Kundenrezensionen


17 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (17)
4 Sterne:    (0)
3 Sterne:    (0)
2 Sterne:    (0)
1 Sterne:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 
‹ Zurück | 1 2 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

4 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Clarity and Utility, 24. Juli 2000
Von 
James D. Moyer "Bluegrass Reader" (Louisville, KY USA) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Mindfulness in Plain English (Taschenbuch)
As the other reviewers have noted, this book is clearly written, very practical, and very encouraging. It is a fine nuts-and-bolts manual for meditators, without the baggage of excessive references to Eastern teachings which sometimes bog down other texts. Have no doubt, it is profoundly Buddhist in its approach -- this becomes especially clear at the end.
Without question, the best single book on meditation I've found.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


8 von 10 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen This Book is All You Need for Never-Ending Bliss!, 5. April 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Mindfulness in Plain English (Taschenbuch)
This is the greatest book written on do-it- yourself meditation ever written. And that is simply no exaggeration. It's better than reading 1,000 books. Buy it now! It is the trip to happiness. I've seen people follow this path and are so full of joy and happiness that you would simply not believe it! You will become concious. You will experience a bliss that you have never known. You will be indescribably happy. I know this to be true. I've know these people. But... This meditation (insight meditation) has been stripped of all non-necessities in order to get you to nirvana and home as soon as possible. I know. That sounds great. I paid $200 for The Insight Meditation Course and my assigned teacher recommended THIS book for me. And, lol, it's all you need. You don't need any other books. But this path, Theravada Buddhism, is "bare bones" and "no-nonsense". The only object is to enable you to fill great bliss and joy. Such a joy that you can't even imagine now. But it's "bare bones". There won't be any God. You can believe in God if you want. But it has nothing to do with this path. No prayer to a Higher Power. You can do that if you want. But this path doesn't advocate it. You simply sit on your butt and learn how to pay attention to the breath come in and leave your nostrils. Each chapter will tell you how to deal with distractions, pain, progress, thoughts, and emotions. Now I can't do this. I want a total path in which I can believe in God. So I am a Self-Realizationist. I just can't seem to last without a path so beautifully pragmatic but doesn't deal with afterlife or God. The other problem that you may find with this book was discovered back East by the meditation master, Jack Kornfield. Over 50% of meditators have trouble sitting steadily because of deep emotional problems. Now the author deals with these. But if you just can't sit for 20 minutes without exploding, what are you going to do? A Matthew Flickstein co-authored this book with the Venerable Henepola Gunaratana. And he has created a book for us "disturbed ones". Buy it if you simply can't sit. And give it a try. "Journey to the Center" by Matthew Flickstein. The introduction is by the author of "Mindfulness in Plain English". I started following it. I will give it my total dedication. One small other problem with this book, which is really quite minor. After about two-thirds down the path, you will need guidence from a teacher because the "mind states" that are keeping you from total happiness become very subtle. Don't sweat it! The internet is already providing instruction for people without a teacher! And one Thai teacher told me that you don't even need a teacher. It's best to check up with one, though. As this book states, you can actually get hooked out on "blissful states of mind". Before the real happiness or freedom is obtained. There. Put this book under your pillow and get rid of all your other books if you can sit, and don't demand a path that advocates a Higher Power.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Excellent, 28. Februar 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Mindfulness in Plain English (Taschenbuch)
Very easy to understand and motivating. Just lovely
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen if you can't find a teacher ~ here is one, 26. Februar 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Mindfulness in Plain English (Taschenbuch)
Being a countryman of the author, this is the book I give my friends.
Though perhaps not quite impartial, I would say: If you do not have a human teacher, for this 7th aspect of the Eightfold path, this book is one of the best substitutes.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen The best you'll find on mindfulness meditation., 5. Februar 2000
Von 
Adam Khan (Seattle, WA USA) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Mindfulness in Plain English (Taschenbuch)
I love this book. It is straightforward, thorough, and easy to read. I don't know who Gunaratana is, but he does a great job with this book. Even the layout of the book is clean and simple and pleasant.
If you are interested in vipassana or mindfulness meditation, or even zazen, this book is worth reading. It tells you how to do this kind of meditation, and what to do with the problems that come up. It is a practical handbook and it's also fun to read. I'm the author of the book, Self-Help Stuff That Works, and I can tell you with some authority that the techniques Gunaratana describes in this book work, and they are worth applying, even if you don't sit still. You can do your work with mindfulness. You can talk to your child with mindfulness. Anything can be a meditation. Mindfulness in Plain English will show you how. I recommend this book.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Meditation for the West, 25. August 1997
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Mindfulness in Plain English (Taschenbuch)
Ever start reading a really cool looking
meditation book only to find that the picture on
the cover is the only thing that makes any sense?

Have you ever wondered why the author or
translator never bothers to tell you what those
weird words mean, "Samahadi...",
"Vipassana...", "Dukka..."

Have you finished a meditation book and
understood about half of what was talked about and
figured that half is better than none? (a very 'enlightened'
but often frustrating outcome
especially when these books aren't cheap)

This little known book seems to have addressed
and solved all those problems and more. It is a book
written for people who have no clue how to
start meditating and for those who have started, but
don't know where to look for the answers to
questions that come up during their practice.
The best thing about this book is in
its title,'plain English'.It seems to gently
lead one by the hand through the mystery and
confusion of meditation with a sense of humor
and patience rarely given to the subject.

I have been meditating for nine years now and
have built up a small library of books on the
subject. When friends ask me about meditation
I dig around in all the books with great
covers and reach for "Mindfullness In Plain
English" every time.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Bestes Buch zum Einstieg in die Achtsamkeits-Meditation, 21. Mai 2013
Von Amazon bestätigter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Mindfulness in Plain English: 20th Anniversary Edition (Taschenbuch)
Dieses Buch wird seinem Titel vollauf gerecht: es bringt die Dinge auf den Punkt ohne jeglichen kulturellen/religiösen/esoterischen Überbau. Genau das richtige für Leser, die Achtsamkeit praktizieren wollen ohne sich gleich einer Subkultur zu verschreiben. Mir hat es so manchen Sachverhalt klar gemacht und einen guten Einstieg in die tägliche Praxis ermöglicht. Wer sich eher wissenschaftlich dem Thema nähern möchte (soweit das seriös derzeit möglich ist), dem sei noch ergänzend 'Meditation für Skeptiker' empfohlen.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Wortmächtige Anleitung zu einem Leben in Klarheit und Frieden, 17. März 2012
Von 
Kardewski (Lünen, Westfalen, Germany) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Mindfulness in Plain English: 20th Anniversary Edition (Taschenbuch)
Was für ein Werk: Dem ceylonesischen Mönch und in den USA tätigen Dharma-Lehrer Bhante Gunaratana gelingt in Sätzen voller Kraft, Präzision und manchmal betörender Schönheit eine zwingende Darstellung der (Vipassana-) Meditation, die unter allen mir bekannten Meditationsbüchern ihresgleichen sucht. Die (siehe Titel) betont alltägliche und direkte Sprache - buddhistischer Jargon wird auf ein notwendiges Minimum beschränkt - macht diese Einführung für Menschen westlicher Herkunft außerordentlich leicht zugänglich und wertvoll. Dabei wird das WIE, also alle praktischen Fragen wie die richtige Körperhaltung, Fokus für Aufmerksamkeit und Konzentration und, vor allem, der Umgang mit zahlreichen, unweigerlich aufkommenden Schwierigkeiten in größter Ausführlichkeit behandelt, ebenso aber auch das WARUM: In der einleitenden Darstellung der menschlichen Misere, begründet in der ewigen Unzufriedenheit, die durch das Streben nach Besitz und sinnlichen Genüssen nicht gelindert, sondern bloß noch verschlimmert wird, muß sich jeder Leser zwangsläufig wiederfinden. Eine Abgrenzung der Achtsamkeitsmeditation zu anderen (buddhistischen und nichtbuddhistischen) Traditionen erfolgt ebenfalls, man erfährt also genau, womit man es hier zu tun hat. Und was der geduldig, ausdauernd Übende von seinen Anstrengungen erwarten darf, das wird in ungewöhnlich deutlicher Form ebenfalls beschrieben. Buddhismus bedeutet Eigenverantwortlichkeit, Disziplin und Arbeit an sich selbst: Wer schnellen Erfolg sucht, "Erleuchtung" also quasi mit der Brechstange erreichen will, kann nur scheitern. Das Zusatzkapitel (geschrieben anläßlich der neuen Ausgabe) schlägt einen anderen Ton an und mag aufgepfropft erscheinen; da es jedoch den Aspekt von Metta - der mitfühlenden Güte gegenüber allen Lebewesen - behandelt, ohne die eine vollständige Verwirklichung des buddhistischen Ziels nicht möglich wäre, ist es tatsächlich unverzichtbar. Hier läßt B.G. endlich auch einmal persönliche Erfahrungen einfließen, eine wohltuende Prise menschlicher Wärme nach der kühlen, messerscharfen Analyse des Haupttextes. -- Dies ist das Buch "that did the trick", das mein Interesse für Buddhismus und Meditation neu, und wie ich hoffe dauerhaft, entfacht hat. Seine Lektüre hat mich tief berührt - nun endlich soll die Praxis folgen. Ich weiß, es wird ein langer, langer Weg. Danke.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Ultimate, clear, contains simple english words., 19. Oktober 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Mindfulness in Plain English (Taschenbuch)
This book is really good. Text is clear. Nuts and bolts book about how to meditate. I feel good every time I think about this book. Writer is not only good meditation teacher, he is also good writer. If you don't know what to do with your mind, this book is for you.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Excellent meditation guide, 16. August 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Mindfulness in Plain English (Taschenbuch)
Ven. Gunaratana has written by far the most straight forward, concise, and compassionate guide to the how's and why's of the meditative experience. This is a must have for any Buddhist or anyone who wants to begin meditation. Highly recommended.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 2 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst
ARRAY(0xa6e9c75c)

Dieses Produkt

Mindfulness in Plain English: 20th Anniversary Edition
Mindfulness in Plain English: 20th Anniversary Edition von Bhante Henepola Gunaratana (Taschenbuch - 6. September 2011)
EUR 11,58
Lieferbar ab dem 23. April 2014.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen