Kundenrezensionen


31 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (27)
4 Sterne:
 (2)
3 Sterne:
 (1)
2 Sterne:
 (1)
1 Sterne:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


5 von 6 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A "must have" not only for Zappa fanatics
If there is one "how to live without getting sucked into the mainstream" guide, this is it.
First of all, this book is dead serious. Zappa shares a lot of his views and (fans knew before) he is a pretty normal and clear-seeing part of the society with principles and a solid ability to tell good from bad.
This is what makes him different. He doesn't...
Veröffentlicht am 20. Dezember 2002 von Herr S aus F

versus
1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Ein Buch für Zappa-Fans
„The real Frank Zappa book“ ist Frank Zappas Version einer Autobiografie. Wie er selbst Eingangs schreibt ist er der Meinung, dass Autobiografien normalerweise nur von Menschen geschrieben werden die ihr eigenes Leben für außergewöhnlich toll halten. Er selbst sieht sein Leben als relativ normal an und folgt dementsprechend einer anderen...
Veröffentlicht am 11. November 2012 von Amarczon


‹ Zurück | 1 2 3 4 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

5 von 6 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A "must have" not only for Zappa fanatics, 20. Dezember 2002
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Real Frank Zappa Book (Taschenbuch)
If there is one "how to live without getting sucked into the mainstream" guide, this is it.
First of all, this book is dead serious. Zappa shares a lot of his views and (fans knew before) he is a pretty normal and clear-seeing part of the society with principles and a solid ability to tell good from bad.
This is what makes him different. He doesn't follow. He sees, decides and choses his way. He never ever leaves something unsaid for any reason. Frank was probably one of the straightest persons in showbiz ever, and he did not hesitate to point the finger on those who aren't.
I have two kids, and I wish they would read this at the age of 16 or 18. It is brilliant!
Stefan
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen The Alternative Guide to Life, 24. Juli 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Real Frank Zappa Book (Taschenbuch)
At the risk of causing offence by comparing this tome to the other "Good Book", I would like to make it clear how good this book is at offering advice on life. Everything from solving societies ills in a practical manner to raising kids in a loving and open environment.
One of the books other strengths is its humour; even the non-Zappa nuts who have borrowed this book from me have enjoyed the relaxed and enjoyable writing style.
I have read this book so many times now that it is falling apart, and needs to be replaced. It is always the first in the suitcase, come holiday time!
One of the most amusing topics in the book is Frank's less than successful inventions. One of which was the idea of somehow digitising music and sending it down the telephone line. So, not only did he invent the gatefold sleeve and the concept album, he also conceived MP3.com over 10 years before it happened!
A truly remarkable man whos presence is greatly missed. The other one book that everone should own.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen An excellent read about a highly unappreciated American icon, 6. August 1999
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Real Frank Zappa Book (Taschenbuch)
I have always held that common sense is lacking inAmerica. Frank Zappa has proven it in his social commentary of societyin general in "The Real Frank Zappa Book." From his attacks on extremetism (look at any televangelist, or Tipper Gore's PMRC)to the dangers of breasts and what makes the nipple so evil as not to be shown on television, and his more personal stories (like how his son Dweezil got his name) and the earlier days of the Mothers of Invention, this book is a fantastic look at an extremely intelligent, unappreciated man who unfortunately died way before his time. If only he could've been persuaded to run for public office!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Zappa was a genius, 26. April 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Real Frank Zappa Book (Taschenbuch)
I read this book years ago. Can't wait to read it again. It was hilariously enlightening. I wish he had indeed run for president of the United States. He had my vote! What an interesting election year that would've been! I'm grateful I had the opportunity to see him in concert, a small private setting, on his last tour before he died. It was the best concert I've ever been to. As always, full of pleasant surprizes. The man was a master of music and humor. I still miss him. He was impressive, to say the least. A truly enjoyable book. Whether you're a fan of Zappa or not. Read and enjoy.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Ein Buch für Zappa-Fans, 11. November 2012
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Real Frank Zappa Book (Taschenbuch)
„The real Frank Zappa book“ ist Frank Zappas Version einer Autobiografie. Wie er selbst Eingangs schreibt ist er der Meinung, dass Autobiografien normalerweise nur von Menschen geschrieben werden die ihr eigenes Leben für außergewöhnlich toll halten. Er selbst sieht sein Leben als relativ normal an und folgt dementsprechend einer anderen Motivation: Er möchte den zahllosen nicht autorisierten Biografien auf dem Markt etwas entgegensetzen. Etwas reales – Ein „real Frank Zappa book“ eben.

Wer erwartet, dass eine Autobiografie Zappas wie jede andere Autobiografie aussieht, der kennt wahrscheinlich noch nichts aus Zappas Welt. Das vorliegende Buch ist genauso unkonventionell, rücksichtslos, verquer, witzig und voller ungewöhnlicher Ideen und Gedanken wie alles, was Zappa erschaffen hat. Entstanden ist es in mehreren Sitzungen, in denen Frank Zappa auf Fragen des Autos Peter Occhiogrosso antwortete, der diese Antworten aufnahm und in Buchform brachte. Im Ergebnis ließt sich das Buch dann auch eher wie ein Monolog Zappas, der direkt an seine Fans gerichtet ist.
Letztlich kann das Buch grob in drei Abschnitte gegliedert werden. Im ersten knappen Drittel erzählt Zappa ein wenig über seine Kindheit, frühe Entwicklung und Ausbildung. Dabei bleibt er aber immer recht oberflächlich, und konzentriert sich eher auf skurrile und interessante bis lustige Anekdoten. Im mittleren Drittel, das eindeutig das stärkste und interessanteste ist, widmet er sich dann der Musik. Und zwar sowohl seiner eigenen, als auch seiner Sicht von Musik im Allgemeinen. Dieser Teil bietet eine gute Einsicht in Zappas musikalisches Denken und seine eigene musikalische Entwicklung. Im letzten Teil schließlich beschreibt Zappa ausführlich seine Sicht von allgemeinen Themen wie Religion, Politik, Ehe oder Konservatismus. Was eigentlich interessant sein könnte, entpuppt sich über weite Strecken leider als etwas langweilig und - bei Zappa fast nicht für möglich gehalten – auch sehr gewöhnlich. So endet das Buch leider mit seinem deutlich schwächsten Teil.

Insgesamt bleibt also ein zwiespältiger Eindruck des Buches. Einerseits erfährt man ein wenig über die Hintergründe dieses unkonventionellen und innovativen Künstlers, dazu erhält man sehr interessante Einblicke in sein musikalisches Verständnis. Aber wenn es dann um seine Sicht auf die allgegenwärtigen Dinge im Leben geht – wie Ehe. Religion und Politik – dann erscheint Zappa auf einmal so normal wie wir alle. Nichtsdestotrotz dürfte jeder Zappa Fan großen Gefallen an diesem Buch finden. Andere, die über dieses Buch erst einen Zugang zu Zappa suchen, könnten allerdings enttäuscht werden.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Not an autobiography, but quite fun, 8. Juni 2000
Von 
J. C. Paulsen (Oregon) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Real Frank Zappa Book (Taschenbuch)
We get some of everything with this one.
It gives us a feel for his personality and speaking style. Italics, underlining, and boldface are used liberally; I could hear his voice as I read.
It gives us a nice collection of anecdotes from various stages of Zappa's career, from his high school years up through the orchestral work with the LSO - even a couple of tales from the 1988 'Best Band You Never Heard'. If you like these, you will wish there were more, though.
It gives us what has to be the best general description of a composer's work ever ('wiggling air molecules, changing over time'). That chapter alone is worth the cost of the book, if you are at all interested in music or art.
We also get the political Zappa, some lyrics, the Zappa home life, and even a bit of What Frank Eats (whatever the kids don't, apparently).
The only thing we don't get (and this is why I wish he'd lived another 30 years) is some detailed analysis of his compositions. We get a couple of places where he is discussing musical theory and practice from a technical perspective (chord progressions that cannot occur in doowop, or why jazz drummers are not normally appropriate in a Zappa band), there is no music printed in the book to help the interested reader follow along. Certainly I can't fault the book for this, but, man, it would have been nice if he'd written one like that.
If you are a student of music, a budding composer, artist, or just think Frank freaks folks out, this is for you.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen I'VE FOUND HIM !, 3. Mai 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Real Frank Zappa Book (Taschenbuch)
Though I've been a casual but appreciative listener of Zappa for a long time, over the last year I've finally REALIZED the genius. And with the voracious reading of this book, I've discovered that he is my mentor... I'm talking T H E mentor. In the realm of "cutting to the chase", Mr. Zappa was King Machete!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Burnt Weenie Sandwich, 21. Juni 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Real Frank Zappa Book (Taschenbuch)
Frank Zappa's autobiography, written to "set the record straight." Just a great book. I don't read books, and I read this twice. Although the last few chapters get a bit political, this book belongs in every Zappa fan's library.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen So you like to laugh, do you?, 2. März 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Real Frank Zappa Book (Taschenbuch)
As the typical high school sophomore, I was not thrilled when my English teacher assigned us another boring reading assignment. This particular assignment was to read someone's autobiography/biography and write an essay on it. I consulted my older sister, and she recommended The Real Frank Zappa Book. I was skeptical at first. Who was Frank Zappa anyway? But as I read this excellent book, I discovered the real Frank Zappa. I realized that this individual did not get as much recognition as he should of, as a musician and as a human being. The Real Frank Zappa Book was also one of the funniest things I've read since Edward Gorey's The Gashlycrumb Tinies (which I highly recommend). Since reading the book, I have begun listening to his music more and am slowly being transformed into a die-hard Zappa fan. Frank Zappa was a truly unique individual. I would recommend this book to anyone who is in the mood for a laugh.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen very enlightening, 17. Oktober 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Real Frank Zappa Book (Taschenbuch)
i had to read "the real frank zappa book" for school, but it certainly wasnt an inconvience. i grew up on frank zappa, having a father as a zappa nut. so i had an inkling of an idea as to what he was all about. a great look into zappa's life, although my dad tells me there is some controversy as to what is true, even in an autobiography. i suppose it's hard to find a credible source on such a wild guy, eh? but anyhow...an extremely good book. quite a jolly laugh, too...
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 2 3 4 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Real Frank Zappa Book
Real Frank Zappa Book von Frank Zappa (Taschenbuch - 15. Mai 1990)
EUR 13,90
Gewöhnlich versandfertig in 3 bis 5 Wochen.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen