Kundenrezensionen


22 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (12)
4 Sterne:
 (5)
3 Sterne:
 (2)
2 Sterne:
 (3)
1 Sterne:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


11 von 11 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Anspruchsvoll, aber für Fans ein 'muß'!
Ich habe das Buch nur auf englisch gelesen, da es zu dem Zeitpunkt des Kaufs keine deutsche Übersetzung gab. Es war am Anfang schwierig da durchzusteigen, da es teilweise sehr technisch ist...und dann noch auf englisch; aber es war faszinierend. Der Autor beschreibt (für den Leser meist nachvollziehbar), was für Voraussetzungen gelten müßten,...
Veröffentlicht am 18. April 2002 von tasso-the-greek

versus
1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Good Technical detail, narrowminded author
This is an interesting book that has a great amount of valuable scientific information included, such as the basics (and the not so basics) of many of the technologies employed in all of the Star Trek shows. The writer does spend alot of the book on nitpicking about details the Star Trek writers got wrong, but I neither like or dislike this. To his credit, the author...
Am 18. Dezember 1997 veröffentlicht


‹ Zurück | 1 2 3 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

11 von 11 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Anspruchsvoll, aber für Fans ein 'muß'!, 18. April 2002
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Physics of "Star Trek" (Taschenbuch)
Ich habe das Buch nur auf englisch gelesen, da es zu dem Zeitpunkt des Kaufs keine deutsche Übersetzung gab. Es war am Anfang schwierig da durchzusteigen, da es teilweise sehr technisch ist...und dann noch auf englisch; aber es war faszinierend. Der Autor beschreibt (für den Leser meist nachvollziehbar), was für Voraussetzungen gelten müßten, damit die Technik der Enterprise funktioniert.
Die Erzählung beginnt mit dem legendären Beschleunigen des Raumschiffes. Man vergißt als Zuschauer der TV-Serie, daß wohl alle Offiziere auf der Brücke bei einer solchen Beschleunigung gegen die hintere Wand klatschen würden....wären da nicht die Trägheitsdämpfer. Sind diese beschädigt (z.B. bei einem Kampf), so wird die Crew durchgeschüttelt.
In einem anderen Kapitel des Buches wird das 'Beamen' analysiert. Was ist wohl nötig, wenn man aus einem Raumschiff im All, ein Molekül eines Menschen auf der Erde (man bedenke die Entfernung) erfassen und transportieren wollte. Und, würde der Geist/die Seele mit transportiert?
Das Buch ist voll von solchen Fragen und es macht einen Höllenspaß sich da durchzudenken. Mehr als einmal kommt einem dabei ein 'Ach soooo' über die Lippen. Absolut lesenswert, nicht nur für Fans.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Good Technical detail, narrowminded author, 18. Dezember 1997
Von Ein Kunde
This is an interesting book that has a great amount of valuable scientific information included, such as the basics (and the not so basics) of many of the technologies employed in all of the Star Trek shows. The writer does spend alot of the book on nitpicking about details the Star Trek writers got wrong, but I neither like or dislike this. To his credit, the author does tell of many of the innovations that the Star Trek show led to, and also tells of the particles/concepts that they somehow got right before researchers discovered them. The shortcoming is the closedmindedness. All through the book he tells of the impossible energy requirements to accomplish many things, such as warpspeed, but they're only impossible according to current knowledge. Go back to BC times and ask their scientists about flying machines: impossible. But the book is still filled with great technical details that'll keep any avid Hawking readers on their toes, and is still interesting to the "lay" reader.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen How Physicists Think About Star Trek Movies and Series, 8. Mai 2004
Von 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 127,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(TOP 500 REZENSENT)   
Did you know that many of the world's best physicists like to watch Star Trek, and then discuss what's right and wrong about the science displayed? Well, apparently they do.

Drawing on contacts within the scientific community and on-line bulletin boards, Professor Krauss has written a sprightly review of what physicists think about when they see these shows. He translates these observations into simple concepts that the average reader should be able to follow, assuming an interest in Star Trek or science.

As a non-scientist, I had always assumed that 70 percent of the "science" on a Star Trek show was just so much imagination. The reason I thought that was because I could see so many obvious errors (seeing phaser light in space, hearing sounds in space, effects occurring too soon on the space ship, holograms acting like they were made of matter, and permanent worm holes) based on what little I knew. Was I ever surprised to find out that these obvious errors were the bulk of all the errors in the shows!

Apparently the writers have been working closely with scientifically knowledgeable people to keep what is covered reasonably possible . . . along with some poetic license.

The physics of cosmology are fascinating, but I can quickly get lost in matching quantum mechanics to general relativity and so forth. I was also pleasantly surprised to see that I could follow the arguments much better when they used a familiar Star Trek episode as a reference. Like the child who learns math when it involves counting his or her own money, I can learn physics more easily when it relates to Star Trek. Very nice!

The book takes a look at the common Star Trek features like warp drive, transporters, replicators, phasers, sensors, subspace communications, and tractor beams. You also get special looks at less common features like multiple universes and special forms of radiation.

You can read this book from several perspectives as a result: (1) to appreciate what's happening in an episode; (2) to learn some science; (3) to think about where Star Trek could become real and where it is less likely to become so; and (4) what problems have to be solved in order for Star Trek technology to develop. I found the last perspective to be the most interesting. Professor Krauss's speculations about how rapidly technology might develop and what could be done with it were most fascinating.

Where the book fell down a little was in being quite strong in stating that certain "laws" of physics would never be changed. If we go back in 100 year increments, we find that a lot of earlier "laws" are later somewhat amended if not totally changed. That may happen in the future as well, as we learn more. Professor Krauss is a little too confident in many places that there is nothing else to learn. Most modern technology would look like Star Trek science fiction to someone living in 1700, despite being based on sound scientific principles not understood then.

After you finish enjoying this interesting book, think about what questions no one is trying to solve. Why not? What benefits would occur if they were solved? How could curiosity be stimulated about these questions?

Ask and answer important questions in interesting ways to make faster progress!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Today's Science Fiction Is Often Tomorrow's Science Fact, 25. Februar 2000
Nearly everyone on the planet has seen at least one episode of Star Trek. At the same time, nearly everyone has wondered about certain aspects of the show. For example, if their civilization is so advanced, how come no one has invented a cure for baldness? On the more technical side, certain questions pop up again and again. For example, what really happens during the process of "beaming up"? Why is warp 10 not attainable? How does a tractor beam work?...
Like Mr. Wizard, Lawrence Krauss, who holds a Ph.D. in physics, answers all your questions - or most of them. All the major topics are covered, including a few minor ones. The text is non-technical, clear and concise, but also complete. Although it is impossible to discuss certain ideas without the use of graphs and equations, Krauss keeps them to a minimum.
For each particular advanced technology of the future, the theory behind each application is dissected, explained, and examined. Also, given present day knowledge, the author examines the theoretical or practical obstacles that would have to be overcome in order to achieve this technology. In transporter technology, for example, what exactly would be involved? Would the actual atoms and molecules have to be sent, or would just the information (code) be sufficient?
Would both (atoms and information) be necessary and how would such a task be accomplished, if at all?
This book is highly recommended. Even if you are not a Star Trek fan, you will be interested. This book is easy to read, faithful to the physics, full of Star Trek trivia and always entertaining. Voyager and Deep Space Nine episodes are also mentioned, when relevant to the particular topic under discussion.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen A very good book, 11. Dezember 1997
Von Ein Kunde
I thought this was a very good book. It was a little difficult to understand, but I should have expected that, considering most of ideas I've never heard of. Anyons? Soliton waves? I had no idea. I do have an idea for the Undiscoverable Country chapter, though. I just got finished watching the Voyager episode "The Gift" and I noticed something at the end. Somehow, Kes propels the ship 9,500 light years in a matter of seconds. I didn't do any calculations-the show just got finished-but I'm pretty sure that that is faster than Warp 10, which the Voyager series already proved was almost impossible in a shuttlecraft, let alone a full-sized starship. That brings me to something else that Dr. Krauss can add. It isn't really a physics problem, but more of a continuity error one of my relatives informed me of. As I have already stated, Voyager has proved the impossibility of travel over Warp 10, but in more than one episode of ST:TOS and ST:TNG, ships have gone over Warp 10. I believe Dr. Krauss noted one such episode in his book, but I would just like to say that there are many more.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Bridging science and fiction in science fiction., 6. Februar 1997
Von Ein Kunde
As a former aeronautical engineer who had the opportunity to study quantum physics, I very much enjoyed this book. The author was able to show that science fiction at the level of Star Trek carries on the dreams and hopes that we all have, and, more specifically, those from which physicists make their lives.

The ingenuity of Star Trek physics bases itself on what is already amazing in comtemporary quantum physics. Most of us would already be amazed by what quantum physicists are dealing with every day. The author also points out some amusing inconsistencies which are almost necessary for the sake of entertaining our 20th century peoples. Reading this book makes you want to learn quantum physics and feel that you already live in the future.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Intriguing look at possibilities of Star Trek, 15. April 2000
This book gives a good overview look at each of the major physics-oriented aspects of the Star Trek universe. Just how likely is it that we will develop transporters, food replicators, or (probably of greatest interest to most of us) holo suites? The answers are here in this well written layman's guide. This book is best suited for the curious, for those who wonder if these things will one day be possible. The authors take us down each path, sometimes determining that it will be possible, someday, and at other times, letting us down easy. I thank the authors for satisfying my curiosity as well as teaching me some theoretical aspects of physics at the same time.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen If you've looked this far, buy it., 19. Januar 1998
Von Ein Kunde
I ran across this book accidentally while thumbing through some texts in a bookstore on Einstein, relativity, space science, etc. I've always been a Trekkie and have often heard rumors of the "scientific correctness" of the show and wondered how fine the line was between science and fiction. Well, this book helped answer a lot of those questions. You don't have to be totally familiar with the laws of physics to read this book, for the most part it's reader friendly. I do, however, recommend the reader acquaint him/herself with some of the terminology...or have a reference near-by.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen The first, and the best, 8. April 2000
Von Ein Kunde
This book was the first of its kind-- to try and relate science to popular culture and science fiction--and it is the best of the bunch. The author is one of the best popularizers of science around. The writing is engaging, and humorous. I completely disagree with the reviewer who didn't like the writing and argued that this is for physics neophytes. Even those who are familiar with popular physics will get new insights into the exciting world of modern physics and astrophysics. And those who aren't will get a great first introduction to the wonders of the universe.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Very engaging - a great book, 5. Juli 2000
Von 
Christopher M. Adams (San Francisco, CA USA) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Let's not kid ourselves, physics is a tough subject to learn, and equally tough to teach. But there are few books that do as good a job as this one. This book is written for laypersons. And Krauss has found an excellent way to make the subject fascinating. If in your entire life you only want to read one book on physics, then this should be it. I suspect, that Krauss will interest you enough that you'll want to read more. But even if you don't, you'll enjoy learning the wonderful info contained here.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 2 3 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

The Physics of Star Trek
The Physics of Star Trek von Lawrence M. Krauss (Taschenbuch - 10. Juli 2007)
EUR 16,80
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen