Kundenrezensionen


31 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (19)
4 Sterne:
 (5)
3 Sterne:
 (3)
2 Sterne:    (0)
1 Sterne:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


4 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Forget yoga--try Dr. Proust's exercises!
How Proust Can Change Your Life is an easy read and its themes ambulate like John Cleese in The Flying Circus, however their target is always met with utmost accuracy. This is a rich and insightful book. What could have been an incomprehensible abstract mosaic turns out to be a triumphant effort to bring together Proust's eccentric life with his prolific writing. De...
Am 11. Juli 2000 veröffentlicht

versus
3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen an unusual, original book
A reviewer wrote- "I'ts hard to imagine how Proust can change your life if you don't actually read Proust". That is true, but then on the other hand, never, while reading this book, did I get the impression that Alain de Botton was trying to replace Proust. I don't think he was trying to offer a guide to Proust, nor trying to write literary criticism or...
Veröffentlicht am 19. Juni 2000 von Cassandra


‹ Zurück | 1 2 3 4 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

4 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Forget yoga--try Dr. Proust's exercises!, 11. Juli 2000
Von Ein Kunde
How Proust Can Change Your Life is an easy read and its themes ambulate like John Cleese in The Flying Circus, however their target is always met with utmost accuracy. This is a rich and insightful book. What could have been an incomprehensible abstract mosaic turns out to be a triumphant effort to bring together Proust's eccentric life with his prolific writing. De Botton is able to touch on the paradoxical nature of humanity, alluding to the ambiguities of one of the greatest western novelists. De Botton's work is not a proscriptive self-help book. It is an account of a man struggling with life's triumphs and toils. It is a revealing account of Proust's struggles and the literature he produced as a result. De Botton never tells the reader how to deal with pain or loss, rather, he reads into his subject's life and humourously analyzies Proust's psyche. This is not an attempt to extemporize a pschology or philosophy that will enable us to deal with our vexing personal problems. It is a cogent attempt to open our minds to those problems and ambuguities that we may feel are abnormal, making them more normal. It is an intransigent work that is sanguine and lucid. A book full of irony and humor that I have read cover to cover and still pick up for a good laugh and pick-me-up. Highly recommended!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen an unusual, original book, 19. Juni 2000
A reviewer wrote- "I'ts hard to imagine how Proust can change your life if you don't actually read Proust". That is true, but then on the other hand, never, while reading this book, did I get the impression that Alain de Botton was trying to replace Proust. I don't think he was trying to offer a guide to Proust, nor trying to write literary criticism or anything like that: After finishing the book, the impression I got was that this is more a self-help book (and quite a witty and funny one, actually, much better than the usual saccharine-sweet self help books) and less a book about Proust. The good thing is that "How Proust can change your life" will probably give you an appetite for more Marcel Proust...and that has to do with the clarity and lightness of touch with which de Botton writes: you can't resist his admiration for Proust, even though you might have objections to the way he chose to express this admiration: but then who says that books about philosophy or about literature have to be dead serious and heavy? I think Alain de Botton has written an original book, a book that's a kind of experiment, as it combines self-help insights with good literature and important ideas. If you read this as such, as an interesting experiment which may bring more people to Proust, then you won't really be able to find any fault in the book.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Mere pleasure, deep issues, 7. Januar 2013
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
As Proust spent most of his time in his bed (reading, writing, ...) this might be a good place for the reader, too, to lay back and enjoy this beautiful book. It will stir you up though as it covers important questions of life, but practical ones, not the fuzzy type, and in a brilliant style. Reading this is like eating dark chocolate with high nutritional value. :-) And fun.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Amazing, 10. September 2007
One of the greatest books I've ever read.

It's intellectually stimulating, without pretending to be 'more Catholic than the Pope'. A clever and witty tribute to the grandmaster, rather than pure academic boasting.

This is a sublime source of inspiration and an ingenious page-turner.

I adore Proust. Nonetheless--and for that very reason--I thoroughly enjoyed it.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Wonderful, smart, a lover of books AND life, 8. Mai 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Not that De Botton needs my 5 stars, he seems to be a power force of his own. But I just closed this book and loved it from start to finish. It was witty, intelligent, joyous and very very much made me ready to go read the MAN. He achieved something miraculous for a frightened self-taught reader, he welcomed me into the world of Proust. For that I doff my cap.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Listening to Alain de Botton's Proust tapes changed my life, 27. März 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: How Proust..Change Yr Life(cas (Hörkassette)
And those of my friends, to whom I lent them. Perfectly recorded, and perfect for listening to in the car while confronting life's little obstacles: traffic, potholes, red lights, getting gas, etc. With the help of M. de Botton's guide to Proust, the path of life becomes clearer. A wonderful gift idea.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Roll uproll up, tickets for the great Proust adventure here, 16. März 2000
This book has been ludicrously dismissed as 'facile' by sniffy snobs. The dismaying fact remains that in this age of overcrowding media vying for our attention, you have to be pretty convincing to make people want to give a large chunk of their lives to a 4000 page novel about sponge cakes, silly aristocrats and sickly fops.
De Botton manages this with ease. His book is an excellent precis of Proustian concerns - time, love, friendship, literature - told in deceptively simple language masking thoroughness and complexity. His aren't the last words on these subjects, they are starting points which allow the virgin reader a map when starting on the vast terrain of A La Recherche.
His own prose is elegant, suggestive and sometimes very funny, while his emphasis on the personal is at the same time endearing, a way into the book, and true to Proust. He fills in his narrative with much biographical, historical and anecdotal matter, drawing on letters, newspapers, memoires, which are both illuminating and entertaining.
His own method is seemingly the opposite of Proust's, immediately lucid and precise, but the form of his book follows the Proustian pattern, whereby the book heading in one direction turns in on itself, becomes a book about itself, its own creation, even negating itself as it tells us to abandon Proust if we want to be true to the spirit of Proust.
The book isn't perfect - sometimes the prose is a little TOO easy; both Proust and De Botton come across as near-saintly figures, full of understanding and kindness, when the truth (with Proust at any rate) is much messier; and the last two chapters are a little rushed. But few books outside the thriller genre have delighted me and kept me reading feverishly to the end like this little trinket.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen philosophy for mortals, 14. Februar 2000
Von Ein Kunde
It's amazing, I read this book years ago an still remember it very vividly. Philosophy is usually not my kind of thing, but Alain de Botton makes for a very enjoyable and entertaining read. I read all his books and found them to be absolutely fantastic. Can't wait for the next one...
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen A little gem, 31. Januar 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Delightful read, a fine example of how to carry erudition lightly and convey it with authority and elegance. If you haven't read Proust, this will put you in appetite; if you have, it will help you refine your own insights and amuse you along the way. An impressive achievement.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Superb read, 27. Januar 2000
This is a brilliant book. Written with great humour and understated but piercing intelligence, its a really enjoyable work that riffs off Proust with dazzling style. Enjoy this early work from one of Europe's rising literary stars.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 2 3 4 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

how Proust Can Change your Life
how Proust Can Change your Life von Alain De Botton (Taschenbuch - 1997)
Gebraucht & neu ab: EUR 73,90
Auf meinen Wunschzettel Zahlungsmöglichkeiten ansehen
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen