Kundenrezensionen


196 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (98)
4 Sterne:
 (30)
3 Sterne:
 (26)
2 Sterne:
 (21)
1 Sterne:
 (21)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Geniale Besiedelungsgeschichte des Mars
Red Mars ist eines der besten Science-Fiction Bücher der letzten Dekaden über eine teils mögliche Variante der Marsbesiedlung. Doch ich muss gestehen, zu Beginn war mir die Herangehensweise von Robinson ein klein wenig suspekt. Ich erwartete über die erste Besiedlung des Mars zu erfahren und landete auf 22 langen Seiten eine Generation später in...
Veröffentlicht am 27. Februar 2008 von Rüdiger

versus
2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Seeing Red
Red Mars is an excellent book with a fascinating plot and engaging characters. If anything suffers in this epic (the first of a trilogy), it is the actual literary style. The pacing is pleasantly leisurely most of the time but occasionally pages are spent describing geologic features with a stony earnestness and it is here that things become as dry as dust.
There...
Veröffentlicht am 6. Juli 2000 von Scott Giles


‹ Zurück | 1 220 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Geniale Besiedelungsgeschichte des Mars, 27. Februar 2008
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Red Mars (Mars Trilogy) (Taschenbuch)
Red Mars ist eines der besten Science-Fiction Bücher der letzten Dekaden über eine teils mögliche Variante der Marsbesiedlung. Doch ich muss gestehen, zu Beginn war mir die Herangehensweise von Robinson ein klein wenig suspekt. Ich erwartete über die erste Besiedlung des Mars zu erfahren und landete auf 22 langen Seiten eine Generation später in der Marskolonialisierung, die ohne die Vorgeschichte nicht allzu viel Sinn ergab - habe ich das falsche Buch gekauft? Was soll das? Doch keine Sorge, dann beginnt die Chronik der Besiedlung durch die ersten 100 Erdlinge. Das Eingangskapitel habe ich, als ich im Buch weiter fortgeschritten war und plötzlich einige Seiten vermisste, nachgelesen - und plötzlich war es sehr, sehr spannend. Gratuliere Mr. Robinson!

Gelungen finde ich jedes Kapitel durch einen kurzen Artikel einzuführen, wobei jedoch leider auch einige sehr gute Geschichten quasi per 'Zeitraffer' verschenkt werden. Ein paar der zugegeben sehr schönen Landschaftsbeschreibungspassagen in der Mitte des Romanes weniger - es sind wirklich sehr viele* - und ein paar der Geschichten aus den Essays detailliert ausgeführt, hätten dem Werk von mir sogar einen imaginären sechsten Stern eingebracht.

Eigenartig war für mich weiters, dass fast alle Kapitel andere Protagonisten haben. Ab dem ersten Drittel des Buches begann ich jedoch diesen selten angewendeten literarischen Kunstgriff sehr zu genießen, da er viel mehr Einblicke in eine mögliche Besiedelungsgeschichte bietet, als eine konventionelle Herangehensweise. Außerdem schafft es Robinson die Charaktere derart gut einzuführen, dass sie auch 200 Seiten später, ohne in der Zwischenzeit erwähnt zu werden, noch gut erkennbar sind. Gegen Schluss werden einige Handlungsstränge zu einem fulminanten halboffenen Ende zusammengeführt.

Fazit: Sehr lesenswert, bin schon neugierig auf Green Mars.

Übrigens: Unbedingt in ENGLISCH lesen. Ich habe in einer Buchhandlung in die deutsche Übersetzung hineingeschmökert: Es ist schier unglaublich, dass so eine grottenschlechte Transkription auf den Markt geworfen wird.

* ladet euch bei der NASA Bilder von den Marsmissionen herunter, dann sind diese Passagen ein richtiggehender Lesegenuss.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Seeing Red, 6. Juli 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Red Mars (Mars Trilogy) (Taschenbuch)
Red Mars is an excellent book with a fascinating plot and engaging characters. If anything suffers in this epic (the first of a trilogy), it is the actual literary style. The pacing is pleasantly leisurely most of the time but occasionally pages are spent describing geologic features with a stony earnestness and it is here that things become as dry as dust.
There is very little beautiful writing here. No poetry; no breathtaking descriptions (which is what an epic really calls out for). Another down side may be found in the characters themselves. Their personalities are interesting (enough so that one is willing to wade through glacial pages of topographic description), but none of the characters are geniuses and many of the predicaments they face could have been staved off if just one of them had been thinking a little.
All that said I must report that I enjoyed the book. Rumor has it that James Cameron is making a film based on the book (or on all three?), and that should be quite interesting to see. One hopes it just won't have a score by the marginally competent James Horner and...maybe not quite so many rocks...
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen BEST SCIENCE FICTION BOOK EVER!, 24. Juni 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Red Mars (Mars Trilogy) (Taschenbuch)
I'm not a big fan of Science Fiction. I find it to be usually badly written, absurd, pointless and stupid. But I decided to give 'Red Mars' a read despite this, and it is today one of my all time favourite books.
The amount of obvious reserach that KSL put into this book is STAGGERING! Seventeen years of compulsive obsession has payed off brilliantly. Many science fiction writers leave the 'science' out of their fiction, replacing it with futuristic fantasy. But the amount, the quality, the detail of Mars in this book blows my mind. AMAZING!
The story. By science fiction standards it is FANTASTIC. Now the books main criticism seems to be that the characters are fairly one dimensional. I agree, to a point, but they are just as good as you will find in any other science fiction book. You want wooden characters, pick up Asimov or Arthur C. Clark. KSL's characters may seem like cardboard cut outs and some of them may get on your nerves from time to time (having the irritating Maya being the subject of the first proper chapter wasn't the best idea) but they are more fleshed out and unique than you'll find in other science fiction books (Frank was my favourite, shame he's not in the other two books). The central character is, of course, Mars itself. And this is the best portryal of Mars EVER.
The setting spans a few decades in the twenty-first century and let me just say that it is the ULTIMATE in future history. What can I compare KSL's future history to? It is more realistic, more believable, more capitvating then the pathetic efforts of his sci-fi peers. KSL is truly unique in his vision of the future. Object to the political heaviness if you will... but in my opinion (I am an economics and political-science student) this may not be an unrealistic vision of near-future society. What MAY be unrealistic is the pace with which Mars is colonized. Nevertheless, a bit of fantasy must be allowed to give the book its excitement... the chapter that deals with the Revolution is brilliant and the chapter that follows (Shikata Ga Nai) is the best. It is a brilliant climax to a brilliant book, all the way up to the brilliant final sentence by Hiroko.
Did someone say badly written? This book is NOT badly written, definately not by sci-fi standards anyway. I found it compelling the whole way through, allthough sometimes the characters' ramblings and rooting was a bit annoying. Nevertheless, in the world of science fiction, the Mars trilogy is the definitive forerunner. Better than the Dune series, better than the Foundation series, better than the Rama series. This EPIC manifesto of humanity's potential knocks everthing else to pieces, and if Green Mars and Blue Mars don't live up to the original book's brilliance it is only because that would be impossible. GET IT. READ IT.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Taming a planet, 8. Juni 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Red Mars (Mars Trilogy) (Taschenbuch)
Kim Stanley Robinson has done one incredible, and very cohesive, job in setting down the words describing what an actual effort to settle a planet in our solar system might really be like.
This is not your run of the mill "kill all the little green men..." shoot 'em up space operas that various authors have bombarded us with in the past. Instead it is a serious attempt to portray all of the little details, from politics to human frailties; from engineering "can-dos" to engineering "maybes". He has gone to meticulous effort to lay out a Mars before us readers based upon what we now think we know to be fact about that planet, and gently suffused it with logical extrapolation on what we may find should we actually ever set foot there.
Mr. Robinson has also gone to great pains to paint us an extremely graphic image of what vistas we would see while strolling around the surface of Mars. He has named and described all of the mountains, craters, valleys, buttes, and mesas with such accuracy and attention to detail, you start wondering if he speaks from experience.
But, don't believe it is all just an exercise in idealism, as I mentioned before this is very much a human endevour, and where there are humans there will always be struggle. For instance, such a massive an undertaking as the colonization of Mars would obviously require a massive commitment of money. Such a massive committment of one's life, safety and future, would require a group of colonists with very individualistic ideas, people that tend to think outside the "box" so to speak. The money people and the "free thinkers" are bound to part ways on just what the future of Mars should or should not be, so we must inevitably come to War; and Mr. Robinson does not disappoint in this regard, the "troops" are sent in --- and the missiles, and the rocks, fly...
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Wild Trip, 21. März 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Red Mars (Mars Trilogy) (Taschenbuch)
Hang on to your hats and take a wild trip to the future. Red Mars is the first book in a trilogy, Green Mars and Blue Mars being the 2nd and 3rd books. It begins in the future, 30 years from now, and spans approximately 250 years by the end of Blue Mars. The science is astonishingly fresh, accurate and much of it is real. The rest of it is on the scientific drawing board. Mr. Robinson's ability to intelligently write about topics ranging from geology to history to social structure to string theory is impressive. If you love science and projected possibilities where that science can take us, this book is for you.
Red Mars, and it's sequels, are powerful and descriptive overviews of the debate over whether to terraform or not to terraform Mars. These questions are a must for us to debate in our own time as we venture away from Mother Earth to the other planets in our solar system. We must have a grasp of the impact we will make before we do so. They address these issues and show at least one possible outcome of human diaspora througout the solar sytem and eventually to the stars beyond. It isn't the full answer to the real life problems and realities we will face as we send manned missions to Mars and other places, but it is a vital starting place to make us consider things we may not otherwise consider. I highly recommend Red Mars and both its sequels.
To enhance my experience while reading these books, I listen to music. I would like to suggest a playlist.
1. Claude Debussy, Khamma (orchestral work)
2. Beethoven's 6th Symphony (the Pastoral Symphony)
3. Vince Bell, Texas Plates
4. Pat Metheny, A Map of the World
5. Pat Metheny, Quartet
6. Pat Metheny, As Falls Witchita, So Falls Witchita Falls
7. Igor Stravinsky, Firebird Suite
8. Serge Prokofiev, Scythian Suite
9. Sting, Brand New Day
Enjoy!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen A Vision for the Future, 27. Februar 2000
Von 
Bart Leahy (Huntsville, AL) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Red Mars (Mars Trilogy) (Taschenbuch)
I am now on my third or fourth reading of Red Mars. It is enjoyable on so many levels, I'm afraid it takes that many readings to pick them all up. First of all, it is a story of an alien world--standard fare for science fiction readers. The research and extrapolation KSR put into his work boggles the mind. You really feel you've "seen" the Martian North Pole, Noctis Labyrinthus, or Olympus Mons.
Next, Robinson creates a story of terraforming--the potential methods, motives, and pitfalls. It is easy to see this story becoming a potential blueprint for the next century's explorers.
Into this milieu, Robinson creates some terrific characters--John Boone, Frank Chalmers, Maya Toitovna, Nadia Cherneshevsky, and the rest--all of them described in a third-person-limited voice that gives the reader excellent insight into these people and how they perceive and are perceived by others.
And lastly, there is a political story. KSR's characters split into two camps. There is the "Red Mars" group, which seeks to keep Mars in its natural state, with human beings living in domed habitats and leaving the surface "as is." Appropriately enough, this movement is led by a geologist, Ann Clayborne. The "Green Mars" group, centered around the biologist Hiroko Ai, believes in terraforming and bringing life to Mars, but life that does not rely on heavy industry. These seem like two reasonable oppositions, and it takes a careful reading to realize KSR has fooled you. There is no "conservative" voice in this tale, save Phyllis Boyle, whom KSR portrays (through the eyes of his characters) as alternately stupid, evil, craven, or relentlessly, shamelessly greedy. He also sneers at her Christianity, which he sees as part of her stupidity or incorrect world view. In any case, given the rapacious greed and industrial evil of the "conservative" Earth, the reader is left to choose between one form of matriarchal environmentalism or the other. It is his view, and I just disagree with it. That said, the political interaction between Earth and Mars is believeable as KSR describes it.
Anyone interested in reading science fiction must read this book. It is too good not to read and enjoy.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Great book -- a buncha misc. comments on it, 14. Januar 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Red Mars (Mars Trilogy) (Taschenbuch)
Amazing description of a whole world -- loved it for stretching my brain...
Enjoyed the whole politics/economics behind going to Mars -- something not usually dwelt on much in SF (usually only in very broad strokes.)
The crisis of overdevelopment and revolution was well done -- KSM does a wonderful job of describing the terror of a situation going out of control. It's hard as a reader to lose sympathetic and interesting characters ("oh no, not him too"), but it's more real and terrifying for that -- in real life, death doesn't just claim the bit characters...
I don't agree with the reviews that find the characters as one-dimensional and shallow -- they're some of the most complex characters you'll find in SF, and worthy of regular fiction.
Also strange to read comments that find fault with KSM for having too dull a plot -- I think he did a good balancing act of giving a sociopolitical overview of 50 years of terraforming and also having characters involved the whole way through. By making the First Hundred be the main focus of the plot -- and giving them more than their share of political power and scientific discoveries and accomplishments -- he's already pushing against limits of realism. And inventing longevity treatments gives the reader characters who'll be around for 200 years through all 3 books. (Though of course the longevity treatments are certainly possible, and they make more plausible the more humane government that develops later on in the trilogy -- people with longer lives are less likely to settle for bad government, and will have more savvy to create change.)
Hope the Mars trilogy makes it on to audiobook someday -- I'd love to savor it that way!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Robinson is the Tolstoy of Sci Fi writers, 30. November 1999
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Red Mars (Mars Trilogy) (Taschenbuch)
If Leo Tolstoy were alive and writing science fiction, this is the kind of book he would write. More than just an adventure in space, this novel presents complex, imperfect characters wrestling with questions of philosphy, politics, morality and conflicting personal ambitions against the backdrop of setteling a new world. The scope of the story, the level of detail, the number of characters and the ever shifting focus adds up to a War And Peace in the 21st century.
This is not an easy book or a quick read. It requires attention and a willingness to let the author unfold the story in his own way. But it is a richly rewarding experience. While I liked it more than the following two books in the series, I think the entire trilogy represents a monumental achievement. As a shear feat of imagination based on the known possibilities, it is like no other science fiction that I have read. Those readers that fault Robinson for not writing something like Young Christian Republicans Go to Mars are overlooking the obvious - that a fresh start will necessarily mean a lot of conflict (social, political and economic) until some compromise between conflicting priorities can be established. Robinson does not offer any easy solutions to these problems, and the socialistic elements that are introduced into the Martian system have little to do with old terran forms of central planning and control.
This is a thoughtful book full of action. Much of the action is mundane; people moving from place to place or building things. Yet it is always fascinating, because the trips are through unfamiliar landscapes and the building is constrained by the hostile atmosphere and limited gravity. Reading these books is almost like a physical experience. I even found myself dreaming the landscape.
Like War and Peace, I suspect this is a book I will have to revisit in order to discover what I missed the first time. It's worth it.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Robinson is the Tolstoy of Sci Fi writers, 30. November 1999
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Red Mars (Mars Trilogy) (Taschenbuch)
If Leo Tolstoy was alive and writing science fiction, this is the kind of book he would write. More than just an adventure in space, this novel presents complex, imperfect characters wrestling with questions of philosphy, politics, morality and conflicting personal ambitions against the backdrop of setteling a new world. The scope of the story, the level of detail, the number of characters and the ever shifting focus adds up to a War And Peace in the 21st century.
This is not an easy book or a quick read. It requires attention and a willingness to let the author unfold the story in his own way. But it is a richly rewarding experience. While I liked it more than the following two books in the series, I think the entire trilogy represents a monumental achievement. As a shear feat of imagination based on the known possibilities, it is like no other science fiction that I have read. Those readers that fault Robinson for not writing something like Young Christian Republicans Go to Mars are overlooking the obvious - that a fresh start will necessarily mean a lot of conflict (social, political and economic) until some compromise between conflicting priorities can be established. Robinson does not offer any easy solutions to these problems, and the socialistic elements that are introduced into the Martian system have little to do with old terran forms of central planning and control.
This is a thoughtful book full of action. Much of the action is mundane; people moving from place to place or building things. Yet it is always fascinating, because the trips are through unfamiliar landscapes and the building is constrained by the hostile atmosphere and limited gravity. Reading these books is almost like a physical experience. I even found myself dreaming the landscape.
Like War and Peace, I suspect this is a book I will have to revisit in order to discover what I missed the first time. It's worth it.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1.0 von 5 Sternen Does not deserve the awards and praise, 21. August 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Red Mars (Mars Trilogy) (Taschenbuch)
I really don't understand how this book won the Nebula and Green Mars won the Hugo. I thought the book was very poorly written. Sci-Fi authors are not known for their writing ability, but KSR's work is some of the worst I have ever seen. The characters are some of the most unbelievable, flat, cliched and irrating people I've ever found in print. Not to mention the book seems to have no direction whatsover. The narrative lacks any semblance of continuity.
A lot of the other reviewers have complained about the politics which seem to be the true focus of the book. I don't mind them in and of themselves. What is annoying is the delivery. I'm sure a lot of the positive reviews are from readers sharing KSR's political philosphy; but the politics of Red Mars are very difficult to believe. The situations he contrives to justify the political climate of Red Mars stick out as just that: contrived.
I actually found the exceedingly long terrain descriptions kind of interesting, but the book does move very slowly. The "science" was interesting and sounded very good, if not entirely realistic. But I can't think of any sci-fi novel that is.
In summary, the plot is boring. The characters are boring, irritating, and one dimensional (what the hell were the reviewers who raved about great character development smoking????). The politics are lame. The science is interesting. The premise, sadly, is fascinating. And the book is extremely boring. Don't waste your time with it unless your stuck on an airplane with nothing else to read.
Red Mars probably deserves 3 stars, but I rated it a 1 due to the expectations associated with any Nebula winner -- this is the worst Nebula/Hugo winning book I've ever read.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 220 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Red Mars (Mars Trilogy)
Red Mars (Mars Trilogy) von Kim Stanley Robinson (Taschenbuch - 1. Oktober 1993)
EUR 5,90
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen