Kundenrezensionen


251 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (139)
4 Sterne:
 (36)
3 Sterne:
 (36)
2 Sterne:
 (18)
1 Sterne:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


8 von 9 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Zweifelsfrei ein Meisterwerk
The old Man and the Sea ist wohl die bekannteste Kurzgeschichte von Ernest Hemingway. In ihrer Einfachheit und gleichzeitig voller Symbolik und sprachlicher Genialität hat sie Hemingway nicht umsonst den Nobelpreis eingebracht.

Die Geschichte handelt von Santiago, einem alten Fischer der vor der Küste Kubas nach 84 Tagen ohne einen einzigen Fang,...
Veröffentlicht am 28. Juni 2008 von Nocturne

versus
3.0 von 5 Sternen Watch the movie, then read the book
The book "The Old Man and the Sea" was in my opinion and good book, but with a few exceptions. When I was first assigned to read this book for English class I immediatly procrastinated when I would yet to begin reading this book. Days passed, then weeks, and I still had not even glanced at the book. After a few weeks I finally decided to look at the book. I...
Am 7. Dezember 1998 veröffentlicht


‹ Zurück | 1 226 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

8 von 9 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Zweifelsfrei ein Meisterwerk, 28. Juni 2008
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Old Man and the Sea (Taschenbuch)
The old Man and the Sea ist wohl die bekannteste Kurzgeschichte von Ernest Hemingway. In ihrer Einfachheit und gleichzeitig voller Symbolik und sprachlicher Genialität hat sie Hemingway nicht umsonst den Nobelpreis eingebracht.

Die Geschichte handelt von Santiago, einem alten Fischer der vor der Küste Kubas nach 84 Tagen ohne einen einzigen Fang, endlich den Fisch seines Lebens fängt. Nach dem langen erschöpfenden Kampf gegen den Fisch, wird seine Beute auf der Heimfahrt zum Hafen von Haien gefressen, obwohl der alte Mann unermüdlich versucht seine Angreifer zu besiegen.

Die Geschichte vereint viele Elemente in sich, die Freundschaft des Jungen zu dem alten Fischer, die höhere Gewalt der Natur und den aussichtslosen Kampf sich gegen diese Gewalt aufzulehnen. Gleichzeitig behält das Schicksal Santiagos eine optimistische und hoffnungsvolle Note; obwohl sein Kampf aussichtslos war, hat er sich nicht tatenlos seinem Schicksal ergeben. Eben diese Verneinung der Resignation lässt ihn als wahren Sieger aus diesem Kampf hervor gehen.

Auch die Sprache ist einfach gestrickt, gleichzeitig jedoch wunderbar zu lesen. Dadurch das Santiago immer nur der alte Mann ist und auch der Name des Jungen in der Geschichte keine große Rolle spielt, haften der Geschichte fast schon märchenhafte Züge an, in denen nicht die Personen selbst im Vordergrund stehen, sondern ihre Taten und Kämpfe.
The old Man and the Sea sollte jeder der Interesse an Literatur hat, mal gelesen haben. Da die Geschichte nicht allzu lang und leicht lesbar ist, können sich auch Nicht-Muttersprachler problemlos an das Original wagen. Es lohnt sich allemal.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


24 von 29 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Klassisch und im Original ungleich besser, 17. Februar 2003
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Old Man and the Sea (Taschenbuch)
Hemingways zeitlos grandiose Geschichte vom kubanischen Fischer Santiago, der den Fisch seines Lebens fängt, ihn auf der Heimfahrt an Haie verliert und doch nicht aufgibt (wie könnte er auch, schließlich ist das, was er tut, sein Leben), ist so atemberaubend wie sie kurz ist. Eine große Metapher der Hoffnung und der Verzweiflung, des Verlierens und des trotzdem nicht Verloren-Habens.
Die englische Original-Version ist empfehlenswerter als die deutsche Übersetzung, und demjenigen, der ob der fremden Sprache etwas Sorge hat, sei gesagt: Hemingways im Vergleich zu vielen anderen Autoren recht einfach (aber dafür um so mitreißender) gehaltene Sprache ist auch für den Nicht-Muttersprachler durchaus zu verstehen. Und zu genießen.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Hemingway's swan song, 21. Mai 2000
Von 
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Old Man and the Sea (Taschenbuch)
I have, I think, read everything that Hemingway ever had published. As a youngster he was my favorite fiction writer and has remained so, although I have read a great many books in the interim, some by great writers.

Ernest Hemingway has had many detractors, but his writing speaks for itself. He needs no other champion.

Of all his stories, "The Old Man and the Sea" is perhaps his best. In it, an old Cuban fisherman, Santiago, fishing by himself, catches a giant, magnificent marlin, after a terrible struggle, and makes it fast to his small boat. On the way home, however, it is eaten by the sharks, leaving only a skeleton.

The story is, reputedly, autobiographical. The story itself is the great marlin, and the sharks are the critics, which have dogged Hemingway's declining career, panning such efforts as "Over the River and Into the Trees," and disparaging him generally as an aging has-been.

With "The Old Man and the Sea," Hemingway proved, to them and himself, that he could still write magnificent prose. For it he was awarded the Nobel Prize for literature--a prize at which he had previously scoffed, saying that no one who had ever received it had subsequently written anything worthwhile.

Hemingway's literary style--his clipped, unadorned approach--has been often aped but never equaled. He was a true original, and most important; he was a sensitive observer of humanity and its follies. But, never an observer only; he was a participant. "The Snows of Kilimanjaro," if not autobiographical at least was based upon his own experience. He knew the people of whom he wrote. He had been a combatant and a journalist and a fisherman and a hunter: a man's man.

Like all really notable writers of fiction, he had lived his stories. I suggest that you read his work for yourself, and disregard the slurs of the effete intellectual snobs who slyly claim that he was a latent homosexual, and contrive to belittle his genius. They are like the sharks he portrayed, who would destroy the great prize of his legacy. Heed them not. In spite of his tragic death, he was a peerless writer.<P<
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Hemingway echoes the EPISTLE OF JAMES in Santiago's story., 10. Juli 1999
10 July, 1999 A.D./2542 B.E. Chiang Mai, Northern Thailand
THE OLD MAN AND THE SEA, Hemingway's greatest work, leads to a reading of THE EPISTLE OF JAMES and to the entire BIBLE. Santiago means St. James in Spanish. Remember, Hemingway had first heard the story of a fisherman's struggle for four days at sea from his good friend Carlos Guiterrez in Cuba in 1934. Hemingway waited sixteen years to write THE OLD MAN AND THE SEA in Dec., 1950-early Feb., 1951. In the years between his first knowledge of the story and his own lyrical rendering of it, Hemingway took Mass in Spanish in Cuba on far more than one occasion. Examine, for instance, the fact that all the characters in THE OLD MAN AND THE SEA are named after Catholic saints or Apostles. "La Carta de Santiago" is from the Spanish New Testament; its English translation is "The Epistle of James." Like THE OLD MAN AND THE SEA, "The Epistle of James" focuses on themes of patience in the face of adversity, of enduring life's struggles for the sake of a greater good, and of gaining inner peace. Manolin, the Cuban boy's nickname, is the Spanish nickname for Manuel, a name derived from the prophecy of the Christ child Emmanuel in "The Book of Isaiah" in THE OLD TESTAMENT. Perico is the Spanish nickname for Pedro, which means Peter in English. Peter, of course, is another of Christ's apostles. Intrigues me that Santiago is the name of two vital figures in Christianity, Santiago del Zebedeo/St. James of Zebedee (whom Christ first met as a fisherman) and Christ's brother, Santiago/St. James the Martyr, who was stoned to death in Jerusalem. Martin, the owner of The Terrace bar who is generous to the impoverished Santiago, is also the name of two famous Catholic saints who were extraordiarily helpful to the poor, St. Martin of Tours of France and St. Martin de Poores. St. Martin of Poores is regarded as the patron saint of Afro-Cubans due to his incredibly generosity and sacrifice for African slaves in South America in the 1600s. And from the time he returned from Spain in 1939 to the time he wrote THE OLD MAN AND THE SEA at the Finca Vigia, Hemingway attended Spanish Mass in Cuba. Readings from "La Carta de Santiago"/"The Epistle of James" figure prominently in the Catholic Liturgical Calendar Year B, Ordinary Time(normally, in the September of every B cycle year). Santiago makes his journey for his marlin in September, "the month when the big fish come." September is hurricane season in Cuba, by the way, meaning Santiago knows he is risking his life. No, it's not too bad that this is Hemingway's shortest novel. In many ways, it is his richest and deepest work, and moreover, truest to his aesthetic. Five stars are not enough! Rock hard and ride free, Cool Papa H.! Hemingway evidences an incredible understanding of Cuban culture in THE OLD MAN AND THE SEA as he tells a story of one man's struggle to carry his dream at high sea in the face of death. Ultimately, his journey is spiritual at its core: Santiago's ability to accept the butchering of the marlin by the sharks, and his resolution at the end to continue going out to sea, teach us volumes on how to carry our own dreams in the seas we sail in our time. Santiago's story is timeless as love and endures with all the grace of every wave hitting all the shores of all the beaches of all the world. Reviewer: Mike Tucker
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen A beautiful study of man and nature., 14. Juni 1999
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Old Man and the Sea (Taschenbuch)
This short novel was the winner of the 1953 Pulitzer Prize in Fiction. It was required reading in one of my high school English classes and is still required in many schools over thirty to years later. Many believe it was the publication of this book that assured Hemingway of winning the 1954 Nobel Prize in Literature. This book is a parable of man's struggle with the natural world and the inherent dignity of a man. An old Cuban fisherman named Santiago takes his small boat out into the Gulf of Mexico and has a battle with a giant marlin and with several sharks. He has to deal with his own weaknesses, with nature, with loneliness, and with his own mortality. It is a great novel and a reader can get much out of it with a little effort. I also feel that I have to respond to some of the comments from those earlier reviewers who rated the book with low scores. The book isn't about fishing. It's about man. Hemingway hadn't written a book for ten years. But, as soon as this comes out, he picks up a Pulitzer Award and the Nobel Prize! An earlier reviewer from Kansas (May 30, 1999) commented that Hemingway was no Jack Kerouac or F. Scott Fitzgerald. I love both those writers; but, they weren't even nominated for the Nobel. And, to the Canadian reviewer of March 29, do you actually think that Philip Pullman himself would classify his works, as enjoyable as they are, greater than those of Ernest Hemingway? But my most impassioned response is to the bizarre comments of the reviewer of May 11, who awarded "The Old Man and the Sea" five stars. After reading his comments, I went through all of the earlier comments, attempting to find what he was referring to. Except for grammatical errors (such as ending my previous sentence with a preposition) or spelling mistakes (such as misspelling mispelling), I saw nothing crude or offensive. Don't we have freedom of expression here? Even though I may disagree with others comments and opinions, they still have this right. And, more power to them (and to amazon.com). But, what I found most bizarre from reading this person's comments was that it would appear, from reading his last sentence, he awarded the book five stars yet hadn't even read it! At least those who gave the text a low rating had actually read the book.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3.0 von 5 Sternen Watch the movie, then read the book, 7. Dezember 1998
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Old Man and the Sea (Taschenbuch)
The book "The Old Man and the Sea" was in my opinion and good book, but with a few exceptions. When I was first assigned to read this book for English class I immediatly procrastinated when I would yet to begin reading this book. Days passed, then weeks, and I still had not even glanced at the book. After a few weeks I finally decided to look at the book. I read about ten pages and immediately found myself bored with the book. I out the book away and didn't retreave it until later. I was sitting home one weekend watching TV when I came across a movie that looked familiar. After watching about twenty minutes of this movie I realized that it was "The Old Man and the Sea". I was very taken back when I continued watching the movie. I really liked it and best of all I found it easier to understand. After the three hour movie I was very surprised about how much I like the story. But I was even more surprised when I kept thinking in my head about the story and wanted to read the book. I immediatly ran to my backpack and got the book. I read the whole thing in about 1 hour and enjoyed it greatly. I apprecited it alot more too. I espechially like it because the story was indeed well told and focussed on so many other things than I thought it did. One part in the book that I liked alot was when the old man talked about his days when he was younger and how he had spent so many long hours, and sometimes days giving everything he had just to win a simple arm wrestling match. But, everytime he was able to earn a victory. I also liked how Ernest Hemingway captured the moment just right. E.H. featured many places and scenes in the book and did not always ficus what was important but really set the mood and tone for the events that were about to, or yet to happen in the book. Another thing I must mention that I liked was that the old man had so much respect in the book. I just loved this story so much and how it captured everything so well. I think it was really well written and even though it took me awhile to discover the true meaning in this book and can honestly say that I am pleased and happy that I gave the book and chance. In a way I can refer myself to the book, alot of people in the book did not really want to give the old man a chance, and didn't think he would ever catch a fish again but the old man proved them wrong and only the people who had true respect for the old man understood that he would always succeed. This is what I did, I gave the book a chance and myself.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Possibly his best..., 18. Juli 2000
Von 
C. Colt "It Just Doesn't Matter" (San Francisco, CA United States) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Old Man and the Sea (Taschenbuch)
"The Old Man and the Sea" is one of Hemmingway's simplest and most evocative books. It sets him apart from the majority of modern writers as a brilliant story teller. It is also commendable for its mood and subtlety.
The novel is almost exclusively about the isolated life and thoughts of an old fisherman who unexpectedly finds himself pursuing the largest catch of his life. As the old man hooks his prey and follows it out to sea for several days, it becomes evident that his motive centers more around personal challenge and a kind of silent (dare we say "existential") heroism than commercial gain or notoriety. His recollections, thoughts and struggle have a peace and momentary savagery that is totally in keeping with the rhythm of the sea.
I grew up on the ocean and spent a significant portion of my life living on boats. Speaking from my own experiences I can say that Hemmingway "got it" in this book. He captured the mood, rhythm and isolation of a sailor's thoughts with impeccable realism.
Many of Hemingway's novels do not convey mood as successfully as this one. "For Whom the Bell Tolls" never fully convinces the reader of the desperate courage or its characters because the dialog is too canned. "A Farewell to Arms" begins with one of the greatest openings of any Twentieth Century novel and then dissolves into unremarkable turmoil and argument. Even "The Sun Also Rises" seems a little too self-conscious of the image it attempts to portray. But "The Old Man and the Sea" is flawless in its ability to draw us into its mood.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Papa not at his height, but....., 7. Mai 2000
Von 
Bruce Kendall "BEK" (Southern Pines, NC) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Old Man and the Sea (Taschenbuch)
This is a simple tale, but not one told by anidiot. I first read it when I was 12-years-old and can't say it is anovel I want to return to, just as I don't particularly want to return to Steinbeck's The Red Pony. But I would maintain that it is a wonderful introduction to Hemingway for a young reader. I believe that papa had his best period of production in the twenties and thirties, (Sun Also Rises, A Farewell to Arms). He also wrote his better short stories during that time (The Snows of Kilimanjaro, The Short Happy Life of Francis Macomber [sic?]), but one can't dismiss this work entirely. The Old Man and the Sea reminds me of a Neruda poem, simple on the surface, yet reflecting larger themes. I'm sure you were all taught about microcosm vs. macrocosm in high-school English class, right? Well this is an example of the former, similar in some respects to Camus and Sartre and other existentialists. Santiago's struggle is similar to Camus' depiction in the Myth of Sysiphus. The old fisherman's struggle with his marlin is similar to Sysiphus' eternally rolling that stone uphill in Hades. It's something he is compelled to do by his very fibre and is thus comepletely resigned to. Yet choice is also involved, and thus we have an existentialist novel, produced from the simplest of stories. Ne-c'est-pas? We tend to dismiss this tale as a simplistic allegory, but should remember that this came out at the time when Sartre and Camus were producing their most important work. I don't think Hemingway was out-of-touch with the French literary movement of which he had always tried to remain a part.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Travis' Review, 11. Mai 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Old Man and the Sea (Taschenbuch)
If you like adventure, suspense, and excitement, then you should read "The Old Man and the Sea," by Ernest Hemingway. This book, The Old Man and the Sea, is a very great book. Even though is only one hundred twenty-seven pages, it still fully explains itself. It is a very easy read for sixth through eighth graders. The reason I say eighth graders too is because I am one. But not only they or I can read it, but everyone can. If you are an parent or adult, I recommend it for you to read it to your children. If you are a procrastinator, then a highly recommend it to you for a book report book. It has large words to a certain extent, but if it is a non-heard word, it will tell what is means. In this book Ernest Hemingway uses a lot of figurative language. It was published in 1954, and won a Nobel Prize for Literature. It is one of the best classical novels written by Ernest Hemingway. It describes everything in detail so it is easy for you to picture what it looks like. If you were to read this book you could maybe understand figurative language clearer. This book is basically about a eighty-five year old man that goes out to sea and all different things happen to him while he is out there. Because of what he did it made him famous and everyone respected him for that. I hope that you would enjoy this as much as I did. If you are a Christian, like me, I think will help you to be a Christian because the old man never gave up and always prayed and ask God for help. If you are not a Christian than it still would be a good book for you to read.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Forced to read a good book: what a problem!, 18. Januar 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Old Man and the Sea (Taschenbuch)
If you stopped and thought about what exactly it is that you are complaining about maybe you wouldn't be complaining at all. Is it the fact that one of the most complete, most respected pieces of work from one of greatest men to ever pick up a pen is not full of flashing lights, hard hitting bass beats, and hot steamy kisses? Is it the fact that you were made to think, that someone cares about your intelligence enough to wrench you away from your Rogue Spear or your Instant Messeging just long enough to see that people could sit, enthrawled and trapped by their lust for something fourty years before CD-ROMs? If you hated reading The Old Man and the Sea, if it was a torturous task indeed, go deep sea fishing for giant marlin with nothing but the same heroism, heart, and primitive tools your ancestors have been using since the creation of man. What do you plan to do? Do you think billions of people will still know your work and still celebrate your birth almost 40 years after you die? In case the cliff's notes didn't say so, Hemingway is still one of the most celebrated creatures to ever walk. So I hope your little brain doesn't ache so badly after being forced to think and contemplate something farther away than a monitor you would have to go 12 hours without jumping back online to pretend you are doing something important. And I certainly hope you will never be forced into such a horrid position, one in which you will be forced to appreciate, or at least tolerate not being flakey and shallow for just long enought to read a 130 page book.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 226 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Old Man and the Sea
Old Man and the Sea von Ernest Hemingway (Gebundene Ausgabe - September 1977)
Gebraucht & neu ab: EUR 12,71
Auf meinen Wunschzettel Zahlungsmöglichkeiten ansehen
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen