Fashion Sale Hier klicken Sport & Outdoor calendarGirl Cloud Drive Photos Learn More saison Hier klicken Fire Shop Kindle PrimeMusic Autorip NYNY

Kundenrezensionen

4,6 von 5 Sternen321
4,6 von 5 Sternen
Format: Taschenbuch|Ändern
Preis:8,85 €+ Kostenfreie Lieferung mit Amazon Prime
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

VINE-PRODUKTTESTERam 6. Februar 2012
It took me a long time to find the courage to review this book. Me Before You was a very intense read for me. I picked it up and couldn't let go. I was glued to the pages till 5 AM in the morning and some more after to digest what I just read- or well to stop crying. It is a tearjerker like I never read one before. For all those romance lovers hereI want to make one thing clear: this is not a romance novel in my definition and I'm sure most of you will agree. I knew it wouldn't be before I started but still this book caught me off guard.

Meet Lou, she lives at her parents place has a job she loves in a coffee shop and well she is happy with her life for the most time. When out of nowhere she loses her job,she has to find something new to help her family. The jobcenter suggest a caring job for a local young man and Lou isn't sure she can do it. It is a temporary assignment which would only last 6 months so she takes the risk and takes it. When she meets Will and realizes what her real job is aka giving him back his will to life her determination to do just that is spiked and she gives her best.

Will is a quadriplegic and his life is ruled by his body's condition. He's dependant on outside help and he hates every second of it. His life before the accident was a very active one- he was always looking for the next adrenaline high. A life full of adventures and risks. Now he has lost all of this including his will to live and he actually only waits for his suffering to end. He knows what he wants- his plan is to visit a hospiz in Switzerland to do what he wouldn't be allowed to do in his home-country.

There are so many things I adored in this book. I loved to see how realistically the relationship between Lou and Will developed. The slow building up of their connection eases you into the story- you take this whole journey into a foreign world together with Lou. Ms Mojes seems to have researched Quadriplegia intensively and the background information we get piece by piece was eye opening for me. I also loved that actually not the things Lou plotted out to get Will back to enjoy life worked but that actually her character did. Her spirit and while demeanor is the key.She is not afraid to tell him the truth- bluntly and honest without hesitating of fear to hurt his feelings.
I also liked how the side cast and their stories were seamlessy woven into the story but never stole the spotlight from the main theme.

My biggest problem with the book is actually a bit of a spoilery topic. So skip this if you plan to read this book and want to be unbiased while doing so.

When I got the chance to receive this book I read a bit about it and I thought it would be an optimistic book. About finding the pleasure of life again, finding new hope and all. For me a 'romantic' read isn't this sad and the end seriously killed the book for me. I read for hours in the whee hours of the morning and then the end hit me so hard I couldn't take it. I was devasted and well here this book succeded- it really touched me deep inside and made me cry for hours. But sadly it also ruined the whole reading experience for me. Now when I think of Me Before You I remember the end and well not much of the rest. Perhaps it's just me being a pampered romance reader but I couldn't shake off the emotional intensity Ms Moyes build over the whole book so easily.

Me Before You will grab you and wrench every last tear out of your body. It didn't only make me cry though- there are also some very funny and sweet moments in this book. I really enjoyed the book but the romance reader in me is wishing that I would have never read the end. If you love the sweetness and happiness of romance novels this one might not be for you but if you love the emotional intensity no matter if good or bad grab this one- it is a wonderfully crafted emotional roller-coaster ride.
22 Kommentare|22 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 12. März 2012
The cover that this book comes with (kindle edition in 2012) is a complete disaster for me, because it makes you think this book is just another romantic chick lit easy read. I don't want to give away too much of the plot, but this novel does not give you easy answers or quick fixes.

The basic storyline is that Lou Clerk, 26, loses her job in her little hometown and the only new job she can get is that of the carer of Will, a 35-year-old depressed and very cranky quadriplegic. She finds it hard to connect with him and even thinks of quitting the job but her family's situation won't allow for this.
Lou soon finds out that her job is really to keep Will from inflicting harm on himself. The rest of the story revolves around this topic.

It may be marketed as a romance novel, because slowly there are the first stirrings of tender feelings between Lou and Will. But there are really many more topics and the novel speaks of the right of individuals to live up to their full potential and not to be held back: by traumatic experiences, by poverty in Lou's case. It speaks about the need to respect the will of an individual, even if that be against common morals, in Will's case.

It is a novel about two people giving to each other what each of them needs most and to help them to respect their wishes about how they want to live.

SPOILER ALERT - in the next part I'm going to discuss some aspects of the ending, without giving it away. I will tell you whether I think it is a sad or happy ending.
Another reviewer said she cried her eyes out at the end. I did feel a few tears roll down my cheeks too. But although this novel has no traditional happy ending, I had a good feeling reading the end: the sentiment of dignity and the right to one's own decisions and the sense of supporting someone you love even against your own wishes sometimes - all these things were well presented.

All in all, definitely worth reading. It comes along as a mere romance novel, but it is much better than the cover indicates. The language is nothing fancy and there is no attempt to make it sound poetic or super literary - but it is still absolutely decent, adequate, rather good language with a good flow and no blunders - modest language you might say that hides the literary quality of this novel with its well organized plot, the profound themes, and the very well rounded host of characters.
0Kommentar|38 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 7. Februar 2016
Alle meine Freundinnen haben mir immer erzählt, dass "Me before you"/ "Ein ganzes halbes Jahr" ein unglaublich tolles Buch ist. lch habe das Lesen aber irgendwie immer vor mir her geschoben; eigentlich bin ich eher jemand der super spannende Bücher liebt, Epic fantasy oder Thriller, wo die Lovestory nicht an erster Stelle im Vordergrund steht. So hatte ich mir "Me before you" irgendwie auch vorgestellt. Als ich dann aber doch mal angefangen habe das Buch zu lesen, konnte ich es nicht mehr aus der Hand legen und total nachvollziehen, warum das Buch so beliebt ist - weil es eben überhaupt keine typische, romantische Lovestory ist wie man das aus anderen Büchern eben kennt.

Die 26 jährige Louisa Clarke führt ein recht simples, aber zufriedenes Leben in einer Kleinstadt in Groß Britannien. Sie lebt mit ihrer Familie in einem zu kleinen Haus, hat einen langjährigen Freund, Patrick, und hat bis vor kurzem im "Buttered bun" als Kellnerin gearbeitet. Sie verliert jedoch ihren Job und landet nach einiger Zeit auf der Suche nach einem neuen Job, wobei sie keine wirkliche Vorstellung davon hat, wie dieser eigentlich aussehen sollte oder wofür sie überhaupt qualifiziert wäre, als Betreuerin bei Will, der seit einem schweren Unfall vor zwei Jahren querschnittsgelähmt im Rollstuhl sitzt und scheinbar jegliche Freude am Leben verloren hat. Zu Anfang kommen die beiden überhaupt nicht miteinander zurecht, doch irgendwann finden sie langsam ihre Dynamik und ihre Beziehung zueinander verändert sich, genauso wie sie sich auch gegenseitig verändern, in Wegen die sie sich nicht hätten vorstellen können.

"Me before you" ist so schön geschrieben und man kann das Buch, einmal gefangen, auch kaum noch aus der Hand legen. Die Geschichte ist ganz anders als man es sich vorstellt - einfach viel besser und berührender. Die Geschichte ist wirklich inspierend und regt auch zum Nachdenken an und ist außerdem total rührend - und ich habe wirklich schon lange kein Buch mehr gelesen, was mich emotional so mitgenommen hat. Also kann ich all den anderen guten Kritiken nur in vollem Maß zustimmen. Wirklich jeder sollte "Me before you" gelesen habe, sonst verpasst man was :)
0Kommentar|3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 28. Februar 2016
I shouldn't have read this. I should have stayed away. But then I would have missed a masterpiece of a book. This book broke my heart. It left an imprint on my soul and changed a part of me forever. It left me drowning in my own tears. It touched me so deeply, that even now hours later, I have tears streaming down my face just writing the review.
"Me Before You" is the type of book that will leave you an emotional mess and there is no way to stop it from happening. There have been books before this one that made me cry. But it was nothing like this. This one, left me sobbing, wailing and howling with the emotions. It's the type of story that will melt even the iciest heart.

The effect the book had on me is hard to put into words and even harder to believe. How can I feel so much for fictional characters? For a fictional story? And yet I did. I still do. I think I will for a long time.

The story is devastatingly beautiful and touching. It's full of moments that will open your heart and mind. That will change how you look at things, how you look at life. Some of those moments are fun and sweet, others are full of sadness and pain - but they all have one thing in common: They are full of love.
Not just love between two people, but love for life, for adventure, for freedom and for oneself.

Despite all the tears I cried, it's not all sad or negative. It's life - raw, intense, gritty but still filled with happiness, love and laughter. Maybe it's so touching because it's so real. Whatever the reason, it makes this a must-read.
There are so many hidden messages in the story, so many lessons to learn along with the characters. They make this book profound. I know it will take me months to digest what I've read, what I've felt, how much I fell in love with the characters. And it was impossible not to. Their pain became my pain, their joy became my joy and their despair brought me to my knees.

I have no idea how to go on with my day after this book, how to read anything else. I'm not ready to leave Will and Louisa behind. Not now, probably not anytime soon.

If you haven't read this book, do it. Allow it to transform who you are and who you think you are.

6 I'll-never-be-the-same-again stars.
0Kommentar|2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 27. Oktober 2015
Also nachdem es soviele positive Kommentare gab, dachte ich mir ok probieren wir es mal... Ich war sehr gespannt und wurde leider sehr enttäuscht...
Zuerst einmal das positive :
Einfach und schnell zum durch lesen geeignet vorallem für diejenigen die ihr Englisch auffrischen wollen
Die Grundidee fand ich gut und eigentlich auch den Anfang des Buches... Man lernt einiges über lou und ihre Familie und bekommt einen guten Eindruck darüber... Lou war mir eigentlich auch ganz sympathisch auch wenn sie sehr naiv ist und nichts aus ihrem Leben macht.
Jetzt zum negativen :
Sie arbeitet für einen Querschnittgelähmten und obwohl dieser anfangs sehr unsympathisch findet entwickelt sich anfänglich eine Freundschaft zwischen ihnen... Lou erfährt dass er sich in sechs Monaten das Leben will und versucht ihr bestes ihn vom Gegenteil zu überzeugen... Lou entwickelt sich auch in den sechs Monaten in eine positive Richtung...
Am Ende fliegen sie in den Urlaub und sie gesteht ihre Liebe und er sagt nur das reicht nicht aus... Einfach trocken und kalt... Beide sagen zwar dass es die schönsten Monate in ihren Leben waren aber die Entscheidung bleibt trotzdem dass will in die Schweiz fliegt um zu sterben sie fliegt zwar nach und ihre Mutter verbannt sie aus dem Haus.. Eigentlich hört sich das nicht schlecht an, aber wo bleiben die Gefühle? Wo bleibt das emotionale wo man heulen könnte?
Das einzige emotionale war der Brief den er ihr am Ende geschrieben hat aber das wars auch schon... Ich mag überhaupt keine kitschigen Liebesromane aber das stellenweise so eiskalt dass ich mich fragen musste ob das überhaupt ein Liebesroman ist..
Meiner Meinung nach ist das Buch am Ende sehr oberflächlich und einfach... Ich habe mehr über Snapes Tod in Harry Potter geweint bzw bei diesem Buch habe ich gar nicht geweint... Was ich eigentlich schade finde, da die Idee gut war aber schlecht umgesetzt wurde...
Ich würde es nicht weiterempfehlen und zusammengefasst kann man sagen : gute Idee, emotional schlechte Umsetzung
0Kommentar|2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 2. Januar 2015
In "Me Before You" by Jojo Moyes, Louisa Clark loses her job at a café and takes on a new one as a carer for 35-year-old William Traynor who's been in a wheelchair for two years after a motorcycle accident. Little does she know that taking care of Will will be way more time-consuming than any other quadriplegic: he's a raging cynic and does everything in his power to get rid of her.

This is your classical Wuthering-Heights-Style taming of the beast story and I really should feel cheated by Moyes. But she renders it possible that instead of rolling your eyes at the obvious blossoming romance the reader is forced to actually think about the situation Will is in by intertwining a clever, yet sad, side-plot that gives the whole story a bitter aftertaste.

To me, this isn't even a romance. The characters have little to no personal interaction on an intimate level for 3/4 of the novel. To be honest I also think that Will and Louisa have absolutely no chemistry. While I do understand what they see in each other (In Louisa: Something quirky and different, a new chance at being happy; In Will: Inspiration, somebody who truly cares about her), they only work as a couple in theory. I'm not sure whether this is due to Louisa's naive nature or due to bad research, but had they have gotten a chance at a longterm partnership, I think she would have at least thought about the fact that her beau is paralyzed for one second for Christ's sake! You can play understanding all you want but I'm pretty sure that no healthy human can possibly get what Will is going through and willingly be a part of this while knowing he just wants to die.

Louisa is in general very childish for being 27-years-old and at times I had the notion I was reading about a YA character instead of a grown woman. Considering the financial crisis her family is going through, it's a bit contraproductive to stay at their house and put a little money into the bad-times-jar. Every single one of her actions in the novel is questionable and yes, you might argue that it's because she's oh-so-quirky, but come on. Being with a man that you neither find attractive nor give a flying cow about for seven years? Come on. Moving into your work place after about three months?! COME ON. Sleeping next to your boss in his bed on your, like, third work day? Dude. For real? To top it all off, getting completely smashed at your boss' ex' wedding, taking into consideration that you're alone with a guy in a wheelchair that needs medical care?!! She's completely irresponsible.

Will on the other hand is a spoiled know-it-all brat that just wants to snap his fingers to get out of his wheelchair and walk again. He's used to getting all he wants, which is shamelessly stated multiple times in the novel and now that Mommy and Daddy can't buy him a new body, he just wants it all to end. Maybe I'm being harsh, but he's such an unlikeable character and goes through so unlikely character development that I can just shake my head. There's nothing loveable about a guy that can't keep up an appropriate employer/employee relationships the proper way, rejects everyone that loves him and pretends to have mental problems in order to get rid of people. He's overdramatic, he's cynic to the point that it becomes childish again, and he's a stubborn brat. Their romance solely (to me) bases on outer appearance and instant-love, which just makes me want to punch a wall. (Characters 1/5)

For whatever reason, Moyes has built in random shifts in perspective to random side characters. This isn't only utterly useless, a) because we could have guessed the supposedly slipped-in information ourselves at some point and b) it completely throws the reader out of the current storyline. Because Moyes is such a good writer and so talented with specific character voices I actually got sad when those characters only had one chapters on their own. I'm not a fan of POV changes that aren't necessarily needed and I'm very surprised that the editor didn't kick those chapters out. In general this novel is way too long for the little plot it has. (Writing 2/5)

The story is brought to life by the different situations the side characters are in and their lives seem even more interesting than Louisa's and Will's oh-so-dramaticly-tragic love story: His ex-girlfriend Alicia who married his best friend who's significantly less attractive and intelligent than him; Her sister Katrina who's got a child and decided to go back to university; His new-zealand carer Nathan who met fellow new-zealand Karen during their vacation and started dating her; Her neighbours who are going to couple therapy and constantly yelling at each other, practicly on the verge of a divorce. I'd rather have read about any of these people than Louisa and this should never happen. The reader should never think that the author chose the wrong protagonists. Especially not when they have quite the uncommon storyline. Still, it's not interesting, it's boring and surprisingly every-day-ish. (Plot 1/5)
11 Kommentar|7 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 29. Dezember 2012
ich liebe dieses buch.
die geschichte berührt auf so vielen ebenen.
es wühlt auf, regt zum nachdenken an und lässt einen durch so viele emotionen gehen. wie die zwei hauptcharaktere zusammenfinden und wie sich ihre geschichte entwickelt, ist einmalig. ich werde dieses buch irgendwann wieder lesen und bin mir sicher, dass es mich wieder so berühren wird. vor allem bringt es mich dazu, meine eigenen entscheidungen überdenken und hinterfragen.
außerdem beeindruckt mich, dass das buch nicht mit einem "happy end" endet, obwohl das vielleicht zu erwarten war. es bleibt authentisch und beschönigt nicht. wir leiden mit den charakteren mit und reflektieren unser eigenes denken und handeln.
ich kann dieses buch jedem ans herz legen. es ist wundervoll und traurig und spannend.
mit anderen worten: MENSCHLICH. unbedingt lesen!
0Kommentar|17 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
"I just want to be a man who has been to a concert with a girl in a red dress. Just for a few minutes more."

Die 26jährige Louisa hat ihren Job verloren und der einzige neue Job, den sie bekommen kann - und auf dessen Geld sie dringend angewiesen ist -, ist die Pflege des 35jährigen Will. Dieser liebte seinen Job, Abenteuer, Reisen und Frauen - bis er vor zwei Jahren einen Unfall hatte und nun ab dem Hals gelähmt ist. Louisa ist konfrontiert mit einem Mann, der keine Freude mehr am Leben hat.

Allzu viel möchte ich gar nicht zur Story selbst verraten. Auf jedenfall ist das Buch keine Liebesgeschichte. Sicher ist Liebe ein Thema in dem Buch, da z.B. Louisas Beziehung mit ihrem Freund Patrick nicht so toll läuft, aber das ist nicht das Hauptthema. Vielmehr geht es um das Leben, die Erwartungen an das Leben und wann ein Leben nicht mehr lebenswert ist - sowie moralische Überlegungen zum Thema, ob man ein Leben selbst beenden darf, dies unterstützen soll, etc. ... also keine leichte Kost.

Die Charaktere sind liebevoll ausgearbeitet und ich habe das Buch wirklich gerne gelesen. Mitgefühlt und mitgelitten. Dennoch erschien mir manches etwas langezogen - das ist nicht total negativ gemeint, aber insgesamt hat mir etwas die Bindung zum Buch gefehlt.

Etwas störend fand ich es auch, dass das Buch zumeist aus der Ich-Perspektive von Louisa geschildert wird und es aber einige Kapitel aus der Sicht von anderen Charakteren gab (z.B. Camilla, Wills Mutter). Dies war für mich irritierend und hat mich aus dem Storyfluß geworfen. Wenn die Autorin schon Kapitel aus einer anderen Perspektive einfügen will, dann hätte ich mir hier doch Kapitel aus Wills Sichtweise gewünscht. Hiernach sucht man jedoch vergebens. Schade.

Insgesamt war ich von diesem Buch positiv überrascht. Es kann berühren und das gibt natürlich einen dicken Pluspunkt. Haltet die Taschentücher bereit - die kann man bei diesem Buch wirklich brauchen.

FAZIT: Für mich kein perfektes Buch, aber auf jedenfall ein Buch, das Emotionen wecken kann. Außerdem wird ein sensibles Thema behandelt und das macht das Buch ebenfalls lesenswert. 4 Sterne hiefür!
44 Kommentare|16 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
Hauptgrund für mich bei diesem Buch, bzw. bei Büchern aus diesem Genre ist mein Englisch zu üben.
Das hat das Buch erfüllt, mit vielen neuen Vokabeln und einem flüssigen Erzählstil der Autorin, der nie langweilig wurde. Und in bestimmten Phasen war ich bezüglich des Fortgangs der Geschichte schon fast ein bisschen "lesesüchtig"
Interessant vom Stil die Zwischeneinschübe von Kapiteln, in denen die Sicht der Geschichte aus dem Blickwinkel anderer Personen aus dem Handlungsverlauf erzählt wird.
Und auch der Verlauf der Erzählung sowie das Ende sind nicht typisch "soapy" sondern regt zum Nachdenken an.
Glückwunsch an die Authorin zu diesem nicht ganz so "üblichen" Roman.
Ich werde mir mit Sicherheit die Verfilmung ansehen.
Mittlerweile gibt es eine Fortsetzung als Buch, etwas überraschend, aber warum nicht.
Da werde ich mal schauen.
0Kommentar|Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 1. März 2016
Ich war auf der Suche nach einem Roman in englischer Sprache, der mich ausreichend
interessiert, um meine eingeschlafenen Sprachkenntnisse ein wenig neu anzupieksen.
Kannte die Bücher von Jojo Moyes vorher nicht, nun ist mein Interesse geweckt.
0Kommentar|3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden

Haben sich auch diese Artikel angesehen

13,95 €