Kundenrezensionen


43 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (27)
4 Sterne:
 (6)
3 Sterne:
 (6)
2 Sterne:
 (2)
1 Sterne:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


11 von 11 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Kleine Gaiman-Häppchen - unglaublich gut!
Ich kenne Neil Gaiman erst seit ein paar Monaten, aber ich hab schon einen grossen Teil seiner Romane und Kurzgeschichten gelesen, und ich war so ziemlich von jedem noch so kurzem seiner Texte hell begeistert. In diesem Buch wird nicht nur eine ganze Reihe hervorragender Texte präsentiert, sondern Neil erklärt in einer Einführung (die übrigens eine...
Veröffentlicht am 1. Juni 2007 von fangrrrl

versus
14 von 15 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen don't buy this edition!!!
when a friend lent me her edition of "Smoke and Mirrors" I loved it. I loved all Gaiman's work so far. When I bought this hardcover edition I was very surprised and quite angry: There were three stories missing which are contained in the Headline softcover edition! The stories in question are "Eaten" (which I miss badly), "The Facts in the...
Veröffentlicht am 8. September 2000 von Kerstin Gersic


‹ Zurück | 1 25 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

11 von 11 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Kleine Gaiman-Häppchen - unglaublich gut!, 1. Juni 2007
Ich kenne Neil Gaiman erst seit ein paar Monaten, aber ich hab schon einen grossen Teil seiner Romane und Kurzgeschichten gelesen, und ich war so ziemlich von jedem noch so kurzem seiner Texte hell begeistert. In diesem Buch wird nicht nur eine ganze Reihe hervorragender Texte präsentiert, sondern Neil erklärt in einer Einführung (die übrigens eine weitere gruselige Kurzgeschichte enthält) selbst, wie er dazu kam, die jeweilige Geschichte zu schreiben, wo sie zuerst erschienen ist, resp. was die Reaktion von Lesern war. Man muss diese kurzen Anmerkungen gelesen haben, sonst glaubt man bestimmt nicht, wie witzig das sein kann. So erklärt Neil etwa die Grundidee von "Bay Wolf" folgendermassen: "So I began retelling Beowulf as a futuristic episode of Baywatch for an anthology of detective stories. It seemed to be the only sensible thing to do." ;-)

Die Erzählungen sind teils lustig, teils gruselig oder sexuell freizügig, aber alle sind typisch für Gaimans Werke herrlich verschroben und einzigartig einfallsreich. Die oftmals wundervoll poetische Sprache und die tollen inhaltlichen Einfälle sowie die zahlreichen formalen Spielereien der Texte (einige sind nämlich in Gedichtform geschrieben) sind weitere Gründe, warum ich Mr. Gaiman wirklich von ganzem Herzen um sein geniales Köpfchen beneide. So schreiben zu können...

Da es voneinander weitgehend unabhängige Erzählungen sind, kann man dieses Buch auch schön mal zwischendurch in die Hand nehmen, hier eine Geschichte rauspicken, da was an Bekannte weiterempfehlen, oder schlicht mal was wiederlesen. Einen Lieblingstext auszuwählen ist schwer, aber wenn es wirklich sein müsste, dann wäre das wohl das aus genau 100 Worten bestehende "Nicholas Was...". Oder "Troll Bridge". Oder "Eaten (Scenes from a Moving Picture)". Oder "One Life, Furnished in Early Moorcock". Oder... Hach, die sind einfach alle so gut!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


14 von 15 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen don't buy this edition!!!, 8. September 2000
when a friend lent me her edition of "Smoke and Mirrors" I loved it. I loved all Gaiman's work so far. When I bought this hardcover edition I was very surprised and quite angry: There were three stories missing which are contained in the Headline softcover edition! The stories in question are "Eaten" (which I miss badly), "The Facts in the Departure of Miss Finch" and "Fifteen "Painted Cards from a Vampire Tarot". So go for the Headline edition!!!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


7 von 8 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen An interesting mix, 22. August 2005
Neil Gaiman is a storyteller of the best kind. He manages to grip the reader with just a few magical words and traps them in worlds that are both familiar and foreign. How many people do you know that can fit a whole life on a christmas card in 102 words and leave the reader shivering with dread?
Additionally, at the beginning of the collection, he wrote a few words about how he came up with each story and why. Not a must read, but if you are interested in Neil Gaiman as an artist, you'll enjoy them.
The 34 stories (35 if you are one of those readers that read introductions) enclosed come in different length, from just one page to something close to a short novel, so if you are looking for reading that doesn't necessarily require a lot of time but will grip you nonetheless, this book is your choice.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Kleine Gaiman-Häppchen - unbeschreiblich gut!, 1. Juni 2007
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Smoke and Mirrors (Taschenbuch)
Ich kenne Neil Gaiman erst seit ein paar Monaten, aber ich hab schon einen grossen Teil seiner Romane und Kurzgeschichten gelesen, und ich war so ziemlich von jedem noch so kurzem seiner Texte hell begeistert. In diesem Buch wird nicht nur eine ganze Reihe hervorragender Texte präsentiert, sondern Neil erklärt in einer Einführung (die übrigens eine weitere gruselige Kurzgeschichte enthält) selbst, wie er dazu kam, die jeweilige Geschichte zu schreiben, wo sie zuerst erschienen ist, resp. was die Reaktion von Lesern war. Man muss diese kurzen Anmerkungen gelesen haben, sonst glaubt man bestimmt nicht, wie witzig das sein kann. So erklärt Neil etwa die Grundidee von "Bay Wolf" folgendermassen: "So I began retelling Beowulf as a futuristic episode of Baywatch for an anthology of detective stories. It seemed to be the only sensible thing to do." ;-)

Die Erzählungen sind teils lustig, teils gruselig oder sexuell freizügig, aber alle sind typisch für Gaimans Werke herrlich verschroben und einzigartig einfallsreich. Die oftmals wundervoll poetische Sprache und die tollen inhaltlichen Einfälle sowie die zahlreichen formalen Spielereien der Texte (einige sind nämlich in Gedichtform geschrieben) sind weitere Gründe, warum ich Mr. Gaiman wirklich von ganzem Herzen um sein geniales Köpfchen beneide. So schreiben zu können...

Da es voneinander weitgehend unabhängige Erzählungen sind, kann man dieses Buch auch schön mal zwischendurch in die Hand nehmen, hier eine Geschichte rauspicken, da was an Bekannte weiterempfehlen, oder schlicht mal was wiederlesen. Einen Lieblingstext auszuwählen ist schwer, aber wenn es wirklich sein müsste, dann wäre das wohl das aus genau 100 Worten bestehende "Nicholas Was...". Oder "Troll Bridge". Oder "Eaten (Scenes from a Moving Picture)". Oder "One Life, Furnished in Early Moorcock". Oder... Hach, die sind einfach alle so gut!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen An Enchanting Collection from the Modern Master of Fantasy, 1. Februar 2000
Von 
Jeffrey A. Veyera "Jeff Veyera" (Matthews, NC United States) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
In praising Neil Gaiman, author of the award-winning Sandman comic book series, Stephen King called him "a treasure house of story". For those who only know the inimitable Mr. Gaiman from his comic book works, this collection represents a treasure trove of the author's prose work, with a generous helping of verse thrown in to boot.
The stories contained within Smoke and Mirrors range from straight horror to wild fantasy. While the stories range widely in quality, the 337 pages of this collection fly by, and even where Gaiman misses the mark, he makes an impression.
I highly recommend "Murder Mysteries," a tale of a murder investigation in Heaven before Lucifer's Fall (or was he pushed?); "Troll Bridge," concerning dark happenings beneath a highway bridge; and "The Price," a story about a cat's sacrifice which I believe Mr. King found quite wonderful.
Gaiman thoughtfully includes a detailed introduction wherein he describes the genesis of these stories. Fellow writers will find this section fascinating as a window on the author's creative process.
Short story collections are of necessity a mixed bag, but even casual Gaiman fans will find Smoke and Mirrors rewarding.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Ein neuer (alter) Beweis von Gaimans Erstklassigkeit., 12. August 2000
Von 
Wer Gaiman kennt erwartet viel von seinen Büchern, und er wird bei Smoke and Mirrors nicht enttäuscht, vielmehr werden sogar eingefleischte Fans von Gaiman überrascht. Mit diese Sammlung von Kurzgeschichten beweist Gaiman in einmaliger Weise, dass er nicht nur hervorragende Fantasien zum Leben erwecken kann, sondern dass er es auch bravourös versteht die Details des täglichen Lebens zu verarbeiten. Wer schließlich noch die Geduld hat das Vorwort zu lesen wird nicht nur mit einer extra Geschichte im Vorwort belohnt, sondern kann vielmehr die Geschichten in der Reihenfolge lesen in der sie entstanden sind.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Savory melange of style and substance, 22. April 1999
Von 
Paul Grant "The View From Olympus" (Sun City Center, FL) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
I should point out first that (a) I've been Neil's friend for many years, and therefore not without bias, and (b) some of these stories I've read several times before. However, due to various health problems, I have been spending a lot of time in a series of doctor's waiting rooms for months now, and Smoke and Mirrors has been my book of choice for resisting lure of six month old issues of Field and Stream. I have read it from start to finish, resisting the strong temptation to flip forward to the stories I hadn't read, savoring each offering as I would a course in a lavish meal (and considering I'm on a diabetic's diet that's more savoring than I'm allowed in the traditional sense). It's been an unalloyed pleasure. And yesterday, while waiting for my endcrinologist to check me over, I finished the last story.
I rationed myself on this book, but you don't have to. If you only know Gaiman from Neverwhere or his Sandman comics, this is a chance to see the full range of his writing chops, which are formidable. I defy anyone to find me a better story this side of Nathaniel West about the mythical land of Hollywood than "The Goldfish Pool and Other Stories." I cannot think of a more bizarre marriage than the melding of epic poetry and bikini bimbos that is Baywolf. I heard the ghost of Peter Cook at my ear in "Shoggoth's Old Peculiar." I took inordinate pleasure in reading "Snow, Glass, Apples" aloud to a group of my son's friends, and watching them laugh uneasily.
There is a wealth of fine storytelling here, a veritable trove of style and substance, passion and pastiche, wit and bite and vision and venom. The art of the short story is in excellent hands.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Best damn short story collection I've read in Years, 21. April 1999
Von Ein Kunde
I bought this book because of the review on SFSITE, at [...] where the readers poll picked it as the best book of the year. After reading it I can see why. The stories range from funny to scary to sad to just plain strange.
This is what it said at SFSITE. "He made it on the SF Site Editor's Best of 1998 list in the # 2 spot with Smoke and Mirrors. Last year he topped the Best of 1997 list with his first solo novel, Neverwhere -- which grabbed the #4 spot this year in paperback. Is there any doubt at all that we like Neil Gaiman? Gaiman's rep as a modern spinner of fairy tales is well deserved. But Smoke and Mirrors gave him an opportunity to perform on a variety of stages, and prove to his audience that he's far more than just the author of The Sandman comic, or even just a gifted fantasist. This collection of thirty short stories and poems (some of which were previously published in the small print-run volume Angels and Visitations) was the first opportunity he's had to demonstrate his true range, and he didn't waste it. The collection opens with "Chivalry," the story of a widow who discovers the Holy Grail in a secondhand shop; other tales include "Nicholas Was," a disturbing look at the legend of Santa Claus. For Lovecraft fans there's "Shoggoth's Old Peculiar" and "Only the End of the World", both of which pay hilarious tribute to both the Cthulhu Mythos and classic horror film conventions. The poems include "Bay Wolf," which manages to mix Beowulf and Baywatch. All in all, Smoke and Mirrors is perhaps the most surprising and rewarding book of the year - one to be savoured and treasured."
Warning: I don't think you would like this book if you have no imagination or sense of wonder.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen No illusions: Neil Gaiman is a genius, 9. Februar 1999
Von Ein Kunde
People tend to get snide when you mention Neil Gaiman used to write comic books. Infidels. If your friends mock you and your fascination with the worlds Gaiman creates, just give them a copy of this book and tell them to shut up. It's the best introduction I can think of to everything Neil.
Some stories are undoubtedly stronger and more inspired than others, but the collection on the whole is astoundingly good, and makes Stephen King look pathetic, though it's hard to compare the two. Gaiman doesn't write horror stories, he writes magical ones -- stories that wrap you up in what your parents told you for years was impossible or unreal.
"Snow, Glass, Apples" -- this is not your grandmother's Snow White, and Gaiman himself states that he hopes the reader will not read the original faery tale the same way ever again. He succeeds. This story is worth the price of the book alone.
"Chivalry" -- a brilliant, extremely funny look into the mind of an elderly woman who's found the Holy Grail in a secondhand store and think it's just a fabulous mantel pice, never mind that Arthurian knight who keep bothering her for it. I made my dad read this one.
"Nicholas Was..." -- ever wonder how Christmas in the Gaiman household is? Dark, haunting, and achingly beautiful. Possibly my favorite, despite its (sadly) short length.
"The Goldfish Pool and Other Stories" -- the longest, and one of the best hands down, stories in this book. Neil takes the big hypodermic needle of writing and instead of sucking the life right out of what could have been a boring story, injects it with a subtle shadow and oodles of glitter. Very touching.
"The Sweeper of Dreams" -- one word: <swoon>
There's not only stories, but poetry as well, and if I could go door to door and beg people to buy and read this book, I would. Not everyone appreciates Gaiman's mission of reintroducing magic into our world, but I, for one, plan on doing every little bit I can do to help.
Smoke and mirrors and illusions...
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Hanging Out With The (real) Dreamking. Amazing., 21. Oktober 1998
Von Ein Kunde
This is the only book of short stories I've ever finished and then gone all the way back to the introduction and started again. It's pure magic.
There are stories in here that had me giggling hysterically (like Shoggoth's Old Peculier) and stories that gave me goosepimples (The Wedding Gift) and some that gave me magical chills of recognition (Snow Glass Apples) and some that just made me see the world differently, as if I had never seen it before.
What is astonishing about Gaiman, apart from the unique worldview and power of the stories (which reminds me at times of Harlan Ellison, Angela Carter and Ray Bradbury) is the range. The funny stories in here really are funny, the scary ones are scary. The one science fiction story felt like good science fiction. The erotic story was erotic, and the fairy stories feel like fairy stories, they have that relentless dream logic that fairy stories have.
In the introduction Gaiman mentions Raymond Carver and John Collier, which I found illuminating, as both Carver and Collier, like Gaiman, achieved their best effects with the kind of smooth prose that is doing the most when you notice it the least.
The voice is different from story to story (When We Went To See The End of the World By Dawnie Morningside is written by an eleven year old girl and is heartbreaking, while there's one that is written as if by a 17th century folklorist named John Aubrey) and the variety is amazing but the thread that links them is Gaiman's quirky point of view.
It is the place where you can see the mind behind Good Omens and the mind behind The Sandman coming together.
It's an amazing collection of short stories. And once you have read it you will never look at familiar things, like Santa Claus, or Snow White, or angels, in the same way ever again.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 25 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Smoke and Mirrors
Smoke and Mirrors von Neil Gaiman (Gebundene Ausgabe - 2. Dezember 1999)
Gebraucht & neu ab: EUR 27,82
Auf meinen Wunschzettel Zahlungsmöglichkeiten ansehen
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen