Kundenrezensionen


31 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (29)
4 Sterne:
 (2)
3 Sterne:    (0)
2 Sterne:    (0)
1 Sterne:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 
‹ Zurück | 1 2 3 4 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

4 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen The best biography of this century, 27. Mai 2000
Peter the Great was a complex, even contradictory character. An all-powerful despot who preferred carpentry to war; a violent spouse-abuser who ensured his wife would rule as Autocrat after his death; a loving father who caused the death of his only son; Peter was all of these. Yet he was also a glittering figure on the international stage, a daredevil, a father to his people, and the most hated, respected, and loved man in Europe.
Who better to explain the psychology and the life of such a man than Robert Massie? Massie is a superb storyteller, capable of making even the most complex and abstruse points understandable to the average reader. He makes Peter come to life, not as a dry, dusty historical character but as a wonderfully alive, supremely dangerous man -- a man you'd love to meet but one you'd hate to have to live under.
I strongly recommend this book.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A biography that reads like an outstanding novel, 26. Juni 1998
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Peter the Great (Taschenbuch)
I was ridiculed by my friends when I exited a bookstore with a copy of Peter the Great in my hands. Ridicule all they want but after reading this gargantuan book I was certain this was the best book I had ever read. Massie's description of Peter's life and of Russian society in the early 1700 bring to life ghosts long since gone. Massie brings history to life, the friendships, the deceits, love affairs, diplomacy etc. Massie's Peter the Great is much more than the biography of one man, it tells the story of a country's transformation from one of the most backward states of Europe to one of it's forerunners. It also explains in great length the going ons all over Europe in the time of Peter. Peter the Great, always interesting, always fun to read, reads more like a novel than a biography. That's one reason why I always recommend it to people regardless of wether the person likes or loathes history.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen I Couldn't Put It Down, 10. Mai 2000
Von Ein Kunde
This book is a fascinating account of Russia's social and cultural awakening. The chapters covering Peter's tour of Europe and the war against Sweden contain a tremendous amount of detail, but the writing is never tedious. Besides telling you just about everything you'd want to know about Peter the Great, Massie gives a very poignant account of Charles XII of Sweden. If you want to understand how Russia became Westernized, this is a great place to start.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Superb, 29. Januar 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Peter the Great (Taschenbuch)
Rarely is a biography so exciting . . . but then not every subject is as passionate and interesting as Peter. It's a great ride watching Peter build Russia's navy from scratch, staging mock battles anywhere he can fit his ships, and eventually producing the greatest navy in the world (as well as an equally wonderful army). A story of a military genius, and a visionary who built St. Petersburg because of his hatred of Moscow. He was not without his flaws but the way he seems to have to no problem starting from the very bottom and working his way up (as he did in his own army) is very admirable. You won't be dissapointed with this one.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Detailed biography of an amazing ruler..., 2. Mai 2000
I read this book for a history report in college, and although when I saw the size of the book I almost chose someone else to research (the book is nearly 900 pages and I usually stick to fiction), I am so glad I stuck with it. Massie seems to have overlooked nothing in this expansive biography. After reading this book, I felt like I had a complete grasp on late 17th/early 18th century Europe, and I found myself telling my roomates anecdotes about Peter and his family. I also enjoyed the mini-biography of Charles of Sweden...I'll have to read a book about him next! Pick this one up- you'll love it!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A great book, 2. März 2000
An Exhaustive work on Russian History. I was absorbed in this book and brought back to the late 1600s and early 1700s. This book goes into such detail that you feel like you have lived through what you have read.It's like traveling in a time machine.You feel like you were a participant in thw war between Sweden and Russia. You feel like you know the life of Peter The Great as well as we know the life of Monica Liwinsky and Bill Clinton.A very Great Book.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen The most insightful and riveting book on Russia I've read., 17. Januar 1997
Von Ein Kunde
Robert Massie is a great historian who is an even better storyteller. This book sets Peter's life in the context of Russian and European history in a way that makes all three come to life. Massie's account of how Peter confronted the dread of "Swedish steel" is especially fascinating. A must read for anyone who is interested in Russia, or who wants to understand the way the world works.

Steve Godfrey (skooch@earthlink.net)
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Erstaunlich!, 10. Dezember 2013
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Ich habe dieses Buch in englischer Sprache gelesen.
Mein ältester Sohn, mein Mann und ich waren heute Abend zusammen und haben nur über den Author und sein Subjekt für einige Zeit gesprochen. Wir sind alle drei von dem Buch begeistert. Die Fülle der Details alleine ist erstaunlich. Aber was noch mehr erstaunlich ist, dass man davon nicht überwältigt wird. Massey versteht es zu faszinieren. Er ist ein geborener Erzähler und erreicht es sehr viele Fakten so zu verbinden dass sie verständlich werden.
Peter der Große wurde in diesem Buch für uns lebendig. Was für ein Mann. Ein Mann seiner Zeit und seines Volkes aber auch ein einzigartiger Mensch der hoch hinaus ragte und mit allen seinen Kräften sein Bestes tat sein Land zu verbessern. Die Methoden sind für modernes Denken natürlich nicht immer akzeptabel um es milde zu sagen, aber Peters Motivation ist verständlich.
Peter als Mensch und Herscher ist einfach gesagt erstaunlich, faszinierend und oft auch symphatisch.
Das ganze weite Spektrum des Buches erreicht auch dass man ein ganz anderes Verständnis der Politik und der Geschichte Russlands und Europas während der Zeit von Peter dem Großen erreicht.
Ich lese sehr viel, dies ist das erste Mal dass ich mich hinsetze und aus Begeisterung einen Bericht schreibe. Ich habe auf Deutsch geschrieben, da wir jetzt in Deutschland leben und wenig deutsche Bewertungen für dieses Buch gesehen haben.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen The Russian legend, 5. März 2012
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Peter the Great (Taschenbuch)
This is a well-written book that tells the story of the legendary Russian Czar and an era in ways that few other books have been able to door. It is written with a deep appreciation of facts and flows smoothly.Peter The Great's personality is well describes, his travels well told, his goals well articulated and the challenges he faced trying to realize them well exposed. I ended up knowing more about Russia,its history, culture and mind set in ways that I never imagined before and set me on the path of looking for other works that explain Russia to a foreigner better. It led me to The Union Moujik,The Master and the Marguarita. What we see as divisions in Russia today, or the broader Eastern Slavs are well explained.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen THE GOLD STANDARD, 16. Oktober 1999
Von 
Katherine F. Peake (Fredericksburg, TX United States) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
The standard against which ALL books should be measured. So well written, most other books pale by comparison. Paints a wonderfully rich and complete picture of Peter and his Russian empire. This book has everything; description, analysis, drama, and history. My life is richer for having read it.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 2 3 4 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Peter the Great: His Life and World (Modern Library)
Peter the Great: His Life and World (Modern Library) von Robert K. Massie (Gebundene Ausgabe - 18. September 2012)
EUR 18,10
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen