Kundenrezensionen


20 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (6)
4 Sterne:
 (5)
3 Sterne:
 (5)
2 Sterne:
 (3)
1 Sterne:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


4 von 5 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Worth reading--and re-reading!
I first read "Missing Joseph" back in 1996, and recently re-read it. This is classic Elizabeth George--gore, sex and murder in a small town. This story is unusual in that the reader always know "whodunnit"; the question is why. All of the characters--even minor ones such as Josie--are well-drawn and fully fleshed out. And the dangling ends of...
Veröffentlicht am 4. Juli 2000 von Kimberly Taylor

versus
4 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen The first Elizabeth George disappointment
"Missing Joseph" starts with a promising scenario--a wedding but no priest! He is later found murdered. With sub-plots galore, we learn that the fortune seeking groom does not love his pregnant but very rich bride and is trying to make it with the young rectory housekeeper who, incidentally, also practices a type of witchcraft as well as keeping the murdered...
Am 6. Mai 1998 veröffentlicht


‹ Zurück | 1 2 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

4 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen The first Elizabeth George disappointment, 6. Mai 1998
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Missing Joseph (Taschenbuch)
"Missing Joseph" starts with a promising scenario--a wedding but no priest! He is later found murdered. With sub-plots galore, we learn that the fortune seeking groom does not love his pregnant but very rich bride and is trying to make it with the young rectory housekeeper who, incidentally, also practices a type of witchcraft as well as keeping the murdered priest's rectory clean. We learn that the local constable is a widower and just too weird with his female relationships, ie. dead wife, rectory housekeeper, current amour, etc. Then we get bogged down with teenagers in the village and their problems and eccentricities. There is a very atypical George description of the constable's brutal and salacious rape of the rectory housekeeper and we also get to meet her over-sexed mother who is REALLY weird. Colorful characters abound however, the length of time taken to get the point across in the descriptions of the characters is also atypical of George's work. We DO get to see our old standbys whom we all know and love, the troubled (and childish) love affair between Tommy and Helen ( could they really be as shallow as all this?) we are let in on the marital problems of Simon and Deborah and even get to experience Haver's dilemma in changing her life style now that Mum is in the nursing home. All of this would be great but Ms. George keeps on and on in her descriptions of these characters and what they are doing at the moment to the point that too much of the author's time (and the reader's) is given to explaining all of this to the point of being repetive and, even boring, to the max., As a result, the story becomes tiresome. Eventually, the murder of the priest who didn't show for the wedding is FINALLY solved. This is the only Elizabeth George book I cannot recommend to others. I am very sorry, too because she is one of my favorite authors.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4 von 5 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Worth reading--and re-reading!, 4. Juli 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Missing Joseph (Taschenbuch)
I first read "Missing Joseph" back in 1996, and recently re-read it. This is classic Elizabeth George--gore, sex and murder in a small town. This story is unusual in that the reader always know "whodunnit"; the question is why. All of the characters--even minor ones such as Josie--are well-drawn and fully fleshed out. And the dangling ends of the plot are tied neatly into a bow at the end.
Havers doesn't play much of a role in this one. The spotlight is shared by Lynley and Simon St. James, with minor roles played by Deborah St. James and Lady Helen Clyde. The reader sees quite a bit of Lynley's troubled personal life, including his relationship with Helen (I like the "soap opera" aspects of the series), and gets a brief taste of Havers' troubles in moving out on her own. The Deborah/Simon sub-plot is compelling. It's hard to believe that these characters have all experienced so much in fairly short lives (Simon's accident, Deborah's affair with Lynley, etc.), but it makes for good reading.
All in all, this is definitely worth reading--and re-reading!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
2.0 von 5 Sternen OK? Does Havers EVER Get a Life?, 15. Juli 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Missing Joseph (Taschenbuch)
I started reading this series on my mother's recommendation... she told me that the mysteries were very romantic and that there was a very interesting woman character (Havers) and an English lord who develop a wonderful relationship....NOT! Come on, Mom! Havers is the most abused heroine I've ever encountered. How many times has George described her with a bovine adjective? I keep reading these books waiting for Havers to "Get a Life" but I am not sure that she will ever be so generously rewarded. Meantime, I have to wade through every PC topic known to mankind... incest, abortion, child abuse, teen sex... whatever sells.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen ''Missing Joseph''misses the point ENTIRELY!, 3. Mai 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Missing Joseph (Taschenbuch)
I checked this book out from my local library recently, and I have had a giant question mark hanging over my head, signifying my confusion as to where, exactly, the plot of this book is going. I have enjoyed the rest of her work, but this is the first Elizabeth George mystery which actually disappointed me, because it read more like a Jackie Collins novel than anything else!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Inspector Lynley ermittelt..., 31. Juli 2013
Von 
Felix-Ine (ca. 2 km von der schönen und grünen Uni-Stadt Oldenburg entfernt) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(TOP 500 REZENSENT)   
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Missing Joseph (Taschenbuch)
Deborah und Simon St. James entschließen sich im Winter ihren Urlaub in Lancashire zu verbringen. Sie erhoffen in dieser beruflichen Auszeit ihrer kriselnden Ehe eine Chance geben zu können, um sie zu festigen. Deborah leidet nach einigen Fehlgeburten unter Depressionen und Simon findet schwer Zugang zu ihr. Helfen wollen sie sich in diesen Schwierigkeiten von einem vertrauten Freund, dem Vikar von Winslough. Zu einem Treffen kommt es nicht. Der Vikar ist tot. Was zuerst nach einem Unfall aussieht, entpuppt sich zu einem Kriminalfall. Die Spuren deuten auf eine raffinierte Vergiftung hin. Simon setzt sich mit seinem Freund Inspector Lynley in Verbindung und bittet ihn, sich des Falles anzunehmen.

Ein spannend geschriebenes, 592 Seiten umfassendes Buch. Missing Joseph ist award-winning author Elizabeth George's greates achievement.

Elizabeth George hat ein ausgeprägtes Faible für die britische Krimitradition. Psychologische Raffinesse und präziser Spannungsaufbau, dazu ein unfehlbarer Sinn für Dramatik charakterisieren ihre Bücher. Ausgezeichnet mit dem Anthony Award, dem Agatha Award und dem Grand Prix de Litérature Policière. Die Autorin lebt in Kalifornien.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Was the priest accidentally poisoned or was he murdered?, 9. Juli 1997
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Missing Joseph (Taschenbuch)
Missing Joseph is testimony to Elizabeth George's ability to take the reader through the complex web of relations that constitute social life in an English community while keeping him/her enthralled with the mystery at hand. Missing Joseph is the story of the death of a small town priest. George has Lynley and St. James together with the indubitable Havers solve the problem of who killed the priest while conducting a very complex sub narrative about Deborah St. James' struggle with her preoccupation with having a child of her own. I read George's novels because I am a dedicated mystery buff and she is among the best. However, I also read her because of her downright honest sometimes brutal portrayals of women. To the already initiated, this book is a must read, for those new to the author or to the genre, it is a masterful introduction
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Was ist denn nun mit dem Priester und was hängt wie zusammen? Oder ist es eigentlich egal?, 25. März 2010
Von 
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Missing Joseph (Taschenbuch)
Ich habe dieses Buch mal im Angebot gesehen und musste es einfach haben, schließlich sind die meisten Krimis von Elizabeth George gut und spannend. Leider hat dieses Buch auf ganzer Linie enttäuscht. Eine Beziehung oder auch nur ein Interesse an den Dorfbewohnern kam nicht auf, eher war ich versucht diese als Bauerntrampel abzustempeln bzw. zumindest als Leute anzusehen, die ich ganz bestimmt nicht kennenlernen wollte. Auch das Bild des sympathischen Priesters ändert sich so rapide, dass mir sein Tod irgendwann nicht mehr so sonderlich leid getan hat. Und was sind die privaten Geschichten drum rum z.B. zwischen Helen und Lynley? Was stellt sie sich so an? Irgendwie ist sie mir in späteren Romanen um Welten sympathischer. Nun waren das schon nicht die optimalen Ausgagnspositionen, dass sich der Plot dann hinzog, hat nicht geholfen. Bei Seite 400 hatte ich zum ersten Mal den Wunsch weiterzulesen um zu wissen wie es ausgeht. Ich kann das Buch daher nicht empfehlen.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
2.0 von 5 Sternen Not Who? Why?, 10. April 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Missing Joseph (Taschenbuch)
This is the third George "mystery" I have read following Deception on His Mind and A Great Deliverance. While I find George to be a talented writer, I almost didn't finish this book. At first I felt drawn into the story, but by the end I didn't care. It wasn't just the length, although it was certainly too long, but the boredom on my part. The mystery wasn't a "who done it" but rather a "why did she do it." (This is the same type of effect used in A Great Deliverance.) Havers remains nebulous, Linley is a bore, and let's not even mention Lady Helen--please. The victim never quite becomes three dimensional. I know at the beginning there would be something about adoption given the St. James's problems so that wasn't even a suprise. I will not read any further George mysteries. While the individual parts are interesting, the whole is disappointing and not worth the effort to read it. This is sad because I've also been turned off on Martha Grimes as well!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Get ON with it!, 27. Juni 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Missing Joseph (Taschenbuch)
I'm 80% through this book and it is just now getting around to developing a reason for Sage's murder. This plot is dragging on and on with no developments.
Meanwhile, Little Deb continues to wreck her marriage and Helen is trying her best to wreck her own chances for one. I wish Lynley would do what his father would have done to that lowlife rapist constable. At least something would be happening. If only his blood were a little less blue.
This is not the best in the series. I'm reading them in order and this one is by far the worst so far. Havers is the only one with any life in her, and her circumstances are enough to squeeze the life out of anyone. Her rough edges are the only thing that holds any promise for the remainder of this book.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


6 von 9 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
2.0 von 5 Sternen Cliches, stereotypes, and boredom abound., 21. Juli 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Missing Joseph (Taschenbuch)
This is the 4th George novel I've read, and my least favorite. George loves to indulge in gender-based stereotypes and tired cliches, and here she is at her worst. How long will Deborah and Simon agonize over the child-bearing/adoption issue? Why does a woman who gardens for a living have fingernails that are "trimmed like a man's" (something she found important enough to mention twice)? Why are transgressions committed by men punished less harshly than those committed by women? And let's not leave out the stereotype of females trapping males into marriage by getting themselves pregnant. ugh! Even if she didn't indulge so carelessly in these stereotypes, the plot of this one is a bore. She spends endless pages figuring out the past of a man that nobody cares about. We're supposed to believe that a man Deborah met for 5 minutes made a big enough impression on her that she cared about why he died. But I didn't care, and I wasn't convinced any else did either. Don't bother with this one unless you are stuck in an airport and there is nothing else available.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 2 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Missing Joseph
Missing Joseph von Elizabeth George (Taschenbuch - 1. Mai 1994)
Gebraucht & neu ab: EUR 0,20
Auf meinen Wunschzettel Zahlungsmöglichkeiten ansehen
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen