Kundenrezensionen


6 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (3)
4 Sterne:
 (2)
3 Sterne:
 (1)
2 Sterne:    (0)
1 Sterne:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Different from the previous two books, but all good things come in threes!
Smoky Barrett and her team get orders from the Director of the FBI himself to investigate a murder that happened during a commercial flight to Virginia. The victim was the daughter of a Texan Democratic Congressman. A silver cross with a skull and crossbones and the number 143 was inserted in the wound postmortem. The investigation has to be kept under tight wraps, the...
Veröffentlicht am 20. August 2008 von Wombatsbooks

versus
1 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen the ultimate serial killer bull
This book is about confession and contrition. I must confess I took Cody McFadyen for a woman as his sympathetical style is an originally female one. The way he writes about his female heroes, the way they talk, behave, share their secrets or talk about sex or cooking is something you wouldn't really expect from a man. Insofar it's not a wonder this book deals with a...
Veröffentlicht am 5. Juli 2009 von helmut seeger


Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Different from the previous two books, but all good things come in threes!, 20. August 2008
Von 
Wombatsbooks - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(VINE®-PRODUKTTESTER)   
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Darker Side (Taschenbuch)
Smoky Barrett and her team get orders from the Director of the FBI himself to investigate a murder that happened during a commercial flight to Virginia. The victim was the daughter of a Texan Democratic Congressman. A silver cross with a skull and crossbones and the number 143 was inserted in the wound postmortem. The investigation has to be kept under tight wraps, the Director handles press himself and Smoky is to contact the Congressman's wife only. While still in Virginia Smoky gets a call from her boss and mentor that a murder with a similar MO has happened in California. So Smoky and Alan head back home to investigate the second murder alone until the rest of the team have finished processing the crime scene etc. in Virginia.

Then "Damien" happens to find lots videos the killer posted on a popular video site. In the videos the killer never shows his face, but tells the team that all they need to know to find him would be in his videos. He calls himself "The Preacher" and talks about sins in general and the secret sins of those he has killed. He threatens to commit yet another murder, if they won't catch him in time. Smoky's team works full speed to catch the killer in order to save a life...

Thankfully McFadyen cut down on gory details and put more emphasis on psychological aspects. I found that refreshing, because the second book in the Smoky Barrett series (The Face of Death) was just too gory for my liking. He even reduced his harping about how brilliant everybody around Smoky is, but concentrated on character development instead. He did quite well in this aspect. Those of you who haven't read the previous books in this series needn't worry that they might have missed out on vital details: McFadyen gives a rundown on what has happened in the previous books and reacquaints readers with the main characters.

I wouldn't exactly call "The Darker Side" nail-bitingly suspenseful until the final 30 pages or so, but it has good pacing and is neatly crafted. However, there is way too much religion and self-reflection resulting thereof for my liking. Therefore "only" 4 stars.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Different from the previous two books, but all good things come in threes!, 20. August 2008
Von 
Wombatsbooks - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(VINE®-PRODUKTTESTER)   
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Darker Side (Gebundene Ausgabe)
Smoky Barrett and her team get orders from the Director of the FBI himself to investigate a murder that happened during a commercial flight to Virginia. The victim was the daughter of a Texan Democratic Congressman. A silver cross with a skull and crossbones and the number 143 was inserted in the wound postmortem. The investigation has to be kept under tight wraps, the Director handles press himself and Smoky is to contact the Congressman's wife only. While still in Virginia Smoky gets a call from her boss and mentor that a murder with a similar MO has happened in California. So Smoky and Alan head back home to investigate the second murder alone until the rest of the team have finished processing the crime scene etc. in Virginia.

Then "Damien" happens to find lots videos the killer posted on a popular video site. In the videos the killer never shows his face, but tells the team that all they need to know to find him would be in his videos. He calls himself "The Preacher" and talks about sins in general and the secret sins of those he has killed. He threatens to commit yet another murder, if they won't catch him in time. Smoky's team works full speed to catch the killer in order to save a life...

Thankfully McFadyen cut down on gory details and put more emphasis on psychological aspects. I found that refreshing, because the second book in the Smoky Barrett series (The Face of Death) was just too gory for my liking. He even reduced his harping about how brilliant everybody around Smoky is, but concentrated on character development instead. He did quite well in this aspect. Those of you who haven't read the previous books in this series needn't worry that they might have missed out on vital details: McFadyen gives a rundown on what has happened in the previous books and reacquaints readers with the main characters.

I wouldn't exactly call "The Darker Side" nail-bitingly suspenseful until the final 30 pages or so, but it has good pacing and is neatly crafted. However, there is way too much religion and self-reflection resulting thereof for my liking. Therefore "only" 4 stars.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Wie immer gut, 20. Januar 2014
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Obwohl die Krimis sehr oft sehr brutal sind und menschliche Abgründe der schlimmsten Art zeigen, bin ich ein großer Fan der Smoky Barrett Reihe. Auch “The Darker Side“ ist spannend bis zum Schluss und gut geschrieben. Es wird einiges aus Smokys Vergangenheit und von ihre Sünden erzählt, was sie noch menschlicher macht. Ich freue mich aufs nächste Buch.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Klasse, 2. Dezember 2009
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Darker Side: A Thriller (Smoky Barrett) (Taschenbuch)
Ich habe mir letztens die drei Bücher von Cody McFadyen besorgt und bin total begeistert. Auch wenn die Bücher auf Englisch sind, sind sie, auch für Leute mit nicht so guten Englischkenntnissen,sehr gut zu lesen.
Es ist spannend und interessant, aber für sensible Menschen nicht gemacht.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen the ultimate serial killer bull, 5. Juli 2009
Von 
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Darker Side (Taschenbuch)
This book is about confession and contrition. I must confess I took Cody McFadyen for a woman as his sympathetical style is an originally female one. The way he writes about his female heroes, the way they talk, behave, share their secrets or talk about sex or cooking is something you wouldn't really expect from a man. Insofar it's not a wonder this book deals with a victim that's undergoing a sex transformation at first and you read a dozen pages about the mental and social problems of these group. The book's written with a good sense of humour and the dialogues are pretty witty, the human relations between the agents are outlined professionally, the social background of the victims is depicted convincingly. There's not much action on the other hand, and hard-boiled serial killer addicts will maybe suffer from a little boredom along the way.
But - you'll rub your eyes. This book's crammed with perverted stuff. In fact I guess it is the ultimate serial killer novel as Cody summarizes all perversities and sins you could imagine - and even some you wouldn't imagine.
Serial killing of the most evil kind, rape (adults, children), child molestation, cruelty to animals, homicide, incest, matricide, euthanasia, torture - it's all in here.
In fact - while I wouldn't recommend the story itself (reality is too far off), I am impressed by this brief and comprehensive overview of aberrant behavior. It seems it was Cody's ambition to pack it all in one novel. The only problem I see: if you plan to read further serial killer and other deviant stuff you'll find yourself at a loss. It will be almost impossible to detect anything Cody left out. This book isn't funny, but I often found myself burst into laughter at the wealth of aberrant fantasies the author unfolds. Congratulations! If there would be a "pervert's book of the year" award this book would be an aspirant.
You really won't have to bother reading another one and can return to earnest literature without regret. And that impresses indeed.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


0 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen I love books from Cody McFadyen!, 11. Juli 2011
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Darker Side (Taschenbuch)
I love this book. It is soco good. I love all books from Cody McFadyen. I almost read all from him.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

The Darker Side: A Thriller (Smoky Barrett)
The Darker Side: A Thriller (Smoky Barrett) von Cody McFadyen (Taschenbuch - 29. September 2009)
EUR 6,04
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen