Kundenrezensionen


79 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (58)
4 Sterne:
 (13)
3 Sterne:
 (5)
2 Sterne:    (0)
1 Sterne:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen This is one of the best books I've read!
With all of the carbon-copy junk novels out there

today I find it wonderful to find a book that has

a unique plot that twists like a vine.

13 year old Jessie lives in a small Indiana

town in 1840, or so she thinks. When a

diphtheria epidemic breaks out among the

children she suddenly finds out the...
Am 15. Mai 1997 veröffentlicht

versus
3.0 von 5 Sternen Running Out of Time- A So-So Story
I have just started to read the book Running Out of Time. I like this story, because it gives a pretty good description of the 1800's. When Jessie finds out that it is really 1996 instead of 1841, I feel that the story becomes boring. I was not even half way through the story, and it was becoming very boring. Also, I would give this story only three stars because I...
Am 15. Februar 2000 veröffentlicht


‹ Zurück | 1 28 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen This is one of the best books I've read!, 15. Mai 1997
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Running Out of Time (Taschenbuch)
With all of the carbon-copy junk novels out there

today I find it wonderful to find a book that has

a unique plot that twists like a vine.

13 year old Jessie lives in a small Indiana

town in 1840, or so she thinks. When a

diphtheria epidemic breaks out among the

children she suddenly finds out the truth,

it's 1996. For years her family has been
living in a "pretend" world where it's still the

1800's. Jessie suddenly finds herself lost in
an entirely different century where there is a
cure for diphtheria. She must find that cure
and alert the world of the injustice that is

going on where she comes from. This is a
wonderful book that will keep you captivated from
beginning to end!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Is Running Out of Time Wasting Time?, 5. April 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Running Out of Time (Taschenbuch)
The Book Running Out of Time by Margaret Peterson Haddix was a very enjoyable book. Jessie's story is very similar to "The Truman Show" because they are both watched over, except they don't know it. Jessie is "living" in the 1800's except she is really living during 1996. Some of Jessie's friends are starting to die and she has to go beyond her city to reality. It was a very interesting transition. It was a very interesting book because of the way Margaret Haddix writes it. She thought very different. Not too many books are like the one that she wrote. I think that she is an amazing author because the people in the book are living in an imaginary world. Although they are living in the past, the children in the town don't know it. They do think that it is the 1800's. They always wondered why they couldn't go beyond some places. They never knew why they couldn't climb trees. They were "locked away" in a world that wasn't reality. They were living in a world where they had not too much technology. I recommend this book to all people who love to read historical fiction because it talks about the way people lived in the 1800's. I would also recommend this book to children who are in elementary school or the beginning of middle school.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Could this really happen?, 16. Juni 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Running Out of Time (Taschenbuch)
Jessie believes she is being raised in the 1840s, but the year is actually 1996. You see, Jessie lives in a tourist site made to look like a real village of 150 years ago. Her classmates have begun dropping out of her small, one-room classroom, and the medicines they are given don't seem to work. Jessie's mother finally tells her the truth about their community, and it's up to Jessie to escape from Clifton and seek help from the "real world." Although the plot is quite serious and suspenseful, I had to laugh at the scene where Jessie sees cars for the first time and thinks they move by witchcraft. My favorite part of this well written story is when she calls a press conference and reveals the "shocking secret" of Clifton. I haven't read many books with female protagonists, so it was neat to see a young girl making things happen - it's usually a boy. Now imagine this: We're moving along, thinking it's the year 2000 when a terrible disease spreads through our city. Eventually we learn that the year is really 2150 and people have been paying money to watch our EVERY move since we were born. Get the idea? Read this book!
-- JFS
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Could this really happen?, 14. Juni 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Running Out of Time (Taschenbuch)
Jessie believes she is being raised in the 1840s, but the year is actually 1996. You see, Jessie lives in a tourist site made to look like a real village of 150 years ago. Her classmates have begun dropping out of her small, one-room classroom, and the medicines they are given don't seem to work. Jessie's mother finally tells her the truth about their community, and it's up to Jessie to escape from Clifton and seek help from the "real world." Although the plot is quite serious and suspenseful, I had to laugh at the scene where Jessie sees cars for the first time and thinks they move by witchcraft. My favorite part of this well written story is when she calls a press conference and reveals the "shocking secret" of Clifton. I haven't read many books with female protagonists, so it was neat to see a young girl making things happen - it's usually a boy.
Now imagine this: We're moving along, thinking it's the year 2000 when a terrible disease spreads through our city. Eventually we learn that the year is really 2150 and people have been paying money to watch our EVERY move since we were born. Get the idea? Read this book!
-- JFS
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen My Favorite book, 5. Januar 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Running Out of Time (Taschenbuch)
Would you like people starring at you every breath you took? That is what it was like for Jessie. How about if you thought it was in the 1840's and one day your mom told you it was 1996. Would you believe her? If you did would you think it was strange? I sure would. One day Jessies mom took her out to the edge of the land into the forest were no one could see her. She said " In the outer world it is 1996. People put up camera's and watch us all the time. They have tourists that watch us through them. None of you children know that. I'm trusting you to keep a secret. I need to ask this of you even though you may not like it. I need you to go out to where it is 1996. You are brave. Here there are bad bad sicknesses. That are lick nothing to 1996. They have medicines to cure them. I don't have a lot of time. You are to find this guy whose name is(I forget it) Go in this tunnel. Watch out there are guards. Put on these cloth that I think are the type they wear in the outer world.(Clifton)" After that she had full-packed Adventure with Clifton and other worlds around it. I recomend it to everybody in the world.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Running Out of Time, 27. März 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Running Out of Time (Taschenbuch)
I gave the book Running Out of Time five stars because it was an exciting book that had loads of adventure. The main character, Jessie, was a curious fourth grader who was let in on a secret of the town, it was fake. The adventure started when Jessie was called upon to save her town, Clifton. She had to find her way to Indianapolis to get medicine and proper care for her sick friends in Clifton. She had to look inside herself to find the courage to continue. The author, Margaret Haddix, had an interesting way of teaching the past. She made up a town for the 1800's, but it was really 1996. She incorporated fact and fiction to add life to the character. For one, Jessie's father and mother were characterized as good parents who wanted to live in a small town. Obviously, they had no idea that Clifton was going to go bad, but in the book, it made them sound oblivious. She made the teacher a fun, loving guy, when really back then, they were strict. In my opinion, the book was exciting, adventurous, and educational. I would recommend it to people wbo like books; any age would like this book.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen In store reading group thought this was exciting but scary, 27. Juni 1998
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Running Out of Time (Taschenbuch)
BeBeep Book group, a middle level reading group in Severna Park, Md discussed this book at their July meeting. Six really liked it while two did not. We talked about Jessie's character quite a bit which was well drawn, but felt the setting was a little confusing as were the motivations of some of the adults. The book is well suited for a group because it has good starting points for discussion but proved to be unsettling for some of the children(2children die and a mother puts her child in danger)and I would keep this in mind if choosing the book.Katie(9)thought it was interesting how a 13yr. old had to react in this situation, Emily(10)thought it was good but too unbelievable, Laura(9)didn't think this was a good book for her age and thought the author should have done a better job of describing Clifton.Kelly(8)thought it was scary, Max(9)really enjoyed the way it was written Derrick(10) thought it was a GREAT book and liked to see how Jessie got out of situations, Babette(8)thought it was much more exciting than the regular books she reads, and Lindsay thought the whole reenactment idea was very neat.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen A New Look At The World, 12. Januar 1998
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Running Out of Time (Taschenbuch)
I really enjoyed reading Running Out of Time. To see the world from the point of view of a girl who believed her self to be living in the 1840's. Her world was viewed through one way mirrors by tourists. They got modern antibiotics for illness's, but suddenly, when a diptheria epidemic strikes, the medicine dries up. Is it a coincidence? Most adults still remeber the modern world, and they choose a messenger to go out and call help. Jessie is frightened. In her town you could trust people, but she has stumbled into a strange new world of deception where she could be killed at a wrong move. The diptheria was introduced by a scientist, who wants the human genes to build resistances to diseases. He says that the diseases are building resistances to antibiotics. I agree with him that we should try to build up our imune system, but on people who agree to it. Not on innocent children who's only crime was being born at the wrong place in the wrong time.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3.0 von 5 Sternen Running Out of Time- A So-So Story, 15. Februar 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Running Out of Time (Taschenbuch)
I have just started to read the book Running Out of Time. I like this story, because it gives a pretty good description of the 1800's. When Jessie finds out that it is really 1996 instead of 1841, I feel that the story becomes boring. I was not even half way through the story, and it was becoming very boring. Also, I would give this story only three stars because I thought that the plot was way too predictable.When Jessie's mother told her to meet her at night in the woods, Jessie already knows that it has something to do with the disease dipthera that is spreading around. Jessie's mom tells her how it is really 1996, and the author writes for about two chapters with Jessie's mom answering her questions about the real world. There were also many other things in the description that told you Jessie was going to have to go out into the real world to help her town. This story, in my opinion, does not deserve five stars or even four stars.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Running Out orf Time, 15. Januar 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Running Out of Time (Taschenbuch)
Our After School Book Bunch from the Alexandria Public Library in Alexandria, Ohio read and discussed the book Running Out of Time on Jan. 6, 2000, and most of us thought it was really exciting. The following is some of their comments on the book. Jamie, 11; I couldn't get through chapter 5 because the beginning was boring. Emily, 11; I thought it was boring in the beginning but it got really exciting the further I read. Brigitte, 11; You have to read at least 8 or 9 chapters until it gets good. Gabby, 11; I read the first chapter and didn't like it that much. Helen, 11; I especially like the part when Jessi talked to the recording on the telephone. Matt, 11; I didn't get to read the book but I think I would have liked it after listening to the discussion. Leslie, 10; I think the ending could have been more intense, but I liked the book and I hope Margret Peterson Haddix writes a sequel to this book.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 28 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Running Out of Time
Running Out of Time von Margaret Peterson Haddix (Taschenbuch - 1. Februar 1997)
EUR 5,10
Gewöhnlich versandfertig in 2 bis 4 Wochen.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen