Kundenrezensionen


55 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (31)
4 Sterne:
 (14)
3 Sterne:
 (8)
2 Sterne:
 (1)
1 Sterne:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


9 von 9 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen A Great Book
Recently, in my eighth grade English class, we read To Kill a Mockingbird, by Harper Lee. During our study of the 1930's in Alabama we were assigned to read another book by an African American author. I chose A Raisin the Sun because my mom recommended it. Lorraine Hansberry's A Raisin in the Sun written in 1959 is an intriguing, must read play. This play shows the...
Am 19. Mai 2000 veröffentlicht

versus
3.0 von 5 Sternen It is a book that makes us appreciate what we have.
Of all the books I have read, I would have to say that, A Raisin In The Sun, is not the best book I have read but it is not the worst. What I liked most about this novel is the fact that it is a very realistic story. Many of the things that occur in it are real life situations. I like stories that have real life situations in them because I sometimes can relate to...
Am 30. November 1998 veröffentlicht


‹ Zurück | 1 26 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

9 von 9 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen A Great Book, 19. Mai 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: A Raisin in the Sun (Taschenbuch)
Recently, in my eighth grade English class, we read To Kill a Mockingbird, by Harper Lee. During our study of the 1930's in Alabama we were assigned to read another book by an African American author. I chose A Raisin the Sun because my mom recommended it. Lorraine Hansberry's A Raisin in the Sun written in 1959 is an intriguing, must read play. This play shows the strength of an African-American family's values and ability to stick together. They face many hard things that shock the reader and the audience including an accidental pregnancy. They battle against harsh prejudice and a system that attempts to keep them from having good opportunities to improve their life. Hansberry does a good job of intertwining family hardships with the individuality of each character. She develops each character personally and carries on his or her traits through out the entire book. The attitude she takes towards the great struggles of a Chicago family, Walter, Ruth, Mama, Beneatha and Travis Younger is convincing because of her tone and description. She shows that life for an African American person at this time is difficult and full of obstacles more challenging than the ones that white people faced. Although A Raisin in the Sun takes place 29 years after To Kill a Mockingbird, African American people are still treated with no respect and are limited in their rights. Both stories constantly demolish African-American families' dreams. Hansberry illustrates through her tone that the family life is rough and the Youngers' are eager for a big change. This action in the plot causes excitement and suspense. As a reader I constantly want the Younger family to over come their challenges and do well in the future. In the same way, In To Kill A Mockingbird I was always hoping that Tom Robinson would be freed. Although there are similarities in the way black people are treated in both books, Lorraine Hansberry as a black author develops her black characters more thoroughly than Harper Lee. Lorraine Hansberry leaves her white characters to roles that are minor. I like this play because it is realistic and shows how strong a family bond is no matter what comes between them. She really showed how the Youngers' were struggling financially but still managed to succeeded all of the obstacles in their way.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


7 von 7 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Amazing, 19. Mai 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: A Raisin in the Sun (Taschenbuch)
The play, A Raisin in the Sun by Lorraine Hansberry was awonderful piece of writing. I'm a fourteen year old and I thinkthat the book is good for most ages but you need to be at least 12 to fully understand it. I read this book while reading To Kill A Mockingbird, by Harper Lee. It was interesting to read those books at the same time to see the points of view of racism of both sides. I noticed something very similar in both books. The Black people are always very welcoming and polite to the white people. In To Kill a Mockingbird, Tom Robinson was always willing to help Mayella Ewell with chores. In A Raisin in the Sun, when the man came from the welcoming committee, they were very polite to him and invited him into their home. Little did they know that they would be rejected even though they were very courteous. That happened in both books. In A Raisin in the Sun, it seemed like their race was holding them back from accomplishing their dreams. When Mama bought the house for her family, they were all brutally rejected by the community. This upset the family very much. Walter says, "Maybe---maybe I'll just get down on my black knees,Captain Mistuh, Bossman. A-hee-hee-hee! Yasssuh! Great White Father, just gi' ussen de money, fo' God's sake, and we's ain't gwine come out deh and dirty up yo' white folks neighborhood..." When he says this it is a very dramatic part of the play. It shows how white people are controlling so much that goes on. They can't live in a house they want to live in. It seems like the white people are perceived as some kind of royalty in the book. Like queens and kings, they are not anything special but were just born into the "right" family. Unlike royalty, it's not the name they inherit but the color of their skin. I think this book was a great book to read. It showed me that in America you didn't always have a fair chance and social mobility used to be a lost cause for African-Americans. All of the people who lived in that crummy apartment had a dream but because of their skin color, their dreams were shattered. Either they wouldn't be taken seriously, or not welcomed, or given no choice but to take a low paying job doing unskilled things. I thought it was a great book because it was so realistic. There was suspense and most of all it was a book that really made me think.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen First Rate Characters, 21. Februar 2000
Von 
A. Matsen (USA) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
I LOVED this play. It's characters we're brilliantly created. My favorite was by far Beneatha. This play demands emotional involvement. You can't help feeling depressed for the plight of the family because the characters are so REAL! Of all the plays we've read in my AP English class this is by far the best. It seemed very Shakespearian (another timeless playwrite) in its excellent characterization, wittisisms, and shifts between funny and tragic scenes. I'm glad the family was victorious in the end because I didn't want to go to sleep depressed (and I would have been, the book is THAT good). Lorraine Hansbury has earned every star with this play.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Complete Edition - Interesting Text, 20. Januar 2012
Von 
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: A Raisin in the Sun (Taschenbuch)
This play about the life of a black familiy in South Chicago after the Second World War shows different aspects of this kind of living, as it makes up marginalized communities everywhere in the world and it has influenced the reading and writing of so-called black literature since its first abbridged staging.

In the foreword we get information about the reasons for the abbridgements and then the complete text as it has been written and revised by the authoress. The book finishes with a short biography of Lorraine Hansberry.

Certainly an important play about the petits bourgeoises - no matter the color of the skin - of the 1950s in the USA.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5 von 6 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Klein aber fein - ein echter Reclam, 19. Januar 2013
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Ich habe diese Ausgabe von "A Raisin in the Sun" für den Englischunterricht verwendet, weil sie die einzige vollständige und annotierte Ausgabe ist. Für die Schüler ist das kleine Format praktisch, da heutzutage ja Schultaschen uncool sind und Reclams eben auch noch in die kleinste Handtasche passen. Außerdem finden sich im Buch etliche zusätzliche Informationen zu Autorin und Werk. Einziger Nachteil: alle Unterrichtsmaterialien beziehen sich auf andere Ausgaben, so dass man die Quellenangaben im Reclam neu suchen muss.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A beautifull Masterwork!, 7. Januar 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: A Raisin in the Sun (Taschenbuch)
This book outlines a colorful premise on the life of an African American family and describes their fight for their dreams.Schools have been using this play to get students reading and give them different perpectives.I think this book is for all.Some language...but it's not like no one has heard any badmouthing anyway.I think that it is just a really really really good play too and that Lorraine Hansberry did a good job just weaving everything together.You can really relate to this story with the dilemmas and questions it rises.And it's not like anything of a complicated story either, you can really decipher it.And last I believe the author wrote from her heart, exprssing herself through her work majestically.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Sehr gut, 14. April 2013
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Das Buch hat mir gut gefallen - besonders die Art und Weise wie die Dialoge dargestellt werden und ganz besonders die vielen Übersetzungen sind hervorragend
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen A Rasin In The Sun, 19. Mai 2000
Von 
xenia (San Francisco, California) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
Rezension bezieht sich auf: A Raisin in the Sun (Taschenbuch)
TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD BY HARPER LEE, about a white family having to deal with the problems of racism. A RAISIN IN THE SUN BY LORRAINE HASSNBERRY, about a black family having to deal with the problems of racism. Both books were read in my eighth grade English class and both books are related by one main idea, racism. Both books were based after World War 2, TKM in the South and ARITS in the North where racism was very alive and controlled by the white man. In ARITS the family wanted to move so they could have a comfortable life, but when they bought a house it turned out by being in an all white neighborhood. There is some discussion about not moving. In TKM if Tom Robinson and his family wanted to move into a white neighborhood there would be more than discussion there would be a decision that there would be no chance of them getting out of his black neighborhood because he would be hanged and tortured. In To Kill A Mockingbird there is a very powerful father, Atticus, who is like Mama in A Raisin In The Sun both have connections with powerless men who finally rise to the top, by becoming strong and believing in themselves. Walter Younger (ARITS) is a very stubborn black man trying to make a comfortable living for his family when Karl Linder, a representative from the white community, enters the families life and tells them that it is not a smart idea to move Walter gets very emotional and upset but finally stand up for his family. Tom Robinson has been accused of Rape of a white woman, at the time racism was very alive, even though there was not enough evidence to prove that he was guilty, and since there was an all white jury, Tom didn't stand a chance of being proven innocent. Harper Lee is a white woman writing about a white family having to struggle in a world dominated by the WHITE MAN. It seems as though Ms. Lee has hope for blacks, she shows that in the book by having Tom Robinson's trial. She knows that blacks have a chance and that they should never try to give up. Loraine Hasenberry is a black woman writing about a struggling black family who has given up hope in a world of white supremacists. In the book her characters reflected upon her thoughts by giving up hope of ever becoming anything. I definitely recommend this book to anyone who shows an interest in plays about segregation in the 1900's. I had a great time reading it and I hope you do too!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen A Good Look At Racism, 16. Mai 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: A Raisin in the Sun (Taschenbuch)
All in all, this book was a lot better than I thought it would be. Lorraine Hansberry's A Raisin in the Sun is an excellent story about the events of a black family in Chicago. It was originally a play, so the entire book is set in script form. I enjoyed this form because the book contained more talking and less description, thus allowing the book to move along a lot faster. The main event which occurs in the book is when the family of 5 (grandmother, mother, father, son, aunt) recieve a check worth $10,000 from their grandfather's life insurance. The author conveys to the reader how each character reacts to the money and what they want to do with it. Hansberry also describes the world that the family lives in. Their world is racist, hard to succed in and full of hate. The world, along with Hansberry's excellent writing, is comparible to Harper Lee's To Kill a Mockingbird. While I was reading A Raisin in the Sun, my eighth grade class was also studying To Kill a Mockingbird. I found myself constantly comparing these two books. In A Raisin in the Sun, the point of view is that of a black person, Hansberry. Because of her ethnicity and of the time she wrote the book, her point of view is different from Lee's. Hansberry believes that black people do not have any hope in a white man's world. In To Kill a Mockingbird, the point of view is that of a white person, Lee. Lee wrote this book during the 50's, about when the civil rights movement was really starting to get strong. Lee was in support of the blacks, so she wrote a book which showed hope for them. If To Kill a Mockingbird were written by a black person, the point of view would be completely different and the message would be that of A Raisin in the Sun. Both of these books are extremely good and well written. A Raisin in the Sun is a great book about racism from a black person's point of view. I enjoyed this book a lot, and I recommend it to everybody.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen A Raisin in the Sun, 15. Mai 2000
Von 
Rezension bezieht sich auf: A Raisin in the Sun (Taschenbuch)
A Raisin in the Sun, written by Lorraine Hansberry ,is by far one of the best books have read yet. The setting is in the mid-1900's in the Southside of Chicago. The main focus of this book occurs around a poor black family in a poor black community, the Younger's. Hansberry does a great job of using dialect to make the scenes quite realistic and uses quite a bit of symbolism, irony, motifs, and situations that involve making decisions where you become stuck between a rock and a hard place. The book starts off with Walter Younger's obsession with his mother's insurance check so he can become a true entrepeneur and invest in his own liquor store. Since religion played a vital role in Mama's reaction to this sinful act it really damaged Walter's hopes and dreams. Later in the book Mama finally decides to give Walter the money and leaves him with the responsibility of taking care of the family, this is where the rising action begins. Then the climax hits when Walter finds out that the money he gave to his partner is gone. This leaves Walter and the rest of the family in a sudden feeling of disillusionment. Then as things cool down Walter and the rest of the family decide to go ahead and move into the all white neighborhood. The rest of the story is jam packed with racial, religious, economic, and even feministical motifs that aid in the release of all the true tensions in the novel, between characters, which Hansberry purposely relates to the reality of the way society really is. Her purpose for writing this book was to show the way society worked and to make it apparent how hard life was for a poor black family. Overall I really enjoyed this book. It had alot of realistic elements , enough to make the reader stay interested and more. The plot is dramatic and ends ironically. I gave this book 4 stars because it had all the elements of a good book it just did not have the ending I was expecting. I recommend this book to anyone looking for a easy reading book that contains alot of real life situations and the struggle of a poor black family just trying to "move on up", just like the Jefferson's just without all the funny jokes.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 26 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

A Raisin in the Sun
A Raisin in the Sun von Lorraine Hansberry (Taschenbuch - 29. November 2004)
EUR 5,60
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen