Kundenrezensionen


167 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (129)
4 Sterne:
 (18)
3 Sterne:
 (11)
2 Sterne:
 (6)
1 Sterne:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


9 von 9 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Die Gesichter einer "Bürgerarmee"
In seiner ihm eigenen packenden Art zeichnet Ambrose den Weg der US-Armee in Europa 1944/45 nach. Dabei wird weniger Wert auf den genauen Ablauf der Ereignisse im "größeren Rahmen" gelegt, sondern vielmehr das Erleben des Einzelnen GIs, der sich kurz vorher noch nicht vorstellen konnte, tausende Kilometer von der Heimat entfernt zu kämpfen. Die...
Veröffentlicht am 30. Januar 2003 von Ralph Wegner

versus
3.0 von 5 Sternen Flawed - historical inaccuracies abound
The author of this book perhaps has come to view himself as thecurrent "specialist" on WWII history. That's fine -everyoneis indeed entitled to his/her own opinion. Though the lives of "everyday" soldiers are well protrayed in this book, the volume includes simply too many inaccuracies regarding basic historical facts to satisfy my standards. For...
Am 31. März 2000 veröffentlicht


‹ Zurück | 1 217 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

9 von 9 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Die Gesichter einer "Bürgerarmee", 30. Januar 2003
Von 
Ralph Wegner "ralphwegner2" (Mönchengladbach, NRW) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Citizen Soldiers: From The Normandy Beaches To The Surrender Of Germany (Taschenbuch)
In seiner ihm eigenen packenden Art zeichnet Ambrose den Weg der US-Armee in Europa 1944/45 nach. Dabei wird weniger Wert auf den genauen Ablauf der Ereignisse im "größeren Rahmen" gelegt, sondern vielmehr das Erleben des Einzelnen GIs, der sich kurz vorher noch nicht vorstellen konnte, tausende Kilometer von der Heimat entfernt zu kämpfen. Die Transformation von einfachen Bürgern in trainierte und tapfere Soldaten gelingt dabei sehr plasatisch. Mir besonders gefallen hat das eigene, dem US-Sanitätsdienst gewidmete Kapitel, in dem den in allen Armeen oft zu Unrecht verlachten "Medics" ein bleibendes Denkmal gesetzt wird.
Alles in allem: fesselnd geschriebene Geschichte, die eine Übersetzung ins Deutsche dringend verdient hätte.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen The real war, 21. September 2004
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Citizen Soldiers: From The Normandy Beaches To The Surrender Of Germany (Taschenbuch)
I read "Band Of Brothers" a few months ago and even though i found it brilliant and much more insightful than the (likewise brilliant) TV Mini-Series, i wondered indeed if it lacked a little description on the real "ugly" sides of World War II. It seems, Steven E. Ambrose spared his experience on that topic for this book.
As contradictive as the title "Citizen Soldiers" seems to be, it is a leading theme in the book: Volunteering soldiers from a democracy against german soldiers in a dictatorship. Both sides come to word and Ambrose did an incredible job of putting interviews in a comprehensive order troughout the whole book, and still abstain to judge the actions of either. This is left to the reader and thus involves him even more.
Most of the time Ambrose gives insights into the life of (american and german) infantry soldiers and some anecdotes often brought me to laugh, depressed me and sometimes made me hold my breath. Where "Band Of Brothers" lacked reality - this book brings you right back into it. It infuriates you, when Ambrose analyzes the tactical decisions of the involved british and american generals and brings you to wonder, what physical and mental distress the general soldiers must have endured.
The included two-sided maps are terrific for a better understanding of the geography and military movements. The book also contains 46 pages of excellent photograpic material.
I can only recommend to read this book.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Great, 20. Juni 2000
As a newcomer to in depth WWII history I am amazed by this book. I now have a greater respect for the WWII veterens that I have known in my life. I know a man who was in the battle of the Bluge in the heaviest of fighting and I never appriciated what he and many others did for us until now.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen A soldiers story, 6. Juni 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Abosutely terrific. I enjoeyed this book very much. It is filled with wonderful stories and fascinating, but true, tales.
It will send shivers down your spine and tears out of your eyes. The pain and trauma of war are contained in this book.
The author has done a great job and should be commended for his thorough research.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen The Soldiers's Stories, 18. Mai 2000
Von 
Brian D. Rubendall (Oakton, VA) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Stephen Ambrose may very well be the best writer of military history working today. "With Citizen Soldiers," he is certainly on top of his game. His compelling narrative about the American Army in Europe is a reminder of just how much the Western world owes to "The Greatest Generation." Ambrose relates the soldiers's accounts of battle with painstaking precision and the gift of a master storyteller. If all history books were this good, history would be a very popular subject indeed.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen America's Finest, 16. Mai 2000
This book gives a person amazing respect for the veterans of WWII. Ambrose creates the world these soldiers had to endure and the hardships they had to overcome in such a way that I had to stop and re-read passages just to attempt to begin to see what these people did for us. It's simply fantastic.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Fascinating history from the foot soldier's perspective, 7. Mai 2000
This book is a fascinating picture of the final American push in World War II, focusing on the experiences and perspective of the average soldiers. I found the descriptions of close-quarter fighting gut wrenching.
Anyone who has not read much about World War II would do well to start here because it will help you maintain perspective on how much sacrifice the average soldier truly made.
Many books are written focusing on the deciscions made by the commanders such as Eisenhower or Patton, but this book gives you both a sense of the overall strategy and a real picture of what the GIs in the thick of it felt and did.
There are also excellent chapters focusing on the experiences of medics, nurses, airmen, and others. The only criticisms I would make are that there are a few typographical errors and some of the photos seem to have been captioned wrong.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Another Excellent work by Stephen Ambrose, 4. Mai 2000
Reading D-Day and Citizen Soldiers, has given me a new appreciation for the soldiers who fought in WWII. Stephen Ambrose is able to describe, in vivid detail, what it was like to be fighting in WWII from Normandy to Berlin while still giving you a history lesson. I felt as if I was there myself. Through the numerous interviews of the people there, along with his knowledge about WWII, Mr. Ambrose was able to give you a tactical understanding of the war while giving you an emotional attachment to the men and women who served in Europe. Thank you Mr. Ambrose, and thank you to all who served in World War II.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Learn about the generation that saved us all, 27. April 2000
Von 
E. Lawrence "mauthedog" (Natick, MA United States) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
While I have read many WWII books, this was the first one I had found that succeeded in presenting the big picture, as well as individual stories and viewpoints.
Most books may focus on a general and talk about his attack, or his defence: Patton took this town; Montgomery took that town.
Citizen Soldiers, on the other hand, presents the daily struggles, triumphs, and yes, even failures, of the average Joe in the trenches---without losing sight of the big picture.
I was very pleased with the book because I am one of the people who is concerned that we [US citizens] are already forgetting the lessons of WWII.
I worry that we are not grateful for the scrifices paid by an entire generation. I wonder if we could do even half was well if called upon. I am afraid the revisionists will win. I don't understand how people can senior citizens or behave with such disrespect towards elderly veterans.
I think part of this behavior is due to ignorance and the way History is taught. It's one thing to hear that after D-Day, the Allies marched across France, and Germany was defeated in less than a year.
It's quite something else to learn the names of the previously nameless and faceless men who marched, fell, and often died, to learn about them, to know them.
Other reviewers have pointed out some inaccuracies in the book. In my opinion, those inaccuracies don't matter. This book is not about technology, guns, and generals. Who cares what guns were on the Panther? That would be important in a book about tanks.
This is a book about the triumph of the human spirit. This book tells your parent's story. Read it and remember.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Enjoyable history from D-day to fall of Berlin, 25. April 2000
Von 
Gordon C. Duus (Glen Ridge, NJ USA) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this book because my father is quoted in it. He occasionally, and somewhat reluctantly, tells stories about his experiences as an Army infantryman during the war. This book gives the entire story of the western front from D-day to the fall of Berlin, from the overall strategies of the generals to the day-to-day life of the soldiers on the front. This is the best book I have read on what fighting the war was like on the front line--the ever present danger, the incessant cold, the lack of sleep, and the other details of daily life. Ambrose's extensive use of quotes of the participants brings these stories to life. It's hard to imagine this story could be told any better.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 217 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst
ARRAY(0x9c68d450)

Dieses Produkt

Citizen Soldiers: From The Normandy Beaches To The Surrender Of Germany
Citizen Soldiers: From The Normandy Beaches To The Surrender Of Germany von stephen e. Ambrose (Taschenbuch - 2. September 2002)
EUR 10,36
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen