Kundenrezensionen


23 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (9)
4 Sterne:
 (9)
3 Sterne:
 (3)
2 Sterne:
 (2)
1 Sterne:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Das beste Buch von Douglas und Olshaker
Um es gleich vorneweg zu sagen: Normalerweise mag ich die Bücher von Douglas und Olshaker nicht, was teilweise daran liegt, daß Douglas SEHR von sich selber eingenommen ist (seinen Aussagen nach hat er an jedem größeren Serienmörderfall der letzten Jahre teilgenommen, ähnlich wie Robert Ressler), teilweise an den sehr detaillierten,...
Veröffentlicht am 28. Januar 2002 von Don Stefano

versus
1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen John Douglas Treading Water
I found his first two similar books to be engrossing but this one just seems to be essentially repeating themes but with different case studies. Some chapters were very good, others were as dry as a college text-book. Whereas his earlier books could be commended for their insights into the criminal mind, the purpose of the current book seems to be to fatten the...
Veröffentlicht am 24. Februar 2000 von J. R. Reynolds


‹ Zurück | 1 2 3 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Das beste Buch von Douglas und Olshaker, 28. Januar 2002
Von 
Don Stefano (Holzkirchen, Bayern Germany) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Anatomy of Motive (Taschenbuch)
Um es gleich vorneweg zu sagen: Normalerweise mag ich die Bücher von Douglas und Olshaker nicht, was teilweise daran liegt, daß Douglas SEHR von sich selber eingenommen ist (seinen Aussagen nach hat er an jedem größeren Serienmörderfall der letzten Jahre teilgenommen, ähnlich wie Robert Ressler), teilweise an den sehr detaillierten, blutigen Beschreibungen der Taten und Tathergänge.
Umso angenehmer war ich von diesem Buch überrascht. Es werden nahezu keine Details über die Verbrechen berichtet (die blutigen Einzelheiten, die sich so gut auf Titelseiten gewisser großformatig schreibender Tageszeitungen machen, fehlen nahezu völlig), aber es wird sehr gut recherchiert, was für ein Motiv die jeweiligen Tätern hatten oder gehabt haben könnten. Beispiel: Charles Whitman (verschanzte sich mit mehreren Waffen auf einem Turm und schoß völlig zufallgesteuert auf Passanten); die Beschreibung der Tat dauerte drei Absätze, die psychologische Evaluierung 10 Seiten. Man kann dieses Buch fast als Lehrbuch für Psychologie verwenden, so genau ist es in manchen Bereichen. Das wird sicherlich die etwas blutiger geneigten Leser abschrecken (aber da gibt es ja auch noch die anderen Bücher von Douglas und Olshaker, insbesondere Mindhunter), aber wer sich wirlich für die Hintergründe von Verbrechen interessiert, der ist mit diesem Buch hervorragend bedient.
Sehr angenehm fand ich auch die Hintergrundinformationen, die uns die beiden Autoren mit auf den Weg gehen. So wird nicht nur über die Tylenolmorde berichtet (ein Unbekannter vergiftete mehrere Personen, indem er in Supermärkten Tylenolkapseln mit Gift versah), sondern auch über die Auswirkungen. Lebensmittelvergiftung in Supermärkten passiert heutzutage öfters, aber wie wurde es damals gehandhabt? Wie handelte die Presse, wie J&J ? All diese Details, die sicherlich manchmal nebensächlich erscheinen, ergeben ein sehr vollständiges, sehr rundes Bild, nicht nur von dem Verbrechen, sondern auch von den Rahmenbedingungen und den Folgen.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Spooky, fascinating book, 19. Mai 2000
The latest in a collection of books by the two authors, in which they use real crimes to illustrate the methods used by FBI "mindhunters" to profile likely suspects. Fascinating stories with details about the crimes and the clues will appeal to many readers, especially those intrigued by the psychology behind criminal behavior. In addition, the suspenseful manner in which the crimes are detailed by the authors makes this book a page turner. Focusing on specific types of crimes, the authors explain how serial killers, assassins, poisoners, bombers, and arsonists, among others, are identified. Included in this collection are several stories about incidents in the Pacific Northwest, including a serial arsonist operating in and around Lynnwood and Seattle, and a poisoner who used the Tylenol murders as a model for murdering her husband. Spooky, insightful, and impossible to put down. This was the first of the Olshaker/Douglas books I read, and I immediately followed up with the others (I had to sleep with the lights on for a couple of weeks!)
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen John Douglas Treading Water, 24. Februar 2000
Von 
J. R. Reynolds (Philadelphia, PA USA) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
I found his first two similar books to be engrossing but this one just seems to be essentially repeating themes but with different case studies. Some chapters were very good, others were as dry as a college text-book. Whereas his earlier books could be commended for their insights into the criminal mind, the purpose of the current book seems to be to fatten the author's bank account at the expense of true-crime devotees.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen John Douglas' best book yet., 17. Mai 2000
Von 
Danielle Buczek (Holden, MA) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
I've read almost all of John Douglas' book and this is my favorite by far. Though it suffers from redundancy at points, merely repeating the same stories he's told in all of his other books, it is undoubtedly the most clearly written. I agree with some others that it reads like a textbook at points, but I actually like that aspect. I found it very easy to read, with a message less jumbled than some of his past works.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3.0 von 5 Sternen Intriguing and troubling journey through the criminal mind., 9. Juni 1999
Von 
Kevin Giovanetto (Tremont, IL United States) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
John Douglas sketches the lives and crimes of violent offenders ranging from fire starters to serial killers. Douglas' writing is like a white chalk outline at a crime scene. He does a very good job of outlining the basic impulses and motives that drive human beings to violence against other human beings. After reading this, for instance, I would be careful about getting very chummy with fire starting, animal abusing bedwetters.
My primary criticism of the book is that Douglas uses taunting language to describe the killers he's studied. They're "cowards" and "losers" who come from bad family circumstances but deserve no pity or understanding. In Douglas' view, their crimes cut them off from any human compassion. They're unredeemable, and I had the impression that it would be best if we lined them all up against a wall and shot them.
Maybe that's even true, but the born bad view offers little hope or comfort for any of us. These mostly white males are a bunch of bad seeds. They can't be rehabilitated, and the only possible hope is that they won't get ticked off or hurt badly enough to start killing to regain control.
I would've liked to have seen a little more compassion in Douglas' treatment of these failed human lives, but maybe he's seen too much of what they do to have any compassion or hope left.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Clear, Fascinating, and Wide-Ranging, 4. Juli 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Anatomy of Motive: The FBI's Legendary Mindhunter Explores the Key to Understanding and Catching Violent Criminals (Taschenbuch)
This book is clearly organized and crisply written; it is certainly one of the better books I've read about psychological profilers (though I think this is only about the fourth I've read). One of the things I liked about it is an aspect others may dislike, and that is the book covers many kinds of criminals, not only serial killers, but spree killers, mass murderers, arsonists, asassins, and poisoners. I'd have liked to have read more in depth about all of these (with the possible exception of serial killers, who currently seem to have reached infestation proportions in nearly every major genre, fiction, nonfiction, and film). But as an over-all introduction to the various personalities profilers have to deal with, I found the book fascinating and wished only that it was longer and more detailed.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen The Anatomy of Motive, 15. Februar 2000
Von 
I work as a civilian in the field of law enforcement and teach individuals in training. An important aspect of preparing to become a warrior in this field is understanding the importance of mental management. Frequently it is necessary to "get into the head" of the bad guy in order to be digilent in prevention. The Anatomy of Motive can provide insight into the "why" of particular crimes.
Although I found this book to be dry and more of a declaration of the authors' expertise, the material was presented in a straight forward manner making it an easy read. It does, however, lack the "literary hook" authors frequently use to grab the reader's attention and hold it. I would recommend this book to anyone trying to understand the criminal mind.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen It's Mind Hunter not Mindhunter by Douglas!, 19. Juni 1999
In checking out John Douglas' books, I noticed a reader from Virginia, May 14, 1999, mentioned that Mindhunter, also written by Douglas, was not on Amazon.com. Perhaps the spelling is the problem (I mispelled a health title once; the book may not come up at any of the book companies unless the title, even if a partial title, is spelled right.) It is Mind Hunter, not Mindhunter. If you are reading about this book and look under "Customers who bought this book also bought," Mind Hunter is the second book listed. I've bought from Amazon.com for a long time and, truthfully, if a book exists, they have it. Hope this helps that reader and the person she was responding to since all of Douglas' books are worth buying/reading.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen First encounter of this kind, 11. September 1999
Von Ein Kunde
And i must say i found it to be a VERY interesting book. It drew you in by discussing cases that are familiar to anyone who follows big news including a detailed segment on Andrew Cunanan, the serial killer. I liked how Douglas focused not so much on the sensationalism in Gianni Versace's murder but discussed every one of Cunanan's victims. I found the case of the Tylenol tampering to be extremely facinating as well. I must agree however, with the reader that commented on Douglas' "horn-blowing" and inflated ego. I also picked up on that attitude periodically throughout the book. But it wasn't so prevalent that it would make me rule out other books written by him. The man knows what he is talking about.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Interesting but has some weaknesses, 10. September 1999
If you are a student of criminal psychology or work in law enforcement, I wouldn't recommend this book (or Doulgas' "Mindhunter")as a study guide. I'm new to the subject, so it was an interesting read for me. However, Douglas has his flaws as a writer,in many cases jumping from one subject to the next for no apparent reason, and at first I thought his tone was a bit too conversational. However, once I forgave those flaws.. I found this book and "Mindhunter" fun to read (altho the books are very similar, no need to read both).After finishing both I felt as though I had just spent an evening with Douglas at a divy bar somewhere listening to his fascinating war stories. Not a bad night out.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 2 3 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen