Kundenrezensionen


101 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (74)
4 Sterne:
 (15)
3 Sterne:
 (6)
2 Sterne:
 (3)
1 Sterne:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


4 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Many Different Angles
Most people know that Hawking is a brilliant physicist, but after reading this book, one develops a respect for his other talents as well. Most noticeable is Stephen Hawking's ability to make very complicated ideas seem quite clear through good explanations, clear comparisons to real life events, and a soft humor. The organization of chapers mostly follows a...
Am 3. Februar 2000 veröffentlicht

versus
4 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen No master of the written word
Hawking is no master of the written word. Early on, he warns us not to consult his earlier books for more detail - because they are "quite unreadable". He also admits that, during the production of this book, his editor bombarded him with comments and questions. The impact of this editorial input is plain. The book wallows from unnecessarily long complex...
Veröffentlicht am 6. Dezember 1999 von David Blake


‹ Zurück | 19 10 11 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

5.0 von 5 Sternen the best to star, 2. April 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: A Brief History of Time (Taschenbuch)
if you like phisics or black holes or just want to read a little this ios the book to read.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Cosmology for dummies., 22. September 1998
Von Ein Kunde
A very good book, explains the basics of quantum mechanics, time, the big bang and more.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Wonderful book, 6. Februar 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: A Brief History of Time (Taschenbuch)
Very good book written by the master in the field for mere mortals like us.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen A Must Read, 10. März 2000
Von 
Cassie (Louisville,Kentucky, The United States of America) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
This an excellent book for anyone who is interested Science
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


0 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Cool, but..., 5. Juni 2014
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: A Brief History Of Time: From Big Bang To Black Holes (Taschenbuch)
I am pretty certain that Mr. Hawking made a hell of an effort to explain the facts and his opinions in the simpliest way possible, however it still is really technical for an amateur in physics like me.

All in all, though, Hawking serves a spectacular ride through space with catchy facts and cool presentations of the major theories.

Well worth the struggle :-)
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


0 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
2.0 von 5 Sternen Lost in Space, 21. Mai 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: A Brief History of Time (Taschenbuch)
It takes a scientist to get through this book as well as someone with a lot of patience. On top of all the science and mathematics, the book moves slowly and the text is rather dry.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


0 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A brief history of time von Stephen Hawking, 18. November 2012
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: A Brief History Of Time: From Big Bang To Black Holes (Taschenbuch)
Dieses Buch bekommt ein Engländer. Ich kann es nicht verstehen, auch auf Deutsch nicht. Weiß aber, daß die Person Hawking sehr schätzt und oh Wunder auch versteht.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4 von 15 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
2.0 von 5 Sternen A black hole of meaninglessness!, 7. März 2009
Von 
Roman Nies (Helibrunna) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
A really short story indeed! The sophisticated newspaper "Die Zeit" exaggerated strongly when it wrote: The physician Hawking is about to find the formula that explains the universe!"
Perhaps this was meant ironical, as if the universe could be explained with some formulas! Formulas can at best help to better understand the whole thing which can only be measured in parts. And understanding the universe does not entail to know what is beyond, before or after. Meanwhile some more years have passed and Hawking has not yet outwitted Einstein!
Elsewhere it is also hard to agree that Hawking achieved something really convincing. He incures pre-arranged opinions rather undeliberated. As an example I exemplify the apes who type on a type writer so-and- so many million years and finally bring out a Sonnet of Shakespeare. That may be. But the error in reasoning is this: that there must be also somebody who knows that this is Shakespeare, let us read and like it! And then again million apes have to type for another billion years till the next work of Shakespeare. Only that nobody can remember the first work! This is how Hawking explains the evolution theory! This is all about facts! A poor performance of human reason! But impressing for the awestruck reader who holds no academic grade in physics!
On the other side Hawking praises the "uncertainty relation" of Heisenberg. That one exactly puts an "Outside" of this cosmos beside the "Inside" of the representatives with a view more dictated to see the "inside-is-everything"- view. Hawking claims: "The uncertainty relation has far reaching effects for our view of the world. Even today, fifty years after its formulation, many philosophers have not yet grasped the whole meaning..." yes, and Hawking joins them! Here also, it seems, Hawkings conclusions have a certain uncertainty relation, which I would like to christen the "uncertainty relation" of Hawking! The laugh is always on the loser!
Uncertain is Hawking also in his conclusions on the entropy, that is: the fact that the parts of the whole have the increasing tendency to create nothing more than disorder and only a purposeful input of energy can turn that process. This proves that the universe should have to be chaotic if only moved by material and energy in space and time. Not so for Hawking!
Intelligent creatures, Hawking is asserting, can only be in the expansion-phase of the universe! I bet that Hawking likes Harry Potter! Are we proper in the expansion-phase at the moment?

Great also how Hawking reports how he escaped the clutches of the pope, because he did not like to share the fate of Galilei! Hawking had thought about abolishing God with the invention of an idea which contradicted the wish of the pope (who had called on a conference about cosmos questions) nobody may assert any binding statements could be made on the question what was before the Big Bang. Hawking`s idea was that time-space is limited, but without borders! So no need for a God! Did you know this?

Thanks to Hawking we know now! What will God say to this? This is indeed comparable to the Galilei discussion. Because Galilei had asserted something in the public what the Vatican had not denied out of ignorance, but because the Vatican wanted that the man on the street, who the church had kept uneducated, would not get an inner conflict, when he was confronted with the truth, that the Earth is not flat but round. For the church it was about power, not about truth (nothing has changed therein). That the Earth is round was known since long even in the clergy (the idea of a slice stems from the paganism). I a m tired of reading historically wrong Gallilei-the- Earth- is- round- stories.

It is true, much of what he is writing und what others before him wrote, is correct. How he explains the relativity theory of Einstein. But you could read that somewhere else as well, that the universe expands; that it seems to have had a beginning; that, when a cherry falls from a tree, it does nothing else as might be expected by Newton or Einstein; that a body with double weight is drawn to earth by double force; that black holes are not quite as black as we might think, etc.. We also hear what happens when a black hole is becoming very small, although it "is not really clear, very probable it would disappear for ever in a radiation-eruption, the equivalent of millions of H-bomb explosions!" Ah, right, so it is very probable!
The genesis of life is described by Hawking like this: "possibly" atoms and molecules got together! Geez! Do not bite off more what you can chew!
For somebody, who is not so much busy with the topic, let him say, right, let us take in some of these, it might be not too bad. For others who want serious material I cannot give a recommendation and I can only warn of this superficial, in parts sloppily considered work. For me a mispurchase. I only read it, to know what Hawking has to say. Indeed not much and that is enough honour I can give him! I fear that his book will also disappear one day in a black hole of meaninglessness!
By the way, since long I came to the conclusion: scholarship which is not bridled by humbleness, is very close to foolishness.

According to his final words Hawkings seems to believe in the possible final triumph of the human reason over the world-mysteries. The last sentence: "- then we would know Gods plan!" seems to be too optimistic, because the human mind is too much in this world bound. It makes more sense to hope for an abbreviation of the procedure: God could explain his plan Himself!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 11 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen If like you like to sit around and get bored, read this!, 4. Juni 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Before I read this book my views on thermo-dynamics was clouded by bordom and the fact that I have things that arn't boring to do. They are still the same now. This book was so boring and droning that I thought I had slipped into a coma.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 17 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen A big dumb book..., 8. September 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: A Brief History of Time (Taschenbuch)
I didn't read it because the cover looked stupid
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 19 10 11 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

A Brief History Of Time: From Big Bang To Black Holes
A Brief History Of Time: From Big Bang To Black Holes von Stephen Hawking (Taschenbuch - 18. August 2011)
EUR 11,33
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen