Kundenrezensionen


14 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (9)
4 Sterne:
 (3)
3 Sterne:
 (1)
2 Sterne:    (0)
1 Sterne:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


5 von 5 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Sneakier examples would have made this perfect
I found this book very helpful, it was certainly enlightening to read an editor's point of view, but the examples he used to illustrate his points were so blatant they often sounded childish. I know the intent was to ensure his points were understood fully by the reader, but an obvious example followed by one or two of a more subtle tone would have been a greater help...
Am 12. Mai 2000 veröffentlicht

versus
4 von 5 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Publishers� Viewpoint on Getting Published
This book: creates a powerful image of overworked publishers being inundated with manuscripts suffering from similar faults; documents those faults; and gives general pointers on how to get published.
Three (basic) exercise-packed sections cover:
* Preliminary problems-- presentation, adjectives & adverbs, sound, comparison, and style.
* Dialogue--...
Veröffentlicht am 13. Juni 2000 von Prof David T Wright


‹ Zurück | 1 2 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

5 von 5 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Sneakier examples would have made this perfect, 12. Mai 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The First Five Pages: A Writer'S Guide To Staying Out of the Rejection Pile (Taschenbuch)
I found this book very helpful, it was certainly enlightening to read an editor's point of view, but the examples he used to illustrate his points were so blatant they often sounded childish. I know the intent was to ensure his points were understood fully by the reader, but an obvious example followed by one or two of a more subtle tone would have been a greater help to me.
Novice writers may see thier pet mistakes staring back at them on each page (accompanied with solid advise on defeating them) but I think many writers working seriously for any length of time have learned to integrate their habitual bad habits with a lighter touch than his examples suggest--not that this makes them any less of a problem, but it does make them harder to spot and extract. That said, I still feel this book should be read by everyone who writes or wants to.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A Sharp Bite of Reality, 18. Januar 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The First Five Pages: A Writer'S Guide To Staying Out of the Rejection Pile (Taschenbuch)
Noah Lukeman's portrayal of overworked editors looking for just one reason to shoot your beloved work into the rejection pile is a sharp bite of reality that some writers won't want to feel. Like it or not, Lukeman is bluntly asserting that most writers are rejected by agents and publishers because they simply can't pass first muster-and that the margin for failure is very narrow.
Lukeman's book is a gutsy reminder that success as a writer is hard won and that writing is a craft like any other and must be learned-the hard way. If (in terms of numbers alone) the odds are stacked against you each time an editor or agent opens your work - then all the more reason you should be as good a writer as you can. The critical, probing exercises found at the end of each chapter are likely to be valuable to writers not only because of the very practical way in which they are presented, but because they also have the virtue of supporting Lukeman's central conviction that writers can train their minds towards critical thought-and through critical thought comes better writing. New writers will pore over his exercises in detail, while more skilled writers will use them to throw new light on specific problem areas.
The glimpses Lukeman offers into the pent-up pressure within agent and editors offices, and the "read to reject" rule that prevails throughout the publishing industry also represent valuable insights into the context in which each writer's work is reviewed. And his frank assessment of some writers' abilities is obviously the result of having been on the receiving end of a lot of poor writing in his time. But while he is sometimes impatient towards writers Lukeman is never scathing, presumably because he seems genuinely to believe that anyone can train her/himself to be a better writer.
For this reason, although his stated objective is to help writers avoid the mistakes that will send them to the rejection pile, Lukeman is in fact offering a much larger opportunity to any writer who wants to seize it. He is offering tools to help train self-critical thought in the minds of those whose solitary activity can so easily steer them towards self-indulgence and uncritical acceptance of their work.
It's an excellent book and at such a reasonable price it's also a great investment.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A must for writers and readers alike, 6. Mai 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The First Five Pages: A Writer'S Guide To Staying Out of the Rejection Pile (Taschenbuch)
If you're looking for a book about how to write, you might start with The First Five Pages. I loved this book. In fact, I couldn't put it down; something one would normally expect with a work of fiction. I particularly enjoyed the passages Lukeman used to illustrate points of bad writing followed by examples of selected masters to show great writing. Illuminating. The section on dialogue made me realize that I had been taught to write badly in school.
This is a kind of book that all writers (and readers) should have. It doesn't preach, it doesn't pompously expound, rather it advises, analyzes and helps the writer get more invovled in the process of writing. I will never read fiction in quite the same way again.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen A Wealth of Practical Advice, 9. März 2000
Von 
Thomas Lott (Katy, TX USA) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The First Five Pages: A Writer'S Guide To Staying Out of the Rejection Pile (Taschenbuch)
Four and a half stars is more appropriate. This is one of the most practical books on writing I've ever read. Lukeman deals in three parts with writing mistakes which will almost certainly assure the rejection of a manuscript, or an article. He also breaks each part into individual chapters and suggests exercises to--hopefully--alleviate each problem area.
The only complaint I had is that most of the writing examples are so horrendous, they border on unbelievable. This is a minor drawback.
I would recommend this book to anyone who wants to improve as a writer.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Thank you to - The First Five Pages, 13. Januar 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The First Five Pages: A Writer'S Guide To Staying Out of the Rejection Pile (Taschenbuch)
I have been writing for over four years now and have read and attended countless books and seminars. I HATE how most books and such make promises they don't keep such as - Write a Blockbuster, etc.
I found that this book keeps its word. I read and studied it like crazy, made intense revisions to my book, and resubmitted it to agents. IT WORKED! Thanks to The First Five Pages I NOW HAVE MY FIRST AGENT!
I advise that all writers read it. Even those who already have an agent. It gives great advise and really helped me critique and focus on work own work.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4 von 5 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Publishers� Viewpoint on Getting Published, 13. Juni 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The First Five Pages: A Writer'S Guide To Staying Out of the Rejection Pile (Taschenbuch)
This book: creates a powerful image of overworked publishers being inundated with manuscripts suffering from similar faults; documents those faults; and gives general pointers on how to get published.
Three (basic) exercise-packed sections cover:
* Preliminary problems-- presentation, adjectives & adverbs, sound, comparison, and style.
* Dialogue-- between the lines, commonplace, informative, melodramatic, and hard to follow.
* The bigger picture-- showing versus telling, viewpoint and narration, characterization, hooks, subtlety, tone, focus, setting, and pacing & progression.
The book could be improved through: addition on an overview of the publishing market and publishers (statistics for different genres & countries); use of fewer words for content; better use of sidebars & summaries to be able to "use" book more effectively; explicitly wider focus beyond fiction & novels; and discussion of "content"- the value add for the reader.
Overall a worthwhile read, but consider "Writing a Novel - and getting published" (Teach Yourself) by Nigel Watts first- it covers similar content concisely, plus adds much more in an easier to read format.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen Only For The Beginner, 23. März 2000
Von 
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The First Five Pages: A Writer'S Guide To Staying Out of the Rejection Pile (Taschenbuch)
Unless you are a rank beginner, don't buy this book. Lukeman's probably justified in writing this book, but don't buy it if you have a shred of ability. Save your money for a relationship with a professional editor. You will learn more, faster, than you will by reading this book.
On the other hand, if you're just starting in the business, the book is filled with examples of laughably poor writing. You can compare your work to his examples; if your's bears a resemblance, stop reading and seek an editor or a college writing course. Don't take me wrong, most college writing courses are abysmal, but you may be able to lever a few tips out of the professor.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen HELP FROM A DIFFERENT PERSPECTIVE, 15. März 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The First Five Pages: A Writer'S Guide To Staying Out of the Rejection Pile (Taschenbuch)
Most books about writing tell us what to do. This book, however, takes the opposite approach and tells us what not to do. As an editor, Noah Lukeman shows writers why their manuscripts are rejected by both agents and publishers time and time again. After defining the problem spots, the author gives us examples and then follows with exercises to help correct the problem. The only criticism I have of the book lies with the examples. They are truly dreadful. I'm sure the author made them up to illustrate his point, but I, myself, would have found examples more helpful had they been drawn from actual books. This book, however, is very useful, both for the beginner and the more advanced writer and will go a long way toward keeping you out of the rejection pile.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen An entertaining book for both readers and writers, 28. Februar 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The First Five Pages: A Writer'S Guide To Staying Out of the Rejection Pile (Taschenbuch)
Although the book is designed to help fiction writers get published, its appeal is far broader than that. Lukeman has many examples of bad writing that are laugh out loud funny. These examples by exagerating the particular fault, make his points very well, whether setting, pace or excessive use of adjectives. (Lukeman also warns us that these are not the worst examples.) I came away from the book with a far greater appreciation of how well the books I read are written and edited and the tremendous amount of work and skill required to write a book. I would recommend this book to both aspiring writers and avid readers.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen At last a manual both industry-smart and inspiring, 18. Februar 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The First Five Pages: A Writer'S Guide To Staying Out of the Rejection Pile (Taschenbuch)
Most books to help us prepare and sell MSS are technically centered, full of savvy about making it in the system- good MS presentation, warnings about dumb things not to do, same nuts and bolts stuff like hooks, pace, character intro, etc. Lukeman's has all that and but lots more and his particulars about craft are smarter than most. But what knocked me out is that he also emphasizes the deep things that made us ever want to be writers in the first place--our ideas about life, the joy of taking the trouble to write fresh language, the unusual things we know, not just the formula things we pick up around writers' workshops. This book is a spell binder because it has both ends of what we need--how to keep agent snd publishers from glazing when they pick up our manuscript, and genuine literary help, too. This is invaluable kitful of useful, humorous, and tasteful ideas. I am showing it to all my students.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 2 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst
ARRAY(0xa1807dc8)

Dieses Produkt

The First Five Pages: A Writer'S Guide To Staying Out of the Rejection Pile
EUR 10,90
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen