Kundenrezensionen


67 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (59)
4 Sterne:
 (6)
3 Sterne:    (0)
2 Sterne:    (0)
1 Sterne:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen A Gripping Quick Read
One of the best-known of the many books about Englishman Shakleton's 1915 expedition to cross the South Pole, this is essentially a quick, easy-reading adventure story. Aptly titled, it's a pretty gripping and amazing story, and will put to shame any bad camping story of one's own. I guess what one emerges with is sheer amazement that anyone managed to survive the...
Veröffentlicht am 13. Juni 2000 von A. Ross

versus
0 von 7 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen i thought it was boreing and was too repetitive.
i really thought that the same events and problems kept on comming up over and over and over again, i would NEVER reccomend this for a book report, its not good for that, cuz thats what i had to do and i got a bad grade for being too repetitve of myself...bye.
Am 23. September 1999 veröffentlicht


‹ Zurück | 1 27 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen A Gripping Quick Read, 13. Juni 2000
Von 
A. Ross (Washington, DC) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
One of the best-known of the many books about Englishman Shakleton's 1915 expedition to cross the South Pole, this is essentially a quick, easy-reading adventure story. Aptly titled, it's a pretty gripping and amazing story, and will put to shame any bad camping story of one's own. I guess what one emerges with is sheer amazement that anyone managed to survive the conditions these men were exposed to. A nice modern companion book to this is "North to the Night."
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Startling good read, 19. September 2000
Whew!! That's the first word that comes to my mind. It surfaced in my thoughts numerous times as I was reading this tale. This book is overwhelming. I had always heard tales about Shackleton and this was a most compelling read. I found myself unable to put it down. It just grabs a hold of you and won't let go. Alfred Lansing did a superb job of storytelling here. It is one of the most amazing tales of human courage and endurance ever written. This is a fabulous story. Sir Ernest Shackleton truly displayed extraordinary mettle in spite failing to achieve the initial objective. His leadership is undeniable. He held a crew together to endure the harshest climate on the planet. That the entire crew survived the venture is testament to the power of the human spirit. The will to survive can attain soaring heights as this tale suggests. Lansing attempts to get into the nature of the different men but he allows their diaries to dictate the writing. This is great because supposition by authors of nonfiction can be fatuous. Drawing excerpts from the diaries of the men is a way to draw upon the incredible human drama and psychology that must have unfolded in this venture. The obstacles encountered by the crew are staggering. The wind, the dampness, the bitter cold and the long months of darkness in the winter seem like more than any man should be able to stand. They slept in wet sleeping bags in sub-freezing temperature; ate unappetizing foods; and still managed to keep their hopes alive. These were not accommodations up to Hyatt standards. One wonders how many people today would be tough enough to triumph over these hardships. The pain, ennui and discomfort must have been staggering. I found myself just shaking my head with awe at numerous passages in the book. These are men who went to Hell and came back alive. That is remarkable in and of itself. This book is a classic account of one of man's most remarkable journeys. Read it and discover for yourself.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Reading in it's amazing best, 11. Mai 2000
This is a superbly written account of an Antarctic expedition led by Sir Ernest Shakleton on a ship named Endurance. It is trapped by ice and eventually crushed by it. In order to survive, the crew look toward it's leader for answers and the only chance at rescue is to make it to a whaling station that is more than 1500 miles away. Everything is frozen, the weather is the worst on earth and thats just the begining. It's all here, the amazing spirit that some humans show when pushed to the brink of death, starvation, freezing, thirst, tiredness to the deepest parts of one's existence, humor, friendship, respect, leadership, etc. How it must have been for these men to survive such a harrowing experience is beyond belief. If not because it was so well documented by the individual crew members who kept journals, indeed no one would beleive it. To have survived so many months floating on a moving, cracking, shifting, crushing ice floe only to have to undertake an 800 mile sea voyage in a 22 foot lifeboat in the most brutal ocean in the world where winds rarely fall below huricane force, find and land on a hellish coast of a small island easily missed. Then on foot and starving have to coss it on ground so treacherous that no one had crossed it before, or would dare again for another 50 yrs. A brutal reading that will leave you exhausted. Pass it on and share with your friends and family.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen "Incredible" is an understatement, 30. August 1999
Von Ein Kunde
I went into this book, after reading the jacket, thinking, "Oh, this sounds interesting." By the end, the book had moved me to tears three or four times. I cannot say enough about this fascinating, unreal, unbelievable story and the powerful effect it had on me. Never before have I read of such fortitude and awe-inspiring strength than that exhibited by these brave, amazing men. It was such a terrific read, I didn't want the story to end! But thank God, for those who lived to tell it, it finally did. If you like true-life adventure, even just a little bit, then you must read this tremendous story. Remarkable and unbelievable from beginning to end.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen detailed and inspiring, but monotoneous at times, 6. Mai 2000
Von 
Andrzej Semeniuk (Dallas TX) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
A very interesting and gripping account of twenty-some seamen, explorers, and scientists stranded in the Antarctic for two winters after their ship has been crushed by forces of nature, this book is objective but does not focus on a single character - it is like a hovering lamp illuminating individual characters one at a time, briefly, and then continuing on to describe daily events. A very good read none the less.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen An exciting and compelling story, 24. Februar 2000
Von 
The Endurance, Shackleton's Incredible Voyage, by Alfred Lansing is a great book. It is a great story. This is about Ernest Schackleton's greatest adventure. It is an excellent book. The book is an account of an event. This does not mean the book is boring. The story is real, but the events that take place in the book are unreal. For example, the story takes place over a period of two years, and the crew never touches or sees land, and lives solely on the boat and ice. The story also changes a lot because it is told from various perspectives, which makes the story move along, and gives each character a certain attitude, because a lot of the story is taken from. For instance, when the crew is on the boat, some of the men do not mind, while others think differently. This makes the story change, which makes the book interesting, and not monotonous unlike some other books of this genre. The book is also well written. Although the author was not on the expedition, he has done interviews with the crew, and has obtained all of their journals which was one of the few things they were allowed to keep. This book is not very new. It is similar to some of other adventure stories, like Into the Wild, The Perfect Storm, and Into Thin Air. The difference is that it brings the genre to a new level. It is more interesting, and has a better story that it was based on. I had never read anything on Alfred Lansing, but this book may make me want to read more. Overall I like this book. It didn't get the last half star because I thought it was too long, but I don't like anything over 200 pages, so that is my own personal bias.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Incredible Non-Stop Reading Voyage, 19. Februar 2000
At 3:30 am this morning I began reading this book and did not stop until I'd finished all 280 pages 8 a half hours later. A non-stop reading adventure. And I am not a book reader and have never read a book in less than 3 days. What a story! All factual. And what a vivid description-- it makes movies seem pale. This book defines the meaning incredible. IF you love outdoor adventures and have a few harrowing experiences of your own, this book will grab you. Warn your family before going away on this voyage.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Possibly the Greatest True Life Adventure Story Ever Written, 15. Februar 2000
As of this writting, I am the 218th person to review this book. The 218th person to tell you that Lansing's account of the epic voyage of The Endurance is possibly the greatest true life adventure story ever written. You just wouldn't believe this actually happened if it weren't so well documented. Soon to be a major motion picture, this story is one for the ages. How the hell did it remain obscure for so many years?
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Incredible story, 12. Februar 2000
True account of Ernest Shackleton's 1914 expedition to Antartica that went awry. One of those stories that were it fiction, you would consider it too improbable. But it really happened.
It's unbelievable the ordeal the men went through, floating on an ice floe for months without any ability to control their fate, then traversing 850 miles of open sea in a 22 foot boat.
The author's writing style is a bit weak, but the story is so compelling that it is easy to overlook.
Recommended.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen The suspense builds and builds, 11. Februar 2000
Von 
Frank H. Straus (Springfield, IL United States) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
The suspense is real - it is cold as ice - and it builds and builds, in Lansing's superb retelling, until the final climax.
Many Amazon.com readers will realize that Lansing's tale is actually a fairly old book right now. It was written after World War II when many of the members of the expedition (but not Shackleton) were still alive and could be interviewed. This book is their story as much as that of the author, Lansing.
In their stories we see a bunch of men from the Edwardian British Isles - one of the most class-ridden societies the world has ever seen - learn to work together. These men were not perfect. Every reader will find someone in the "Endurance" whom he or she will identify with. Whatever their flaws, they were able to accomplish the impossible.
Most people who read this review will know how the story ends, so I am not giving anything away when I say that it is just as much a triumph of the human spirit as it was when it was first told, decades ago. Today Lansing's book is both a classic and a best seller, a tribute to the fact that we need stories like these, and are not ashamed to admit the fact that we need them.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 27 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst
ARRAY(0xb6b454b0)

Dieses Produkt

Endurance: Shackleton's Incredible Voyage
Endurance: Shackleton's Incredible Voyage von Alfred Lansing (Taschenbuch - Juni 1999)
EUR 11,06
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen