Kundenrezensionen


12 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (11)
4 Sterne:    (0)
3 Sterne:    (0)
2 Sterne:    (0)
1 Sterne:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Gelungene Aufarbeitung der DaimlerChrysler Fusion
Mit "TAKEN FOR A RIDE - How Daimler-Benz Drove Off With Chrysler" ist den Autoren Bill Vlassic und Brad Stertz ein aussergewöhnliches Werk gelungen, welches die Hintergründe der deutsch-amerikanische Fusion zwischen Daimler-Benz und Chrysler aufarbeitet.
Als besonders interessant an „TAKEN FOR A RIDE" habe ich die Darstellung der involvierten...
Veröffentlicht am 29. Januar 2003 von T. Kunz

versus
1.0 von 5 Sternen A Big Disappointment
The story caught my eye since I love business books, but when I started to read this one my eyes just glazed over. Why? Because I already know this story since it has been plastered in every newspaper and magazine for some time now. I was hoping for some new information that would justify the purchase price of the book, but I was disappointed. I guess you could say...
Am 12. Juni 2000 veröffentlicht


‹ Zurück | 1 2 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Gelungene Aufarbeitung der DaimlerChrysler Fusion, 29. Januar 2003
Von 
T. Kunz (bei Zürich) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Taken for a Ride: How Daimler-Benz Drove Off with Chrysler (Gebundene Ausgabe)
Mit "TAKEN FOR A RIDE - How Daimler-Benz Drove Off With Chrysler" ist den Autoren Bill Vlassic und Brad Stertz ein aussergewöhnliches Werk gelungen, welches die Hintergründe der deutsch-amerikanische Fusion zwischen Daimler-Benz und Chrysler aufarbeitet.
Als besonders interessant an „TAKEN FOR A RIDE" habe ich die Darstellung der involvierten Charaktere empfunden. Hervorzuheben sind dabei neben Jürgen Schrempp vor allem amerikanische Persönlichkeiten, welche in Deutschland zum damaligen Zeitpunkt weniger Bekanntheitsgrad genossen, wie z.B. Kirk Kerkorian (der Chrysler Grossaktionär und Corporate Raider, der bereits einmal Chrysler in einem unfreundlichen „Going Private" attackiert hat), Lee Iacocca (ex-Chrysler Chairman, der für den spektakulären Turnaround von Chrysler in den 90er mitverantwortlich war) sowie das Management von Chrysler mit Bob Eaton, Bob Lutz (heute mit über 70 Jahren noch Head R&D bei GM), Tom Stallkamp sowie diverser anderer.
Im Mittelpunkt der Aufarbeitung steht, neben der Analyse aller involvierten Entscheidungsträger, die Frage warum das Chrysler Management eine Fusion mit einem starken internationalen Partner als existenziell einstufte.
Die Umsetzung dieser Aufarbeitung geschieht ganz im Stile von „Barbarians at the Gate" (Bryan Burrough, John Helvar, WSJ), wobei hier eine Einschränkung gemacht werden muss: Vlassic und Stertz legen dem Leser Ihre Informationsquellen nicht so konsequent offen, wie man dies eigentlich erwarten würde bzw. wie dies bei Barbarians at the Gate vorexerziert wird. Dies ist allerdings meinerseits der einzige Kritikpunkt am Buch.
Weitere positive Punkte des Buches sind:
- die Darstellung der Geschichte beider Unternehmen,
- die Einblicke in das „Automotive Corporate America" der 70er, 80er und 90er Jahre und
- der Vergleich zwischen Corporate America und den deutschen Unternehmensgepflogenheiten im Bezug auf Corporate Governance, Management Styles und Merger Control.
Fazit:
Das Buch ist extrem spannend geschrieben und ist nicht nur für Investment Banker, Automobilfans oder DaimlerChrysler Mitarbeiter ein unbedingtes MUSS. Wie bei "Den of Thieves" und "Barbarians at the Gate" zeigt sich, dass die besten „Business Stories" immer noch das Leben selber schreibt. Viel Spass beim Lesen!!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen A Book About Leadership, 15. Juni 2000
Von 
Sang Won Park "Go Red" (Ithaca, NY., USA.) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Taken for a Ride: How Daimler-Benz Drove Off with Chrysler (Gebundene Ausgabe)
Being an automobile fan, I became intrigued at how car companies manage to pull off age-defining cars like VW Beetle or Citroen DS, or be mired and be brought down like that of current Nissan. Overall, most of the car companies do make excellent cars, but their prosperity is not always guaranteed - Nissan was and still is a considerable technological force in the automobile industry, yet failed to gain market share; its share in Japan declined for more than 26 years.
So what does this book show the readers? Simply, leadership. Although I too was familiar with the DaimlerChrylser merger story, the loss of Chrysler leadership during the vital merger process was not known to me before to this detail. The Chrysler side was "acquired" regardless of its huge profit because there failed to be sufficient Chrysler executives who would fight Daimler-Benz side for the Chrysler's benefit during the merger process . If there were any, they were subdued by the silent and moody chairman of Chrysler. Even the head of Daimler-Benz, Juergen Schrempp, is said to have been surprised to see lack of the vibrant leadership that made surprising cars like Dodge Viper and Plymouth Prowler during early 90s. This is a very vital point, as I am reminded of what Bill Gates is said to do in MicroSoft; he likes to see people stand up for their views even if it is right or wrong. I believe that the word meant here is 'guts', and that requires a lot - plenty of knowledge, right attitude and high self-esteem.
Alas, it seems that as Chrysler lost too many people that had guts - ironically, that was the same title for the book written by a former Chrysler vice chairman, Bob Lutz, under whose command cars like Viper, Prowler and PT Cruiser were born -, so was its once outstanding leadership just in time for the merger. Like some black-and-white pirate movie, the floundering Anglo-Saxon ship loaded with gold were aboarded by some Teutonic warriors whose ambitions are to conquer the title of the leader - fuehrer? - in world transportation.
It was more sad to see that people with such 'guts' who left Chrysler were somewhat victims of internal politics, but I came to acknowledge that the merger was more inevitable as Chrysler lost many of its excellent crew anyway.
All in all, this book manages to unravel a breathtaking story that portrays an industry's dilemma, clash of two gigantic companies and two national and continental cultures, confict of interests, human behavior and betrayal, lust for money, a rise of German icon at a loss of an American icon.
If you do not know much of what happened during the DaimlerChrysler's birth and is interested in any field of business, this is a book you could read during this Summer at a breeze's pace.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen The Book Is Worth the Ride, 15. Juni 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Taken for a Ride: How Daimler-Benz Drove Off with Chrysler (Gebundene Ausgabe)
Bill Vlassic and Brad Stertz provide many startling revelations in their book about the takeover of Chrysler by Daimler-Benz. It is exactly the rip-roaring read that noted automotive columnist Brock Yates says it is.
"Taken for a Ride" shows how Kirk Kerkorian put Chrysler into play; how Daimler played cat and mouse with Chrysler; how Chrysler Chairman Bob Eaton froze out detractors of a merger; how Daimler chief Juergen Schrempp got every concession he wanted and was able to wriggle out of concessions he made at the last minute with Eaton's blessing. It shows how Eaton fired Tom Stallkamp (apparently with pressure from Schrempp) in order to get his own heir in charge of Chrysler operations. And it shows how the Germans have bungled things with the new company.
I don't know how the Boston reader decided there is nothing new in the book. He should trying telling this to current and former Chrysler Corp. executives and workers who have been champing at the bit to read this book and get more insights into this fiasco. It has been the subject of many automotive boardroom discussions in Detroit, after excerpts were published in The Detroit News.
"Taken for a Ride" is a book without any agendas. Chrysler has not contradicted its contents, and neither has the Daimler end of DaimlerChrysler. It lays out the details as best the authors could get them and lets readers decide for themselves what lessons on corporate governance, merger policy, management style and other issues can be drawn. I found the book more than worth my time in reading.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Changing the status quo, 13. Juli 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Taken for a Ride: How Daimler-Benz Drove Off with Chrysler (Gebundene Ausgabe)
It's clear to me that Vlasic and Stertz have good insight into how the merger occured and why. They show carefully researched in-depth knowledge of who, how, and why. I purchased this book because, clearly, they believe that the merger was bad for Chrysler, and ultimately that means it was bad for DaimlerChrysler. I wanted to understand why (a look at the declining stock price is a good clue).
Plain and simple, the message is that Daimler-Benz and Chrysler were too different to merge. The management and corporate structures were incompatable, evidenced by the rapid departures of Eaton and Stallkamp. Jurgen Schrempp is also portrayed as a boistrous spirit; brash and difficult to work with. No wonder Eaton and Stallkamp wouldn't stand up to him when it would've mattered.
As much as I'm in favor of keeping a publicly held business that way, I almost wish Kerkorian and Iacocca had pulled off their buyoff. Disturbing as it was, it would've kept an 80+ year old company in American hands.
If you're even the least bit curious about this merger, Taken For a Ride is a fascinating book. It's an education lesson about all sorts of capitalistic business: corporate mergers, leveraged buyouts, business culture, and world cultures. Experienced businessmen could even learn from this book, and I'm sure Iacocca, Eaton, Kerkorian, Lutz, Schrempp, and Stallkamp would read a few things they didn't know about (and didn't want the world to know about, either).
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Ein Stück Wirtschaftsgeschichte zum Nachlesen, 19. Februar 2003
Von 
T. Kunz (bei Zürich) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Mit "TAKEN FOR A RIDE - How Daimler-Benz Drove Off With Chrysler" ist den Autoren Bill Vlassic und Brad Stertz ein aussergewöhnliches Werk gelungen, welches die Hintergründe der deutsch-amerikanische Fusion zwischen Daimler-Benz und Chrysler aufarbeitet.
Als besonders interessant an "TAKEN FOR A RIDE" habe ich die Darstellung der involvierten Charaktere empfunden. Hervorzuheben sind dabei neben Jürgen Schrempp vor allem amerikanische Persönlichkeiten, welche in Deutschland zum damaligen Zeitpunkt weniger Bekanntheitsgrad genossen, wie z.B. Kirk Kerkorian (der Chrysler Grossaktionär und Corporate Raider, der bereits einmal Chrysler in einem unfreundlichen „Going Private" attackiert hat), Lee Iacocca (ex-Chrysler Chairman, der für den spektakulären Turnaround von Chrysler in den 90er mitverantwortlich war) sowie das Management von Chrysler mit Bob Eaton, Bob Lutz (heute mit über 70 Jahren noch Head R&D bei GM), Tom Stallkamp sowie diverser anderer.
Das Buch ist extrem spannend geschrieben und ist nicht nur für Investment Banker, Automobilfans oder DaimlerChrysler Mitarbeiter ein unbedingtes MUSS. Wie bei "Den of Thieves" und "Barbarians at the Gate" zeigt sich, dass die besten „Business Stories" immer noch das Leben selber schreibt. Viel Spass beim Lesen!!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen "Barbarians at the Gate" meets the Keystone Kops, 16. Juli 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Taken for a Ride: How Daimler-Benz Drove Off with Chrysler (Gebundene Ausgabe)
The management of Chrysler right now must be wishing they'd never heard of Bradley Stertz. No one comes off looking like a genius in this account of the DaimlerChrysler merger, but the American executives are the most obviously inept. The Germans look smarter, but end up being hapless integraters and managers, as shown by their recent performance.
Stertz has a fine eye for detail, and his research is exhaustive. In order to keep his book to a reasonable length, he sometimes moves along at an extremely quick pace, and I found myself constantly reviewing earlier sections to make sure I understood what was going on. But none of this detracts from the guilty pleasure most readers will get from watching this slow-motion collision between two completely incompatible corporate cultures.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen corporate culture, 16. Juni 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Taken for a Ride: How Daimler-Benz Drove Off with Chrysler (Gebundene Ausgabe)
Taken for a Ride has proven to be one of the most fascinating non-fiction books I've read in a long time. The players, the settings, the politics, the "good guys" who turn out to be bad guys, the "bad guys" who are actually good guys but get fired before they get the chance to be the "good guys"! It made me feel sad that such an American institution could fall so easily! I look at Chrysler and Daimler Benz cars differently now after having read this tale. Kudos to Vlasic and Stertz for giving their readers a glimpse into the boardrooms of these companies and the hearts and minds of these men.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Captivating at 200m.p.h., 29. Juni 2000
Von 
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Taken for a Ride: How Daimler-Benz Drove Off with Chrysler (Gebundene Ausgabe)
This was without a doubt one of the best books I've ever read. The secret meetings and the billion dollar deals, the corporate struggle that raged over Chrysler, TAKEN FOR A RIDE instantly captivated me and kept my eyes glued to the pages. I just couldn't put it down. You always see the unveiling of the cars and the execs at the auto shows (especially the Detroit Auto Show which I always attend), but you never hear about what and who are behind the cars and the fancy execs with matching sunglasses. TAKEN FOR A RIDE is definately the best book I've read in a long time, I'd probably pay $50 for it!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1.0 von 5 Sternen A Big Disappointment, 12. Juni 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Taken for a Ride: How Daimler-Benz Drove Off with Chrysler (Gebundene Ausgabe)
The story caught my eye since I love business books, but when I started to read this one my eyes just glazed over. Why? Because I already know this story since it has been plastered in every newspaper and magazine for some time now. I was hoping for some new information that would justify the purchase price of the book, but I was disappointed. I guess you could say that after buying it I was taken for a ride.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Taken For A Ride, 14. Juni 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Taken for a Ride: How Daimler-Benz Drove Off with Chrysler (Gebundene Ausgabe)
Riveting detail and hidden agendas give you an arresting look behind the scenes at how massive global mergers can hinge on the smallest of issues. Anybody who cares about the global economy, is fascinated by characters like Lee Iacocca or loves cars should absolutely buy this book. Readers who just like a moving yarn full of surprises will delight in this fast paced narrative.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 2 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Taken for a Ride: How Daimler-Benz Drove Off with Chrysler
Taken for a Ride: How Daimler-Benz Drove Off with Chrysler von Bradley A. Stertz (Gebundene Ausgabe - 30. Mai 2000)
Gebraucht & neu ab: EUR 2,29
Auf meinen Wunschzettel Zahlungsmöglichkeiten ansehen
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen