Fashion Sale Hier klicken Sport & Outdoor b2s Cloud Drive Photos Microsoft Surface Learn More sommer2016 HI_PROJECT Hier klicken Fire Shop Kindle PrimeMusic Autorip Summer Sale 16

Kundenrezensionen

4,8 von 5 Sternen
26
4,8 von 5 Sternen
5 Sterne
24
4 Sterne
0
3 Sterne
2
2 Sterne
0
1 Stern
0
Format: Taschenbuch|Ändern
Preis:22,93 €+ Kostenfreie Lieferung mit Amazon Prime
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 15. Mai 2000
If you've ever been one flipping to the maps in "The Hobbit", "The Lord of the Rings" , or "The Silmarillion" to see where the action is taking place, then this book is for you.
Karen Wynn Fonstad has done a remarkable job of mapping Middle-earth. The atlas is broken down into various sections, each easy to navigate to find what you're looking for.
The First Age section is perfect for readers of "The Silmarillion", all the important places are mapped along with ample notes and observations.
The Second Age deals with the fall of Numenor, a worthy companion to those reading "Unfinished Tales".
The majority of the book deals with the Third Age. This is where "The Hobbit" and "The Lord of the Rings" takes place. There are maps showing the kingdoms of the Dunedain as well as the migration of the dwarves and the hobbits.
There are regional maps detailing the Shire, the Misty Mountains, Eriador, and Mordor. Two lengthy sections are devoted to the Hobbit and LotR, showing all the key places in the books. Fantastic maps to look over again and again.
Towards the end of the book are included the thematic maps. Very interesting. These show the landforms, climate, vegetation, population and languages spoken.
Overall, if you're remotely interesting in learning more about Middle-earth, or you're just interested in great maps, pick this up. Enjoy.
0Kommentar| 6 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 9. Juni 2000
I've just recieved The Atlas, and now I know what you need when you read The Red Book of Westmarch: The Complete Guide to Middle-Earth by Robert Foster & The Atlas of Middle-Earth by Karen Wynn Fonstad. If maps of The Hobbit, The Lord of The Rings and The Silmarillion aren't sufficent for you, and you always ask questions like "Where is Valinor -exactly?" "What happens behind Middle-Earth?" "How fast Shadowfax really is?" or "How life is arranged in The Bag-End?", you must possess The Atlas.
0Kommentar| 5 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 21. März 2003
...but I wasn't as thrilled about this book as I imagined I would be.
First off, I am one of those who only finally tackled the book because of the upcoming movies.
I hate reading the book after the movies, so after having tried about five times over the course of about ten years I finally finished it. So I am not as into Middle Earth as most around here apparently.
This atlas was really confusing for somebody who only wanted to get a clearer picture of the travels undertaken during Lord Of The Rings. I admit I was dumbfounded to see that this book could hold its own against scientific articles about geological phenomenon. Since this book was written by a cartographer most maps are more conducive to planning a hike than to imagine a group of weary travellers on their epic quest to save Middle Earth from an unspeakable evil.
If you're looking to get really into Middle Earth up to and including reading all the Lost Tales, Silmarillion and even the linguistics this is a must have addition, but if you are looking for something to give wings to your imagination this is the wrong book in my opinion.
0Kommentar| 13 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 14. Oktober 1998
I have read all of the books tolkien has written on middle earth, not only lord of the rings but the silmarillion and the tolkien reader. I was always confused on things like where beleriand was, what the world looked like in the first + second ages, and where the valar lived in relation with middle earth. This book answered nearly every one of my questions, along with providing great diagrams of the various battles fought. If you liked tolkien, get this book!
0Kommentar| 4 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 4. August 2009
Wer den "Historischen Atlas von Mittelerde" schätzen und lieben gelernt hat und an den Originalbezeichnungen der Orte, Meeere, Seen, Flüsse und Landschaften in Mittelerde und Arda vom sprachlichen her interessiert ist, wird um "The Atlas of Middle-Earth" nicht herumkommen, im Gegenteil, wird sich diesen unbedingt beschaffen, ist es doch ein Vergnügen, das englische Original und die deutsche Übersetzung nebeneinander liegen zu haben und zu sehen, was M. Carroux, W. Krege u.a. an Fantasie aufgewandt haben, um die jeweiligen Lokalitäten zu benennen.
Die deutsche Ausgabe im Hardcover ist aufwändiger von der Aufmachung her, die englische Ausgabe als Paperback herausgegeben, dafür auch etwas günstiger. Die Karten und Texte jedoch absolut identisch und vollständig, von den unterschiedlichen Sprachen einmal abgesehen.
Fazit: Alles in allem ein Kauf, den ich noch keine Sekunde bereut habe.
0Kommentar| 3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 2. Januar 1998
Although it's been a few years since I read this book, I've become a great fan of Ms. Fonstad's work. Anyone interested in either fantasy or maps of the worlds they inhabit should check out any title by this author. Ms Fonstad has done her homework, not only in the text of this story but in the layout of the land. This book (and others like it by this author) are highly recommended for those whose fantasy tastes are not fulfilled by the mere description of the land. Ms Fonstad goes into great detail and painstakingly recreates the paths of Frodo and the Fellowship, and also includes detailed maps of the Shire and Battle maps from the First and Second Ages and the battles of Sauron.
0Kommentar| 3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 10. Juni 2000
When I first purchased this book, the clerk at the bookstore told me that they had not sold any until that moment. She went on to explain that the books had been accidentally shelved in the travel section for months. Once I got the book home, I could understand how the error was made.
This volume brings Middle-Earth to life so vividly, you might think you could plan your vacation there. The movements of Tolkien's characters and people can be traced with astounding detail that puts many geography textbooks to shame.
My only regret is that I did not have a copy of the Atlas when I first read Lord of the Rings. When next I enter the land of Hobbits, you better believe I will have this guide in hand. If you are planning a trip there sometime soon, I whole-heartedly recommend it to you too.
0Kommentar| 5 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 20. Juni 2016
very good book. Wonderfull match between the scientific base and the fantastic fantasy-world. Middle Earth comes to life in maps and tight-fit descriptions, in different ages of Tolkiens work.
In reading the Silmarillon the Atlas comes to aid..... Last but not least: a monumental register !
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 14. Juni 2000
"The Lord of the Rings" and "The Hobbit" are only a small story inside the world of the Ring developed by J.R.R. Tolkien over all those years... A world with its own languages, maps, religion and cultures. No wonder it was great time that an atlas of this imaginary world should be published one day.
Karen W. Fonstad did a great job. The maps are detailed, giving more information in the shaping of Middle Earth, the politics and history of the continent and the detailed description of the journey of the "Fellowship of the Ring" adds an additional touch of realism. Now we get an idea of what the trip must have been, as a distance, and in what kind of environment...
This book offers a great orientation in everyone wanting to know more about Middle-Earth.
0Kommentar| 4 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 22. Januar 2000
Lord of the Rings is an amazing book. The Atlas of Middle Earth is an amazing companion volume to go with it. Unlike Pern, Middle Earth is far too complex to visualize perfectly, and the atlas of it is a remarkable (and perfectly accurate) resource. All of the maps are annotated and all the sources are quoted on those very pages. Likewise, maps of all scales are provided - from the grand global views to small views of towns and single buildings. Everything is done in a marvelous sepia hue, The book almost passes for an ancient manuscript.
This work is, without argument, the most necessary resource for someone embarking to read any of Tolkien's books.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden

Haben sich auch diese Artikel angesehen

7,99 €