Kundenrezensionen


220 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (80)
4 Sterne:
 (52)
3 Sterne:
 (17)
2 Sterne:
 (25)
1 Sterne:
 (46)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Beautifully written, full of love for Italy
Loving myself Italy I fell immediately in love with Mayes book. I enjoyed every page of it. The way she describes Italy is the way I experienced life there, too. It's not that only reading the book is full of pleasure. You can even straight go to your kitchen and cook one of the delicious recipes. Going to Italy in a way means coming home. It's one of the most lovely...
Veröffentlicht am 19. August 2001 von Amazon Kunde

versus
1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen Thumbs down
I am glad I didn't spend money on this book, it was loaned to me. The first third was of interest - how to negotiate buying a house in Italy vs my own country of France. It then became the story of a wealthy American couple pretending to have spent their last penny buying this farm but still managing to go there from California three times a year, spending what must...
Veröffentlicht am 14. April 2000 von lizard@neworld.net


‹ Zurück | 1 222 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen How travel writing should be!, 21. September 2003
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Under The Tuscan Sun (Taschenbuch)
In "Under The Tuscan Sun - At Home in Italy" food and travel writer Frances Mayes tells how she and her husband bought and lovingly restored an abandoned villa in Tuscany.
Through trials and tribulations which anyone who's ever had any building work done can relate to and sympathise with, to the wonders to be found in the local villages and countryside, Mayes describes every episode and encounter with warmth, wit and enthusiasm. She's also included plenty of local recipes you can try, to bring a little bit of Tuscany into your home!
This is more than just a travel book; it's an interesting look at living in a foreign country, as Mayes and her husband try to make Tuscany their home for part of each year.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Beautifully written, full of love for Italy, 19. August 2001
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Under the Tuscan Sun (Taschenbuch)
Loving myself Italy I fell immediately in love with Mayes book. I enjoyed every page of it. The way she describes Italy is the way I experienced life there, too. It's not that only reading the book is full of pleasure. You can even straight go to your kitchen and cook one of the delicious recipes. Going to Italy in a way means coming home. It's one of the most lovely books I ever read. It combines all I like: beautiful country, irresitable landscape, nice people, great climate, cooking and not to forget speaking about a country which is the cradle of the human beeings, their history, culture. Read the book and have a good glass of vine, maybe a Chianty. And excuse my poor English.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen A gentle and entertaining read, 19. September 2000
Von 
Lesley West (St James, Western Australia) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Under the Tuscan Sun (Taschenbuch)
It is with interest that I have read some of the less flattering reviews for this book. I think it is a lovely opportunity for a little escapism, in the warmth of an Italy that many of us will never have the good fortune to experience. So what if it is somewhat of a self oriented story that makes little mention of the people? It is a gentle and interesting story, and I have enjoyed it thoroughly.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen Thumbs down, 14. April 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Under the Tuscan Sun (Taschenbuch)
I am glad I didn't spend money on this book, it was loaned to me. The first third was of interest - how to negotiate buying a house in Italy vs my own country of France. It then became the story of a wealthy American couple pretending to have spent their last penny buying this farm but still managing to go there from California three times a year, spending what must have been a fortune installing a central heating system. What happened to the fireplace? They pretend to live like the locals and certainly don't blend in. We learn that the author owns a Sub-Zero refrigerator in San Francisco, how relevant is this to the story? we also learn that Ms. Mayes's mother had a cook. In brief, I found this pretentious and not worth the paper it is written on, made a great tax write-off though for the Mayes....
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen Favourably slumming it in Tuscany, 28. März 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Under the Tuscan Sun (Taschenbuch)
This is the worst of the self-indulgent 'favourably slumming it' travel books I have read. We are meant to feel that the author has established a link with her environment and feels 'at home' in her holiday home environment, wheras she really is just another rich American pretending to be noble by doing some token manual labour whilst paying the locals for extensive house renovations. As an academic the author writes in a very pretentious style, and the inclusion of 2 chapters of recipes was a joke. Easily the worst travel book I have ever read. Look for something else.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen Under the Tuscan Sun, 30. Januar 2000
Von 
William J. Wood Jr. MD (Clackamas, Oregon USA) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Under the Tuscan Sun (Taschenbuch)
I'm half way through this book. I told a friend of mine, who is married to an Italian woman and spends every summer there with his family, that I was reading this book. His comment, "She's a snot". My thought, "Exactly". That this writing has become so popular gives me the chills. Mix thinly minced Scarlett O'Hara with marinated Martha Stewart and saute with a luke warm Danielle Steele novel. This is junior college night class writer's workshop fare. Throw in a lot of foreign words to spice up your writing. Keep a diary of your inner thoughts. Cookbook writing oxymoron. Say arugula. However, the recipes do sound tasty and I think I'll try them. I spent some time in the south and came to recognize the new clothes of racism and the overweening sense of entitlement that still flows in those bloodlines. Instead of pickaninnies we have the more PC Italians, Poles, whatever, whose every gesture amuses Frances with their quaintness. She is actually jealeous of their sense of ample time and lack of hurry. They don't work near as hard as Frances in her busy, professional life back in San Fransisco. And look, a whole valley full of other writers, expats, literati who have all done rennovations. Break out the grappa. I smell a lucrative divorce settlement in the past..."The glass house in California..." Were there a lot of old Good Housekeeping magazines in that house? Do I seem like a frustrated, middle age man who has never pursued his dream and is stuck in a high work volume profession? Maybe. But I still don't like this book. Read Bruce Chatwin instead...real writing...real intelligence...real compassion.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Zustandsbeschreibung, 22. Juni 2013
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Under The Tuscan Sun (Taschenbuch)
Ich hatte, da die Bücher aus England kamen, mit einer etwas längeren Wartezeit gerechnet.

Die Bücher sehen sehr gut aus. Ich kann diesen Shop nur weiterempfehlen-

M. Dreyer
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Toskana früher, 27. November 2011
"Under the Tuscan Sun " war Auslöser für den Toskana-Boom und den Run der Toskana-Fraktion auf verlassene Anwesen in der Region. Frances Mayes Beschreibung ihrer mühevollen und oftmals mit Überraschungen gespickten Annäherung an das erworbene alte Haus und die Schrullen der toskanischen Handwerker könnte eigentlich vor Nachahmung abschrecken, tatsächlich vermittelt aber spürbar die Sonne auf der Haut, den samtigen Geschmack eines fassgereiften Rotweins auf der Zunge und so viel italienisches "dolce viva", dass der Leser motiviert wird, stande pede einen Makler aufzusuchen.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Under the Tuscan Sun, 15. September 2005
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Under the Tuscan Sun (Taschenbuch)
The tittle of this book encompasses the essence of the book. Frances Mayes retires to Italy and obtains a rural farm house and olive trees. It is not a story but more of a biography of the struggles and joys of restoring the farmhouse in Tuscany. Also the trials and tribulations of working with the Government and several diverse cultures from the workmen tot the subcontractors. It is the details that make the book so interesting.
If everyone had the wherewithal and the finances to accomplish this then there would be no need for the book. This book gives us dreams, hopes, and recipes. Also enjoyed the audio version.
Be aware that reading this book will make you want to eat Italian.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen A good read!, 14. Juli 2000
Von 
Fafa Demasio (New York City) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Under the Tuscan Sun (Taschenbuch)
I didn't think a book about buying a house in a foreign country would be interesting. I was wrong. Through very captivating and descriptive writing skills, the reader is allowed to journey and experience the writer's new adventure in the Tuscan region of Italy. Mayes allows the reader to see more than the tourist sites of Italy. Instead, the reader experiences a more personal view.
It was a fun experience and great trip. What's more, I didn't have to buy a plane ticket or pay for a hotel room. All I extended was the price of the book. Now, that's a great deal!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 222 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Under The Tuscan Sun
Under The Tuscan Sun von Frances Mayes (Taschenbuch - 1. Mai 1998)
EUR 9,30
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen