Kundenrezensionen


461 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (194)
4 Sterne:
 (131)
3 Sterne:
 (62)
2 Sterne:
 (40)
1 Sterne:
 (34)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


6 von 6 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen amüsanter "Spaziergang" durch die Appalachen
In gewohnt satirischer Erzählweise beschreibt Bryson seine Expedition über den AppalachenTrail. Obwohl er Dinge wie Massentourismus, Naturzerstörung und American Way of Life kritisiert, wirkt das Buch nie langweilig, sondern unterhält den Leser mit unzähligen lustigen Episoden der Reise. Prädikat äußerst empfehlenswert.
Am 4. Dezember 2001 veröffentlicht

versus
1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
2.0 von 5 Sternen Disappointing
This is my first Bill Bryson book, and it may be the last.
I see there are many customer reviews of 3, 4, or 5 stars, and I am surprised. This book led me on a merry chase that rendered ultimately in disappointment, and I do not recommend it.
It began promisingly with several funny bits about getting ready for the "trek." And some of the early trail...
Am 12. Juni 2000 veröffentlicht


‹ Zurück | 1 247 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

6 von 6 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen amüsanter "Spaziergang" durch die Appalachen, 4. Dezember 2001
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: A Walk In The Woods (Roman) (Taschenbuch)
In gewohnt satirischer Erzählweise beschreibt Bryson seine Expedition über den AppalachenTrail. Obwohl er Dinge wie Massentourismus, Naturzerstörung und American Way of Life kritisiert, wirkt das Buch nie langweilig, sondern unterhält den Leser mit unzähligen lustigen Episoden der Reise. Prädikat äußerst empfehlenswert.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen brilliant, 30. März 2011
Rezension bezieht sich auf: A Walk In The Woods (Roman) (Taschenbuch)
jeden mann packt irgendwann die wanderlust. so auch bryson, der sich vornimmt, den appalachian trail zu begehen. dass es dort bären gibt, und dass er sich mit seinem verrückten freund katz auf die reise macht, erschwert den genuss der wanderung. auch das packen und vorbereiten ist eine prozedur, die dem leser schon tränen in die augen treibt, weil man einfach lachen muss.
mit unglaublich feinem humor und erlesener wortwahl beschreibt bryson die kleinen und größeren abenteuer, die sich den wanderern in den weg stellen.
ein buch, bei dem man so laut lacht, dass sich anwesende verwundert umdrehen.
das hörbuch dazu ist auch absolut empfehlenswert - die stimme der wanderkollegin, die die beiden zum wahnsinn treibt ist ein running gag.
"BIIIIG MISTAKE!" ist bei uns zu hause schon ein geflügeltes wort.
bill bryson ist eigentlich - für mich - immer eine garantie für lesegenuss abseits von tranigen romanzen oder knallharten krimis.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Better than fiction, 19. Juli 2000
Typically, I read a lot of fiction. I'm an escapist, I guess. I read to get away from the world we are all here to occcupy, and often I find that the best escape is into a fictonal land where nothing is as it seems, or even plausable.
I took a chance on this book on a friends recomendation, and I was not dissapointed. Knowing my penchant for escapism, he steered me directly to this often hilarious account of a middle age writer and his drunk hippy college buddy hiking the appalchian trail. Two more mismached fellows I could not imagine.
This book details a hysterical tale of survivial that leaves you half wanting to call up that old college friend that you haven't seen in 10 years and pack your bags and hit the trail, and half glad to continue to lead your sedintary life writing book reviews on some web site.
The other great positive that this book offers is it's interesting history lessons. I don't think I've learned as much about american history since 10th grade social studies! Bryson has a little Charles Kuralt going on (well, maybe without the love affairs!) as he leaves the trail and gives frank, raucous descriptions of the little towns he finds food and shelter in along the way.
I highly recommend this book to anyone with a good sense of humor, a free weekend (it's a quick read) and an escapist personality.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Experiencing a very special part of America, 19. Mai 2000
Von 
Linda Linguvic (New York City) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Subtitled, "Rediscovering America on the Appalachian Trail", the author, Bill Bryson, brings the reader along with him, a novice hiker, who, at the age of 44, has just returned to the United States after 20 years in England. He's been a journalist for British publications and has written several travel memoirs. Now it was time to experience a part of the America he left behind by hiking this famous trail.
The Appalachian Trail consists of 2,100 rugged miles along the east coast and passes through 14 states from Georgia to Maine, built with the labor from public works in the 1930s. It has been re-routed slightly over the years and has never achieved the ideal which included many comfortable rest areas. Environmental disasters have taken its toil as well as the blunders and shortsightedness of governmental organizations. But it still exists as a challenge for hikers who often hike just a part of the trail.
With a companion from his college days, the overweight and sometimes blundering Stephen Katz from Des Moines, Bryson starts out in Georgia with the plan of completing the entire trail. They know this is a challenge for them. Both of them are novices, and with a sense of depreciating humor, he shares his personal point of view with the reader -- his apprehensions, his fatigue, the people he meets, the places he visits and his companionship with his friend.
Not is all deep woods, however, and their infrequent sojourns to towns where they can occasionally go to a restaurant and sleep in a motel are welcome relief before they pick up their packs again and once more walk all day and sleep in their tents at night. And then there is the part of the trail where they must sleep in rat-infested shelters with other hikers and well as weather conditions that include a roaring blizzard and icy conditions.
My son-in-law has hiked part of the Appalachian trail and gave me this book. It gave me insight into some of the experiences he must have had. And it also made me yearn for an outdoor adventure myself.
But whether you are a skilled outdoors person, or an armchair traveler like me, this book is a wonderful read.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
2.0 von 5 Sternen Disappointing, 12. Juni 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: A Walk in the Woods (Gebundene Ausgabe)
This is my first Bill Bryson book, and it may be the last.
I see there are many customer reviews of 3, 4, or 5 stars, and I am surprised. This book led me on a merry chase that rendered ultimately in disappointment, and I do not recommend it.
It began promisingly with several funny bits about getting ready for the "trek." And some of the early trail stuff was good, but all joy quickly fled, and I was left with the feeling that the author was either angry or just plain mean spirited.
I was somewhat dismayed by the his rant against the Forest Service, I wasn't expecting that, and I was completely put off when I discovered there was never any real intention to do the entire walk-thru on the AT. That felt like a betrayal for some reason.
In fact, as soon as Katz left and Bryson returned alone to embark on his guerilla approach to hiking by driving here and there and attempting to absorb some sense of the AT through day-trips, I lost interest completely.
I didn't finish the book, so I cannot say whether it redeemed itself in the end or not, but everything after Part I felt a little forced and panicky to me.
I also warn those who are not prepared for it, that some of the language is a bit salty. And it can be slightly jarring if you aren't expecting it, which I wasn't.
I wouldn't buy this book. If you feel you must read it, check it out at your local library, which is what I did.
I guess you'd have to say that this book wasn't what I was expecting!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Humor auf dem Appalachian Trail, 15. Oktober 2009
Rezension bezieht sich auf: A Walk In The Woods (Roman) (Taschenbuch)
Eines von Brysons besten Büchern, diesmal über eine unvollendete Aktion. Die Beschreibungen des Weges sind anschaulich, man möchte am liebsten gleich selbst drauflos marschieren -- wenn nicht das leidige Gepäck wäre. Freund Stephen Katz hat ähnliche Ansichten, wird aber diesmal -- im Gegensatz zu den europäischen Jugendabenteuern -- liebevoll charakterisiert.
Mt. Katahdin fehlt. Ich habe ihn selbst "erklommen" (und nicht besonders ersteigenswert empfunden), also könnte ich Bill vielleicht trösten.
Nur sein "In a Sunburned Country" ist vielleicht noch besser.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4 von 5 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen All quiet on the Appalachian Trail, 9. Juni 2003
Rezension bezieht sich auf: A Walk In The Woods (Roman) (Taschenbuch)
This book was written in the style of John McPhee and even quoting him once in a while. It includes facts and people like "The Perfect Storm." Then Bill Bryson adds first hand personal experiences. You can identify with his comments that do not have to be funny to be familiar.
This book recounts Bill Bryson's experiences on the Appalachian Trail. The dry facts can be picked up through other material. However the personal experiences are just that, personal. If you have never been hiking then you still get a feel for what you have missed. However if you have hiked then you can really appreciate the people he met, and circumstances that he went through. There are hikers and then there are hikers. In the Boy Scouts you are usually in a well-organized group, in the military you have to be more cautious of objects and terrain, Sierra Club and Outward Bound have their unique points of view. So if his experience is different, it still makes for fun reading.
I even liked the sections on selecting and using the equipment. I am afraid if I had met Bill Bryson on the trail; I would have been one of those "equipment comparing" people.
Anyway do not expect an epic and you will enjoy the time you spend reading this book. Oh, and it does make me want to go hiking.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen The King Lives !, 16. Juni 2000
Von 
J. Hill "John Hill" (Brisbane, Australia) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
As far as I'm concerned this is simply the best holiday reading book that I've ever read. Forget about a little chuckle. This is absolute laugh out loud stuff. Bryson is brilliant and when he teams up with his old friend (enemy) Stephen Katz he's even better than brilliant. This was the first Bryson book that I bought. I've now read every book he's put out. I think that's the best recommendation that I can make.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen More than a hiking narative., 10. Mai 2000
Von 
Jerry Clyde Phillips (Sutton, Vermont) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
This is much more than a travelogue of two neophyte hikers on the Appalachian Trail, and readers looking for a blow by blow account of the travails of Bill Bryson and his companion, Stephen Katz, will be disappointed. Hiking provides only a backdrop to a heartfelt discourse on the social condition of America, local history, the environment, and the complexities of friendship. The pretext for the book was Bryson's return to the United States after twenty years in Britain, and his interest in "rediscovering America" after such a lengthy absence.
The vast majority of the reviews of the book cite its hilarity (one reviewer called it "choke-on-your-coffee funny"), and indeed there are very many funny parts. However, the deeper I got into the book, I detected a strong shift in the author's sentiment from satire to deep introspection. His observations became more acute, more angry, and more individualized as his long hike constantly brings to his mind the fragile environment of the Trail, the insanity of bureacrats entrusted with the AT, and his own personal limitations.
This was my first encounter with Bill Bryson, and while I found him entertaining, a beautiful writer, and an astute observer, some readers will be put off my his sharp satiric wit. It is certain that he will offend somebody. A friend of mine, who also read the book, was very much upset by the fact that Bryson and Katz didn't hike all 2,200 miles of the Trail, and that somehow their "failure" should prevent the telling of the story. This is utter nonsense and just throws more manure onto the present dung heap that has accumulated from the participants involved in peak bagging, wilderness races, and experiential therapy groups.
Bryson and Katz at least tried to hike the entire AT, and they returned from their hike as changed men who learned many lessons about the wilderness and friendship. Towards the end of the book, the two men are talking about the hike. When Katz remarks that "we did it," Bryson reminds him that they didn't even see Mount Katahdin, much less climb it. Katz says, "Another mountain. How many do you need to see, Bryson?" I agree with Katz (and ultimately Bryson). They hiked the Appalachian Trail.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2.0 von 5 Sternen Humorous but less than honest, 12. April 2000
I had high hopes for this book after reading the first few chapters. This was where Bryson shines with accounts of humorous situations and his often amusing (and a bit deprecating) descriptions of people. Bryson's goal and his efforts to thru-hike the AT are admirable. Hiking for six weeks and 500 miles is an achievement to be proud of but I felt I wasn't being told the whole story when the goal of a nonstop thru-hike faded away with little explanation. Suddenly there were phases or sections to the venture. There was an unconvincing explanation about why they just had to get out of Tennessee. Somehow the irrational demands of creationists in Tennessee created an intolerable environment on the Appalachian Trail. Say what? If this was a joke it wasn't up to Bryson's usual wit. He seemed quite serious. Soon afterwards Bryson and his hiking partner, Katz, were at the end of the first section of the hike. Just how and when the hike was divided into sections is not explained but was mentioned offhandedly as if they were planning to do this hike in intervals all along. The rest of the book is a frantic effort to save the project; not to thru-hike the AT, but to gather enough material for a book it seems. The hike then became not a walk in the woods but a job to get anecdotes about various sections of the trail. The second half of the book is as disjointed as the hike itself and not very satisfying to read. Others have written that they felt Bryson's pain and disappointment. I felt his panic in getting material to justify what was probably a huge publisher's advance. While I applauded Bryson's and Katz's attempt, I was disappointed in telling of the attempt. If the reasons for venture's partial failure and for the diversions were as honestly portrayed as the daily ordeals and interactions on the trail, A Walk in the Woods would have been a far better book.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 247 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

A Walk In The Woods (Roman)
A Walk In The Woods (Roman) von Bill Bryson (Taschenbuch - 1. Juli 1998)
EUR 8,70
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen