Kundenrezensionen


464 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (150)
4 Sterne:
 (141)
3 Sterne:
 (88)
2 Sterne:
 (55)
1 Sterne:
 (30)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Classic Whodunnit with a Twist of Forbidden Love
Like most books I read, this one was recommended by a friend. I had no idea what it was about and knew nothing about David Guterson. In addition, had just finished reading the incredible "Memoirs of a Geisha"and knew that the next book I read would have a hard time keeping my attention. That being the case, I wasn't all that excited when I started with Cedars...
Veröffentlicht am 4. Februar 2000 von Jason Chan

versus
2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Beautifully written, but....
When I started reading this book I was enthralled with the prose the theme and the descriptive talents of the writer. It starts with a sensitive teenage love affair, moves on to a historically accurate treatment of the Japanese Americans citizens who were rounded up and interned at the beginning of World War II. When the war ends, the tale moves on to a mysterious...
Veröffentlicht am 30. Juli 2000 von R. Maynard


‹ Zurück | 1 247 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Beautifully written, but...., 30. Juli 2000
Von 
R. Maynard (Epsom, New Hampshire United States) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Snow Falling on Cedars: A Novel (Vintage Contemporaries) (Taschenbuch)
When I started reading this book I was enthralled with the prose the theme and the descriptive talents of the writer. It starts with a sensitive teenage love affair, moves on to a historically accurate treatment of the Japanese Americans citizens who were rounded up and interned at the beginning of World War II. When the war ends, the tale moves on to a mysterious death at sea of a veteran fisherman.
A grand jury finds that a decorated Japanese American soldier returning from the European War theatre, is culpable in the fisherman's death and hands down a indictment of murder. A trial follows and it appears that there is little doubt in the minds of the citizens that the heroic veteran did indeed commit the murder.
As the trial phase unfolded, I began to have doubts: the author had done such a wonderful job up to this point, but the story was obviously winding down ---- a story that deserved a great ending. But, that was not to be: the ending wimped out. Additional evidence, introduced to the trial judge in his chambers, provides reasonable doubt and ends the case.
Aw shucks, gosh, gee whiz, couldn't there have been some evil character who tried to frame the heroic veteran for some devious reason?
Well ---- maybe I expected too much.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen All in all: OK!, 15. Februar 2001
Von Ein Kunde
The book tells a story about racism expressed by a murder trial in which the accused Japanese man is - of course- innocent. The unfair trial is burdened with prejudices of Americans who all served in WWII and just want one of their old enemies to suffer. While the story gets more interesting, the trial becomes more obscure by the complicated relationships between some of the involved. I have to confess, that I was bored by the fact that the reader knows right from the start that the accused cannot be the murderer because otherwise people's prejudices would be backed up. I think that the emotions of war-time, racism but also romance and love are very well described, but some of the countryside descriptions going on for pages can bore you to death! To make it short: interesting, ambitious plot and constellation of the involved groups and opinions, but a boring and time-consuming way to tell you what's going on. All in all: OK !
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
2.0 von 5 Sternen Very descriptive, very very descriptive and descriptive, 31. Mai 2005
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Snow Falling On Cedars. (Taschenbuch)
By now you know I think this book is very descriptive. They say this is very good for a first timer. Maybe so. However one trick writers use is to write a full background on each character to keep from having conflicts later and to help with keeping them from looking two dimensional. However it is not necessary to print the entire bio on someone before they even say "HI." Some description of the environment fills out a picture. Too much description obscures the story like snow falling on cedars. And it is O.K to throw in a "red herring? now and then to augment the clues. It is annoying to throw in tons of details that are not relevant to the story.
If you like lots of fluff around your mystery and find the fluff more important then who-done-it, then you will like this book.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Classic Whodunnit with a Twist of Forbidden Love, 4. Februar 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Snow Falling on Cedars: A Novel (Vintage Contemporaries) (Taschenbuch)
Like most books I read, this one was recommended by a friend. I had no idea what it was about and knew nothing about David Guterson. In addition, had just finished reading the incredible "Memoirs of a Geisha"and knew that the next book I read would have a hard time keeping my attention. That being the case, I wasn't all that excited when I started with Cedars. The first 50 or so pages are on the dry side, but set the stage for the trial. To be honest, I almost gave up on the book, but persevered and was glad that things really picked up shortly after that.
STYLE: Guterson has a fairly elegant writing style and does a good job weaving the flashbacks into and out of the main storyline. It's fair to say that about 1/2 of the book is flashback and it Guterson seamlessly leads the reader in and out of the past with little effort.
FLOW: As I mentioned earlier, the book begins with the trial and gives us a taste of things to come. As I progressed further into the book, I gained some real insights into Ishmael Chambers' emotional and moral dilemmas. Guterson also makes Hatsue a real tough nut to crack, all the way til the end, which makes the book that much more suspenseful. Dialog is a bit heavy at times, and is a bit confusing in the first couple of chapters as new characters are introduced during the trial. Personally, I found the deluge bordering on overwhelming and liked how they were less invovled in the the recent movie.
CHARACTER DEVELOPMENT: Boy, there is character development galore here. We see the main characters grow up from kids to adults and from youthful innocence to mature decision-makers. The trying circumstances of the plot would put extraordinary strains on regular people, and it takes a tremendous step in terms of maturity to overcome their tabooness of forbidden love(!) I breathed a sigh of "wow, he actually did it" when Ishmael finally learns to accept reality. Hatsue -- I think she still has unresolved issues, but that's a topic for another discussion.
OVERALL: It took a while to get going, but I did enjoy Cedars. Not as much as "Memoirs of a Geisha," but it's still a solid effort in its own right. If you're thinking about watching the movie, be prepared to lower your expectations as it doesn't do justice to Guterson's prose.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Never Mind The Hype, 2. Juni 1998
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Snow Falling on Cedars (Gebundene Ausgabe)
I appreciated this book because many of its elements appeal to my taste as a reader: copious detail in setting, multiple characters developed, courtroom drama, etc. I believe it was a compelling and well-written novel. However, the book is not perfect and is NOT on the level of "To Kill A Mockingbird." Guterson's imagery was somewhat more mellow than I would have used, especially at the outset, which sets the pace for the entire novel. It wasn't exactly vivid, even though it was trying to be as visual and sense-oriented as possible. The mellow and hardworking life of a small Northwestern town is captured in good-quality descriptions, but they are neither especially vibrant nor unforgettable. I enjoyed the multiple settings and rounded vision, but Guterson would have done better to narrow his scope. His themes--young love, war, racism, predjudice, accountability, morality, loss--are tied together adquately, but fail to form the seamless whole I expected from such an acclaimed novel. Each setting is effectively handled (perhaps the Japanese camp is portrayed the least adequately), but each also fails to fully unite around one common theme. Everything tries to lead up to Ishmael's decision, but some of the paths are wandering to say the least. That's OK if the separate paths stand on their own and make useful plot or character points by themselves, but I felt there were points when the author was just talking about things because he could. The novel reads like a movie, complete with close-ups, flashbacks, literary "snapshots" of the town and its inhabitants, and the final "plot twist." And like any good movie, this book needs an editor. If it were to be made a movie in present form, without any cuts, it would require especially attractive and talented actors to draw us in. Overall, I liked the book, but it wasn't unique enough to stand as one of my all-time favorites. "Catch-22" was meandering as well, but the style was so intriguing that I couldn'! t stop reading it. The style in "Snow" was good as far as novels go, but it was not nearly distinctive enough to stand out in my memory.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen A High School Student's Review, 17. Januar 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Snow Falling on Cedars: A Novel (Vintage Contemporaries) (Taschenbuch)
I read Snow Falling on Cedars for an English class at my high school. We examined the novel's characters, use of symbolism, meaning, and structure for our class, and I think we gained a good understanding of the book. The story is set on a small island off the coast of Washington during the 1950's. It centers on the trial of Kabuo Miyamoto, a Japanese man who is being tried for the first degree murder of a fellow fisherman named Carl Heine. The book is not a courtroom drama, however. The wife of the accused, Hatsue Miyamoto, and the local reporter, Ishmael Chambers, at one time were high school sweethearts who were torn apart by the Japanese internment during World War II. Through a series of flashbacks, we learn about their relationship and how it ended. Ironically, Ishmael discovers evidence that will set Kabuo free, but he is still bitter about his past with Hatsue, and he struggles with his conscience. This is not a simple story, and it becomes confusing at times because of the flashbacks, which sometimes are inside other flashbacks. It is more historical fiction than anything else, and it brings to light a period in America's history that is not usually remembered fondly. Personally, I was kind of bored with the book at times, and the courtroom scenes were a little bit too long for me. The ending seemed to be trying to be a moral lesson, but it barely pulled it off. Altogether, I'd say that while I didn't dislike the book, I probably wouldn't have made it through the first five chapters if I had been reading it outside of school.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen An okay read, 27. Juni 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Snow Falling on Cedars (Gebundene Ausgabe)
I read this book after hearing about the movie coming out with the same title. I connected with the characters, and this connection carried me through the several slow moving parts of the story. The descriptive writing was a little too much for my taste, but it served it's purpose well in several scenes, mainly where the characters were actively involved with each other. All in all, I was a little dissapointed, but also entertained.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3.0 von 5 Sternen The Search for Justice and the Lustful Passions of Love, 18. Mai 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Snow Falling on Cedars: A Novel (Vintage Contemporaries) (Taschenbuch)
Snow Falling on Cedars by David Guterson is a well written, finely drafted novel incorporating two distinctive themes into one tightly woven plot. The issues of justice and the passions of love are explored and contrased in explicit detail. Though the plot is well-thought out and written with calculated precision the general ideals, can at times, seem overwhelming and even superflous. Often the reader is pummlled with a single concept, though an important one, to the point where he or she rapidly loses interest in continuing further. The reader is placed into a position where he or she must continue read, as dreadful as this may be, in order to access and throughly understand more appealing portions of the text. The novel is written in such a manner as to offer the reader extraordinary insight into the past relationships of the characters, which is essential to the plot. At times, the sheer number of flashbacks well exceeds any reasonable threshhold of tolerable redundancy. If the reader manages to circumvent these unsavory flashbacks while retaining a sound understanding of the plot, his or her chances of deriving pleasure from reading the novel are vastly improved. In all, Guterson has authored a rather worthy piece of literature, even after recognizing it's many shortcomings. One such notable shortcoming is the ending which fails to provide the reader with an adaquate sense of resolution. After sifting through so much preliminary hype this is a major and entirely unnecessay disappointment. As far as novels go Snow Falling on Cedars is unlikely to be deemed classic in either its content or its style, however it remains well worth reading. If nothing else it will expose the reader to a fantastic tale fo love, passion, and condemption that he or she is unlikely to be introduced to anywhere else.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3.0 von 5 Sternen Snow Falling on Cedars, 7. April 2000
Von 
Dan Allen (Bobville, The middle of nowhere) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Snow Falling on Cedars: A Novel (Vintage Contemporaries) (Taschenbuch)
Snow Falling on Cedars takes place shortly after World War II, in 1954 just off the coast of Washington. A Japanese man, Kabuo Miyomoto, is on trial for murder and David Guterson does an excellent job illustrating how prejudice affects the trial. He shows how a quiet, well-respected man can be put on trial for his life with the strongest evidence against him being the color of his skin. You see a U.S. war veteran treated as less than human because of this. It also shows how patience, persistence, and the undying belief that one is right can prevail in the end. It was great to see how Ishmael and Hatsue were able to persevere in a tough situation. I was really stunned, when I read this book, to find out how prejudiced people were at the time, nearly ten years after the war had ended. You were able to feel all this because of the excellent way that Guterson developed the characters. The way this was done was interesting. You would find out about the characters through a series of flashbacks. In my opinion this seemed to disrupt the flow of the story at times, when you would be in the middle of the trial and all of a sudden with only one sentence of transition you would be right in the middle of a flashback. Although it was hard for me to really get in to the story at times, I will admit that the structure is strong and that it was the only way to link all those different events together into one cohesive story. At times though, it is almost fun to not have the background. It allows you as a reader to try and figure out exactly what is going on. As I said earlier, I thought the character development throughout the story was excelent. There was only one character I would have liked to know more about. That was Kabuo. He is a very quiet person who keeps to himself, and none of the story is told from his point of view. As a result of this, the reader was kept in the dark as to exactly what kind of person he is. This was a good book, but I would only reccomend it if you are a patient reader, who enjoys trying to figure out the missing pieces of the puzzle as you read.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen A Novel Well Done, 9. März 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Snow Falling on Cedars: A Novel (Vintage Contemporaries) (Taschenbuch)
Snow Falling on Cedars is a book that offers a little something for everyone. I enjoyed it a lot, for a variety of reasons. Some think it is the best thing they ever read while others see it as a waste of time. To me, this is a story about the tragedy of a man who cannot come to terms with the loss of a childhood sweetheart. Not everyone enjoys a story with a concentrated theme such as this, but the truth is this is only one of the many themes offered in Gutterson's novel. In the novel you can find themes such as racism, bigotry, love and legal affairs, and even loneliness. The themes are so broad in this novel, there truly is something for everyone to enjoy. I myself am a freshman in college, and it was my job to read, understand, and present to my peers this novel. Well in no way was this task a job, but more along the lines of an enjoyable experience. This is just one of those books that while reading, you just can't stop. Gutterson's attention to detail really made this novel shine. It is a difficult task to really provide the details necessary for the reader to really feel the events taking place, but Gutterson accomplishes this beautifully. Sometimes I would reread a paragraph two or three times, so I could fully appreciate the beauty of Gutterson's prose and sheer awe of his keen sense and observation of people. Descriptive passages in this novel are absolutely brilliant. The setting in this novel is described with so much detail you can't help to think either you're there, or you know exactly what it would be like to be there. The reference to the snow in this book is placed so perfectly and connects so well with the issues in the novel it is absolutely amazing. The best example of the placement of the snow, is the simple idea that the horrible snowstorm would not stop until the truth came out regarding the trial. The way Gutterson set this up was perfect. In a way, just by observing the mention of weather in this book, you could almost predict where the book was at and where it was going. Gutterson's characters in this novel are so complex, it is quite a task figuring them out. It is this complexity that makes these characters so likable and dislikable at the same time. While reading this novel, one can't help but begin to develop feelings and emotions towards them. Gutterson's creates characters with so much depth you feel as if every new detail is completely necessary for understanding the character. A key aspect of making this book so enjoyable, is the fact that the reader does not just feel as if they know the main characters, for Gutterson provides us with enough information to figure out the society as a whole. This feature of the novel puts it on a whole new level, as far as I am concerned. Many books out there, you feel as if there is no attention paid to the surroundings and the people whom occupy it, but not this book. The descriptions in this book spare no expense. One almost feels as if they can understand the society as a whole and even picture what the snow looks like falling on surrounding cedar trees. It is this attention to detail such as this, which makes this book so enjoyable. Gutterson truly created a masterpiece with Snow Falling on Cedars. I myself am not the most avid reader, so in result I am not much of a critic. As far as I am concerned this book had no down sides. I found myself not being able to put the book down, I completed it faster than any other novel I had ever been exposed to. I probably could have completed the novel even faster if I was not to have wanted to read every paragraph two if not three times. I highly recommend the novel to who ever enjoys a story full of beautiful ideas. Although the ending is predictable, trust me it is the ending that the entire book you hold out for. This was an extremely good read, and I am confident you will all agree.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 247 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Snow Falling on Cedars: A Novel (Vintage Contemporaries)
Snow Falling on Cedars: A Novel (Vintage Contemporaries) von David Guterson (Taschenbuch - 26. September 1995)
EUR 11,60
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen