Fashion Sale Hier klicken Kinderfahrzeuge indie-bücher Cloud Drive Photos Learn More sommer2016 roesle Hier klicken Fire Shop Kindle PrimeMusic Autorip Summer Sale 16

Kundenrezensionen

4,8 von 5 Sternen34
4,8 von 5 Sternen
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 30. Juli 2000
I've been using MySQL and PHP for a few months already when I got this book based on all the GLOWING reviews here at Amazon but I was somewhat disappointed upon getting it because I realized there was little information the book that I could not have gleaned from the docs that came with MySQL plus other online resources. If you're the type who prefers 'hand-holding' you will probably like this book however if you're a fairly hardcore techie guy who can get by with just a reference and a simple tutorial, you will find this book redundant
0Kommentar|3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 27. November 2001
Dieses Buch war für mich der Einstieg in
MySQL. Es bietet verständliche Beispiele
in Perl und PHP, welche ich erfolgreich
umsetzen konnte. Die Programmiersprache
C in Zusammenarbeit mit MySQL wird auch
behandelt, wobei ich diese Beispiele nicht
probiert habe.
Nützlich war das Buch für mich auch als
Nachschlagewerk bei Lösungen von Problemen
bzw. bei der Suche nach Ideen und auch
für die Administration von verschiedenen
Usern die auf einem Server mit verschiedenen
Accounts auf MySQL Datenbanken zugreifen.
0Kommentar|2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 1. Februar 2003
Dieses Buch ist wirklich für alle MySQL-User/Administratoren zu empfehlen. Es beschreibt auf leicht verständliche und nachvollziehbare Weise alle Tasks rund um MySQL. Dabei werden die Unterschiede zwischen Windows/Unix nicht außer Acht gelassen!
Die dreiteilige Gliederung macht das Buch sehr übersichtlich.
Im ersten Teil werden alle Eigenschaften von MySQL beschrieben, wobei auch auf die Sprache SQL eingegangen wird. Im zweiten Abschnitt sind API-Dokumentationen zu C, Perl und PHP ausführlich behandelt und schließlich im letzten Bereich geht der Autor auf die Administration eines MySQL-Server ein, wobei Sicherheitsaspekte berücksichtigt werden!
Fazit: die fünf Sterne sind gerechtfertigt!
0Kommentar|5 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 27. Mai 2000
I have read several books on MySQL. I compare them one by one and this contains the most comprehensive resources among all of them. This book clearly identifies the strength and weakness of the DBMS. If you are new to DBMS, this book helps you quickly equip with the knowledge. I especially love the part of API programming, as it gives detail information on how to do web programming with MySQL. Sample codes on Perl, PHP, etc are included, and they all work flawlessly. You don't need to worry how to make your Apache support PHP and Perl, as this book clearly teaches you the necessary procedure to do so. I believe the author has spent considerable time and effort in writing this book. Other useful resources include database maintainence, security and user administration, which are all essential parts in DBMS. Do buy this book if you want to setup MySQL in your environment.
0Kommentar|Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 25. März 2000
I agree with other reviewers: This is the excellent book on MySQL so far. The author explains and covers the MySQL clearly. If you're developing applications that use MySQL as a RDBMS, then you should go for this book. You won't be disappointed. The author also mainly covers C API, Perl API, and PHP API for manipulating MySQL. However, you could use Java or Java Servlets to do the same thing. And if you're using other RDBMS, then this book will provide you all necessary information on what MySQL could do and could not do before you decided to switch to MySQL. O'Reilly book "mSQL and MySQL" is also a good book on MySQL because it covers more APIs using with MySQL. Thus, it's quite useful for quick reference to MySQL and language APIs. I would like to give this book 5 stars, and the "mSQL and MySQL" 4 stars. I have both of them :)
0Kommentar|Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 12. Januar 2000
I've never reviewed a book before, but was driven to write one for this book.
I cannot speak for a lay audience, but suspect that the tutorial will help bring anyone up to speed.
For someone who is familiar with MySQL, however cursorily, this book is perfect. It's not a question-answer format, but simply superbly written prose. There is a reference section in the back, most every topic of interest is covered. There are detailed programming interface discussions for Perl::DBI, C, and php.
If you want to install MySQL onto a box, have MySQL on a box, or want to optimize your databases and queries, buy this book.
It's the best computer 'tome' I've ever read, kudos to the author.
0Kommentar|Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 10. März 2000
This is an outstanding book on the MySQL database. Paul DuBois systematically takes the reader from a MySQL tutorial to advanced topics in MySQL database administration. Since I have installed the MySQL database I have barely put this book down. The chapters on the Perl DBI API and PHP are alone worth the price of the book. I would highly recommend this book to anyone that is thinking about using MySQL.
I already owned the O'Reilly book on MySQL and there is no comparison. The O'Reilly book barely scratches the surface of what MySQL is and what it can do as a relational database. I have since given the O'Reilly book away.
0Kommentar|Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 29. Juni 2000
This is a book that should be on every MySQL users desk because it provides great references of every aspect of the database for the advanced users and yet still guides the beginner through the initial stages of making your first MySQL database. I have been using this book for several months now and have found it to be a great time saver when I just need to reference something that has slipped my mind. It also covers the Perl, C, and PHP API's which is a big help. I have mainly used the section on the PHP which tends to be a little light, but then again if you are looking to use PHP you should get a PHP book.
0Kommentar|Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 2. Juli 2000
This is book cannot be recommended highly enough if you are developing applications using MySQL. In several months on my bookshelf, it has not failed to answer any question that has arisen in the course of my work. Of the books I keep at my workplace it is the most often borrowed by my co-workers. It is comprehensive and clear in explination. The only nit I have to pick with it is the text styles used - I prefer more use of bold text to highlight section headings.
0Kommentar|Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 27. Januar 2000
Just got the book two days ago and have not put it down except to read "Building Database Applications on the Web Using PHP3." (another great buy.)
I am new to SQL and this book is something worth buying. It is written for both techies and non-techies, and if you have the desire to learn MySQL, buy this book. It is the most concise and well written book on the language ever.
Make sure you block out a chunk of time, because once you start reading, you will not put this book down. It fills the gap where other books fail. The tutorial gets you up to speed very quickly (VERY) and you will be building databases within the first 1/2 hour of opening the book. I buy an average of 5 or so books a week and I guarantee that most of them will be covered with dust before I put this book down.
If you have the desire to learn on your own and want to learn MySQL...
BUY THE BOOK! Don't wait! Sell something if you have to, get a second job. Whatever it takes, you can not be without this book!
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden