Kundenrezensionen


15 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (3)
4 Sterne:
 (4)
3 Sterne:
 (1)
2 Sterne:
 (2)
1 Sterne:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen The Tulip
This book, generally touted as 'the definitive book' on tulips, is somewhat disappointing. More interesting historical information exists on tulipomania and tulip fever. Particularly irksome is the prevalence of passages in French with no English translations. Come on, Ms Pavord, we aren't all academics schooled in French! I thought information on the discovery of...
Am 20. Juli 2000 veröffentlicht

versus
1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen Unless you're a Master Gardener bypass this book.
If you're looking for some insight into the 1600's tulip craze before making a trip to the Netherlands, this is NOT the book to buy. Try "Tulipomania" by Mike Dash instead. His version is way more entertaining and easy to understand. I know Anna Pavord's book is well-regarded, but for amateur gardeners and people who are mainly interested in discovering...
Am 7. Juni 2000 veröffentlicht


‹ Zurück | 1 2 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen The Tulip, 20. Juli 2000
Von Ein Kunde
This book, generally touted as 'the definitive book' on tulips, is somewhat disappointing. More interesting historical information exists on tulipomania and tulip fever. Particularly irksome is the prevalence of passages in French with no English translations. Come on, Ms Pavord, we aren't all academics schooled in French! I thought information on the discovery of the virus that causes tulips to 'break' should have been included: so much has been written already about tulip fever through the 16th and 17th centuries that to continue the history to the 1920s, when the cause of breaking tulips was discovered, would have rounded out the picture nicely. But we only receive a vague reference here and there. Considering also that the latter part of the book concerns species and hybrid tulips, more photographs would have been helpful. One description sounds much like another after a while.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A relatively scientific tome..., 20. Mai 2000
This is a beautiful book and more of a history book than a garden book. I found it in the history section of a local bookstore. "The Tulip" is filled with color reproductions of paintings and prints executed in the Netherlands in the 16th-18th centuries, so one could argue it is an art book.
Although the author tells the story of the introduction of the tulip into the west, the real contribution of the book as far as I am concerned is the author's discourse on the origins of the various kinds of tulips.
Reading, "The Tulip" has relieved me of the feelings of intimidation I have experienced as I browsed through the various professional bulb catalogs from growers. These catalogs have quite reasonable prices, and many more bulb offerings than can be found in local garden center stores, however, they never contain photos and provide only sparse information about the growing requirements and behaviour of specific bulbs. Knowing more about the geographic origins, history, and growing preferences of various tulip types has made me bolder, and I am experimenting with many new bulbs this year.
If you're new to gardening, you may not find this book very useful. Try the Eyewitness Garden Handbook "Bulbs" to get started growing bulbs, including tulips.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen Unless you're a Master Gardener bypass this book., 7. Juni 2000
Von Ein Kunde
If you're looking for some insight into the 1600's tulip craze before making a trip to the Netherlands, this is NOT the book to buy. Try "Tulipomania" by Mike Dash instead. His version is way more entertaining and easy to understand. I know Anna Pavord's book is well-regarded, but for amateur gardeners and people who are mainly interested in discovering WHY the bulb frenzy occurred, her phone-book size tome is way over the top w/information. I found it plodding and skimmed many pages only to find that she hadn't answered the key question of how the craze developed. Skip this mega-volume and try the other unless you're a serious horticulturalist.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1.0 von 5 Sternen Badly over-hyped - only for true obsessives, 13. Mai 1999
Von Ein Kunde
What a big disappointment this book was!! I love gardens, love gardening, and majored in history, so I thought a history of the tulip would be a great buy, but boy does Anna Pavord overdo what could have been a good thing. This book is at least 50% too expensive and 50% too long, and it would have been so much better if the author had forgotten about trying to be comprehensive (the second half of the book is nothing but a huge catalog of species of interest only to professional horticulturists) and put more effort into making some of the fasxinating people she mentions in the first half come alive. Instead, the book turns into an over-rapid tour through hundreds of years of history, with little or no attempt made to provide background details that would help us put an undoubtedly fascinating story in context. The interesting parts of the tulip's history - particularly the Dutch tulip mania of the 1630s - are given little more weight than lengthy trawls through far less fascinating periods. Sure, the book looks great but, really, what a shame.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen For all who love tulips, 7. Juni 2000
Von 
Tulips, I admit, are my favorite flower. I only wished they bloomed for a longer period of time! But now that I have The Tulip I think I will be able to get through the summer, fall, and winter more easily.
I really enjoyed this book in every way. The plates and illustrations are beautifully reproduced, and I did not find that they were insufficiently linked to the text. In fact, I found that after reading the text I could look at the illustrations for a long time, seeing more and more detail that I know would have passed me by without the text.
The emphasis in this book is on the history of the tulip, something that I find really fascinating. From its beginnings in the Ottoman empire through its introduction to western gardens, the bacteria that led to the famous "breaks" in tulip coloration and then tulip mania, this book is a delightful, entertaining and very informative read.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen In Love with a Flower, 18. Dezember 1999
I was seduced by the tulip when as an eight-year old I saw my first in Srinagar. Do any remain there today? My love deepened when botany taught me how unique the tulip really was. Its gorgeous variegated colours are produced by a tiny parasite, an aphid, that weakens the plant but renders the bloom glorious. Anne Pavord narrates the history of the tulip like a love story. And it is one, from its origin as a wild flower of the Asian steppes to its adoption by the Ottomans of Istanbul, to its 17th century arrival in the west and the subsequent tulipmania that gripped Europe, to the auction in Holland in February 1637 when 99 lots of tulip bulbs fetched 90,000 guilders ( more than US $12 million of today ). This extraordinary, lavishly illustrated book compells me to restate my desire -- to be laid to rest in Keukenhoff outside Amsterdam.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen FASCINATING, 28. Februar 2000
Von Ein Kunde
A wonderful book. I got it from the library and read it very quickly - now I am buying it. There is a very good balance between the various sections - mercifully the Dutch tulip mania is not more than 50 pages or so - all info on that bubble is available in Extraordinary Popular Delusions and the Madness of Crrowds (Mackay). One is given sufficient information on the various historical aspects without going into too many details. The focus of the book is, after all, the tulip. The illustrations are perfect - excellent colour reproduction (amazing that it can be done for such a low price) and the list of cultivars at the end of the book is fascinating - particularly to a non-gardener such as myself.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3.0 von 5 Sternen A beautiful book, but over-rated and dull., 17. März 1999
Von Ein Kunde
This book is lovely and I'm glad I own it. However, I'm quite disappointed because it does not live up to the rave reviews from the press. Ms. Pavlord doesn't do much more than chronicle the hundreds of people who have owned, grown, or collected, admired tulips over the last few thousand years. The whole book reads as a very boring list. There is no sense of larger themes linked to human history, commerce or science. I had hoped to become quite involved and inspired by this book -- because I love tulips -- but that has not been the case. Alas, I've made it to page 100 but now I am giving up and it will take a spot on my coffee table.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1.0 von 5 Sternen Don't believe the reviews!, 6. Juli 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Sadly, there is a real trend in this country for reviewers to fall for a PR's hype and laud a book that just isn't anywhere near as good as the author and the publisher would like us to believe. The Tulip is a prime example of this phenomenon. I must have read four or five reviews of the book before I bought it, and they were all gushing in their praise for The Tulip and for Anna Pavord. Sadly, neither is remotely worth it. This volume is over-written, over-priced and over-long. Do yourself a favour. Don't fall for the hype and don't waste your money on the Tulip.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1.0 von 5 Sternen This book is a lemon. Right up there with "Sophie's Choice.", 15. Mai 1999
Von 
The publisher and editor should be ashamed of themselves. Even a tulip lover would find this book a waste of time actually reading. It might be useful as a reference but that is not what it was advertised as. The sad part is that any idiot could have made a decent book out of this idea and possibly out of some of the research. As it is, it reads like a bunch of undigested reference notes that were not followed up. A list in fact of unconnected, uninteresting information.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 2 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Tulip
Tulip von Anna Pavord (Taschenbuch - 17. April 2000)
EUR 14,08
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen