Cloud Drive Photos b2s Hier klicken Fashion Sale Alles für die Schule Learn More HI_PROJECT Hier klicken Fire Shop Kindle PrimeMusic Summer Sale 16

Kundenrezensionen

4,8 von 5 Sternen
53
4,8 von 5 Sternen
Format: Taschenbuch|Ändern
Preis:13,80 €+ Kostenfreie Lieferung mit Amazon Prime
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 19. Juli 2016
This book is addictive and still as entertaining as when the novel first came out. I love that this isn't just another glamorizing, all is peachy and perfect story but it gets real and tells you what life is really like - with all its ups and downs. This is one of my favorite books so I will re-read it for years to come.

PS: Do not get the German version, it's terrible, the English one is much better.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 17. April 2003
Fliegende Perücken bei Catfights unter Diven, zugedröhnte Hollywood-Schönheiten, VIPs in der Irrenanstalt - Nein, dabei handelt es sich nicht um die neueste Folge von "Sex And The City" oder "Der Denver-Clan", sondern um Jacqueline Susann's Mega-Bestseller "Valley of The Dolls". Da die deutsche Version stark gekürzt ist, empfehle ich die englische Ausgabe. "Valley" kann man nicht mehr aus der Hand legen, wenn man es erst einmal aufgeschlagen hat. Die perfekte Strandlektüre!
0Kommentar| 3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 9. Februar 2013
It's still an enjoyable read although the end is a bit tedious and feels like the writer couldn't stop. As a whole the novel does feel dated but you do get a sense of what a shocker it must've been when it was published at the time. In any case, a classic.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 9. Juni 2000
If I tell you that this book changed my life, will you read it? You should. I first read Valley of the Dolls when I was a teenager, and it introduced me to the hypnotic pleasures of "junk fiction." I learned what it meant to read for pure, unadulterated pleasure, and what a thrill it was to read a book many times. Susann's depiction of three career women struggling to the top is a bicoastal orgy of pharmeceutical and artistic profligacy. Neely, Jennifer and Anne all succumb to the booze, dolls and hedonism of their showbiz lifestyles, and their spiralling declines are delicately laced in a book whose vulgarity belies Susann's rather superb craftmanship.
Susann's quirky bildungsroman borrows broadly from her own life, (documented in Seaman's wonderful biography, Isn't She Great), hints unsubtley at insider knowledge of celebrity hi-jinks of the postwar period, and circles around questions of morality with an exhilirating verve hardly visible now in the kind of bestsellers that emulate this classic. Its success on publication is legendary: Susann and her husband were shameless promoters of the book (it was sold in butchers' shops)and about as colorful as the fiction they were hawking. Truman Capote famously said of Susann that she looked like a truck driver in drag. His insult neatly captues the somewhat prosaic, yet always enjoyable prose of this novel as well as any reviewer could. For added pleasure, watch the movie. It's hard to see Neely O'Hara as anyone but Patty Duke after her extravagent performance in Mark Robson's quite faithful film translation, and Sharon Tate as the alluring Jennifer adds a poignant screen presence. But please, do not deny yourself the sublime camp pleasure of the novel.
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 30. März 2000
When I first read Valley, I was a little surprised. Having seen the movie first, I expected the book to be the same. Boy was I in for a surprise! The movie didn't do it justice. This is the best book for anyone who ever wanted to see the edgier and raw side of love! Follow the adventures of Anne, Neely and Jennifer as the rise to fame and ultimately end up in the only place left to go: DOWN into the Valley of the Dolls! Anyone can be a star, but only for a short time. After the glitz wears off, you need an escape. The best escape comes in the form of a bullet-shaped pill. DOLL! Blessed DOLL! Try to be the same after you read the book. I know I wont ever be the same! Thanks to Jackie, I now understand the true meaning of self-sacrifice! What is a doll? The answer is up to you!
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 14. Mai 2000
This book took me 2 days to read. I couldn't put it down. It taught me the reality of how many teens face problems such as drugs, and peer pressure. I have learned that money and fame isn't everything in the world. Life can be complicated. This book is about three friends which make mistakes througout their lives and end up paying the consequences. A great book in which will teach you and keep you entertained at the same time! Hope this helps.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 24. Juli 2000
This book is so good! I couldn't put it down. Although the story takes place starting in the 1940's and was written way in back 1961, it is very modern. I loved it!
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 31. März 2000
I just finished reading the book again, and I found things that I had missed the first time around! Imagine! I never made the connection that these characters were based on people Jackie had known! I now can see why the novel was so controversial! Neely? Try Judy Garland! Helen? Try Ethel Merman! Jennifer? Try Marilyn Monroe! These had been just characters in her book until I read Lovley Me. I can now see where Helen was based on Ethel Merman. Although I must say, I was shocked to see where Neely was based on Judy Garland. But, in seeing this, I made the connection that although you think you know stars, for the first time, I see that even famous people have different sides that they show to others! I even learned some things about myself in reading this book! I see where I am like Neely in the way that I only take people for what they are and not what they want me to think they are. Having finished the book for the fifth time, I really relate to the childish way that Neely tries to manipulate the people in her life. The suicide attempt that happens after she is taken off of Let's Live Tonight almost matched the suicide attempt I had last summer when I couldn't stop drinking! I am forever in debt to Jacqueline Susann for showing me that fame isn't all it's cracked up to be! I have learned many valuable lessons in reading the book. Maybe I am not so bad off after all! Jennifer had a real talent for being honest and loving, but she never saw all that she could offer to someone. Never in my life would I have imagined that beauty could be a curse! An absolutely fabulous book about life and escapism! Once you read Valley, Mount Everest doesn't seem so beautiful after all!
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 4. Juli 1999
I work at a hotel as a bellperson so I have a lot of free time to read where there aren't any customers around. Yesterday was one of those days so I pulled out Valley of the Dolls, something I had checked out of the library the previous month. I didn't get through much at work but when I arrived home, I began reading. And reading. I didn't get to bed last night until 5 a.m. I woke up today promptly at noon and resumed where I had left off. I finished the book today at work at 10 p.m., devouring the novel at a rate of 50 pages an hour. True, any book one can read at that speed can probably not be classified as intellectually stimulating, however the novel more than makes up for it in emotional content. At one point, I was hitting the page, trying to warn a character not to submit, attempting to make her see matters more clearly. I suppose that is proof of how enveloped I was by this book. True, I don't consider myself smarter now, but I do see myself as wiser after reading the novel. It's a perfect example of how beauty, which is so exalted by our society, can be so detrimental. At the same time, it also showed me how unglamourous the world can be. I only come across this type of book about once every six months so now I'll have to go through another inevitable literary slump. Why did that book only have to be 442 pages? Oh well, I guess I'll never know.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 9. April 1999
It is said that reaching stardom is like climbing Mt. Everest. You climb and climb and when you finally get to the top, no one can touch you. But on the other side of the mountain, you look down and that's when you see the Valley of the Dolls. The fall from grace, the valley you reside in when you are no longer the star on top.
In Valley of the Dolls, Jacqueline Susann tells the story of three women though two decades. Anne is a girl from a small town who comes to New York looking for nothing more than an office job and someone to love. She finds herself almost married to all of New York's richest men, and eventually becomes a supermodel and television star. Her best friend, Neely becomes the Mariah Carrey of the 50's and becomes a star so big, she destroys herself, but not before destroying everything around her. Their other friend Jennifer is an actress who is considered one of the most beautiful women in the world. Her beauty brought her to the top, but the inevitable truth that it would someday fade brings her to her death.
I read this 440 page book in only 5 sittings. I just couldn't put it down. This book has everything: drugs, glamour, suspense, sex, deceit, and most of all excitement. There was never a boring paragraph. Valley of the Dolls gives a detailed look at how women in Hollywood were tormented and abused in order to attain the perfect image of a star. It also gave a good look at how women in the 40's, 50's and 60's were treated in general. It shows a lot hasn't changed. All in all, this book was a blast to read and I think any woman with the inclination that she wants to be famous should read it.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden

Haben sich auch diese Artikel angesehen

22,25 €