Kundenrezensionen


62 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (41)
4 Sterne:
 (12)
3 Sterne:
 (7)
2 Sterne:    (0)
1 Sterne:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


5 von 5 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen An excellent first volume in a new series
This is the first volume in a new series by Jones called Sword of Shadows.
Set in the same world as Jones's earlier trilogy, The Book of Words, A Cavern of Black Ice is much more complex and certainly more terse and gritty than "Book". In fact, it's excellent, from its grim but very convincing portrayal of the dour clanholds and their bitter feuds to the...
Veröffentlicht am 3. Juli 2000 von A. C. H. Bergh

versus
6 von 7 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Gutes Setting
Was mir an dem Buch gefällt ist die schleichende Ausbreitung des Bösen mit Hinterhalt und Verrat. Von dieser Seite her ist das Buch imho besser als Tad Williams Saga der grossen Schwerter.
Aber. Die abgrundtiefe Dummheit und Borniertheit des Helden Raif und seines Stammes machen es einem schwer Symphathien zu entwickeln. Und (was sich in Fortress of Black...
Veröffentlicht am 17. Juli 2007 von Rolf Schmidt


‹ Zurück | 1 27 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

5 von 5 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen An excellent first volume in a new series, 3. Juli 2000
This is the first volume in a new series by Jones called Sword of Shadows.
Set in the same world as Jones's earlier trilogy, The Book of Words, A Cavern of Black Ice is much more complex and certainly more terse and gritty than "Book". In fact, it's excellent, from its grim but very convincing portrayal of the dour clanholds and their bitter feuds to the very names of the many well-drawn characters: Marafice Eye, Heritas Cant, Sarga Veys... So much happens in this book (in terms of both action and emotion) that, just for once, 800 pages seems very short. In fact, in spite of its length, the writing is downright sparse and economical, which in itself is rare.
To be brief: along with George R.R. Martin's A Game of Thrones, this is the best first volume in a fantasy series to be published in the last ten years or so. Buy it by all means.
I have only one quibble to make and it's already been addressed by others before me: the scene dealing with the the Cavern of the title is out of place and inconsequential in relation to the rest of the book. However, this is immediately set off by the final pages of the book, by, indeed, the very last line. If you've read The Book of Words, you're in for something of a shock.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


6 von 7 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Gutes Setting, 17. Juli 2007
Von 
Rolf Schmidt "leloominai" (Nuremberg, Germany) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: A Cavern of Black Ice (Sword of Shadows) (Taschenbuch)
Was mir an dem Buch gefällt ist die schleichende Ausbreitung des Bösen mit Hinterhalt und Verrat. Von dieser Seite her ist das Buch imho besser als Tad Williams Saga der grossen Schwerter.
Aber. Die abgrundtiefe Dummheit und Borniertheit des Helden Raif und seines Stammes machen es einem schwer Symphathien zu entwickeln. Und (was sich in Fortress of Black Ice noch verstärkt), ständig sind die Helden am Rande des Zusammenbruches. Wochenlang laufen sie ohne Schlaf und Nahrung durch den Winter. Und dennoch haben sie immer wieder "die letzte Kraft" Monster XYZ oder Prüfung ABC zu bestehen. Das nervt.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen WOW!, 21. März 1999
I finished the book yesterday and... wow. Simply wow. I don't know if I can even begin to make sense...
Ms. Jones has fastly become my favorite author. I decided that with Barbed Coil, because her books so thoroughly drag me into the storyline. I find myself loving the characters, and loving to hate the bad guys.
This book is one that will surprise you from the beginning and it won't stop.
Jones' characters are so real, so vivid. You can feel your own fingers start chilling with the 'bite. You can feel the freezing wind whip through your body. She so artfully brings you into the world.
It's a bit confusing at first, because we go into the book knowing that it's set in the same world, but it's completely alien just the same. New people, new faces. Some old faces, too. Careful plot twists and turns....
I humor myself that I'm a writer, and a good one, and it's books like these that have me on my knees in worship. That someone could so craftily weave a tale... Julie has awed me over and over again.
This book, and the series, I'm guessing, is more serious, more somber, than The Book of Words was. It has to be. The land is more harsh, the world more harsh, the social balance of the area is in hard times. It doesn't make it a bad book. I do miss Bodger and Grift, and while there is humor in the book, there is too much going on all at once to be lighthearted.
You will love to hate Iss and his goonies. You will wonder about the Crouching Maiden. You will come to pity and wish well thoughts for the Nameless One. You will fear for Effie, for the Loks, for Raina. And you will be heartbroken for all of the clans, for Raif.
Every time I read a bad review for her other books I have to wonder if these people actually read them. Yes, yes, to each his own. That's true. So, there is a good possibility that if you weren't pleased with the first series you may not like this one. I don't know how that's humanly possible, but...
I finished it, my mouth gaping open, chanted a long stream of OHMIGOD's, and then decided that I wanted the new one. Unfortunately, this IS the new one, and I have to wait for the next one. And, wait I will... I know she'll have it out soon enough for all of her fans that are near exloding with excitment. If she doesn't, and we all explode, she's not going to have any fans left. :o)
There. I left a favorable review, Julie, just like you told me to. You're going to send me an advanced copy of the next one, aren't you? So as to review that one... right? right? *lol*
Guys... buy the book. Like the book. Love the book. It's a great book!!
Happy Reading!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen An Excellent Character-Driven Story, 8. Januar 2000
I purchased this book on a whim (okay, so the cover art did its job!) and was quite pleasantly surprised at its quality and depth. J. V. Jones has crafted a masterful and exciting novel that relies on depth of character more than it does on any trite plot devices to move the story along and keep a reader's interest. In my experience, much of contemporary literature (fantasy and otherwise) lacks characters of genuine psychological or emotional depth or interest. A Cavern of Black Ice is a much-welcome alternative to many of the emotionally and intellectually flat fantasy novels currently on the market. I applaud her efforts and look forward to reading the next installments in the series. I see this work as fully the equal of that of such others authors as Georege R. R. Martin, Terry Goodkind, Orson Scott Card and Kate Elliot.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


7 von 9 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Durchschnittlich !, 27. Dezember 2004
Im Grossen und Ganzen hat mir das Buch gut gefallen. Das Setting des (fast) ewigen Eises ist recht originell und die Story ist durchaus, zumindest zum Ende hin, spannend erzaehlt.
Das Qualitaetsspektrum ihres Schreibstils reicht von genial (z.B. der sehr an die Schreibe von George RR Martin erinnernde Plot ueber die 8jaehrige Effie) bis hin zu gerade noch tolerierbar, wenn Charaktere in Dialogen gedanklich staendig abschweifen und somit, sehr zum Frust des Lesers, den Handlungsfluss unnoetig verzoegern (s. auch Kommentar eines anderen Rezensenten).
Inhaltlich problematisch fand ich besonders die Handlungsweisen vor allem der maennlichen Protagonisten. Ich habe selten ueber Charaktere gelesen, die durch ihr nahezu daemliches Verhalten, sich und ihre Umgebung derart in Gefahr bringen.
Der "Hauptheld" Raif leugnet z.B. aus einem missverstandenen Ehrbegriff heraus nicht, Frauen und Kinder ermordet zu haben, obwohl er dieses Verbrechen sogar verhindern wollte. Wenig ueberraschend ist dann auch, dass er als Einziger dafuer zur Rechenschaft gezogen wird. Weiter geht's mit seinem Bruder Drey, der den Clanchef mit dem berechtigten Vorwurf der Vergewaltigung konfrontiert und als Zeugen seine 8jaehrige Schwester Effie vorschiebt. Dass das nicht zugunsten von Effie ausgeht, kann sich wohl jeder ausrechnen. Aber die Familie ist gross und deshalb hoert es hier nicht auf, sein Onkel Angus fuehrt einen Attentaeter geradezu zu seiner Familie (Frau + 3 Toechter), weil er gerade Heimweh hat, und das wider besseren Wissens, er hat naemlich bekannterweise jede Menge Feinde und wusste das er verfolgt wird.
Das sind nur einige Beispiele, leider aber nicht die Einzigen und die Autorin taete gut daran, hier etwas mehr Substanz zu bringen, und die "Guten" nicht so dumm agieren zu lassen.
Mit besagtem Attentat hatte ich uebrigens meine besonderen Probleme. J.V. Jones muss sich hier den Vorwurf gefallen lassen, dass dieses 1. sehr konstruiert wirkt - einem Widersacher faellt nach jahrelanger Feindschaft ploetzlich ein, dass er ja Angus Familie ermorden lassen koennte, Zweck unbekannt - und 2. uebermaessig detailiert beschrieben wird - das Ganze hat naemlich ueberhaupt keine Storyrelevanz (zumindest nicht in diesem Buch), da es sich ausschliesslich um Nebencharaktere handelt. Ich persoenlich kann gut auf "ueberfluessige" Gewaltbeschreibungen verzichten.
Abgesehen davon, macht das recht offene Ende Lust auf mehr und deshalb gibt's 3 Sterne von mir.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Bit of a cliffhanger ending, nonetheless a wonderful read, 9. Februar 2000
Two days ago I finished and still find it a beautiful story, with intricate plotting and nice character development... a real page-turner! Though I sometimes also thought that the plotsetting -its background explanation- could have been developed further than it actually has. In what was told I got a feel for it alright, but I am more than convinced that many layers of subtleties in Clan civilization could have been added and make the whole story more enjoyable and psychologically sounder or at least more interesting. I have the feeling Ms Jones held herself back on this and therefore left some rough edges. Thus, quite much of the contents she focused on describing and explaining the scenery and surroundings at hand. Which is OK, but felt a bit overdone from time to time. I am much more interested in the Clan ways and how these explain the way people deal with eachother. Compare this to Janny Wurts' 'Empire' series, then you know exactly what I mean.
Nonetheless the story was a real throat-gripper and got me hooked from page 1.
Ms Jones' extraordinary craftmanschip also shows in the way she writes about the cold and what it does to the human body. She's done her homework excellently!
Many of the characters I loved dearly: Raif, Ash, Angus Lok, (the) Naysayer... All in all I only missed such a deliciously devious character like the archbishop Tavalisk in the 'Book of Words'-trilogy. Penthero Iss or Marifice Eye, though quite villainous, not even come close to it - they lack the sophistication.
Beautiful character's names! Unusual but still many times wonderfully resonating with their actual personalities. You did really well there, Ms Jones!
Unlike Kyle Snay below I find in the last chapters much that remains untold and should have been exploited in order to avoid the nasty cliffhanger effect and find some sort of conclusion: what finally happened to Angus Lok, and his daughter, Cassy? What finally happened to the Dog Lord, Vaylo Bludd; Effie; Drey; Sarga Veys? What finally happened to Raif and Ash? And most of all: what are the Phage (Angus Lok seems to be one of them)?
Finally: I completely missed the meaning of the final chapter (Heart of Darkness). It definitely has a connection with the other series, the 'Book of Words'-trilogy, but in what way I still do not understand. Anyone out there able to give me a clue? Help is much appreciated.
One minor irritation (editors take note): a few times in the book Ms Jones writes of matters 'in' hand, and this should have been 'at' hand. Not always this was wrong, mind.
I also read and very much enjoyed the 'Book of Words'-trilogy and assert as many already have done before me that Ms Jones is truly a great fantasy author. I'm already looking forward to the 'Sword of Shadows' next installment: 'A Fortress of Grey Ice' (hardcover expected to be published August 2000). I think she is one of the very few among other greats like Terry Goodkind, Clive Barker, Janny Wurts, and I hope that many a book will follow. VERY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Bit of a cliffhanger ending, nonetheless a wonderful read, 9. Februar 2000
Two days ago I finished and still find it a beautiful story, with intricate plotting and nice character development... a real page-turner! Though I sometimes also thought that the plotsetting -its background explanation- could have been developed further than it actually has. In what was told I got a feel for it alright, but I am more than convinced that many layers of subtleties in Clan civilization could have been added and make the whole story more enjoyable and psychologically sounder or at least more interesting. I have the feeling Ms Jones held herself back on this and therefore left some rough edges. Thus, quite much of the contents she focused on describing and explaining the scenery and surroundings at hand. Which is OK, but felt a bit overdone from time to time. I am much more interested in the Clan ways and how these explain the way people deal with eachother. Compare this to Janny Wurts' 'Empire' series, then you know exactly what I mean.
Nonetheless the story was a real throat-gripper and got me hooked from page 1.
Ms Jones' extraordinary craftmanschip also shows in the way she writes about the cold and what it does to the human body. She's done her homework excellently!
Many of the characters I loved dearly: Raif, Ash, Angus Lok, (the) Naysayer... All in all I only missed such a deliciously devious character like the archbishop Tavalisk in the 'Book of Words'-trilogy. Penthero Iss or Marifice Eye, though quite villainous, not even come close to it - they lack the sophistication.
Beautiful character's names! Unusual but still many times wonderfully resonating with their actual personalities. You did really well there, Ms Jones!
Unlike Kyle Snay below I find in the last chapters much that remains untold and should have been exploited in order to avoid the nasty cliffhanger effect and find some sort of conclusion: what finally happened to Angus Lok, and his daughter, Cassy? What finally happened to the Dog Lord, Vaylo Bludd; Effie; Drey; Sarga Veys? What finally happened to Raif and Ash? And most of all: what are the Phage (Angus Lok seems to be one of them)?
Finally: I completely missed the meaning of the final chapter (Heart of Darkness). It definitely has a connection with the other series, the 'Book of Words'-trilogy, but in what way I still do not understand. Anyone out there able to give me a clue? Help is much appreciated.
One minor irritation (editors take note): a few times in the book Ms Jones writes of matters 'in' hand, and this should have been 'at' hand. Not always this was wrong, mind.
I also read and very much enjoyed the 'Book of Words'-trilogy and assert as many already have done before me that Ms Jones is truly a great fantasy author. I'm already looking forward to the 'Sword of Shadows' next installment: 'A Fortress of Grey Ice' (hardcover expected to be published August 2000). I think she is one of the very few among other greats like Terry Goodkind, Clive Barker, Janny Wurts, and I hope that many a book will follow. VERY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen The best book out there. Period., 10. Januar 1999
Well, I couldn't wait for U.S. bookstores to stock this book. As soon as I heard it was available in the U.K. I had to order it, because I am a huge fan of the Book of Words trilogy. Even though different, anyone that has read any of J.V. Jones work will LOVE this book. Actually, anyone who can READ will love this book!
I had heard people say that a book they were reading was "impossible to put down", but I have never before read a book that kept me that deep in the story. That has now changed! The characters are complex, the descriptions of the landscape and weather are enough to make you wrap up in a blanket or two, and the story line keeps you turning the page until deep into the night (or early the next morning)!
In addition to worrying about Ash (who one of your reviewers gave a bit too much away about) escaping her horrible foster father and his devious plans, you feel heartsick for Raif and the pain he must endure for the sake of his clan. Sometimes you just want to reach into the story and shake him and yell "Just tell them what happened!" Their story alone would keep you turning pages, but you also have to wonder if Drey will be the one to stop the loathful Mace and how will he keep his and Raif's sister Effie safe? Or their clan? What of Angus (and the whole Lok family)? Who are the Phage? Why won't the Dog Lord just pull those darned teeth? What will happen to Raina? And that psychotic Marafice Eye, Penthero Iss' right hand man. Why won't he just die already?
These are just a FEW of the questions you'll be asking yourself! I, for one, can't wait to learn more about the Sull! (And of course, all the new questions you'll be asking yourself after reading the last word on the last page! I'm warning you, don't ruin it for yourself and read the last page first, you'll be very sorry! And if you figure it out for yourself before the last page, my hat's off to you!)
Just so you know, this is a darker book than the Words trilogy. There's not a lot of comic relief running through the story (sorry, no Grift and Bodger wannabes in a alehouse handing out advice to unsuspecting baker's boys), but don't for a minute think that's a bad thing! The unforgiving land this story is set in doesn't leave much room for lighthearted humor. The humor it does have is very earthy and real, just like the surroundings and the people that make up this world.
All in all, I can't recommend this book highly enough. I have read A LOT of Fantasy, but this is by far my number one pick of all time. Don't miss out!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Unforgettable and Breathtaking, 3. Dezember 1998
A Cavern of Black Ice by J. V. Jones is undoubtably her best work. The world and characters that she has created are moving, enjoyable, and unforgettable.
The character of Ash is a very sympathetic character. The reader feels sorry for her when her foster father, Penthero Iss, treats her badly (which is almost always). However, she manages to show off her strong will at certain times, like when she drags her servant Katia up to her room and demands to know what her foster father has been planning for her. She usually loses battles with Iss, and retreats back to her room to be taken care of by Katia.
Raif Severance is a very enjoyable character, though at times, frustrating. When Raif and his brother Drey return to the clanhold after finding members of their clan dead, he must swallow the new clan chief's excuses and explanations of what happened. He always stands up for what he believes is right, and is a great obstacle for the new clan chief.
Chief Mace Blackhail weaves a great web of lies and deceit, while reminding the reader of Kylock from the Book of Words series. His machinations come to a boiling point when he rapes his foster mother, the wife of the former clan chief's wife, so that they can wed, and nobody will challenge his right to be clan chief. He is revolting, maddening, and evil, though one loves to hate him.
A Cavern of Black Ice has very haunting similarities and connections between it and the Book of Words, the new trilogy's predecessor. At the beginning of the novel, there is a girl born that could be the daughter of the rightful king of the Four Kingdoms from the Book of Words. And magical drawings still leave the user with the metallic taste in their mouths, and make them weak.
In conclusion, I again state that A Cavern of Black Ice is unforgettable and breathtaking. The characters are fresh and exciting, and will leave every reader satisfied.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen A brilliantly crafted cast and world of ice, 13. Dezember 1999
Von 
One difficult task in beginning a saga is avoiding too much character introduction without plot development. Ms. Jones managed to enthrall me with the plot lines surrounding all the characters in this first installment of her newest series. I also admire the way she is able (as in her past novels) to humanize all characters, even the villans, in her stories. She does this by relating convincing backgrounds for the major players in the story and by successfully altering her style of narrating depending on which character happens to be the focus of the scene. She seamslessly chages the narrator's style to reflect the thoughts of the character who is in the spotlight, as if the character's thoughts are influencing the book's perspective. Not only does her brilliance with this method engender sympathy with the characters, it also dissolves the presence of the book as a medium (you forget you are reading a book) and enthralls the reader in the world Ms. Jones has created. In A Cavern of Black Ice, there was also stunning imagery of a cold and barren land that seems a perfect setting for the barrier between humanity and a void of torutured souls. Aside from all this, the latent power of a young girl and proud but confused loyalties of a young man self-sworn to protect her in a world of clan wars, uncertain allies, and sorcerous pursuers, propelled me through the novel in three days (No mean feat considering the novel's sizable girth). Having devoured the novel so quickly, I find myself in the bittersweet situation of having many months to wait for the next course. I am sure that I will find time to read A Cavern of Black Ice at least one more time before it's sequel is released.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 27 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

A Cavern of Black Ice (Sword of Shadows)
A Cavern of Black Ice (Sword of Shadows) von J. V. Jones (Taschenbuch - März 2005)
EUR 7,91
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen