Kundenrezensionen


24 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (10)
4 Sterne:
 (8)
3 Sterne:
 (4)
2 Sterne:
 (2)
1 Sterne:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


16 von 16 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen A Brief Summary and Review
*A full executive summary of this book will be available at newbooksinbrief dot com, on or before Monday, December 17, 2012.

The concept of fragility is very familiar to us. It applies to things that break when you strike or stretch them with a relatively small amount of force. Porcelain cups and pieces of thread are fragile. Things that do not break so easily...
Veröffentlicht am 9. Dezember 2012 von A. D. Thibeault

versus
4 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Überzeugende Grundidee - dann aber viel Blabla
Taleb geht von einer so einfach wie überzeugenden Grundidee aus: Wenn immer möglich sollten wir unser Leben, unsere politischen Systeme, unsere wirtschaftlichen Systeme so einrichten, dass sie nicht abstürzen, wenn sie von einem eng umschriebenen Optimum abweichen (fragile Systeme), sondern dass sie sogar von seltenen Abweichungen profitieren können...
Vor 16 Monaten von H. Kaiser veröffentlicht


‹ Zurück | 1 2 3 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

16 von 16 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen A Brief Summary and Review, 9. Dezember 2012
*A full executive summary of this book will be available at newbooksinbrief dot com, on or before Monday, December 17, 2012.

The concept of fragility is very familiar to us. It applies to things that break when you strike or stretch them with a relatively small amount of force. Porcelain cups and pieces of thread are fragile. Things that do not break so easily when you apply force to them we call strong or resilient, even robust. A cast-iron pan, for instance. However, there is a third category here that is often overlooked. It includes those things that actually get stronger or improve when they are met with a stressor (up to a point). Take weight-lifting. If you try to lift something too heavy, you’ll tear a muscle; but lifting more appropriate weights will strengthen your muscles over time. This property can be said to apply to living things generally, as in the famous aphorism ‘what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger’. Strangely, we don’t really have a word for this property, this opposite of fragility.

For author Nassim Nicholas Taleb, this is a real shame, for when we look closely, it turns out that a lot of things (indeed the most important things) have, or are subject to, this property. Indeed, for Taleb, pretty much anything living, and the complex things that these living things create (like societies, economic systems, businesses etc.) have, or must confront this property in some way. This is important to know, because understanding this can help us understand how to improve these things (or profit from them), and failing to understand it can cause us to unwittingly harm or even destroy them (and be harmed by them). So Taleb has taken it upon himself to name and explore this curious property and its implications; and in his new book ‘Antifragile: Things That Gain from Disorder’ Taleb reports on his findings.

As the title would suggest, what Taleb has found is that most complex systems not only gain from small stressors, but they are designed to gain more when these stressors are distributed irregularly, or randomly. This point is more difficult to accept because we tend to dislike disorder and randomness. Disorder can be frightening, because unpredictable, and is therefore not something that we readily welcome. So what we often do is attempt to remove the random and disorderly from our systems, and make them smooth. For example, we may try to take the boom and bust out of the economy, and instead aim for a gradual upward trend.

For Taleb, though, this is a big mistake, because while removing the small shocks in a complex system may create stability for a time, it actually upsets the system and makes it prone to major shocks in the long term. What’s more, unlike the small shocks (that refine and improve the system), the major shocks are usually damaging, and can even destroy the system. So removing the small shocks from a complex system doesn’t create stability; rather, it creates the illusion of stability. In the economy, for instance, you get a long period of stability followed by a major crash.

This phenomenon is not just confined to the economy. Indeed, Taleb maintains that it is the spirit of the age to believe that we can remove the disorder from any system, and render it orderly, smooth and predictable. We are almost always mistaken in this, and end up creating systems that are prone to major damage and even outright destruction (in Taleb’s language, we ‘fragilize’ these systems). We call the damaging and destructive episodes Black Swan events (Taleb himself coined the term). Better it would be by far, Taleb argues, to accept and even welcome a certain amount of disorder, randomness and jaggedness in our lives and systems, and put ourselves in a position to profit from the unpredictable, rather than eradicate it.

On this last point, Taleb maintains that it is indeed possible to profit from the unpredictable (without having to actually predict any specific thing—which is next to impossible in the realm of the complex anyway). We simply need to recognize what systems are fragile (and therefore prone to collapse), and what systems are antifragile (and therefore prone to grow stronger from stressors), and get out of the way of the former, and put our faith in the latter. This applies not only to large, overarching systems like corporations, economic systems and political societies, but our own bodies and minds.

Taleb presents a very intriguing position, and offers up some very interesting evidence in support of it (though at times we may wonder whether he is resorting to the same kind of cherry-picking of information that he accuses others of). Also, Taleb has a lot to say, and a bone to pick, so his style often comes across as arrogant—even bombastic. Some will like this, while others will be annoyed (I didn’t mind it, but did not think it truly added anything for the most part). Also, Taleb jumps around and repeats himself often. This was more annoying to me than his style, but ultimately I think the content rose well above this, and I truly enjoyed the book, and think it deserves a read. A full executive summary of the book will be available at newbooksinbrief dot com, on or before Monday, December 17; a podcast discussion of the book will be available shortly thereafter.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


10 von 10 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen A philosophy for rational skeptics. Does come with rants against economists and some love for naturalism., 22. Dezember 2012
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
In this book Nassim Taleb applies his observations and theories from "The Black Swan Event" and "Fooled By Randomness" onto different aspects of life. By that he more or less constructs a philosophy for life. As in the previous books his writing is very vivid and easy to read. At times he cannot help but directly attack his intellectual opponents (or rather enemies). In these instances his writing becomes kind of polemic. I agree with his arguments, and his anger may be justified but I suspect the book would feel more credible if he had left some of this out.

So should you read this?

If you want hear a compelling argument against modernism, interventionism, and the contemporary manifestations of fortune-telling from the point of view of a rational skeptic - then yes. If you just want to become familiar with the central idea of Nassim Taleb then you would be better off reading one of his other two books. If you already have read one of them and liked it then chances are you will like this one as well.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Überzeugende Grundidee - dann aber viel Blabla, 25. August 2013
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Taleb geht von einer so einfach wie überzeugenden Grundidee aus: Wenn immer möglich sollten wir unser Leben, unsere politischen Systeme, unsere wirtschaftlichen Systeme so einrichten, dass sie nicht abstürzen, wenn sie von einem eng umschriebenen Optimum abweichen (fragile Systeme), sondern dass sie sogar von seltenen Abweichungen profitieren können (antifragile Systeme). Unter anderem illustriert er den Unterschied anhand des aktuellen Bankensystems und des Flugverkehrs. Das Bankensystem ist fragil: Der Absturz einer Bank kann das ganze System zum Einsturz bringen. Der Flugverkehr ist antifragil: Der Absturz eines einzelnen Flugzeugs ist zwar für die Betroffenen tragisch, gefährdet aber das ganze System nicht; ja wenn man den Absturzhergang sauber auswertet kann das System sogar profitieren indem es sicherer wird. Für interessierte Leser hinterlegt Taleb das ganze auch mathematisch und folgert u.a., dass man nicht versuchen soll, fragile Systeme mit Hilfe von Prognosen und steuernden Eingriffen am Leben zu erhalten - da das schweirig bis unmöglich ist - sondern dass man besser in den Aufbau antifragiler Systeme investiert.
Das alles ist ohne weiteres fünf Sterne werte - oder oder sogar sechs! Aber dann verliert er sich beim Versuch, die Konsequenzen der Idee in alle mögliche Bereiche zu tragen bei der ausführlichen Darstellung, warum er sich am Mittwoch vegan ernährt und am Freitag Steaks ist. Und das wird einfach langweilig. Mindestens zwei Drittel des Buches sind einfach überflüssig. Man arbeitet sich durch in der Hoffnung, nochmals irgendwo auf eine brillante Idee zu stossen - und wird enttäuscht.
Kurz zusammengefasst: Das erste Drittel lesen. Es lohnt sich wirklich! Den Rest vergessen.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


10 von 11 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen mixture of brilliant exposition and repetitive story telling, 24. Dezember 2012
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Exposing the fallacies of over-hyped risk management and doing so in an amusing manner may help in avoiding the next crisis. On the downside I found too many repetitions, over-simplified and sometimes inexact mathematical explanations, and even negative name-dropping can become boring.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


30 von 38 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
2.0 von 5 Sternen Keiner ist so schlau wie Nassim, 4. Februar 2013
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Wollte man das umfangreiche Buch in einem einzigen Satz zusammenfassen, müßte dieser lauten: Keiner ist so schlau wie Nassim!
Denn alle kriegen sie hier ihr Fett weg: Ökonomen, Statistiker, Philosophen, Naturwissenschaftler, Wissenschaftstheoretiker usw. usf. Daß der Autor in vielen Disziplinen offenkundig nicht einmal Oberflächenwissen besitzt - was verschlägt's? Das macht ihm das Kritisieren um so einfacher.

Taleb brüstet sich damit, eben nicht akademisch zu schreiben. So gerät das Buch zu einer äußerst willkürlichen Auswahl von Anekdoten, die, wo notwendig, auch noch gehörig zurechtgebogen werden, um die Ansichten des Autors zu stützen. Davor bleiben auch die von ihm so verehrten Werke der Antike nicht verschont, die er - stolz darauf, sie im Original zu lesen - oft auch noch so falsch zitiert, daß es jedem Latein-Abiturienten die Nackenhaare aufstellen würde. ("Magnus Opus" - brrrr...)

Argument ist alles, was dem Autor nützt.
Beispiele?
Seine These, naturwissenschaftliche Bildung sei nicht die Voraussetzung, sondern das Resultat des Reichtums einer Gesellschaft, "beweist" er am Beispiel Kuwait. Japan? Nie gehört.
Weiters: Die Naturwissenschaften würden in ihrer Theoriebildung immer den Werken von Ingenieuren und anderen findigen Bastlern hinterhereilen. Computerchips, Laser, GPS? Nie gehört.

Würde man das Buch von allen Ausritten gegen die von ihm verabscheuten Disziplinen der Wissenschaft befreien (das wären, kurz zusammengefaßt: alle); und würde man auch noch Eigenlob, falsch wiedergegebene Zitate und non sequiturs entfernen, blieben etwa 50 Seiten unterhaltsamer Lektüre, die vermutlich sogar die eine oder andere Einsicht bescheren könnten.

Das Thema des Buches jedoch: Was ist jetzt eigentlich diese Antifragilität, und was genau machen wir mit ihr? - bliebe vermutlich dennoch ungeklärt. Denn wenn Taleb eines beherrscht, dann die Kunst, sich nicht festzulegen.

Aber vielleicht bin ich ungerecht: Vielleicht wäre die große Erkenntnis ja noch gekommen. Ich habe das Buch nämlich, entnervt von so viel Selbstbeweihräucherung, nach gut der Hälfte weggelegt. Taleb, selbst ein erklärter Feind gelehriger Geschwätzigkeit, hätte mir dies gewiß verziehen.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Interesting ideas, but a lot of ego, 9. Mai 2013
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
This book is full of both good ideas and Taleb's rather overbearing ego. He hates editors, and it shows. Only for those who find this topic interesting and are willing to put up with the rants.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


6 von 9 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
2.0 von 5 Sternen Paleo style life guide, 28. April 2013
In his third popular book (after “Fooled by Randomness” and “Black Swan”), Taleb now introduces a new concept called “antifragile”. As in the first two books, in his opinion on the big scale, the world is shaped by “Black Swans”, totally unpredictable events.

Something that gets hurt by those Black Swans is fragile. Someone/Something that is not hurt by Black Swans is robust. Antifragile finally is something/someone that gains from the chaos a Black Swan event is creating.

So far so good, however if one would have expected some implications for an investment strategy, one gets almost completely disappointed. At some points, financial markets are mentioned, but not very often.

Instead, the book is more a “Paleo” style nutrition and work out guide than a finance or investment book. Taleb shares his never ending wisdom with the readers, on topics like why the Greek philosophers were idiots (or not so smart as Taleb) to all kind of medical advice and why you shouldn’t eat oranges because the are much sweeter than 3000 years ago (hint: the only way is to eat the stuff a stone age man from the Levant would have had access to…).

From time to time he looks at two fictional characters called Nemo and Fat Tony. If we assume that Nemo is his alter ago, we know now at least that Taleb made a “low 2 digit million” amount of money when he bet against the financial crisis.

Don’t get me wrong, there is some good “common sense” wisdom in the book, for instance that one should not take medical studies to seriously, but in total I found the book pretty much a waste of time.

Maybe I am not intelligent enough to appreciate Taleb’s genius, but for a pure mortal like me the book looks like the attempt, to cash in on the same idea (Black Swans) for the third time.

In the few passages about investing, Taleb promoted very vaguely a style he calls the “barbel” style: Invest most of your money in “safe” assets (whatever that is) and a small part in risky stuff with lots of optionality. Although he mentions that financial options is not what he means because they are mostly overpriced.

I think this kind of “advice” shows the major issue with Taleb: He is by heart a trader, not an investor. Otherwise he migth have mentioned that “Buffet style” long term compounding plus margin of safety is a much easier way to become “antifragile”. But that wouldn’t sell as many books and create invitations to speaker events and hobnobbing at the Davos Forums.

Summary:

Unless you are a big Taleb fan and you need his advice on how and what to eat and work out, don’t buy the book. Save your time and money for something more interesting.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen one the books to ready in life, 18. Juni 2014
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Great mind opener!!! If only people who count or occupy key roles read it, we would have a safer world...
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen A classic, 17. Juni 2014
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
The book made me think about serendipity and how I could use it in my own work. The book may help you, too, to understand how things evolve, how they work and how can you take advantage of the this in a good way. Taleb's style is fun and engaging and he remains true to himself and to us, all the way through.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen A must read, 8. Juni 2014
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
I think that this book is the weakest and most erroneous from other Taleb's excellent books like Fooled by Randomness, The Black Swan, and the Bed of Procrustes. BUT, still, a must read!
(And I will not forgive him letting Fat Tony attack Socrates - I have no idea what this otherwise bright guy did not understand on Plato's Socrates :-) Plato was not the one guilty of the over-sophistication in our world, by far not ...)
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 2 3 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Antifragile: Things That Gain from Disorder (Incerto)
Antifragile: Things That Gain from Disorder (Incerto) von Nassim Nicholas Taleb (Audio CD - 27. November 2012)
EUR 33,18
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen