Kundenrezensionen


21 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (14)
4 Sterne:
 (3)
3 Sterne:
 (1)
2 Sterne:
 (2)
1 Sterne:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


5.0 von 5 Sternen family fun
The Bermuda Family of Arizona: ======================== The Computers of Star Trek is an awesome book. My father and grandmother are really into Star Trek, and they've even taken me to some Star Trek conventions. My sister and I saw the authors of The Computers of Star Trek in Pasadena at the Grand Slam Convention. I couldn't wait to tell them how much my whole...
Am 18. Mai 2000 veröffentlicht

versus
1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
2.0 von 5 Sternen Far from my first choice
What one might call the field of 'Star Trek non-fiction' has boomed since the 1995 publication of Dr. Lawrence Krauss's "The Physics of Star Trek". Now, we have books exploring many of the real-world issues presented in the Star Trek franchise, from issues of hard-science like biology, to social-science issues such as the depiction of race and gender...
Veröffentlicht am 25. Juni 2000 von David Wintheiser


‹ Zurück | 1 2 3 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
2.0 von 5 Sternen Far from my first choice, 25. Juni 2000
What one might call the field of 'Star Trek non-fiction' has boomed since the 1995 publication of Dr. Lawrence Krauss's "The Physics of Star Trek". Now, we have books exploring many of the real-world issues presented in the Star Trek franchise, from issues of hard-science like biology, to social-science issues such as the depiction of race and gender.
And then there is this book.
Judging from the number of glowing reviews already present on Amazon, there are plenty of people who truly admired and appreciated this book. But if you come to this book after reading Dr. Krauss's two outstanding works, as I did, you may find yourself oddly disappointed.
First off, the tone seems wrong. While "The Physics of Star Trek" and "Beyond Star Trek" covered some pretty serious terrain in physics, Dr. Krauss's tone was one of an amiable expert communicating with an interested, non-technical audience. The tone presented by these authors occasionally borders on that of computer support people you talk to on the telephone--convinced that they already have the answers and that only your ignorance of the issues prevents you from agreeing with them (such as their frequent early repetition of their pet theory of 'body networks', where at some point in the future everyone will have nano-sized computers distrubuted throughout their bodies which will be able to communicate seamlessly with the computers contained in any other body). Most of the pictures in the book are simple structural diagrams unfamiliar to those who haven't studied computer science. There is even the equivalent of two published pages of VRML code in the chapter on the Holodeck (and if you don't know that VRML stands for Virtual Reality Markup Language, the code will mean nothing to you at all). Rather than a general-interest book, "Computers of Star Trek" seems like a book written by insiders for insiders, no hoi palloi invited.
Also, while the authors are doubtless knowledgeable in their chosen fields, they (or their editors) occasionally show a surprising disdain for basic research. The Amazon review by ST:Voyager's own Rick Sternbach shows one such instance. Another comes from the above-mentioned 'body network' idea--unless the authors intend for us to be continually plugged in to a network jack, the computers of our 'body network' will have to emit electromagnetic radiation to communicate with one another; radiation that would kill us, either quickly (by killing our cells directly) or slowly (by mutating our cells into cancerous melanoma). This book would have been significantly improved had the authors read other "__ of Star Trek" books in advance.
The authors do have some interesting things to say, and if you're the sort who's going to buy all of these 'ST non-fiction' books anyway, then this review shouldn't deter you. But if you're new to the genre and looking for someplace to start, this would not be the book I'd recommend.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen family fun, 18. Mai 2000
Von Ein Kunde
The Bermuda Family of Arizona: ======================== The Computers of Star Trek is an awesome book. My father and grandmother are really into Star Trek, and they've even taken me to some Star Trek conventions. My sister and I saw the authors of The Computers of Star Trek in Pasadena at the Grand Slam Convention. I couldn't wait to tell them how much my whole family likes this book. We're thinking of buying a second copy because we all like it so much. I don't know much about computers, I'm just a kid. My father is disabled and knows less than I do about computers. My grandmother is afraid of computers. My sister's a math genius. She's older than I am. But we love this book. The authors clearly love Star Trek as much as we do. We like the way they describe the different series, like The Original Series, The Next Generation, and Voyager. It's really interesting.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Give this book to a friend, 18. Mai 2000
Von Ein Kunde
I give lots of blood. Now I also give copies of The Computers of Star Trekto people in hospitals. It always cheer them up. Everyone knows about Star Trek. Everyone loves this book. It tells people how to program molecules--just kidding. For real, it tells people how the computers in the shows reflected the time period when the shows were taped for TV. It tells people what computers might really be like hundreds of years from now, and whether Star Trek accurately predicted this stuff. This book is great fun. Enjoyable and thrilling for Trekkies, Trek fans, computer nerds, computer wannabe nerds, people who want to program molecules--just kidding, and for sick people who want entertainment and some fascinating knowledge about their favorite TV series, Star Trek. I recommend this to anyone who wants entertainment and a big lift in spirits. Or to anyone who everwondered about the computers on the TV shows. Or to anyone who has ever asked me for a quart of blood.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Give this book to a friend, 18. Mai 2000
Von Ein Kunde
I give lots of blood. Now I also give copies of The Computers of Star Trekto people in hospitals. It always cheer them up. Everyone knows about Star Trek. Everyone loves this book. It tells people how to program molecules--just kidding. For real, it tells people how the computers in the shows reflected the time period when the shows were taped for TV. It tells people what computers might really be like hundreds of years from now, and whether Star Trek accurately predicted this stuff. This book is great fun. Enjoyable and thrilling for Trekkies, Trek fans, computer nerds, computer wannabe nerds, people who want to program molecules--just kidding, and for sick people who want entertainment and some fascinating knowledge about their favorite TV series, Star Trek. I recommend this to anyone who wants entertainment and a big lift in spirits. Or to anyone who everwondered about the computers on the TV shows. Or to anyone who has ever asked me for a quart of blood.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen The Computers of Star Trek, 10. Mai 2000
This book was very interesting and very informative. It was the first Star Trek book that I have ever read and it makes me want to read all of them. Until now I have never been a big fan of Star Trek. This book fascinated me by the amount of work involved for any of the computer programs involved in space travel.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2.0 von 5 Sternen Unworthy of a Class A-7 rating in computers, 9. Mai 2000
Von 
Douglas M. Keenan (Indiana USA) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
If you can identify a Class A-7 rating, a standard Star Trek computer shibboleth, you probably won't care for this ultimately shallow book. It rarely drifts from the monotonous conclusion that likely everything we see on Trek will be dated in three hundred years. How unimaginative. (Krauss took a similar challenge and handled it well with style, science, and wit.) And sorry, it's not about being nitpicky - I wholeheartedly join the editorial criticism of another poster - painful misspellings abound ("Shelly" wrote Frankenstein? The "Gorm" attacked Cestus III? Come on!), no bibliography exists, and no cohesion holds the work together. Don't get me wrong, this subject matter deserves to be seriously addressed, and it's a shame the authors squandered their enviable chance with such a sloppy, half-baked effort. In my opinion therefore, this dunsel serves no useful purpose but to fleece the serious computer reader/Trekker from their time and money. Save these for better unless you've too much of both.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Excellent and most informative, 21. April 2000
As a Star Trek author myself and as someone who has worked on a Star Trek science book, I can whole-heartedly recommend this book. In simple easy to understand language, it not only tells you all the ins and outs of todays computers...it tells you about what computers may do in the future...and what they do on Trek now.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Pith and Breadth, 19. April 2000
A surprisingly broad and informed look at the future of computing couched within the cultural icon of Star Trek. Less pontifical than Age of the Spiritual Machine but often as insightful; the understanding of how and why Star Trek predicts the future of the next 10 years (and the implications for futuristic prediction) is itself worth a couple bars of latinum.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Excellent Book, 10. April 2000
Von Ein Kunde
The Computers of Star Trek was an absolutely fabulous read with just the right mix of Star Trek, humor and technical extrapolation.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Wow!, 8. April 2000
Whew! I just finished reading this book! What a read! Anyone interested in Star Trek OR computers should read this book right away! The Computers of Star Trek delivers so much information (which is very interesting information, not "boring" as the so clever and imaginative "bobbyelephant" would have you believe)that you simply cannot put it down until you are done reading it.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 2 3 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Computers Of Star Trek
Computers Of Star Trek von Lois H. Gresh (Taschenbuch - 7. Mai 2001)
EUR 10,40
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen