Kundenrezensionen


34 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (23)
4 Sterne:
 (5)
3 Sterne:
 (4)
2 Sterne:
 (2)
1 Sterne:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


50 von 53 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Surely entertaining, but very anglo-centric
Bryson's book is an interesting walk through the history of science, offering a good mixture of facts and entertainment. Of course, the entertaining melody of this anecdote-rich book occasionally comes at the cost of a certain superficiality, but this should not be held against the author.
What is quite disappointing, however, is that this "Short History"...
Am 6. Oktober 2005 veröffentlicht

versus
47 von 57 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Enttäuschend - Einseitig und oberflächlich
Ich habe mich 250 Seiten lang geärgert und es dann sein lassen, schade. Zwei Hauptkritikpunkte:

1. Völlig angloamerikanische Einseitigkeit. Natürlich kann man darüber streiten, wer der wichtigste Forscher in diesem oder in jenem Bereich war, ein Buch aber über alle Fragen dieser Welt zu schreiben und dabei Humboldt oder Gauss aussen vor...
Veröffentlicht am 1. August 2006 von Chatou


‹ Zurück | 1 2 3 4 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

50 von 53 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Surely entertaining, but very anglo-centric, 6. Oktober 2005
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: A Short History Of Nearly Everything (Taschenbuch)
Bryson's book is an interesting walk through the history of science, offering a good mixture of facts and entertainment. Of course, the entertaining melody of this anecdote-rich book occasionally comes at the cost of a certain superficiality, but this should not be held against the author.
What is quite disappointing, however, is that this "Short History" is endlessly anglo-centric. British, U.S. or Australian scientists are depicted in detail with all their eccentric and usually positive attitudes, while non-anglosaxons are all too often troublemakers or simply ... absent! It is quite astonishing to read a history of science with big shots such as Galilei, Kepler, Kopernikus or Pasteur hardly or not at all being mentioned. Thus, Billy-boy, I give you five stars for chutzpah and only four for this book.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Not quite everything, but enough, 6. Dezember 2005
I was first acquainted with Bill Bryson through his works on the English language and various travelogue types of books. In these books he proved to be an entertaining writer, witty and interesting, with just the right amount of I'm-not-taking-myself-too-seriously attitude to make for genuinely pleasurable reading. Other books of his, 'Notes from a Small Island' and 'The Mother Tongue', are ones I return to again and again. His latest book, one of the longer ones (I was surprised, as most Bryson books rarely exceed 300 pages, and this one weighs in well past 500), is one likely to join those ranks.
Of course, a history of everything, even a SHORT history of NEARLY everything, has got to be fairly long. Bryson begins, logically enough, at the beginning, or at least the beginning as best science can determine. Bryson weaves the story of science together with a gentle description of the science involved - he looks not only at the earliest constructs of the universe (such as the background radiation) but also at those who discover the constructs (such as Penzias and Wilson).
A great example of the way Bryson weaves the history of science into the description of science, in a sense showing the way the world changes as our perceptions of how it exists change, is his description of the formulation, rejection, and final acceptance of the Pangaea theory. He looks at figures such as Wegener (the German meteorologist - 'weatherman', as Bryson describes him) who pushed forward the theory in the face of daunting scientific rejection that the continents did indeed move, and that similarities in flora and fauna, as well as rock formations and other geological and geographical aspects, can be traced back to a unified continent. Bryson with gentle humour discusses the attitudes of scientists, as they shifted not quite as slowly as the continents, towards accepting this theory, making gentle jabs along the way (Einstein even wrote a foreword to a book that was rather scathing toward the idea of plate tectonics - brilliance is no guarantee against being absolutely wrong).
Bryson traces the development of the universe and the world from the earliest universe to the formation of the planet, to the growing diversity of life forms to development of human beings and human society. Inspired by Natural History (the short history refers more to natural history than anything else), this traces the path to us and possible futures. Bryson juxtaposes the creation of the Principia by Isaac Newton with the extinction of the dodo bird - stating that the word contained divinity and felony in the nature of humanity, the same species that can rise to the heights of understanding in the universe can also, for no apparent reason, cause the extinction of hapless and harmless fellow creatures on earth. Are humans, in Bryson's words, 'inherently bad news for other living things'? He recounts many of the truly staggering follies of species-hunting, particularly in the nineteenth century, calling upon people to take far more care of the planet with which we have been entrusted, either through design or fate.
Bryson's take on things is innovative and his narrative is interesting, but there is a point to it, just as there is with most of his writing. He writes not merely to entertain, or to inform, but to persuade. Bryson is intrigued by science, having a joy that comes across the page of someone who essentially did not know or understand a lot of the background of science and how it worked in the world until recently, and now wants to share that joy with everyone! He definitely has points to argue - for starters, the need for open-mindedness, even among (perhaps particularly among) those who are supposed to have the open and searching intellects, the scientists themselves. He also wishes others to know more about science, professionals and laypersons, and more about our own origins as a people, both in terms of where we've come from, and how we've come to know about it.
This is a new version of his already-published text, this time with graphics, paintings, pictures, maps and other things that make the history come alive in new and interesting ways. This is a good revision, adding quite a bit to Bryson's already interesting text. Unique among Bryson's writing in many ways, this is in some ways a travelogue through geology, paleontology, cosmology and evolution. A fun and fascinating read!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


47 von 57 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Enttäuschend - Einseitig und oberflächlich, 1. August 2006
Rezension bezieht sich auf: A Short History Of Nearly Everything (Taschenbuch)
Ich habe mich 250 Seiten lang geärgert und es dann sein lassen, schade. Zwei Hauptkritikpunkte:

1. Völlig angloamerikanische Einseitigkeit. Natürlich kann man darüber streiten, wer der wichtigste Forscher in diesem oder in jenem Bereich war, ein Buch aber über alle Fragen dieser Welt zu schreiben und dabei Humboldt oder Gauss aussen vor zu lassen, oder Volta, Marconi, Focault, Gagarin ... das ist schon stark.

2. Es fehlt eine klare Struktur, ein klarer roter Faden. Seitenweise werden für sich betrachtet sicher interessante Beobachtungen beschrieben, die sich auf Dauer aber eher zusammenhanglos und belanglos aneinanderreihen. Hier wäre es wohl für den Leser angenehmer gewesen, überflüssige Details wir Orts-, Instituts- oder Assistentennamen einfach wegzulassen und damit ein lesbareres und kürzeres Buch zu schreiben.

Mein Rat: Wer sich für Astrophysik interessiert, der lese ein populärwissenschaftliches Buch hierzu, wer sich für Paläontologie interessiert, der findet dazu etwas. Bill Bryson hat zwar zu allem etwas, aber in jedem Fall zu wenig zu sagen. Schade.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


17 von 22 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Genial auf den Punkt, 23. November 2004
Rezension bezieht sich auf: A Short History Of Nearly Everything (Taschenbuch)
Bill Bryson kann, was kein Autor deutscher Zunge bewältigt: Komplexe Zusammenhänge griffig, anschaulich und so spannend beschreiben, dass das Lesen nachwirkt. Es ist schwer, das Buch aus der Hand zu legen, bevor ein Kapitel beendet ist. Das genialste sind Bill Brysons Vergleiche. Es kann sein, dass etliche davon schon vorher veröffentlicht wurden, aber sicher nie in so amüsantem Kontext. Man zittert mit Aminosäuren, ob sie den Sprung zum "leben" schaffen, man wundert sich, dass noch kein Asteroid richtig voll getroffen hat, man fühlt mit den frustrierenden Erlebnissen früher Entdecker und Forscher: Kurz, es ist ein faszinierendes Erlebnis und mehr als Lesen. Sehr, sehr empfehlenswert, auch als GEschenk für Menschen, die heimlich "Wer wird Millionär" gucken und denken, sie lernen dabei etwas dazu... Wer die Geschichte/n gelesen hat, weiß vielleicht nicht wirklich mehr Abrufbares, aber hat definitiv ein großes Verstehen von Zusammenhängen.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


6 von 8 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Not quite everything, but enough..., 2. März 2006
I was first acquainted with Bill Bryson through his works on the English language and various travelogue types of books. In these books he proved to be an entertaining writer, witty and interesting, with just the right amount of I'm-not-taking-myself-too-seriously attitude to make for genuinely pleasurable reading. Other books of his, 'Notes from a Small Island' and 'The Mother Tongue', are ones I return to again and again. His latest book, one of the longer ones (I was surprised, as most Bryson books rarely exceed 300 pages, and this one weighs in well past 500), is one likely to join those ranks.
Of course, a history of everything, even a SHORT history of NEARLY everything, has got to be fairly long. Bryson begins, logically enough, at the beginning, or at least the beginning as best science can determine. Bryson weaves the story of science together with a gentle description of the science involved - he looks not only at the earliest constructs of the universe (such as the background radiation) but also at those who discover the constructs (such as Penzias and Wilson).
A great example of the way Bryson weaves the history of science into the description of science, in a sense showing the way the world changes as our perceptions of how it exists change, is his description of the formulation, rejection, and final acceptance of the Pangaea theory. He looks at figures such as Wegener (the German meteorologist - 'weatherman', as Bryson describes him) who pushed forward the theory in the face of daunting scientific rejection that the continents did indeed move, and that similarities in flora and fauna, as well as rock formations and other geological and geographical aspects, can be traced back to a unified continent. Bryson with gentle humour discusses the attitudes of scientists, as they shifted not quite as slowly as the continents, towards accepting this theory, making gentle jabs along the way (Einstein even wrote a foreword to a book that was rather scathing toward the idea of plate tectonics - brilliance is no guarantee against being absolutely wrong).
Bryson traces the development of the universe and the world from the earliest universe to the formation of the planet, to the growing diversity of life forms to development of human beings and human society. Inspired by Natural History (the short history refers more to natural history than anything else), this traces the path to us and possible futures. Bryson juxtaposes the creation of the Principia by Isaac Newton with the extinction of the dodo bird - stating that the word contained divinity and felony in the nature of humanity, the same species that can rise to the heights of understanding in the universe can also, for no apparent reason, cause the extinction of hapless and harmless fellow creatures on earth. Are humans, in Bryson's words, 'inherently bad news for other living things'? He recounts many of the truly staggering follies of species-hunting, particularly in the nineteenth century, calling upon people to take far more care of the planet with which we have been entrusted, either through design or fate.
Bryson's take on things is innovative and his narrative is interesting, but there is a point to it, just as there is with most of his writing. He writes not merely to entertain, or to inform, but to persuade. Bryson is intrigued by science, having a joy that comes across the page of someone who essentially did not know or understand a lot of the background of science and how it worked in the world until recently, and now wants to share that joy with everyone! He definitely has points to argue - for starters, the need for open-mindedness, even among (perhaps particularly among) those who are supposed to have the open and searching intellects, the scientists themselves. He also wishes others to know more about science, professionals and laypersons, and more about our own origins as a people, both in terms of where we've come from, and how we've come to know about it.
Unique among Bryson's writing in many ways, this is in some ways a travelogue through geology, paleontology, cosmology and evolution. A fun and fascinating read!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
2.0 von 5 Sternen No Illustrations - No Fun, 1. Februar 2013
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
I'm in the clear that this is the adaptation of the paperback which also has no illustrations. But i also have the big hardcover one with hundreds of illustrations and let me tell you: they double both the entertainment and the enlightenment value! It's just not understandable that there is not even an illustrated digital version! why? with a colour screen that could even depict small animations it would be awesome! and really easily doable.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Good & Entertaining Read - but..., 19. Dezember 2008
Rezension bezieht sich auf: A Short History Of Nearly Everything (Taschenbuch)
Reading this book is surely entertaining if you're at least a little
interested in science. His coverage of astronomy, for example, makes for
a great reminder of all those facts you'll surely have read or heard before, but Bryson manages to make them fun to read.

But: As other reviewers mentioned - his selection of scientific sources
is by no means exhaustive (and, yes, anglo-centric...). I personally can
live with that, as his book aims at people reading for fun, not as supplement
to university textbooks :-)

The thing I liked most: setting us (mankind) into a somehow "ultra-tiny"
perspective: We're definitely not as important as we sometimes make
ourselves believe.

My conclusion: Well worth reading.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Loved it, 21. Juni 2009
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
I loved every single page of the book. It's full of ideas, inspirational. It covers topics on really everything: from solar system, Earth, atoms, life on Earth, etc. It doesn't just present facts, but also the humankind journey to this knowledge, trying to answer the same 'how do we know that' question. Interesting insights on the lives of famous or less famous science people (a bit too much information on the personality of Mr. Hubble).

A big book: 478 pages, a challenge to make it fit my purse, but I carried it everywhere. Science reading can be really delightful.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Easy to understand, a good stepping stone into the deeper waters of science., 7. Januar 2008
I recieved the audio book first and was thrilled, I listened to it non-stop three times over while driving. The audio book is abridged, so I just had to get the book. I decided on the hardback edition with pictures and devoured it. Bill Bryson is a genius at making the incomprehensible comprehensible and interesting. After finishing the book it left me with a hunger for more of the same stuff, but a little bit deeper, so I went and ordered a copy of 'The Magic Furnace' and 'In Search of Schrödingers Cat'. They are not as witty as Bills book, but just as gripping.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Eine leicht zu lesende Geschichte der Naturwissenschaften, 10. Februar 2014
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Das Buch ist unterhaltsam und liest sich leicht, vermittelt aber trotzdem ein umfangreiches Wissen über viele Aspekte der Geschichte der modernen Naturwissenschaften
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 2 3 4 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

A Short History Of Nearly Everything
A Short History Of Nearly Everything von Bill Bryson (Taschenbuch - 1. Juni 2004)
EUR 8,70
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen