Fashion Sale Hier klicken 1503935485 Cloud Drive Photos UHD TVs Fußball Fan-Artikel Learn More Indefectible Sculpt designshop Hier klicken Fire Shop Kindle PrimeMusic Autorip Summer Sale 16

Kundenrezensionen

4,2 von 5 Sternen10
4,2 von 5 Sternen
Format: Gebundene Ausgabe|Ändern
Preis:20,80 €+ Kostenfreie Lieferung mit Amazon Prime
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 13. Februar 2011
Jill Bolton tells us in amazing detail how she lived a stroke which one morning affected an important part of the left hemisphere of her brain, and how she slowly recovered from that affliction to return, many years later, to an (almost) normal life. More importantly, she tells us how it feels to live with only the right hemisphere of your brain being functional, how, next to the suffering from the severe impairments that come with lack of many of your cognitive abilities, you actually *gain* what Bolton calls "a deep inner peace". This made her reflect on the importance of bringing the two halves of your brain into equilibrium, to lead a life where you can profit fully from your cognitive abilities while your life is not completely dictated by this way of using your brain.
Although towards the end the books veers a bit towards the esoterical, I found it utterly captivating and read it with great pleasure and interest.
0Kommentar|4 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 6. November 2012
Frau Taylor motiviert mich, mein "Hirn" nicht einfach hinzunehmen, sondern dessen Struktur - die Verbindungen zwischen den Hirnzellen - durch Fördern (und Fordern) von erwünschten und Ablehnen von unerwünschten Denkvorgängen langfristig zu beeinflussen.
0Kommentar|3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 6. April 2013
I watched Jill's lecture on TED and having experienced a mild stroke myself I was immediately captured by her charming way of explaining just what happened on that fateful night when they came to carry me off with blue lights flashing. This is great reading for anybody who has ever wondered what roles their left and right brain halves are dedicated to. Through her long recovery Jill retrained her left side to go back to the beginnings and slowly learn how to do all those things that we need to control in order to become the rational, thinking, behavioural persons we are in today's society. An incredible performance by a remarkably creative woman. The book also points out how unique and adaptive the brain is with its ability to compromise and adjust to the different situations and circumstances we meet and have to deal in today's multi-tasking world. We're never really alone, our left side brain is constantly chatting us up. Have a listen.
0Kommentar|Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 19. Juni 2016
Das Buch scheint interessant, aber ich habe es noch nicht gelesen.
Die Qualität ist aber sehr schlecht: ich weiss nicht ob es am Papier oder an der Tinte liegt, aber das Resultat ist dass die Buchstaben keine klaren Konturen haben, was bei der Lektüre stört.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 31. August 2012
I know quite a bit about stroke and was thus curious to read this book with somewhat different perspective.

To my mind the author gives a very nice overview of events, simple enough for evereyone to understand, and her own recovery. Also, I think that stroke affects a great many of us and thus it is handy to know the warning signals etc and read such a book at some point before such events might strike you.

However, the book was written in a very americalistic style, praising a lot and using words like "amazing", "magnificient" etc more than neccessary. This disturbed a little bit and made me doubt in how realistic this book actually is. But it could well be that this is simply the style of the author and/or that things seem to have a different (more appreciated) meaning after such a paralizing event.

Overall, I would still recommend reading this book.
0Kommentar|2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 12. Juli 2008
das buch "my stroke of insight" ist der erfahrungsbericht einer hirnforscherin
ihren linkshirnigen schlaganfall und die anschließende 8 jährige rehabilitation
beschreibend....total spannend.......vor allen dingen weil sie eine radikal rechts-
hirnige erfahrung schildert........völlig losgelöst von der vorherrschaft der links-
hirnigen rationalen dominanz (ein bewußtseinszustand vergleichbar dem, was
zenmönche "satori" nennen) und dann im laufe der schrittweisen wiedererlan-
gung der linkshirnigen funktionen, ihr bewußtes aussortieren von programmen,
die sie als störend identifiziert..... sehr inspirierend.
0Kommentar|11 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 22. April 2015
Eines der vielen, genialen Bücher, die uns beim Prozess des Erwachens helfen. Hier wird auch die Funktion der beiden Hirnhälften näher erklärt. Mir hat es sehr gut gefallen. Danke Jill!
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 17. Februar 2014
Eine unverzichtbare Lektüre. Es erzählt von großen Hub, der die linke Gehirnhälfte von einem jungen Neurochirurgen und die Magie sie über diese Illusion einer Welt entdeckt herausfand .
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 3. November 2010
gut geschrieben und verständlich
fast poetische Beschreibug von das Erleben eines Schlaganfalls
und die folgende Periode zur volligem Erholung
sehr Empfehlenswert
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 23. Oktober 2013
... i saw author on daily show and had to buy the book. amazing story and a good, quick read.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden