Kundenrezensionen


36 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (18)
4 Sterne:
 (11)
3 Sterne:
 (4)
2 Sterne:
 (2)
1 Sterne:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


7 von 7 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Spannend bis zur letzten Seite!
Obwohl ich als begeisterte Elizabeth George Leserin möglicherweise nicht ganz objektiv bin, so muß ich doch sagen, daß dieses Buch wirklich sehr sehr gut ist. Die Autorin versteht es, dem Leser die gezeichneten Charaktere derart nahezubringen, daß sie gegen Ende des Buches geradezu "Bekannte" sind. Die Entwicklung von Inspektor Lynley und...
Am 12. Oktober 2001 veröffentlicht

versus
2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Compelling plot, unlikeable characters
This was the first E. George book I have read. I found the plot compelling, but the continual references to the racism of the community and characters was very tiring. The overt racism was the kind you would find in small town USA in the 1950s. Is it really this bad in England? I felt some of the characters were too one-dimensional (no redeeming qualities) and found...
Veröffentlicht am 3. Juli 2000 von Jane Jetson


‹ Zurück | 1 2 3 4 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

7 von 7 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Spannend bis zur letzten Seite!, 12. Oktober 2001
Von Ein Kunde
Obwohl ich als begeisterte Elizabeth George Leserin möglicherweise nicht ganz objektiv bin, so muß ich doch sagen, daß dieses Buch wirklich sehr sehr gut ist. Die Autorin versteht es, dem Leser die gezeichneten Charaktere derart nahezubringen, daß sie gegen Ende des Buches geradezu "Bekannte" sind. Die Entwicklung von Inspektor Lynley und Seargent Havers ist nie wirklich vorhersehbar, so daß auch nach dem Lesen aller vorausgegangener Bücher (mittlerweile, so glaube ich, schon 9 Ausgaben)keine Langeweile aufkommt. Auch für Leser, die dem Kriminalroman Genre bislang nicht zugetan waren, sind Elizabeth George Romane zu empfehlen, obwohl doch darauf hinzuweisen ist, daß man die Bücher in chronologischer Reihenfolge lesen sollte, da ansonsten die beiden Hauptcharaktere nicht unbedingt nachvollziehbar wären und gerade deren Entwickung sich wie ein roter Faden durch alle Romane zieht.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Compelling plot, unlikeable characters, 3. Juli 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Deception on His Mind (Taschenbuch)
This was the first E. George book I have read. I found the plot compelling, but the continual references to the racism of the community and characters was very tiring. The overt racism was the kind you would find in small town USA in the 1950s. Is it really this bad in England? I felt some of the characters were too one-dimensional (no redeeming qualities) and found the character of Emily inconsistent, especially at the end. The author gave us some insight into the Pakistani culture, but I didn't get the idea that she found anything positive about it.
I am going to read "For the Sake of Elena" to give the author another chance.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen An unsual ending, 10. Juni 2000
Von 
Rebecca Junck (Highlands Ranch, CO United States) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Deception on His Mind (Taschenbuch)
I absolutely love E. George's books and I own them all. Her character development and concurrent plots make the books difficult to put down. I was engrossed in this story - there were so many sub plots that screamed out for resolution that I couldn't wait to get to the end. I love Sgt. Havers (she is my favorite character) and thought she was fabulous in this book. However, the ending felt rushed, the motive was very stupid and not worth all the terrific storytelling that went before it. None of the sub plots that I was most interested in got resolved (what happened to the pregnant girl?) But I must say that the waiting to discover what happened next to Havers was unbearable. I couldn't wait for the day the book came out. This was definitely one of George's best works - until the end. Maybe she was feeling pressure from the publisher, who knows?
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen It was good, but it could have been better, 8. Juni 1999
Von 
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Deception on His Mind (Taschenbuch)
As a longtime fan of thriller/mystery/suspense novels, this book didn't entrance me as my favorite authors seem to captivate my attention. The characters all seem too flat, no development at all...I liked the unexpected revelations that Barbara and Emily discover, but the reader doesn't really seem to be pulled along the plot...I think one of the problems is that there were so many characters to handle that the reader doesn't really get to know who Barbara is...
In comparison to my favorite authors who include John Sandford, Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child, and Patricia Cornwell, Elizabeth George is an ok read, but not spectacular.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Continuing Plot Complications Provide Character Insights, 20. Februar 2007
Von 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 127,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(TOP 500 REZENSENT)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Deception on His Mind (Gebundene Ausgabe)
In Deception on His Mind, Elizabeth George eloquently answered all of her critiques who felt that she cannot write decent mystery plots that match her remarkable characterizations. Unfettered by the urbane Thomas Lynley who is off on his honeymoon with Lady Helen, Ms. George features the redoubtable Barbara Havers as the detective in this story. Seeing English society from "downstairs" as it were, the story has more grit than usual and the seamy side of the elite is more exposed as well.

As the story opens, Havers is recuperating from her physical and emotional injuries incurred in In the Presence of the Enemy. With a bruised face and cracked ribs, she's supposed to take time off. The Pakistani fiance of a local entrepreneur has been found murdered on a beach in Essex. That event brings Havers' neighbor, Taymullah Azhar, and his daughter, Hadiyyah, to the seaside resort of Balford-le-Nez. Havers recalls found memories of this part of the coast and soon follows, finding herself embroiled in both the murder and a complicated family situation of Azhar's.

Havers goes with her gut, and her instincts soon have her in hot water. And the case is a baffling one. There are leads in all directions, but tracking down those leads doesn't solve the murder.

The underlying themes of the book include racism, class snobbery, the painful limits that religion can bring, and the constraints of a family's heritage. I have no idea if this book accurately displays modern day English society or not, but it makes for interesting, if uncomfortable, reading.

But I thought the best part of the book came in the careful exploration of the social customs and beliefs among the Pakistani characters. It's seldom that an author from the United States succeeds in taking readers into an alien culture in a way that makes that culture more understandable. Ms. George has clearly succeeded in this regard.

My only complaint is that Ms. George feels that she has to include characters, once again, who are totally hollow. Those characters seem overdone and weaken the story. There are more depths to real people, even the hollowish ones, than Ms. George is willing to credit.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Continuing Plot Complications Provide Character Insights, 20. Februar 2007
Von 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 127,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(TOP 500 REZENSENT)   
In Deception on His Mind, Elizabeth George eloquently answered all of her critiques who felt that she cannot write decent mystery plots that match her remarkable characterizations. Unfettered by the urbane Thomas Lynley who is off on his honeymoon with Lady Helen, Ms. George features the redoubtable Barbara Havers as the detective in this story. Seeing English society from "downstairs" as it were, the story has more grit than usual and the seamy side of the elite is more exposed as well.

As the story opens, Havers is recuperating from her physical and emotional injuries incurred in In the Presence of the Enemy. With a bruised face and cracked ribs, she's supposed to take time off. The Pakistani fiance of a local entrepreneur has been found murdered on a beach in Essex. That event brings Havers' neighbor, Taymullah Azhar, and his daughter, Hadiyyah, to the seaside resort of Balford-le-Nez. Havers recalls found memories of this part of the coast and soon follows, finding herself embroiled in both the murder and a complicated family situation of Azhar's.

Havers goes with her gut, and her instincts soon have her in hot water. And the case is a baffling one. There are leads in all directions, but tracking down those leads doesn't solve the murder.

The underlying themes of the book include racism, class snobbery, the painful limits that religion can bring, and the constraints of a family's heritage. I have no idea if this book accurately displays modern day English society or not, but it makes for interesting, if uncomfortable, reading.

But I thought the best part of the book came in the careful exploration of the social customs and beliefs among the Pakistani characters. It's seldom that an author from the United States succeeds in taking readers into an alien culture in a way that makes that culture more understandable. Ms. George has clearly succeeded in this regard.

My only complaint is that Ms. George feels that she has to include characters, once again, who are totally hollow. Those characters seem overdone and weaken the story. There are more depths to real people, even the hollowish ones, than Ms. George is willing to credit.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Continuing Plot Complications Provide Character Insights, 20. Februar 2007
Von 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 127,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(TOP 500 REZENSENT)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Deception on His Mind (Taschenbuch)
In Deception on His Mind, Elizabeth George eloquently answered all of her critiques who felt that she cannot write decent mystery plots that match her remarkable characterizations. Unfettered by the urbane Thomas Lynley who is off on his honeymoon with Lady Helen, Ms. George features the redoubtable Barbara Havers as the detective in this story. Seeing English society from "downstairs" as it were, the story has more grit than usual and the seamy side of the elite is more exposed as well.

As the story opens, Havers is recuperating from her physical and emotional injuries incurred in In the Presence of the Enemy. With a bruised face and cracked ribs, she's supposed to take time off. The Pakistani fiance of a local entrepreneur has been found murdered on a beach in Essex. That event brings Havers' neighbor, Taymullah Azhar, and his daughter, Hadiyyah, to the seaside resort of Balford-le-Nez. Havers recalls found memories of this part of the coast and soon follows, finding herself embroiled in both the murder and a complicated family situation of Azhar's.

Havers goes with her gut, and her instincts soon have her in hot water. And the case is a baffling one. There are leads in all directions, but tracking down those leads doesn't solve the murder.

The underlying themes of the book include racism, class snobbery, the painful limits that religion can bring, and the constraints of a family's heritage. I have no idea if this book accurately displays modern day English society or not, but it makes for interesting, if uncomfortable, reading.

But I thought the best part of the book came in the careful exploration of the social customs and beliefs among the Pakistani characters. It's seldom that an author from the United States succeeds in taking readers into an alien culture in a way that makes that culture more understandable. Ms. George has clearly succeeded in this regard.

My only complaint is that Ms. George feels that she has to include characters, once again, who are totally hollow. Those characters seem overdone and weaken the story. There are more depths to real people, even the hollowish ones, than Ms. George is willing to credit.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Keeps you up 'til well after bed-time !, 6. Januar 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Deception on His Mind (Taschenbuch)
Not only does George excel in setting an intriguing plot, she's a master of directing the reader's thoughts into all kinds of wrong directions whereas in the end I felt as if the truth had been obvious all along. In the midst of one of -as it seems- England's hottest summers it is the spicy variety of illutrious characters and their perspectives through which George reveals the story to the readers that makes the book a thrilling treat. Though her dramatis personnae are artful and at the same time almost touchable copies out of everyone's everyday reality this novel's weak point lies in the author's attempt to invoke her insights (living in the States) into Pakistan culture and its problems in the UK. Her inturcultural conclusions mostly remain on the surface and to my mind she tries to tell the reader too much instead of actually revealing and showing cultural dimensions! Under the bottom line, the sense of humor of "Mystery Liz" -yet unmet- makes Barbara Havers' solo adventure ever more colorful (watch out for the hospital scene with Agatha Shaw and Akram Malik) and it is her magical mixture which keeps me up 'til well after bed-time that leaves a Patricia Cornwell and a Minette Walters somewhat behind and makes them faint just a tiny bit.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Superb Whodunnit - keeps you guessing all the way, 7. März 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Deception on His Mind (Taschenbuch)
This is my second foray into the world of Barbara Havers, and what a redemption for her! She certainly showed a far more human side than in "A Great Deliverance", and I welcomed the absence of her partner Lynley and his equally irritating new bride. (They were on Honeymoon and instantly forgotten). I love a book that casts suspicion on everybody, and this one certainly does that. Almost everyone has a motive, and as mentioned previously, a lot of the characters are so unlikeable that you're just begging for them to be guilty of SOMETHING diabolical. I felt that Elizabeth George has done justice to both sides of the race argument, and both the racists and the activists against racism are equally loathsome. I have no idea how accurately this portrayal of a Muslim family is depicted, but it certainly gave me a lot to think about. If this book is far removed from Elizabeth George's usual style then I'll bide my time before reading another. On the other hand, if I knew I'd enjoy it as much as I did this one I'd read the whole series one after another.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3.0 von 5 Sternen More than a Mystery, 31. Januar 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Deception on His Mind (Taschenbuch)
This was my first experience with Elizabeth George. My impression was that George could have benefited greatly from better editing. Her story would be better with fewer, but more deeply developed characters, more subtlety, and fewer unbelievable sub-plots. The mystery aspect of the book was done well enough to keep me guessing through most of the book. Unfortunately by the time the real murderer was revealed in the last few pages, so much ground had been covered it came without much surprise. George's attempt to write social commentary on the murder mystery structure was intriguing but not well executed. The Pakistanis and the gays tended to be more caricatures than believable characters. The story line kept returning to the bigotry of the English against the Pakistanis. George apparently didn't credit the reader with enough intelligence to get her point without being beaten over the head with it repeatedly throughout the story. Overall, if one can overlook the flaws, Deception on His Mind is good airplane reading which keeps the pages turning and the reader amused.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 2 3 4 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Deception on His Mind
Deception on His Mind von Elizabeth George (Taschenbuch - 6. Oktober 1998)
Gebraucht & neu ab: EUR 0,17
Auf meinen Wunschzettel Zahlungsmöglichkeiten ansehen
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen