, 6. Mai 2001
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Autobiography of a Yogi (Taschenbuch)
"An Ihren Früchten werdet ihr sie erkennen". Mit diesen Worten Jesu messe ich Menschen, die glauben oder sagen der Menschheit etwas Gutes zu tun. So las ich auch die Autobiografie eines Yogi vor ca. 25 Jahren zum ersten Mal. Heute 25 Jahre später las ich sie erneut und stelle fest: sie gefällt mir mindestens genausogut wie damals.... und mehr noch, ich erkannte wie viel ich von diesem liebenswerten indischen Yogi (der auch noch über qualifizierte schriftstellerische Fähigkeiten verfügte) gelernt und umgesetzt habe. Vor allem seine Einfachheit, Ehrlichkeit und sein kindhaftes Gemüt, das ganz frei von allem Missionsdrang war, haben es mir angetan. Obwohl man sein Lebenswerk im Rückblick als gewaltig bezeichenen darf, ist er sehr bescheiden geblieben. Was ihn charakterisiert zeigt sich in seinem Leitsatz: ..sich das Beste von Ost und West zu Eigen zu machen. Das hat er "getan". Er erklärt uns sein Verständnis der Christlichen Bibel und der Veden in einer Art, die ihresgleichen sucht. Damit offenbarte er sich als echter "Weltbürger" und lebte seine Vision einer Menschheits-umfassenden Brüderlichkeit auf's sympathischste vor. Seine Redegabe muß groß gewesen sein, wo immer er hin kam füllte er die größte Säle, darunter auch die Carnegiehall. Sein Lebenswerk besteht heute noch fort und erfreut sich zunehmender Beliebtheit, wohl deshalb, weil er sich auf die allen Religionen zugrundeliegenden Wahrheiten ausrichtete und so einen Weg zum Mensch-sein zeigte, den wir heute mehr denn je brauchen können. Das Besondere ist, daß er diesen Weg konsequent selber gegangen ist und dies mit der gleichen Konsequenz, die wir auch von seinem Zeitgenossen Ghandi und seiner Politik Gewaltlosigkeit her kennen. Dieses Buch ist ein Klassiker und verdient mehrmals gelesen zu werden.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A book that will make you see the universe in new light, 29. Mai 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Autobiography of a Yogi (Taschenbuch)
You will be amazed by this book, and it will be difficult to put it down till you've reached the final page. No wonder even ex-Beatle George Harrison recommended it to his friend. Also, Paramahansa and his teachers were part of the people in the Stg Pepper Lonely Hearts Club Band portrait! Yes, the Beatles loved Paramahansa too!
This is Paramahansa Yogananda's autobiography. A life filled with encounter with India's spiritual men, saints and teachers, not to mention lots of extra sensory events. Lots of unusual events there, some like a person being in 2 places at one time (bi-location), levitating saints, non-eating saints etc.
Paramahansa's teachings, along with Ernest Holmes (I also strongly recommend Holmes' classic 'The Science Of Mind') have really influenced my view on life. No man can live like an island. We were not put on this earth, lonely and helpless. There's always an invisible counterpart/intelligence/energy guiding us. Many years ago I used to be a 'logical man', who didnt believe in God. But one day I prayed very sincerely ("to God if he exists") for an answer to a problem, and I got a miracle answer just hours after that(a 'coincidence' that's 1 against a million!) Getting a miracle answer like that shattered my old prejudice (lack of open mindedness to accept a possibility of an Infinite Intelligence (God)?).
Read this book to find out more about the 'super-natural'. Paramahansa explains how and why it happens. Read with an open mind, my dear skeptics. Truely, is the world we see all there is?
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


6 von 7 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen It is a divine Story from the heart to the heart, 21. Dezember 2005
30 years ago, when my Teacher of TM (Transcendental Meditation) suggest the book to me, to satisfy all my deep hunger for spiritual knowledge, I was reading Shri Yoganandas book the first time. My experinces where tremendous, I had at that time spiritual visions, that touched the 7 heavens. It is a direct gate to the realm of God himself. Yoganandas speech/words are simply but heart-touching, full of wisdom und his devotion to his Divine Guru, Shri Yuktheshwar-jie are heart melting, especially the story when his Guru come in a real and a new body, after he just left the earth and tell him all about his work beyond our world in the heavens, it is more then divine. The impression it made to my live is to difficult to express, it would need a own book to prescribe all the effects it had in my life, only one suggestion. Take and have the joy/bliss of the blessing from this great yogic tradition. I humbly bow down my head and say thank your dear Shri Yogananda for let having us the taste of your experiences about your journey to the highest enlightenment. Frank Lotz, a German TM- teacher, author in the field of Vedic health. It is the Top Nr. 1 book, if I hade a choice to take only one book with me, it would be Autobiography of a Yogi.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen komisches Cover, super Buch!, 29. Mai 2014
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Autobiography of a Yogi (Taschenbuch)
Das Buch habe ich anfangs nicht kaufen wollen, weil ich das Cover so abstoßend fand. sah irgendwie sektiererisch aus. Die Lektüre wurde aber für die Yogalehrerausbildung verlangt. Im Nachhinein denke ich, dass es mich wundert, dass es nicht bei jeder Yogalehrerausbildung Pflichtlektüre ist. Sollte es nämlich sein.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen The Greatest Book I Have Ever Read or Will Ever Read, 1. März 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Autobiography of a Yogi (Taschenbuch)
I've read this book 5 times. This book, I feel, comes closest to describing a) where we came from b) why we are here and c) where we go after we leave. Athiesm has some good points. But if we are "concious meat", then where does the conciousness go when we die and are just meat? This postulates that a state of mind or conciousness can dissapate into a "peaceful nothingness". This is in direct contradiction to Newton's Law of Conservation. I have seen the silver star that Yogananda talks about in the book. It is surrounded by a gold ring and lies in a field of blue. The five-pointed star seems to flicker at the exact rate of twice a second. I've seen it 30 to 40 times, and it is the most beautiful thing I have ever seen. I have talked to many other yogis who have seen the exact same thing. I am not very advanced spiritually. I called an SRF counselor many years ago and simply asked him how somebody as messed up as me can have these experiences especially since I am not schozphrenic and have never seen the silver star while drunk. He said that spiritual development is contingent on how much you love God. Everything else is superfluous. Well, I love God more than anything! And I love my Sat Guru, Paramahansa Yogananda, more than anybody. Please buy this book. But with one warning. All of the miracles are indeed true. But since the entire universe is indeed made out of light, nearly every manifestation will someday be able to be explained. When you analyze radio waves, we can come up with explanations. But they are really more far-fetched than anything in this book. Oh! The SRF monks keep telling me something else. Even though we feel that our way is the best way, it is not the only way. Muslims, Christians, Jews, Hindus, Buddhists, and even some athiests(! ) can reach God faster than any Self-Realizationist. Simply because they are following spiritual laws. I am very grateful to Self-Realization Fellowship and the fifty or so monks that I have talked to on the phone. I am especially grateful to Brother Bhaktananda who has helped me so greatly. He knew Yogananda when he was still in his body. And he never looked down on me for my clinical depression or my alcohol abuse. He simply kept reminding me, "We are all praying for you, Bill." I am very grateful. Some yogis can see the silver star with their eyes open! I can only see it with my eyes closed doing a certain yogic
technique. It's between the eyebrows. Kindness seems to be the pathway to such advancements. And I am not kind yet. I have to go to Recovery, Inc. for the depression and temper. Then I can go faster. Maybe some of you can go much faster. Good luck and buy the book from Amazon.com.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Sincere but dare I say... slightly silly?, 19. Oktober 1999
Von 
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Autobiography of a Yogi (Taschenbuch)
Paramhansa Yogananda (born Mukunda Lal Ghosh) was a devout Hindu and founder of the Self-Realization Fellowship, a society devoted to Kriya Yoga, a form of meditation. This autobiography was originally published in 1946 and immediately became a spiritual bestseller. Full of mystic wonders and miracles it is told with a sincere faith - but there is more than one way to interpret the events related!
Ghosh was born in very comfortable circumstances; his father was an executive in the Bengal-Nagpur Railway. According to Yogananda he demonstrated his spiritual superiorities at an early age - during spats with his sister! Unconscious sibling and parental rivalries recur throughout the book. Upon the death of his mother, Ghosh obtained a pension (by fraud!) and made his way through a parade of saints and wonderworkers to the ashram (seminary) of Yukteswar Giri (Priya Nath Karar). The future Yogananda was mercilessly ridiculed by his fellow chelas (students) as well as the acerbic guru. At one point he watches in mystification as Yukteswar 'predicts' the theft of a cauliflower from Ghosh's belongings. To Yogananda's continuing puzzlement Yukteswar's psychic abilities proved insufficient when faced with more mundane missing items... Later Yukteswar becomes besotted with a young chela Yogananda describes as handsome but worthless - ignoring the more deserving Ghosh! Eventually the chela over-abuses his indulged position and the broken-hearted guru turns to Ghosh with tears in his eyes, saying: "I will leave it to you to instruct Kumar to leave the ashram tomorrow; I can't do it!" Then Yukteswar's mother visits the ashram: Yogananda observes that she is "a woman of very decided opinions." Later she scolds her son:
"Sri Yukteswar backed away without further argument... I was touched at his great respect for his mother even in her unreasonable moods... There was a charm about the trifling incident; it supplied a sidelight on my guru's unusual nature, inwardly humble and outwardly unbendable."
Yogananda's life was replete with miracles, and I can't resist mentioning two more: on one occasion, he had to give a speech, but was worried that his English wasn't good enough; afterwards his friends said the speech was just fine! On another occasion it was predicted that he would someday like strawberries and behold! By mashing them with lots of sugar they became quite tasty!
Yoganada's story is also leavened by outspoken Indian nationalism and occasional Moslem-bashing. Nevertheless he comes across as sincere and likable. A fascinating tale!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Discover why you are born !Lifetime guidance for you ., 14. Dezember 1998
Von 
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Autobiography of a Yogi (Taschenbuch)
I have the change to experience in person a lot of the stories written in this book . The guidens from GOD . Autobiography of a Yogi is book that must be promoted by all readers . I am not talking about long ago; an examination for which i make few correction, after the papers where collected and sealed in front of all the students! Read the chapter of Guruji story where Swami Yukteswarji gives him advise for his examination. Next, I have been offer a job in Netherland by an Insurance Company ,the way it happens reminded me of the story of Lahiri Mahasaya's meeting with Babaji in the mountains , , the way the papers where completed, thereafter Lahiri Mahasaya was told that the transfer was wrong !Now i have been offered the job and all the papers where completed for my staying and work .It is not easy for an not White man to find a job like this . details can be obtainfrom my Manager , even my Dutch easy matter. Next, a lot of dreams that becomes reality ,The best was that when in juli 1993 i had small pox , fever That night i was alone in Netherland my wife and 2 daughter where in Suriname . I called the help of my Guruji's and they send me the best nurse to look after me !! . My Mother came to me ,Spended the whole night just as she used to do when iwas sick, as her little son in Surinam. But my readers remember this that my Mother passed away on 31 of december 1992 ! !! coming to Europe has special meaning And now i am going to do something , even if i have to die for the true . Th e best thing to do if you wanted to give a gift , buy this book .Especially in this day of Christmas , it is a lifetime never ending deposit from which the reader can withdraw help experience the reason why he/she is born. My GOD BLESS YOU ALL ALWAYS: please correct fault wording.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen THE MOST AMAZING BOOK I HAVE EVER READ IN HINDUISM, 12. Mai 1998
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Autobiography of a Yogi (Gebundene Ausgabe)
I am the author of the international best seller AM I A HINDU? [ISBN 1-879904-06-3 Amazon distributors lists as the 4th popular book on Hinduism] and I wanted to state that AUTOBIOGRAPHY OF A YOGI, is the most amazing book I have ever read on Hinduism. With his simple and beautiful style of English language, Parama Pujya Swami Paramahamsa Yogananda has given a beautiful picture of Yoga and life in India. I salute him and I adore him. It is him, who inspired me to go deep into spirituality. In India, I first came across this beautiful book when I was 9 years old. I read this book cover to cover many many times. Later with my extremely limited resources I bought at least 50 copies of this book and gave as gifts to my realtives and friends. I gave a copy of my elder brothers who was contemplating on a divorce with his wife. Thanks to this wonderful book, he and his wife are together now and they have made teachings of Parama Pujya Swami Paramahamsa Yogananda, part and pacel of their lives. Yogananda has gone to extreme lengths discussing thought provoking aspects of Hinduism and Christianity in this book and I BEG EVERYONE TO PLEASE READ THIS BOOK....Please buy copies of this book and give to your friends and relatives. .If at all anyone would like to know more about my book AM I A HINDU? [90 chapters] or would like to have FREE educational flow charts on Hinduism please write to me with your postal address...Once again PLEASE READ this wonderful, thought provoking book AUTOBIOGRAPHY OF A YOGI. Thanks Ed Viswanathan arvind-4@msn.com
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen THE GRANDEST ADVENTURE IS HERE IN US ALL, SEIZE IT!, 19. Dezember 1998
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Autobiography of a Yogi (Taschenbuch)
A spiritual classic would be to grossly understate its potential effects; this book of truth and divine wisdom in this age makes it a true-godsend from one united with the Lord. Reading it a few months ago, I couldn't help but realize how all the people in our world could enlarge their realm of happiness with the tinge of divine sweetness by grasping this book's eternal essence and practicing its doctrines to lead one to soul freedom. Meditation on the Lord is our eternal birthright and duty, without it, that "something" else will never appear. Please, I urge anyone to read this book and practice the science of Kriya Yoga. Give it a try, for a day, a week, or month; however longer you persevere the effects of harmony will increase. I speak from my practical experience, to those that scoff at the possibility of the human soul and vitalism, I ask then, what do we then live for? A hundred hours of sensual satisfaction can not dare compare to the gentle aura of soul bliss one can experience during attempts at God-communion. When we once realize the eternal soul as Paramahansaji states, that something else has been realized.
Set aside your beliefs and pre-suggested notions of life for one moment, spend a few dollars for eternal knowledge that will unlock the door to the realm of infinite bliss, and you will see the practicality of the book will in itself lead you to seeking more. In that pursuit, you will find yourself!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen A lively way of introduction to spiritual traditions, 17. Oktober 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Autobiography of a Yogi (Taschenbuch)
I have not read the recent (revised editions of the book). I have read this book atleast 10 times, in the last ten years. I find that there are already 63 reviews of the book, in amazon.com. I am not surprised. The author has written in a lively form. It has a collection of stories ( real-life). He has a lot of humour. I am a hindu from south india. Before reading this book, I have read books about Ramakrishna and Vivekanda. I have noticed the struggle in Vivekanda between rationalism developed through western education and complexity of Ramakrishna's mysticism. When I was young ( high school), I believed Ramakrishna. When I came to college, I rejected Ramakrishna as unsound man and pitied that Vivekanda could not preserve with his western education. After my post-graduation, I came across this book ' Autobiograbhy of a yogi'. It helped me a lot to understand religion within the social context. The important point he continues his education and completes because of his guru's command. People who read the book ' Kali's child' are encouraged to read this book. For people interest in science only, one draw attention to the chapter on Bose. The book should interest someone who wants to have a view of alternate culture, even if not interested in spirituality.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 26 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Autobiography of a Yogi
Autobiography of a Yogi von Paramahansa Yogananda (Taschenbuch - 15. Oktober 2004)
EUR 7,17
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen