Kundenrezensionen


30 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (18)
4 Sterne:
 (5)
3 Sterne:
 (4)
2 Sterne:
 (1)
1 Sterne:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Fascinating!
What makes this book so intense is that you know it's real. It is well written, descriptive without being overbearing and detatched enough to give you a fair perspective. The movie runs along similar lines as the book, except the method of execution, and the book delves into far more detail, as you would expect. Although an anti-death penalty activist, Helen Prejean...
Veröffentlicht am 30. Juni 2000 von David Segrove

versus
2 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Sehr interessant aber teilweise langatmig
Helen Prejeans Buch ist insgesamt sehr interessant geschrieben wobei mir vor allem die Argumente, die sie zum Thema Todesstrafe erwähnt sehr gut gefallen haben, denn sie haben mich zum Nachdenken angeregt und werden mir in eventuellen Streitgeprächen sehr nützlich sein. Allerdings wurden eben diese Passagen, in denen sie fast ausschließlich Tatsachen...
Am 22. Januar 2001 veröffentlicht


‹ Zurück | 1 2 3 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Fascinating!, 30. Juni 2000
Von 
David Segrove "DinA" (Scottsdale, AZ United States) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Dead Man Walking: The Eyewitness Account of the Death Penalty That Sparked a National Debate (Vintage) (Taschenbuch)
What makes this book so intense is that you know it's real. It is well written, descriptive without being overbearing and detatched enough to give you a fair perspective. The movie runs along similar lines as the book, except the method of execution, and the book delves into far more detail, as you would expect. Although an anti-death penalty activist, Helen Prejean has not written a anti-death penalty book. It's a straightforward narrative that draws the reader in and doesn't let go. She is a very talented lady and you feel a huge respect for what she does. Very compelling reading.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Informativ, aber traurig....., 15. November 2001
Wir mussten dieses Buch im Englischunterricht lesen, und haben dabei intensiv über die Todesstrafe geredet.
Dieses Buch bietet viele Informationen über die Todesstrafe in Amerika, die Gefühle der agierenden Personen, ob es nun die Eltern der Opfer sind, oder Patrick Sonnier, der angebliche Mörder.
Dieses Buch ist ein Bericht, kein Roman, Helen Prejean schreibt über sich selbst, wie si erst Brieffreundin von P. Sonnier wurde, ihn kennenlernte und später versuchte zu retten.
Dieses Buch empfehle ich besonders kritischen Leuten, die auch bereit sind sich mit diesem grausigen Thema einzulassen, es ist eine wunderbare Erfahrung.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Humanity on Death Row, 22. Juni 2000
Von 
S. Gluskin (Philadelphia) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Dead Man Walking: The Eyewitness Account of the Death Penalty That Sparked a National Debate (Vintage) (Taschenbuch)
Nonfiction book by a Catholic nun about her work as spiritual advisor to two death row inmates in Louisiana. It's a gripping and moving personal tale about her calling to connect with the humanity and pain of people who have caused great pain to others. Motivated me to want to get involved in anti-death penalty activities.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Much more powerful than the movie, 29. Dezember 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Dead Man Walking: The Eyewitness Account of the Death Penalty That Sparked a National Debate (Vintage) (Taschenbuch)
I started reading this book one night, and couldn't put it down for hours. It's full of information, and really makes you think, no matter what your point of view. It's also very moving; some parts brought me to tears. Although I saw the movie a couple of years ago, it had much less effect on me than the book did. Highly recommended!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen It changed my mind!, 22. November 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Dead Man Walking: The Eyewitness Account of the Death Penalty That Sparked a National Debate (Vintage) (Taschenbuch)
I had the pleasure of meeting sister Helen quite a few times, and she was an inspiring woman. I have to admit, that before meeting her I had no interest in reviewing my opinion on the death penelty, but after sitting through a few seminars of hers, i decided to read the book. What I found was an inspiring account of friendship between Helen and the inmates, and Helen and the families of the victims. This book rang with truth. It was very informative as well. After reading the book and meeting the amazing woman behind it, I began going to candlelight vigils at Angola(the prison in the book), the night of execution. I now believe completely in her cause, and reccomend this book to anyone who is at all interested in capital punishment, or even human nature.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen An Awakening of the Conscience, 29. September 1999
Von 
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Dead Man Walking: The Eyewitness Account of the Death Penalty That Sparked a National Debate (Vintage) (Taschenbuch)
When I started reading this book some years ago, I was staunchly for the death penalty. On the other side, I was staunchly opposed. Such is the power and vibrancy of Helen Prejean's writing. She takes you inside the prison walls, inside the mind of the men who commit these desperate acts, the lives they've destroyed by these acts, and the long trek out of the dark night of evil. For some, the journey ends in forgiveness, for others in a hatred and an emptiness. This book will make this sort of crime and punishment real to anyone that reads it, and whatever opinion formed afterwards will be a better-informed one.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen A very unique and interesting view of capital punishment., 15. Februar 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Dead Man Walking: The Eyewitness Account of the Death Penalty That Sparked a National Debate (Vintage) (Taschenbuch)
I read this book 1 year ago. After reading it, I had to watch the movie. This is a very different story. I almost thought that the man was wrongly accused. It was very unpredictable and unlike other books, it ended sad in a realistic manner. It was very well written and I managed to get alot of insights from it. I feel myself in the prisoner's shoes, very scary and nowhere to run. I give it 4 stars for it gave me an emotional high after reading it. Very well written.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Shows American hypocrasy at its finest., 7. Februar 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Dead Man Walking: The Eyewitness Account of the Death Penalty That Sparked a National Debate (Vintage) (Taschenbuch)
God bless Sister Prejean for coming out with the truth about this cruel and uncontrolled bloodbusiness. Maybe if more works were written on this subject people would see the light of how much hypocrasy and racism exists in the clemency proccess, furthermore one supported by the liberal governors, who claim to fight racism and discriminatory practices. In Texas we have executed more people in the years when Bush has been in office than than the rest of the union Most of these victims of the system made less than $10,000 a year and recieved little education. As stated in the book, an african-American man found guilty of a murder in Louisiana was three times more likely to get death than a white man. God bless America.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Bewegend und authentisch, 2. Februar 2014
Von Amazon bestätigter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Dead Man Walking: The Eyewitness Account of the Death Penalty That Sparked a National Debate (Vintage) (Taschenbuch)
So viel man sich auch vorher informiert hat, dieses Buch verrät mehr über die Grausamkeit der Todesstrafe als Zahlen es jemals könnten. Die Schuld der zwei von ihr begleiteten Insassen und die Brutalität der von ihnen verübten Taten hindern Helen Prejean nicht daran den Tätern mit Nächstenliebe zu begegnen und machen ihr Plädoyer gegen die Todesstrafe umso überzeugender.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen You got to read it!, 27. Januar 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Dead Man Walking: The Eyewitness Account of the Death Penalty That Sparked a National Debate (Vintage) (Taschenbuch)
It was one of the most powerful stories i have ever read. i have not seen the movie before, but the book was great. Sister Helen Prejean's outlook on the Death Penalty made me relate to her. I never really understood what the death penalty really stood for, now I know. i understand executions and the revenge and it is very VERY devastating. I am strongly against the Death Penalty due to moral issues and I believe EVERYONE should get there hands on a book like this. This is one of the greatest books i have ever read. I even shed a few tears when Pat Sonnier was died. it just didn't seem right at all. I hope everyone will read this book and enjoy just as much as I did. This is something you come by once in a lifetime.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 2 3 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst
ARRAY(0xa4345abc)

Dieses Produkt

Dead Man Walking: The Eyewitness Account of the Death Penalty That Sparked a National Debate (Vintage)
EUR 10,10
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen