Fashion Sale Hier klicken Strandspielzeug reduziertemalbuecher Cloud Drive Photos Erste Wahl Learn More designshop Hier klicken Fire Shop Kindle PrimeMusic Autorip Summer Sale 16

Kundenrezensionen

4,4 von 5 Sternen
49
4,4 von 5 Sternen
Format: Taschenbuch|Ändern
Preis:4,49 €+ Kostenfreie Lieferung mit Amazon Prime
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 5. Februar 2000
Until I read this book, I didn't know that a serious novel about human like animals existed. Certainly H.G. Wells is not most well known as one of the fathers of sci-fi for this novel. It was one of his first, published in 1896, and the book lovers of the time must have really found this work disturbing and shocking. Maybe that's why The Island of Dr. Moreau has been playing catch up to The Time Machine and War of the Worlds ever since. I admit that I myself found the basic idea in this book very cruel, but I realized that the book covered other issues as well. Besides being the novel about an insane scientist who tries the hand at playing God, this book evokes thoughts of social responsibilty and freedom of all living things. Also, it shows that sometimes who we think of as being authority really have no right to be, and deals with anarchy and revolution. But it is the basic plot that has the most effect. Why does Moreau torture animals so that can make them in the image of man? Dr. Moreau beats Victor Frankenstein on who is a more of a nutcase. Frankenstein intended for something good to come out of his work. Moreau did his experiments just for curiosity. He didn't expect for his creations to have any real purpose. He didn't care for them. And yet he brainwashes his creations to fear and respect him, to treat him like a god, and follow his laws. And another thought occurs. What really seperates man from beast? What causes humans to sometime commit violent and brutal acts? What does that account for? When I read this novel, the reality of what genetic cloning may become years from now passed through my mind. If genetics had been an established science in the 1890's, Wells could of utilized it in this book, but he would probably have created a controversy beyond any proportion. But certainly the ignorance of genes back then was not his fault, and he came up with probably the best substition: vivisection. Being the substitute of what was unknown and likely more plausible, vivisection was more than enough to shock Well's audience of reading about the blasphemous idea of creating "Beast-People". I am certain that people in 1896 weren't ready for it. Neither are we. That's what I think is the main reason that The Island of Dr. Moreau isn't as popular as H.G. Wells other novels. I found, however, that this was a worthwhile read because its suspense and creepiness intrigued me, and it made me think of some social issues. If you're a person who can bear reading a grotesque story of cruelty and suffering, I highly recommend this book.
0Kommentar| 4 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 10. November 2014
Always a good read, and plenty to think about. Interesting to see how relevant Wells still is today. A visionary writer, and this story is full of disturbing thoughts and reflections on the way Science and humans meet. Insight into both, but as usual it is the insight into people that is most disturbing.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 1. Februar 2012
Wells' more than a hundred years old book "The island of Dr. Moreau" is an exciting story about the dangers when man ties to manipulate nature.

In the 21st century man discovered the structure of DNA - the nucleic acid that contains the genetic information of every known living organisms -, cloned a mammal and modified organisms genetically. This advances in science Herbert George Wells (1866-1946) could not foresee when he published his third novel, "The Island of Dr. Moreau", in 1896. But his story about the sinister scientist feels more than a hundred years later no longer just like fiction.
When Edward Prendick stranded on a remote island somewhere in the Pacific Ocean, he soon learns that this is not paradise here, this island has some very strange creatures. "Every shadow became something more than a shadow, became an ambush, every rustle became a threat." Prendick meets the suspicious scientist Dr. Moreau, become witness of a vivisection - operations on living organisms -, and learns the truth about the creatures, "...this extraordinary branch of knowledge has never been sought as en end..." But then something goes terribly wrong and Prendick and the other men can only hope to survive.
From the beginng you are dragged into a very dark and dense story about the dangers man faces when he tries to manipulate nature. But Wells also raises some ethical questions. "It was not the first time that conscience has turned against the methods of research."
Before H. G. Wells became a writer and established himself as a pioneer of science fiction, Wells worked as a teacher and journalist and had studied biology at the Norman School of science.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 15. September 2006
Herbert George Wells' "The Island of Dr. Moreau" ist ein echter Genreklassiker im Bereich der Spannungsliteratur. Das soll jedoch nicht bedeuten, dass sich "Moreau" auf bloße Spannungseffekte und Elemente des Morbiden reduzieren lässt - gleichwohl dies Ende 1897 durchaus der Fall war.

Doch "Moreau" erfüllt höchste literarische Ansprüche, denn neben der fesselnden Erzählweise ist die Geschichte vor allem ein wahres intertextuelles Sammelsurium, von Shakespeares "Sturm" über Kiplings Dschungelbuch bis hin zu Defoes "Robin Crusoe".

Edward Prendicks Schiffbruch führt ihn auf eine Insel voller schrecklicher Kreaturen, auf der Dr. Moreau - einst umstrittener Tierforscher in England - sein Unwesen treibt. Sein stets allen Fragen ausweichender Gehilfe Montgomery und das merkwürdige Wesen M'ling komplettieren die unheimliche Troika. Prendick wird es noch mit der nackten Angst zu tun kriegen, als Experimente auf verhängnisvolle Weise scheitern.

Neben dieser spannungsgeladenen Handlung lässt der Text noch tiefer blicken, sehr tief, denn er offenbart ein relativ pessimistisches Menschenbild, indem die Degeneration - also die umgekehrte Evolution - per se in jedem Menschen vonstatten gehen kann. Jeder Mensch kann zu jeder Zeit seine Kultur niederreißen und zur wilden Bestie werden.

Wells' Text entstammt dem Fin de Siècle, einer Zeit gróßer kultureller Ängste, die einerseits wilden Degenerationsphantasien Vorschub leistete, aber auch Texte beisteuerte, die starke moralische Kritik am Zeitgeist aufkommen ließen. Das Menschenbild von Wells ist durchaus ethisch geprägt, ist sehr bescheiden und auf seine Moralvorstellungen reduziert, welche ihn alleinig vom Tierischen unterscheiden. Der Lauf der Weltgeschichte gibt Wells Recht. Ein wahrer Klassiker. Absolut lesenswert.
0Kommentar| 5 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 5. September 2015
As with many of H.G.'s stories, it is a tail told by a narrator. Also at first, you may not notice his slipping in of social underpinnings.

Pendrick, our narrator starts out trying to tell how he was disenshipped and disappeared at sea for a year to turn up alive. His explanation is so fantastic that no one believes him. However after we read his account, we do.

He spent the bulk of his time on an isolated island with the mysterious Dr. Moreau, Moreau's right hand man Montgomery, and a menagerie of unique people. Where did they come from and what are they doing on this island? As the story unfolds, Pendrick realizes he is the next either on the operating table or for supper or maybe something more sinister.

This story has shades of William Golding's "Lord of the Flies". However, I can swear that I work with the very same creatures every day. Moreover, I will never look at my cat in the same way.

Somehow, I missed the movie version of this book, so I cannot compare them.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 24. Februar 2000
This book is like a rich tapestry. It has the added bloom of maturity that does not invade any other Anne books except perhaps Rilla of Ingleside. In this book we see Anne dealing with the first tragedy that happened since the start of her charmed life at Green Gables. Also there is Anne's enigmatic friend Leslie Moore, whose dark past makes this friendship more complicated than any other Anne has had to deal with.
A gorgoeus book, but I miss Marilla and all the "Avonlea folk".
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 9. Mai 1998
I love Anne but I've always felt that L M Montgomery's depiction of her degenerated in the later books. Anne was happy having children but I don't believe that meant Anne had to sacrifice all her dreams and talent to the altar of Gil and children (not to mention Susan). I hated how Anne would constantly put herself down. It is almost as though L.M. Montgomery was saying that girls could not have it all. It's awful how Anne would say things like "I had wonderful dreams when I was younger, but I'll never make Who's Who", or how she never even made an attempt at writing Captain Jim's life-story, saying something like "I know what I can do, I can only write fairy stories.....", which implies that it was beyond her. Anne topped the batch in English at Redmond and her talents in her youth were prodigious. It is cop-out for Montgomery to have condemned Anne to life as a doctor's wife in a provincial town. Her creative potential was never fulfilled.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 18. Mai 2000
Wells story is about shipwrecked, Charles Edward Prendick whom is adrift in an open boat when the boat is sightedby a passing ship. He rescuer is a man by the name of Montgomery. This man has a strangley deformed man as his servant. Prendick can not understand why he finds this man so revolting. The ships cargo is composed of animals bound for a small island inhabitated by Montgomery and Dr. Moreau. The secret on this island is the terrifying lifework of Dr. Moreau, i.e., creatures that look a bit like Montgomery's deformed servant.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 4. Mai 2000
100-150 years ago, there were two visionary authors who became the pioneers of the science fiction genre. The first, who predicted the coming of space travel, sea travel, and modern geology, among other things, was Jules Verne. The second, who developed the idea of an Invisible Man, Martian Invaders, Time Machines, Atomic Energy, and Genetic Engineering, was H.G. Wells. The greatest works of Verne came true and yet men still strive to accomplish the ideas developed by Wells. Which one was the true visionary?
However, two famous works of Wells HAVE come true. The first is his beliefs for the use of Atomic Energy in 'The World Set Free,' the other is man's perfection of nature in 'The Island of Dr. Moreau.' The main difference is that his modern day's 'viviseciton' has been replaced by OUR modern day's genetic engineering.
Here is classic Wells; man's struggle with concepts of nature which he cannot comprehend, his inevitable downfall, and salvation and forgiving through nature. Yet in 'The Island of Dr. Moreau,' Wells's belief that humans are basically evil is never more easy to see.
It also flows at a much smoother pace than some of his other novels, however certain parts can be hard to understand (I still don't understand exactly HOW the animals can talk and why they revert back to animals after 10 months WITHOUT Moreau as opposed to being half-humans for years WITH Moreau). And the end feels rushed as well.
Overall, I would recommend it to anyone who appreciates science, literature, and the strange feeling that comes with the realization that a book that seems so modern was written so long ago.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 6. Juni 1999
Written more than a century ago The Island of Dr Moreau is still read by many people to this day. An Englishman is shipwrecked and lands on the island where Dr Moreau portrays god and struggles to create the perfect race. Messages on evolution and the misuse of intelligence is found throughout the book. Issues on the role of God and his relationship with mankind are also discussed. Everyone can relate to The Island of Dr Moreau through the the beast people. We are the beast people surpressed by God, or Dr Moreau. We bury our intincts and our desires, and try to follow what society believes is right. Once in a while those emotions can no longer be hidden and they burst through our molded personalities. It is probable that this is what HG Wells was trying to express in his work since it was written in 1896, around the same time when Charles Darwin anounced the idea of evolution. There are passages in the book that make reference to the old testament. I enjoy this controversial aguement in The Island of Dr Moreau. This might well be the mystery that unkowingly intrigues poeple to read this book. Anyone will enjoy this classic science fiction thriller.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden