Kundenrezensionen


10 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (5)
4 Sterne:
 (3)
3 Sterne:
 (2)
2 Sterne:    (0)
1 Sterne:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A beautiful guide to the underbelly of the Russian language
Although this book is not for the faint of heart, it is a wonderful guide to some of vulgarities in which Russians find so much joy and expressiveness. I am currently living in the southern Ukraine where Russian is the dominant language. I bought this book to help me unlock the slang and colloquialisms which I have been picking up piecemeal from my friends. For this...
Am 15. Mai 2000 veröffentlicht

versus
3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Russians misrepresented - be careful using
The author has provided most accurate translations of single words and phrases between Russian and "true" American English.
However, I can't agree with definition of this particular layer of the Russian language presented in this book as "real Russian." That's not true, I've met many folks born and raised in Russia who never ever use that...
Veröffentlicht am 1. Juni 2000 von Elephas


Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Russians misrepresented - be careful using, 1. Juni 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Dermo!: The Real Russian Tolstoy Never Used (Taschenbuch)
The author has provided most accurate translations of single words and phrases between Russian and "true" American English.
However, I can't agree with definition of this particular layer of the Russian language presented in this book as "real Russian." That's not true, I've met many folks born and raised in Russia who never ever use that "real Russian" of Mr Topol et al.
Russians who have NEVER been exposed to other "real" cultures of the world, they grow up believing that they are unique with their dirty words; but in reality Russians in their everyday speech practice are not much different from other civilized nations; you don't hear more obscenities in the streets of Moscow than in New York or Tijuana. You can get in as much trouble in Moscow misusing these "real" words and phrases as you would here in California. With these words, you can lose a contract, a friend, a date; for most educated girls from good families in Russia one single word from Mr Topol's book used at a wrong time will act as immediate and final turn off.
The Russians grow up learning by trial and error when they can use specific language and when they absolutely can not. I've heard masters of swearing in Russia speaking like Mother Goose when they had to.
When foreigners try to speak "real", the reaction of natives can not be predicted. You may have some hearts opened, you may get smiles and a pat on the back, but depending on your intonation and attitude your face may face a clenched 1 and a half pound fist flying on the collision course about 100 mph...
If you did not grow up in Russia playing with your real Russian classmates in the nursery school, don't even try to use Mr Topol's book recommendations at your own discretion. Quite likely you may end up making a fool from yourself.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A beautiful guide to the underbelly of the Russian language, 15. Mai 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Dermo!: The Real Russian Tolstoy Never Used (Taschenbuch)
Although this book is not for the faint of heart, it is a wonderful guide to some of vulgarities in which Russians find so much joy and expressiveness. I am currently living in the southern Ukraine where Russian is the dominant language. I bought this book to help me unlock the slang and colloquialisms which I have been picking up piecemeal from my friends. For this purpose, Mr. Topol's book has been wonderful. He not only provides a list of expressions to improve your shadow vocabulary, but he also provides lively and informative background. This additional information puts the expressions in their cultural context and allows the reader to have a much deeper understanding of the meaning behind the language.
This book has been a joy to page through and I have gotten a kick out of sharing my new enlightenment with my Ukrainian friends. They are shocked when they discover it comes courtesy of one of Russia's best-selling novelists. I highly recommend it to anyone who is interested in expanding their understanding of Russian language and culture, and having a little fun while doing so.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Very useful resource for non-native speakers, 5. Februar 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Dermo!: The Real Russian Tolstoy Never Used (Taschenbuch)
Dermo! is not just a list of "dirty words" and their translations; it is a peek into Russians' everyday life and culture.
Organized by category [rather than alphabetically], the reader is taken through the basics of everyday slang, anatomy and physiology, and (of course) curses, oaths, and exclamations. The Russian words and phrases are in Cyrillic, with English phonetic pronunciation (helpful if you're learning "conversational" Russian and aren't up on reading it just yet). A great deal of supplemental info is included (such as history behind expressions, just *how* vulgar is a word, etc.), but not so much that it becomes tedious.
I highly recommend Dermo! to anyone who will be dealing with actual, living & breathing Russians. As a colleague who teaches Russian (and recommends this book to her students) told me, "You will never understand Russians until you learn to curse -- at least a little."
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Funny and Useful, 21. Mai 2000
Von 
Chapulina R (Tovarischi Imports, USA/RUS) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Dermo!: The Real Russian Tolstoy Never Used (Taschenbuch)
This book is a great source of the raunchy lingo you need to know but that your proper Russian friends won't teach you. And I do mean the real raunchy slang, the kind of cursing an American would get arrested for saying in public. Thanks to this little book, I can appreciate the extremely colorful and descriptive obscenities Russians, even total strangers to eachother, occasionally exchange on the street. The book is cleverly written with ribald poems and vulgar little cartoons. My only complaint is that the captions are written in annoying phonetic English transcription rather than Cyrillic.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen A Wonderful Little Book, 15. Juni 2000
Von 
R. Bolls (Houston) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Dermo!: The Real Russian Tolstoy Never Used (Taschenbuch)
I really like this book in spite of it's few shortcomings. Like at least one other reviewer, I would rather not see the transliterated captions with the cartoons, and I could use stress marks on the cyrillic words, but it's still a great book! It's really entertaining and interesting. Certainly not for children, and no, I wouldn't get carried away trying to use many of these words and phrases with Russian people I didn't know very well. But hey, what a hoot around non Russian speaking people! You will have a new-found "freedom of speech".
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Excellent tool for not "sounding" like a foreigner..., 19. Mai 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Dermo!: The Real Russian Tolstoy Never Used (Taschenbuch)
I am an intermediate Russian speaker. I found this book extremely useful in breaking the ice with my Russian-speaking friends and business contacts. It got me to a level of friendship that I could not have achieved speaking only "proper" Russian. It was also a hoot to read for pure entertainment's sake with other Americans. I definitely recommend it.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen The book explains Russian obscene words that are used daily., 26. März 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Dermo!: The Real Russian Tolstoy Never Used (Taschenbuch)
This book really helps to understand the modern day obscene Russian. It is not only a dictionary, but also more of an encyclopedia. The author describes the meaning of the phrases, words; and how and where they are used. This book is very useful for non-Russian speakers who are planing to visit Russia and don't want to be embarrassed.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Everyone learning Russian needs this book!, 11. November 1998
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Dermo!: The Real Russian Tolstoy Never Used (Taschenbuch)
Edward Topol offers a humorous overview of commonly used colloquial language Russian style. His lengthy vocabulary lists and cultural explanations help the reader to understand when it is appropriate to say what at what time.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen If you are learning Russian, you HAVE to get this book!, 25. Juni 1998
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Dermo!: The Real Russian Tolstoy Never Used (Taschenbuch)
If you are learning Russian, there are some really "good" words in this book. This book has the words that the translators on TV don't translate. If you want to tell some one where to go in Russian, GET THIS BOOK!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3.0 von 5 Sternen Amusing, but not a very practical reference, 12. November 1997
Von 
C. Campbell (Seattle, Washington, USA) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Dermo!: The Real Russian Tolstoy Never Used (Taschenbuch)
The bawdy anecdotes and cartoons are funny, BUT beware that the book does not use accent marks for pronunciation and is not organized alphabetically.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Dermo!: The Real Russian Tolstoy Never Used
Dermo!: The Real Russian Tolstoy Never Used von Edward Topol (Taschenbuch - 1. August 1997)
EUR 9,31
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen